ملاحظات حول تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة: 9 حقائق يجب أن تعرفها

ما هو تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة؟

تعريف تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة :

يشير تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة إلى الظاهرة التي يحدث فيها تداخل لموجات الضوء التي تنعكس من الجانبين العلوي والسفلي للفيلم الرقيق. هذا التداخل قادر على زيادة أو تقليل الضوء المنعكس من الفيلم.

كيف يحدث تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة؟

عمل تدخل غشاء رقيق | شرح تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة

وفقًا للبصريات ، يشير الفيلم الرقيق إلى طبقة رقيقة من مادة لها سمك في نطاقنانومتر إلى ميكرونس. عندما تسقط موجات الضوء على سطح الفيلم الرقيق ، فإن الموجات إما تنعكس عائدة من السطح العلوي للمادة أو تنتقل عبرها. يمكن أن تعاني موجات الضوء التي يمكن أن تنتقل عبر السطح العلوي من الانعكاس أو الإرسال مرة أخرى من السطح السفلي للغشاء الرقيق. كمية الضوء (الوصف الكمي) التي يمكن أن تنعكس أو تنتقل من أسطح المادة تحكمها معادلات فرينل.

في بعض الأحيان ، تتفاعل موجات الضوء التي تنعكس من السطح العلوي أو تتداخل مع موجات الضوء التي تنعكس على السطح السفلي وتشكل نمط تداخل. يعتمد مستوى التداخل الذي يمكن أن يكون إما بنَّاءً أو هدامًا بين موجتي الضوء المنعكسين على اختلاف الطور بين موجتي الضوء.

يعتمد فرق الطور بين الموجتين مرة أخرى على عرض أو سماكة الطبقة الرقيقة ، ومعامل انكسار الفيلم الرقيق ، والزاوية التي تسقط فيها موجة الضوء الأولية على طبقة الفيلم المحددة. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن معامل الانكسار للوسط الموجود على الجانب الآخر من حدود الفيلم يلعب أيضًا دورًا في تحويل المرحلة بمقدار 180 درجة أو π راديان.

يمكن أن تعاني الموجة الضوئية من تحول طور قدره 180 درجة بعد الانعكاس من الحد السفلي إذا كان مؤشر انكسار الوسط الذي يضربه الضوء أكبر من مؤشر انكسار الوسط الذي كان الضوء ينتقل فيه في البداية. بعبارة أخرى ، يمكننا القول أنه إذا كان n1 هو معامل الانكسار للوسيط الأول و n2 هو معامل الانكسار لمادة الفيلم ويعطى أن n1 <n2 ، فإن الموجة الضوئية التي تنتقل من متوسط ​​1 إلى متوسط ​​2 يمكنها تعاني من تحول طور قدره π راديان بعد الانعكاس.

بعد التداخل من مثل هذا الوسيط ، لوحظ أن نمط التداخل للضوء يشكل إما نطاقات مشرقة ومظلمة بديلة أو نطاقات من ألوان مختلفة بناءً على نوع الضوء الساقط (لوني أو أحادي اللون أو أبيض).

اعتماد تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة على الطول الموجي

شرط للتدخل البناء والمدمّر في الأغشية الرقيقة

شرط التداخل المدمر في الأغشية الرقيقة

الشرط لحدوث التداخل المدمر ، أي أن الشرط الضروري لتداخل أشعة الضوء المنعكسة وإلغاء بعضها البعض هو أن سمك الفيلم يجب أن يكون مضاعفًا فرديًا لربع الطول الموجي للضوء الساقط عليه. لا يمكن أن تنعكس الموجة الضوئية التي تنتمي إلى نطاق الطول الموجي هذا وبالتالي تنتقل بالكامل.

التدخل الهدام. مصدر الصورة: جبدلمرحلة تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة 2CC BY-SA 3.0

شرط للتدخل البناء في الأغشية الرقيقة

شرط تداخل بناء على سبيل المثال ، فإن الشرط الضروري لأشعة الضوء المنعكسة للتداخل والتعزيز مع بعضها البعض هو أن سمك الفيلم يجب أن يكون مضاعفًا فرديًا لـ 1/2 من الطول الموجي للضوء الساقط عليه. في مثل هذه الحالات ، يزداد انعكاس موجات الضوء بواسطة حدود الغشاء الرقيق ويقل انتقال الموجات.

تداخل بناء. مصدر الصورة: جبدلمرحلة تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة 1CC BY-SA 3.0

ما سبب ظهور غشاء رقيق ملون في ضوء أبيض؟

اعتماد تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة على لون الضوء.

نظرًا لاعتماد مستوى التداخل على الطول الموجي في الأغشية الرقيقة ، يُلاحظ أن الضوء الأبيض الذي يتكون من عدد من الأطوال الموجية ينعكس وينتقل بشكل غير متساو. يتم تكثيف أطوال موجية معينة أو ألوان معينة من الضوء الأبيض بعد التداخل البناء وتعاني أطوال موجية أو ألوان معينة من تداخل مدمر ويتم إضعافها. توفر لنا ظاهرة تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة شرحًا لحدوث ألوان متعددة من الضوء من فقاعات الصابون وأغشية الزيت بعد الانعكاس.

الطلاءات المضادة للانعكاس من حيث تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة

تعمل الطلاءات المضادة للانعكاس المدمجة في عدسات الكاميرا والنظارات أيضًا على ظاهرة تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة. تم تصميمها بحيث يكون تحول الطور النسبي بين الحزمة المنعكسة عند الحدود العليا والسفلى للفيلم الرقيق 180 درجة.

العوامل التي يعتمد عليها سمك الأغشية الرقيقة:

سمك أو عرض الفيلم الحقيقي الذي تغطيه الموجات الضوئية أثناء مرورها يعتمد على عاملين رئيسيين: مؤشر الانكسار وزاوية وقوع الموجة الضوئية الواردة. عندما يزداد معامل الانكسار للوسط مقارنة بمعامل انكسار الهواء ، تنخفض سرعة الضوء. بعبارة أخرى ، يمكننا القول أن سرعة الضوء في الوسط تتناسب عكسًا مع معامل الانكسار للوسط.

ونحن نعلم أن يظل تردد الضوء كما هو لكل وسيطلذلك فإن التغير في السرعة يحدث بسبب التغير في الطول الموجي للضوء. لهذا السبب ، يتم تصنيع الأغشية مع الأخذ في الاعتبار الطول الموجي عندما ينتقل الضوء عبر الغشاء الرقيق.

عندما تكون زاوية السقوط صفر درجة أو تسقط موجات الضوء بشكل طبيعي ، يكون سمك الفيلم عمومًا 1/4 أو 1/2 من الطول الموجي المركزي للضوء الساقط. عندما تكون زاوية السقوط مائلة ، يتم إعطاء سمك الفيلم بواسطة ناتج جيب التمام لزاوية السقوط مع 1/4 أو 1/2 من الطول الموجي. هذا ما يفسر لماذا نرى أحيانًا اختلافًا في اللون بينما نغير زاوية الرؤية. (بالنسبة لعرض فيلم معين ، يُنظر إلى لون الضوء وهو يتحول من أطوال موجية أقصر إلى أطول عندما نميل زاوية السقوط من الوضع الطبيعي إلى الوضع المائل.)

لون الضوء الناتج عن تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة:

بعد المرور عبر الغشاء الرقيق ، يحدث تداخل بناء أو مدمر مما يولد انعكاسًا ضيقًا أو نطاقات إرسال. نظرًا لتشكيل هذه النطاقات الضيقة ، لا يمكننا التمييز بين الأطوال الموجية بناءً على اللون. يشتمل الضوء المنعكس أو المنقول على خليط من عدة أطوال موجية غائبة عن الجزء المتبقي من الطيف.

يتم إنشاء مثل هذه الرؤية أيضًا من خلال المنشور أو حواجز شبكية الحيود. نادرًا ما تنتمي الألوان التي لوحظت في هذه الحالة إلى طيف VIBGYOR (البنفسجي والنيلي والأزرق والأخضر والأصفر والبرتقالي والأحمر) وعادة ما تكون ظلال من البني والأزرق المخضر والذهبي والخزامى والفيروز والأزرق الفاتح والأرجواني.

يمكننا فحص وتحليل موجة الضوء المنعكسة أو المنقولة بواسطة غشاء رقيق لجمع معلومات حول عرض الغشاء الرقيق أو معامل الانكسار لوسط الغشاء الرقيق. تستخدم الأفلام الرقيقة تجاريًا لعدد من الأغراض مثل الطلاءات المضادة للانعكاس وعدسات الكاميرا المضادة للانعكاس والمرايا والمرشحات الضوئية.

ما هو تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة ما الذي يعطي اللون لفقاعات الصابون وانسكاب الزيت؟

تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة في فقاعة الصابون:

توفر لنا ظاهرة تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة شرحًا لحدوث ألوان متعددة من الضوء من فقاعات الصابون وأغشية الزيت بعد الانعكاس. بعد المرور عبر الغشاء الرقيق ، يحدث تداخل بناء أو مدمر مما يولد انعكاسًا ضيقًا أو نطاقات إرسال. لذلك ، يعمل سطح فقاعة الصابون كغشاء رقيق وينتج طيفًا من الألوان يشبه قوس قزح.

تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة في فقاعة صابون. مصدر الصورة: Brocken Inagloryفقاعة صابون السماءCC BY-SA 3.0

كيف تعرف ما إذا كان تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة بناءًا أم مدمرًا؟

اشتقاق تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة | معادلة تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة:

دعونا نفكر في سيناريو تسقط فيه موجات الضوء على مادة رقيقة. تنعكس هذه الأشعة الضوئية من الحدين العلوي والسفلي للغشاء الرقيق. يجب قياس السُمك البصري أو اختلاف المسار البصري (OPD) للضوء الذي ينعكس للحصول على شروط التداخل.

مخطط تداخل غشاء رقيق

تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة
تمثيل تخطيطي لاختلاف المسار البصري في غشاء رقيق. مصدر الصورة: نيكوجواروتدخل غشاء رقيقCC BY 4.0

بالنظر إلى الرسم التخطيطي الشعاعي الموضح أدناه ، يتم إعطاء فرق المسار البصري بين موجتي الضوء من خلال:

هنا،

باستخدام قانون سنيل ، يمكننا قول ذلك

ولذلك،

صيغة التداخل البناءة رقيقة | صيغة التداخل المدمرة رقيقة

عندما يكون الاختلاف في OPD أو الاختلاف في المسار البصري بين الموجتين مساويًا لمضاعف متكامل للطول الموجي المعطى للضوء ، أي OPD = mλ ، (حيث m عدد صحيح) يمكن أن يحدث تداخل مدمر. للحصول على التداخل البناء ، فرق طول المسير المطلوب (2t) يجب أن يكون مساويًا لمضاعف متكامل لنصف الطول الموجي المحدد.

ومع ذلك ، يُلاحظ أن حالة التداخل البناء أو المدمر يمكن أن تتغير اعتمادًا على تحولات الطور المحتملة. ومع ذلك ، لوحظ أن

ما هي تطبيقات تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة؟

تطبيق تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة:

تُستخدم ظاهرة تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة في التطبيقات التالية:

  • الطلاءات المضادة للانعكاس: تستخدم الطلاءات المضادة للانعكاس لإزالة أو الحد من الضوء المنعكس بواسطة نظام بصري (مرايا ، عدسات ، إلخ) وتعظيم أو تعزيز الضوء الذي ينقله مثل هذا النظام. تم تصميم أو تصنيع الطلاء المضاد للانعكاس بحيث يولد الضوء المنعكس بواسطة النظام البصري تداخلًا مدمرًا ويولد الضوء المنقول بواسطة النظام البصري تداخلاً بناءً مع لون معين أو طول موجي للضوء الساقط.

عادةً ما يتم تصميم طلاء مضاد للانعكاس بحيث يكون عرضه البصري أو سمكه مساويًا لربع الطول الموجي لموجة الضوء الساقط ، ويقع مؤشر انكسار الوسط بين معامل انكسار الهواء ومعامل انكسار الزجاج. رياضيا ، يمكن إثبات ذلك من خلال المعادلات:

nهواء الطلاءزجاج

د = λ / (4nالطلاء)

  • تصنيع الاجهزة البصرية: ظاهرة تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة تستخدم على نطاق واسع لتصنيع الأدوات البصرية. يتم اختبار المكونات الضوئية مثل العدسة أو المرآة للتأكد من دقتها من خلال مقارنتها بالسيد أثناء تصميمها وتصنيعها. تتشكل هذه المكونات الضوئية بطريقة تجعلها تتمتع بدقة أقل من طول موجي على كامل سطح النظام.
  • أغراض البحث: يمكن أن يوفر تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة معلومات حول مؤشر انكسار مادة ما ، وسمكها البصري ، والتفاعل مع أطوال موجية مختلفة من الضوء ، وما إلى ذلك. ولهذا السبب ، يتم استخدام تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة لتحليل ومقارنة العديد من الوسائط البصرية المختلفة.

أسئلة تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة | مشاكل تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة على سبيل المثال | العددية المتعلقة بتداخل الأغشية الرقيقة:

تم تصميم الكاميرات المعقدة باستخدام مجموعة من عدة عدسات ومرايا. في بعض الأحيان ، تنعكس أشعة الضوء من أسطح العدسة وتقلل من وضوح ودقة الصورة. هذه الانعكاسات الداخلية الشاردة من العدسات محدودة بتغطية العدسات بطبقة رقيقة من فلوريد المغنيسيوم. يتسبب الطلاء المضاد للانعكاس في حدوث تداخل مدمر في الأغشية الرقيقة ويزيل الضوء الشارد.

مشاكل ممارسة تدخل الأغشية الرقيقة

وفقًا لك ، يمكن أن يكون أقل عرض ممكن للفيلم ، إذا كان معامل الانكسار للطلاء يساوي 1.38 وكان الطول الموجي المصمم للعمل على النحو الأمثل هو 550 نانومتر وهو عادةً الطول الموجي الأكثر كثافة الذي ينتمي إلى الطيف المرئي ؟ يُؤخذ معامل انكسار الزجاج على أنه 1.52.

حل:

للحصول على تدخل مدمر هنا ،

2 ر = λn2/2

دع الطول الموجي في الفيلم يكون λn2 وتعطى من قبل

λn2= λ / ن2

لذلك ، سمك t يمكن أن تعطى بواسطة

ر = (λ / ن 2) / 4 = (550 نانومتر / 1.38) / 4 = 99.6 نانومتر

ملاحظة: تعتبر أغشية الطلاء المضادة للانعكاس مثل تلك المذكورة في هذا السؤال من أكثر الطرق فعالية لتوليد تداخل مدمر باستخدام أنحف طبقة ممكنة. يوفر هذا أيضًا شدة منخفضة للضوء الشارد الذي ينتمي إلى طيف أوسع وعلى نطاق أوسع من زوايا الحوادث.

تمت تسمية الطلاء المضاد للانعكاس بعد وظيفته في تقليل انعكاس طول موجي معين. ومع ذلك ، فإن الأطوال الموجية غير المذكورة يمكن أن تمر جزئيًا عبر المرشح ، أي لا يتم إلغاؤها تمامًا. تستخدم هذه الطلاءات المضادة للانعكاس أيضًا في صنع نوافذ السيارات والنظارات الشمسية.

أوجد أصغر ثلاثة عرض بصري ممكن لفقاعة صابون يمكن أن يولد تداخلاً بناءً للضوء الذي ينتمي إلى الطيف الأحمر الذي يبلغ طوله الموجي 650 نانومتر؟ يعتبر معامل انكسار فقاعة الصابون مساويًا لانكسار الماء في هذه الحالة.

حل: هنا، n1 = n= 1.00 للهواء

n2 = 1.333 للصابون (ما يعادل الماء).

 يحدث انزياح بمقدار λ / 2 للأشعة التي تنعكس من السطح العلوي لفقاعة الصابون. الشعاع الذي يعاني من الانعكاس من السطح السفلي لا يتعرض لأي تحول.

للحصول على التداخل البناء ، فرق طول المسير المطلوب (2t) يجب أن يكون مساويًا لمضاعف متكامل لنصف الطول الموجي المحدد.

لذلك ، فإن أول ثلاث قيم محتملة لفرق الطول هي λn / 2 و 3λn / 2 و 5λn / 2.

للحصول على تداخل مدمر ، يجب أن يكون فرق طول المسير المطلوب مساويًا للمضاعف المتكامل لطول الموجة المحدد.

لذلك ، فإن أول ثلاث قيم محتملة لفرق الطول هي 0 ،nو 2λn.

وبالتالي،

تداخل بناء يمكن أن يحدث عندما 

2tc = λn / 2 و 3λn / 2 و 5λn / 2 وهكذا

لذلك ، أصغر عرض أو سمك بناء ممكن tc مساوي ل:

tc = λn / 4 = (/ n) / 4 = (650 نانومتر / 1.333) / 4 = 122 نانومتر

القيمة الثانية المحتملة للسمك التي يمكن أن توفر تداخلًا بناء هي t'c = 3λn/ 4 اذن t'c = 366 نانومتر.

وبالمثل ، فإن القيمة الثالثة المحتملة للسمك التي يمكن أن توفر تداخلًا بناء هي t′ ′c = 5λn/ 4 ، إذن ، t′ ′c = 610 نانومتر.

ملاحظة: من السؤال أعلاه يمكننا أن نلاحظ أنه إذا كان الضوء الساقط أحمرًا تمامًا ، فيمكننا ملاحظة العصابات الساطعة والداكنة التي تزداد بشكل موحد من حيث السماكة.

سيكون موضع أول نطاق مظلم محتمل عند سمك 0 ، ثم يمكن وضع أول نطاق ساطع محتمل بسمك 122 نانومتر ، ثم النطاق المظلم الثاني عند 244 نانومتر ، والنطاق الساطع عند 366 نانومتر ، والفرقة الداكنة عند 488 نانومتر ، واللمعان. الفرقة عند 610 نانومتر. إذا كان لفقاعة الصابون تباين منتظم في السماكة في جميع الأنحاء ، مثل إسفين ناعم ، فسيتم توزيع نمط الشريط الذي تم الحصول عليه بالتساوي في الفضاء.

لماذا لا نرى تدخلًا في الأفلام السميكة؟

لم يتم العثور على مصادر الضوء بشكل عام لتكون صغيرة بشكل غير محدود في العالم العملي. تنتقل موجات الضوء كشعاع له عرض معين. هذا يعني أن موجات الضوء تقع على سطح مادة ما في نطاق من الزوايا. بالنسبة للأغشية الرقيقة ، تغطي الزوايا المقدار نفسه تقريبًا من اختلاف المسار البصري وتولد نمط تداخل.

ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة للمواد ذات الطبقات السميكة ، يختلف اختلاف المسار البصري عند الزوايا المختلفة. في زوايا معينة ، تظهر موجات الضوء تداخلاً بناءً ، بينما تظهر بعض الزوايا التدخل الهدام. وبالتالي ، يتم إلغاء النمط الناتج ولا يمكننا رؤية أي تداخل.

لماذا نحتاج إلى مصدر واسع للضوء لمراقبة نمط التداخل بواسطة غشاء رقيق؟

إذا اعتبرنا مصدرًا ضيقًا أو مصدر نقطة للضوء لمراقبة التداخل ، فسيكون قادرًا على إضاءة جزء انتقائي صغير فقط من الفيلم الرقيق. بمعنى آخر ، ستكون العين البشرية قادرة على رؤية جزء معين فقط من الفيلم الرقيق. نتيجة لهذا ، سيكون من المستحيل مراقبة نمط التداخل بالكامل.

على النقيض من ذلك ، عندما نستخدم مصدرًا أوسع للضوء ، فإن موجات الضوء تضيء السطح بالكامل بزوايا سقوط مختلفة إلى حد كبير وتعكس شعاعًا موازيًا للعين البشرية. هذا يساعد في عرض نمط التداخل الكامل الذي يتكون من الفيلم الرقيق.

كيف تجد الحد الأدنى لسمك الغشاء الرقيق؟

الحد الأدنى للسمك المطلوب t يتم إعطاء الغشاء الرقيق بواسطة المعادلة t = (λ / n2) / 4. حيث n2 هو معامل الانكسار للطبقة الرقيقة.

الخلاصة: في هذا البرنامج التعليمي لملاحظات التداخل الرقيق ، انتهينا من المناقشة حول تداخل الأغشية الرقيقة ، والمعادلة ، والعمل ، والاعتماد ، والتطبيقات ، والمشكلات ، وبعض الأسئلة الشائعة. لمعرفة المزيد عن الطاقة الضوئية انقر هنا.

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المشار إليها إلزامية *

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Thin Film Interference Notes: 9 Facts You Should Know


What is thin film interference?

Thin film interference definition :

Thin film interference refers to the phenomenon where interference of the light waves that get reflected by the upper and lower sides of a thin film occurs. This interference is capable of either increasing or reducing the light reflected from the film.

How does Thin film interference happening ?

Thin film interference working | Thin film interference explanation

According to optics, a thin film refers to a thin layer of a material having the thickness in the range of sub-nanometer to microns. When light waves fall on the thin film surface then the waves are either reflected back from the upper surface of the material or are transmitted through it. The light waves that manage to get transmitted through the upper surface can suffer from reflection or transmission again from the bottom surface of the thin film.  The amount of light (quantitative description) that can get reflected or transmitted from the surfaces of the material is governed by the Fresnel equations.

At times, the light waves that get reflected by the upper surface interact or interfere with the light waves that get reflected by the bottom surface and form an interference pattern. The level of interference that can be either constructive or destructive between the two reflected light waves is dependent upon the phase difference of the two light waves.

The phase difference between the two waves is again dependent upon the width or thickness of the thin film layer, the index of refraction of the thin film, and the angle at which the initial light wave is incident on the given film layer. Moreover, the refractive index of the medium on the other side of the film boundary also plays a part in shifting the phase by 180° or π radians.

A light wave can suffer from a phase shift of 180° after reflection from the bottom boundary if the index of refraction of the medium that the light is striking is greater than the index of refraction of the medium in which the light was initially traveling. In other words, we can say that if n1 is the refractive index of the first medium and n2 is the refractive index of the film material and it is given that n1 < n2, then the light wave traveling from medium 1 to medium 2, can suffer a phase shift of π radians after reflection.

After the interference from such a medium, the interference pattern of light is observed to form either alternate bright and dark bands or bands of different colors based on the type of the incident light (chromatic or monochromatic or white).

Dependence of thin film interference on wavelength

Condition for constructive and destructive interference in thin film

Condition for destructive interference in thin film

The condition for destructive interference to occur i.e. the condition necessary for the reflected light rays to interfere and cancel each other is that film thickness has to be an odd multiple of 1/4th of the wavelength of the incident light on it. The lightwave belonging to such a wavelength range cannot get reflected and is therefore completely transmitted.

Destructive interference. Image Source: JhbdelThin film interference phase 2CC BY-SA 3.0

Condition for constructive interference in thin films

The condition for constructive interference to occur i.e. the condition necessary for the reflected light rays to interfere and reinforce with each other is that film thickness has to be an odd multiple of 1/2 of the wavelength of the incident light on it. In such cases the reflection of the light waves by the thin film boundary increases and the transmission of waves decreases.

Constructive interference. Image source: JhbdelThin film interference phase 1CC BY-SA 3.0

What is the cause of a thin film to be seen coloured in a white light ?

Dependence of thin film interference on the color of light.

Due to the dependence of interference level on wavelength in thin films, it is seen that white light that comprises a number of wavelengths gets reflected and transmitted unevenly. Certain wavelengths or colors of white light get intensified after constructive interference and certain wavelengths or colors suffer from destructive interference and are attenuated. The phenomenon of Thin film interference provides us an explanation about the occurrence of multiple colors of light from soap bubbles and oil films after reflection.

Anti reflection coatings in terms of thin film interference

The antireflection coatings incorporated in camera lenses and glasses also work on the phenomenon of thin film interference. These are designed so that the relative phase shift in between the beam reflected at the upper and lower boundaries of a thin film is 180°.

Factors on which the thickness of thin films depend:

The true film thickness or width that is covered by the light waves while passing through it is dependent on two major factors: its index of refraction and the angle of incidence of the incoming light wave. When the refractive index of the medium increases compared to the refractive index of air, the speed of light is decreased. In other words, we can say that the speed of light in a medium is inversely proportional to the refractive index of the medium.

We know that frequency of light remains the same for every medium, therefore the variation in speed occurs due to the change in wavelength of light. For this reason, films are manufactured keeping in mind the wavelength as light travels through the thin film.

When the angle of incidence is zero degrees or the light waves fall normally the thickness of the film is generally 1/4th or 1/2 of the central wavelength of the incident light. When the angle of incidence is oblique, the thickness of the film is given by the product of the cosine of the incident angle with 1/4th or 1/2 of the wavelength. This explains why sometimes we see a variation in color as we change viewing angle. (For a given film width, the color of light is seen to shift from shorter to longer wavelengths when we tilt the angle of incidence from normal position to oblique.)

Color of light generated by thin film interference:

After passing through the thin film, constructive or destructive interference occurs and that generates a narrow reflection or transmission bandwidths. Due to the formation of these narrow bandwidths, we cannot distinguish between wavelengths based on color. The light reflected or transmitted comprises a mixture of several wavelengths that are absent from the remaining part of the spectrum.

Such a sighting is also generated by prisms or diffraction gratings. The colors observed in this case rarely belong to the VIBGYOR (Violet, Indigo, Blue, Green, Yellow, Orange, Red) spectrum and are usually shades of brown, teal, gold, lavender, turquoise, bright blue, and magenta.

We can examine and analyze the reflected or transmitted light wave by a thin film to gather information about the width of the thin-film or the operative index of refraction of the thin-film medium. Thin films are commercially used for a number of purposes such as anti-reflection coatings, anti-reflection camera lenses, mirrors, and optical filters.

What is thin film interference What gives the color to soap bubbles and oil spills ?

Thin film interference in soap bubble:

The phenomenon of Thin film interference provides us an explanation about the occurrence of multiple colors of light from soap bubbles and oil films after reflection. After passing through the thin film, constructive or destructive interference occurs and that generates a narrow reflection or transmission bandwidths. Therefore, the soap bubble surface acts as a thin film and produces a spectrum of color similar to that of a rainbow.

Thin-film interference in a soap bubble. Image source: Brocken InaglorySoap bubble skyCC BY-SA 3.0

How do you know if thin film interference is constructive or destructive ?

Thin film interference derivation | Thin Film interference equation:

Let us consider a scenario in which light waves are incident on thin-film material. These light rays get reflected from both the upper and lower boundaries of the thin film. The optical thickness or the optical path difference (OPD) of the light that gets reflected should be measured for obtaining the conditions for interference.

Thin film interference diagram

Thin Film interference
Diagrammatic representation of optical path difference in a thin film. Image source: NicoguaroThin film interferenceCC BY 4.0

Considering the ray diagram shown below, the optical path difference between the two light waves is given by:

Here,

By using Snell’s law, we can say that

Therefore,

Constructive interference formula thin film | Destructive interference formula thin film

When the OPD or optical path difference between the two waves is equal to an integral multiple of the given wavelength of light i.e. OPD = mλ, (where m is an integer) then destructive interference can occur. For obtaining constructive interference, the required path length difference (2t) should be equal to an integral multiple of half of the given wavelength.

However, it is observed that this condition of constructive or destructive interference can change depending on the possible phase shifts. However, it is observed that

What are the applications of thin film interference ?

Application of thin film interference:

The phenomenon of thin film interference is used for the following applications:

  • Anti-reflection coatings: Anti-reflection coatings are used for eliminating or limiting the light reflected by an optical system (mirrors, lenses, etc.) and maximizing or enhancing the light transmitted by such a system. An anti-reflection coating is designed or manufactured in such a way that the light reflected by the optical system generates destructive interference and the light transmitted by the optical system generates constructive interference for a certain color or wavelength of incident light.

Typically, an anti-reflection coating is designed such that it’s optical width or thickness is equal to a quarter-wavelength of the incident light wave and the index of refraction of the medium lies between the refractive index of air and the refractive index of glass. Mathematically, this can be demonstrated by the equations:

nair < ncoatings < nglass

d= λ/(4ncoatings)

  • Manufacturing optical instruments: The phenomenon of thin film interference is widely used for manufacturing optical instruments. Optical components such as a lens or a mirror are tested for their accuracy by comparing them with a master while designing and manufacturing them. These optical components are shaped in such a way that they have an accuracy of less than a wavelength over the entire surface of the system.
  • Research purposes: Thin film interference can provide information about the index of refraction of a material, its optical thickness, interaction with different wavelengths of light, etc. For this reason, thin film interference is used for analyzing and comparing several different optical mediums.

Thin film interference questions | Thin film interference example problems | Numerical related to thin film interference:

Complex cameras are designed by using a combination of series of several lenses and mirrors. At times, light rays get reflected from these lens surfaces and reduce the clarity and resolution of the image. These internal stray reflections from lenses are limited by coating the lenses with a thin layer of magnesium fluoride. The anti-reflection coating causes destructive thin film interference and eliminates the stray light.

Thin film interference practice problems

What according to you can be the thinnest possible film-width, if the refractive index of the coating is equal to 1.38 and the wavelength it is designed to operate on optimally is 550-nm which is typically the most intense wavelength belonging to the visible spectrum? The refractive index of glass is taken as 1.52.

Solution:

For obtaining destructive interference here,

2t= λn2/2

Let the wavelength in the film be λn2 and is given by

λn2= λ/n2

Therefore, the thickness t can be given by

t = (λ/n2)/4 = (550 nm/1.38) /4 =99.6 nm

Note: The anti-reflective coating films like the one mentioned in this question are considered to be one of the most efficient ways of generating destructive interference with the use of the thinnest possible layer. This also provides a reduced stray intensity of light belonging to a broader spectrum and over a broader range of incident angles.

Anti-reflecting coating is named after its function of reducing the reflection of a particular wavelength. However, wavelengths other than the mentioned one can partially pass through the filter i.e. they are not canceled entirely. These anti-reflective coatings are also used for making automobile windows and sunglasses.

Find the three smallest possible optical width of a soap bubble that can generate constructive interference for light belonging to the red spectrum having a wavelength of 650 nm? The refractive index of the soap bubble is considered to be equal to the refractive of water in this case.

Solution: Here, n1 = n= 1.00 for air

n2 = 1.333 for soap (equivalent to water).

 A shift of λ/2 occurs for the ray that gets reflected from the top surface of the soap bubble. The ray that suffers from reflection from the bottom surface does not experience any shift.

For obtaining constructive interference, the required path length difference (2t) should be equal to an integral multiple of half of the given wavelength.

Therefore, the first three possible length difference values are λn/2, 3λn/2, and 5λn/2.

For obtaining destructive interference, the required path length difference should be equal to the integral multiple of the given wavelength.

Therefore, the first three possible length difference values are 0, λn, and 2λn.

So,

Constructive interference can take place when 

2tc= λn/2, 3λn/2, and 5λn/2, and so on

Therefore, the smallest possible constructive width or thickness tc is equal to:

tc= λn/4 = (λ/n)/4 = (650 nm/1.333)/4 =122 nm

The second possible value of thickness that can provide constructive interference is tc = 3λn/4, Therefore, tc = 366 nm.

Similarly, the third possible value of thickness that can provide constructive interference is t′′c = 5λn/4, therefore, t′′c = 610 nm.

Note: From the above question we can observe that if the incident light was purely red, then we could observe bright and dark bands that increase uniformly in terms of thickness.

The position of the first possible dark band would be at 0 thickness, then the first possible bright band could be positioned at 122 nm thickness, then second dark band at 244 nm, bright band at 366 nm, dark band at 488 nm, and bright band at 610 nm. If the soap bubble had a uniform variation of thickness throughout, such as a smooth wedge, then the band pattern obtained would be distributed evenly in space.

Why don’t we see interference in thick films?

Light sources are generally not found to be infinitely small in the practical world. Light waves travel as a beam having a certain width. This means that light waves are incident on the surface of a material over a range of angles. For thin films, the angles cover approximately the same amount of optical path difference and generate an interference pattern.

However, for thick layered materials, the optical path difference at different angles is not the same. At certain angles, the light waves show constructive interference, while some angles show destructive interference. The resultant pattern, therefore, gets canceled out and we are unable to see any interference.

Why is a broad source of light needed to observe the interference pattern by a thin film?

If we consider a narrow source or a point source of light for observing interference, then it will be able to illuminate only a small selective portion of the thin film. In other words, the human eye will be able to see only a certain section of the thin film. Due to this, it will be rather impossible to observe the entire interference pattern.

In contrast to this, when we use a broader source of light, the light waves illuminate the entire surface at considerably different incident angles and reflect back a parallel beam to the human eye. This helps in viewing the entire interference pattern formed by the thin film.

How do you find the minimum thickness of a thin film?

The minimum required thickness t of the thin film is given by the equation t = (λ/n2)/4. Where n2 is the refractive index of the thin film.

Conclusion : In this thin film interference notes tutorial we are done with the discussion on thin film interference, Equation,Working,Dependence, Applications,Problems and few Frequently Asked Questions . To know more about light energy click here.

Sanchari Chakraborty

I am an eager learner, currently invested in the field of Applied Optics and Photonics. I am also an active member of SPIE (International society for optics and photonics) and OSI(Optical Society of India). My articles are aimed towards bringing quality science research topics to light in a simple yet informative way. Science has been evolving since time immemorial. So, I try my bit to tap into the evolution and present it to the readers. Let's connect through https://www.linkedin.com/in/sanchari-chakraborty-7b33b416a/

Recent Posts