تدفق تصميم VLSI للدوائر المنطقية و 5 حقائق مهمة


مقدمة إلى تدفق تصميم VLSI

في المقالة السابقة ، حصلنا على نظرة عامة على تدفق تصميم VLSI. في هذه المقالة ، سوف نتعرف على كيفية تنفيذ الدوائر المنطقية المختلفة باستخدام تصميم VLSI. تعد VLSI إحدى التقنيات الرئيسية في عصر الرقمنة هذا. تستخدم الترانزستورات لتنفيذ الدوائر المنطقية في تصميم VLSI.

المنطق الرقمي ثلاثة أنواع - العاكس للبوابة NOT والبوابة AND والبوابة OR. يمكن أيضًا إنشاء بوابات أكثر تعقيدًا مثل -NAND و NOR و XNOR و XOR باستخدام البوابات الأساسية. دعونا نناقش بعض طرق تنفيذ الدوائر المنطقية.

تصميم منطق CMOS

الرقمية هي كل شيء عن الصفر وواحد أو مرتفع أو منخفض. سيكون مدخلات الدائرة المنطقية الرقمية إما 0 أو 1 ، وذلك كقيمة الإخراج. الآن ، إذا كانت الدائرة تأخذ المدخلات على أنها 0 و 1 ، فيمكن فهم المنطق من خلال وظيفة التبديل كما هو موضح أدناه.

تدفق تصميم VLSI
عملية التبديل لتدفق تصميم VLSI

يمكننا أن نرى في الصورة أنه عند فتح مفتاح s1 وإغلاق مفتاح s2 ، فإن الناتج سيكون 0 ؛ على العكس ، سيكون الناتج 1.

هيكل دفع وسحب تكميلي ، تدفق تصميم VLSI
تطبيق منطق CMOS ؛ PUN - سحب الشبكة ؛ PDN - الشبكة المنسدلة ، تدفق تصميم VLSI
للحصول على البرنامج التعليمي الكامل VHDL! انقر هنا!

منهجية تصميم CMOS

هناك ثلاث خطوات لتصميم منطق CMOS كجزء من تدفق تصميم VLSI.

  1. اكتشف تكملة Boolean Expression التي تحتاج إلى تنفيذها.
  2. وصف PUN
  3. وصف PDN

سحب تصميم الشبكة:

ضرب المصطلحات: NMOSFETs في اتصال متوازي

الشروط المضافة: NMOSFETs في سلسلة اتصالات

تصميم الشبكة المنسدلة:

ضرب المصطلحات: NMOSFETs في سلسلة اتصالات

الشروط المضافة: NMOSFETs في اتصالات متوازية

صمم أول نموذج VHDL باستخدام Xilinx. انقر هنا للحصول على دليل خطوة بخطوة!

CMOS Inverter / CMOS NOT تصميم البوابة

العاكس الرقمي هو بوابة NOT تعطي الإخراج المقلوب لمدخل. بالنسبة للإدخال أو الإدخال العالي هو رقمي ONE ، يكون الناتج منخفضًا أو يكون رقميًا صفريًا. بالنسبة للإدخال أو الإدخال المنخفض هو رقمي صفر ، يكون الناتج مرتفعًا أو رقميًا واحدًا.

INPUTOUTPUT
عاليLOW
LOWعالي
لا جدول الحقيقة البوابة / جدول الحقيقة العاكس ، تدفق تصميم VLSI

يتكون عاكس CMOS من ترانزستورات في وضع التحسين - أحدهما NMOS والآخر هو PMOS. يعمل NMOS كشبكة منسدلة ، ويعمل PMOS كشبكة سحب. يتحكم جهد الدخل في كل من الترانزستورات.

عندما يكون ترانزستور PMOS في حالة التشغيل ، ينتقل ترانزستور NMOS إلى حالة إيقاف التشغيل. أيضًا ، عندما يظل ترانزستور NMOS مغلقًا ، سيكون PMOS في حالة التشغيل. هذه هي الطريقة التي يستخدمها كل من تعمل الترانزستورات في الوضع التكميلي.

يوفر الترانزستور، والتي تظل في حالة إيقاف التشغيل ، توفر قيمة مقاومة عالية ، وتتغير قيمة الإخراج. تحت نفس السكة ، تحتوي الدائرة المنطقية CMOS على ضوضاء أقل من دائرة منطق NMOS.  

ويرد أدناه الرسم البياني لخصائص نقل الجهد من CMOS متماثل.

خصائص نقل الجهد لنظام CMOS المتماثل ، تدفق تصميم VLSI

عملية

تصنع الترانزستورات بطريقة تجعل الفولتية العتبة لها متساوية في الحجم وقطبية معاكسة. أي أن جهد عتبة NMOS سيكون مساويًا لحجم عتبة جهد PMOS ، المعطى بالتعبير أدناه.

VTN = - V.TP

عندما يكون جهد الإدخال (Vin) أصغر من جهد عتبة ترانزستور NMOS ، ثم يكون ترانزستور NMOS في حالة إيقاف التشغيل. ثم ، PMOS الدائرة سوف تتحكم في جهد الخرج (Vout) مع الجهد المزود (VDD). تمثل منطقة AB في الرسم البياني هذه العملية.

الآن ، عندما يكون جهد الدخل أكبر من فرق VDD والجهد العتبة ، ثم تدخل دائرة منطق PMOS في حالة OFF ، ويتم تنشيط NMOS. بعد ذلك ، يتحكم NMOS في جهد الخرج (V.خارج) بجهد أرضي يساوي 0 فولت.

تمثل منطقة BC في الرسم البياني NMOS المشبع ، ويمثل جزء القرص المضغوط كلاً من الترانزستورات في وضع التشبع. الخامسINV هي قيمة جهد الدخل الذي يساوي جهد الدخل جهد الخرج.

من خلال الملاحظة الدقيقة ، يمكننا القول أن التغيير ذو نغمة عالية جدًا لتمرير الجهد من 0 إلى V.DD. هذا هو السبب في أن العاكس CMOS هو العاكس المثالي للتصميم المنطقي.

الآن ، عندما يكون جهد الدخل مساويًا لـ VINV، كلا الترانزستورات في حالة تشبع. سيكون لشبكة السحب (PUN) V.GS القيمة =

VGS = الخامسin - فDD

أو V.GS = الخامسINV - فDD 

يتم إعطاء المعادلة الحالية لمنطقة التشبع على النحو التالي -

ID = μεW * (V.GS - فTH )2 / 2 دينار

يمكن إعادة كتابة هذه المعادلة لسحب الشبكة-

 Iموانئ دبي = μpε دبليوpu * (الخامسINV - فDD   - فTHP)2 / 2 دلpu

ستكون معادلة الشبكة المنسدلة -

IDpd = μnε دبليوpd * (الخامسINV - فTHN )2 / 2 دلpd

معادلة تيار التصريف حسب الخصائص -

μnε دبليوpd * (الخامسINV - فTHN )2 / 2 دلpd = μpε دبليوpu * (الخامسINV - فDD   - فTHP)2 / 2 دلpu

أو V.INV - فDD   - فTHP = - β (V.INV - فTHN) ؛ [β = (μn * ضpu / ميكرومترp * ضpd) ½]

أو V.INV = (الخامسDD + الخامسTHP + β * V.THN) / (1 + β)

إذا كانت VTHN = - VTHP ، فإن β تأتي على هيئة 1.

علاوة على ذلك ، يأتي VINV كـ VDD / 2 و

Zpd : Zpu = μn : μp = ~ 2.5: 1

تبديد الطاقة

الدوائر المنطقية CMOS تبدد طاقة أقل من تلك الموجودة في الدائرة المنطقية NMOS للتردد المنخفض. يتأرجح انحطاط طاقة CMOS حسب تردد التبديل للدائرة.

هوامش الضوضاء

هامش الضوضاء هو أقصى انحراف مسموح به يمكن أن يحدث دون تغيير السمة الرئيسية في ظل ظروف صاخبة. يُعطى NML على أنه الفرق بين جهد العتبة المنطقي والجهد المكافئ المنطقي الصفري لعاكس CMOS ذي المستوى المنخفض. يتم وصف هامش الضوضاء على أنه الفرق بين الجهد المنطقي العالي أو الجهد المكافئ واحد والجهد المنطقي العتبة للمستوى العالي.

CMOS اثنين من بوابات الإدخال NAND و NOR

تُعرف بوابات NOR و NAND بالبوابات المنطقية العالمية ، والتي يمكن استخدامها لتنفيذ أي معادلة منطقية أو أي نوع من البوابات المنطقية الأخرى. هذان هما أكثر البوابات المصنعة باستخدام منطق CMOS لتقنية VLSI. دعونا نناقش تنفيذ وتصميم كلتا البوابتين باستخدام منطق CMOS.

بوابة CMOS NOR

يمكن وصف بوابة NOR بأنها بوابة OR مقلوبة. جدول الحقيقة لبوابة NOR معطى أدناه ، حيث A و B هما المدخلات.

جدول حقيقة البوابة NOR ، تدفق تصميم VLSI

يمكن أيضًا تنفيذ بوابة NOR باستخدام تقنية CMOS. تدخل دائرة العاكس CMOS في العمل في هذا التصميم. تمت إضافة شبكة منسدلة (ترانزستور) مع بوابة CMOS NOT الأساسية في اتصال متوازي لتنفيذ عملية NOR. بالنسبة لبوابتين NOR للإدخال ، تتم إضافة شبكة منسدلة واحدة فقط. لدمج عدد أكبر من المدخلات ، تمت إضافة المزيد من الترانزستورات.

عملية

يظهر تطبيق المنطق باستخدام CMOS في الصورة أدناه. عندما يكون أي من المدخلات منطقيًا عاليًا أو منطقيًا واحدًا ، فسيتم قفل طريقة المنسدلة إلى الأرض. سيكون الناتج صفر المنطق.

عندما يحصل كلا المدخلين على جهد عالي أو منطق - قيمة واحدة ، فإن قيمة الخرج ستكون عالية أو واحدة. سيكون جهد العتبة المنطقي مساويًا لعتبة الجهد للعاكس. هذه هي الطريقة التي يمكن بها تحقيق منطق NOR باستخدام CMOS.

بوابة PMOS NOR ، A & B هي المدخلات ، Y هي الإخراج ؛ تدفق تصميم VLSI ، صورة الائتمان - كين شريفبوابة PMOS-NORCC BY-SA 4.0

بوابة CMOS NAND

يمكن وصف بوابة NAND بأنها بوابة AND مقلوبة. جدول الحقيقة لبوابة NAND موضح أدناه ، حيث A و B هما المدخلات.

جدول حقيقة بوابة NAND ، تدفق تصميم VLSI

يمكن أيضًا تنفيذ بوابة NAND باستخدام تقنية CMOS. تدخل دائرة العاكس CMOS أيضًا في العمل في هذا التصميم. تتم إضافة شبكة منسدلة (ترانزستور) في سلسلة وترانزستور وضع النضوب مع بوابة CMOS NOT الأساسية لتنفيذ عملية NAND. بالنسبة لبوابتين NAND للإدخال ، تتم إضافة ترانزستور واحد فقط. لدمج عدد أكبر من المدخلات ، تمت إضافة المزيد من الترانزستورات إلى اتصال السلسلة.

عملية

بوابة CMOS NAND ، تدفق تصميم VLSI ؛ حقوق الصورة - جاستن فورسCMOS NANDCC BY-SA 3.0

يظهر تطبيق المنطق باستخدام CMOS في الصورة أعلاه. عندما يكون كل من المدخلات منطقيًا ZERO ، يكون كلا الترانزستورات NMOS في حالة إيقاف التشغيل ، بينما يكون كلا ترانزستورات PMOS في حالة التشغيل. يتم توصيل الإخراج بـ VDD ، وهذه هي الطريقة التي يوفر بها الإخراج المنطق واحد أو قيمة عالية.

عندما يحصل الإدخال A على قيمة عالية كمدخل ، ويحصل الإدخال B على قيمة منخفضة ، ينتقل NMOS الصاعد إلى حالة ON ، وينتقل NMOS المنخفض إلى حالة OFF. لا يمكن إنشاء الاتصال الأرضي بقيمة الإخراج. في هذه الحالة ، يتم تشغيل PMOS الأيسر ، بينما يظل PMOS الأيمن في حالة OFF. يجد VDD مسارًا من خلال الإخراج ويوفر قيمة إخراج عالية أو منطق 1.

عندما يحصل الإدخال B على قيمة عالية كمدخل ، ويحصل الإدخال A على قيمة منخفضة ، ينتقل NMOS الصاعد إلى حالة OFF ، وينتقل NMOS المنخفض إلى حالة التشغيل. لا يمكن إنشاء الاتصال الأرضي بقيمة الإخراج. أيضًا ، في هذه الحالة ، يتم إيقاف تشغيل PMOS الأيسر ، بينما ينتقل PMOS الأيمن إلى حالة التشغيل. يجد VDD مسارًا من خلال الإخراج ويوفر قيمة إخراج عالية أو منطق 1.

بالنسبة للمنطق النهائي ، عندما يحصل كل من المدخلات على جهد دخل عالٍ أو قيمة منطقية واحدة ، يكون كلا الترانزستورات NMOS في حالة التشغيل. كل من ترانزستورات PMOS في حالة إيقاف التشغيل ، مما يوفر مسارًا للجهد الأرضي للتواصل مع الإخراج. وبالتالي يوفر الناتج صفرًا منطقيًا أو قيمة منخفضة كإخراج.

لمزيد من المقالات المتعلقة بالإلكترونيات وتدفق تصميم VLSI اضغط هنا

سوديبتا روي

أنا متحمس للإلكترونيات ومكرس حاليًا في مجال الإلكترونيات والاتصالات. لدي اهتمام كبير باستكشاف التقنيات الحديثة مثل الذكاء الاصطناعي والتعلم الآلي. كتاباتي مكرسة لتوفير بيانات دقيقة ومحدثة لجميع المتعلمين. مساعدة شخص ما في اكتساب المعرفة تمنحني متعة كبيرة. دعنا نتواصل من خلال LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/sr-sudipta/

آخر المقالات

VLSI Design Flow of logic circuits | its important facts

POINTS OF DISCUSSIONS

  • Introduction to VLSI Design Flow
  • What is VLSI Design Flow ?
  • CMOS logic design in VLSI Design Flow
  • CMOS inverter
  • CMOS two input NAND and NOR gates
  • Few facts of VLSI Design Flow
VLSI Design: Overview & Design Rules || Click Here to Know!

Introduction to VLSI Design Flow

In the previous article, we have got an overview of VLSI design flow. In this article, we will learn about how different logic circuits can be implemented using VLSI design. VLSI is one of the key technologies in this era of digitalization. Transistors are used to implement logic circuits in VLSI design.

Digital logics are three types – the Inverter of the NOT gate, the AND gate, and the OR gate. More complex gates like -NAND, NOR, XNOR, and XOR can also be made using the basic gates. Let us discuss some of the methods of implementation of logic circuits.

CMOS Logic Design

Digital is everything about ZERO and ONE or HIGH or LOW. The input for a digital logic circuit will be either 0 or 1, so as the output value. Now, if a circuit takes input as 0 and 1, then the logic can be understood by the switch function as given-below.

VLSI Design Flow
Switching Operation for VLSI Design Flow

We can see in the image that when the s1 switch is opened and the s2 switch is closed, then the output will be 0; for vice versa, the output will be 1.

Complementary Push-Pull structure, VLSI Design Flow
A CMOS logic implementation; PUN – Pull Up Network; PDN – Pull Down Network, VLSI Design Flow
For Complete VHDL Tutorial! Click Here!

CMOS Design Methodology

There are three steps for designing a CMOS logic as a part of VLSI design flow.

  1. Find out the complement of the Boolean Expression you need to implement.
  2. Describe the PUN
  3. Describe the PDN

The Pull Up Network Design:

Multiplying terms: NMOSFETs in parallel connection

Additive Terms: NMOSFETs in series connections

The Pull-Down Network Design:

Multiplying terms: NMOSFETs in series connections

Additive Terms: NMOSFETs in parallel connections

Design Your First VHDL Model using Xilinx. Click here for step by step guide!

CMOS Inverter / CMOS NOT Gate Design

A digital inverter is a NOT gate that gives the inverted output for an input. For high input or input is digital ONE, then the output is low or digital ZERO. For low input or input is digital ZERO, then the output is high or digital ONE.

INPUTOUTPUT
HIGHLOW
LOWHIGH
NOT gate truth table / Inverter truth table, VLSI Design Flow

A CMOS inverter is made of two enhancement-mode transistors – one is NMOS, and the other is PMOS. The NMOS works as a pull-down network, and the PMOS works as a pull up network. The input voltage controls both the transistors.

When the PMOS transistor is in the ON state, the NMOS transistor goes into the OFF state. Also, when the NMOS transistor stays OFF, the PMOS will be in an ON state. That is how both the transistors work in complementary mode.

The transistor, which remains in OFF state, provides a high impedance value, and the output value changes. Under the same rail, a CMOS logic-circuit has less noise than an NMOS logic-circuit.  

The graph of the voltage transfer characteristics of a symmetrical CMOS is given below.

Voltage transfer characteristics of a symmetrical CMOS, VLSI Design Flow

Operation

The transistors are made in such a way that their threshold voltages should be of equal magnitude and opposite polarity. That is, the threshold voltage of NMOS will be equal to the magnitude of the threshold voltage of PMOS, given by the below expression.

VTN = – VTP

When the input voltage (Vin) is smaller than the threshold voltage of the NMOS transistor, then the NMOS transistor is in an OFF state. Then, the PMOS circuit will control the output voltage (Vout) with the supplied voltage (VDD). The AB region of the graph represents this operation.

Now, when the input voltage is greater than the difference of VDD and threshold voltage, then the PMOS logic circuit enters into an OFF state, and the NMOS gets activated. Then, NMOS controls the output voltage (Vout) with the ground voltage that is 0 V.

The graph’s BC region represents the saturated NMOS, and the CD part represents both the transistors are in saturated mode. VINV is the input voltage value for which the input voltage equals the output voltage.

From careful observation, we can say that the change is very high-pitched for the voltage swipe from 0 to VDD. That is why the CMOS inverter is a perfect inverter for logic design.

Now, when the input voltage is equal to the VINV, both the transistors are in saturation. The pull up network (PUN) will have VGS value =

VGS = Vin – VDD

Or, VGS = VINV – VDD 

Current equation for saturation region is given as –

ID = μεW * (VGS – VTH )2 / 2 LD

This equation can be rewritten for pull up network–

 IDpu = μpεWpu * (VINV – VDD   – VTHP)2 / 2 D Lpu

The equation for pull down network will be –

IDpd = μnεWpd * (VINV – VTHN )2 / 2 D Lpd

Equating the drain current as per the characteristics –

μnεWpd * (VINV – VTHN )2 / 2 D Lpd = μpεWpu * (VINV – VDD   – VTHP)2 / 2 D Lpu

or, VINV – VDD   – VTHP = – β (VINV – VTHN) ; [ β = (μn * Zpu / μp * Zpd) ½]

Or, VINV = (VDD + VTHP + β * VTHN) / (1 + β)

If VTHN = – VTHP, then β comes as 1.

Furthermore, VINV comes as VDD/ 2 and

Zpd : Zpu = μn : μp =~ 2.5 :1

Power Dissipation

CMOS logic-circuits dissipate less power than that of an NMOS logic-circuit for low frequency. The CMOS power degeneracy swings as per the switching frequency of the circuit.

Noise margins

Noise margin is the maximum allowable deviation that can be occurred without changing the main feature under noisy conditions. NML is given as the difference between the logical threshold voltage and the logic ZERO equivalent voltage for a CMOS inverter of low level. The noise margin is described as the difference between the logic high or ONE equivalent voltage and the logical threshold voltage for the high level.

CMOS two input NAND and NOR gates

NOR and NAND gates are known as universal logic gates, which can be used to implement any logic equation or any kind of other logic gates. These are the two most manufactured gates using the CMOS logic for VLSI technology. Let us discuss the implementation and design of both the gates using CMOS logic.

CMOS NOR gate

A NOR gate can be described as an inverted OR gate. The truth table of the NOR gate is given below, where A and B are the inputs.

NOR Gate Truth Table, VLSI Design Flow

A NOR gate can also be implemented using CMOS technology. The CMOS inverter circuit comes into work in this design. A pull-down network (transistor) is added with the basic CMOS NOT gate in a parallel connection to implement the NOR operation. For two input NOR gates, only one pull-down network is added. To incorporate more numbers of inputs, more transistors are added.

Operation

The logic implementation using CMOS is shown in the below image. When any of the inputs is logic high or logic ONE, then the pull-down way to the ground is locked. The output will be logic ZERO.

When both the inputs get HIGH voltage or logic – ONE value, then the output value will be logic high or ONE. The logical threshold voltage will be equal to the threshold voltage of an inverter. That is how NOR logic can be achieved using CMOS.

PMOS NOR Gate, A & B are the inputs, Y is The Output; VLSI Design Flow, Image Credit – KenShirriffPMOS-NOR-gateCC BY-SA 4.0

CMOS NAND gate

A NAND gate can be described as an inverted AND gate. The truth table of the NAND gate is given below, where A and B are the inputs.

NAND gate truth table, VLSI Design Flow

A NAND gate can also be implemented using CMOS technology. The CMOS inverter circuit also comes into work in this design. A pull-down network (transistor) in series and a depletion mode transistor are added with the basic CMOS NOT gate to implement the NAND operation. For two input NAND gates, only one transistor is added. To incorporate more numbers of inputs, more transistors are added to the series connection.

Operation

CMOS NAND Gate, VLSI Design Flow; Image Credit – JustinForceCMOS NANDCC BY-SA 3.0

The logic implementation using CMOS is shown in the above image. When both the inputs are logic ZERO, both the NMOS transistors are in OFF state, while both the PMOS transistors are in ON state. The output gets connected to VDD, and that is how the output provides logic ONE or high value.

When input A gets a high value as input, and the input B gets a low value, the upside NMOS goes into ON state, and lower NMOS goes into OFF state. The ground connection cannot be established with the output value. In this condition, the left PMOS gets ON, whereas the right PMOS stays in the OFF state. The VDD finds a path through output and provides a high output value or logic 1.

When input B gets a high value as input, and input A gets a low value, the upside NMOS goes into OFF state, and lower NMOS goes into ON state. The ground connection cannot be established with the output value. Also, in this condition, the left PMOS gets OFF, whereas the right PMOS goes into the ON state. The VDD finds a path through output and provides a high output value or logic 1.

For the final logic, when both the input gets high input voltage or logic ONE value, both the NMOS transistors are in ON state. Both the PMOS transistors are in OFF state, providing a path for the ground voltage to connect with the output. The output thus provides logic ZERO or low value as output.

For more Electronics related article and VLSI design flow click here

About Sudipta Roy

I am an electronics enthusiast and currently devoted towards the field of Electronics and Communications.
I have a keen interest in exploring modern technologies such as AI & Machine Learning .
My writings are devoted towards providing accurate and updated data to all learners.
Helping someone in gaining knowledge gives me immense pleasure.

Let's connect through LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/sr-sudipta/