Isolation thermique | Tous ses concepts et applications importants

Sujet de discussion: Isolation thermique

  • Définition de l'isolation thermique
  • Isolant thermique
  • Chaleur et transfert de chaleur
  • Modes de transfert d'isolation thermique
  • Pourquoi l'isolation thermique? Ses objectifs et ses exigences
  • Avantages de l'isolation thermique
  • Matériaux utilisés pour l'isolation thermique
  • Types d'isolation thermique
  • Isolation thermique dans le secteur nucléaire
  • Propriétés thermiques de l'isolation

Définition de l'isolation thermique

Lorsque deux objets sont en contact thermique l'un avec l'autre ou sous l'influence d'un rayonnement, le processus d'épuisement du transfert de chaleur entre les entités est appelé isolation thermique. C'est tout le contraire de ce que la conductivité thermique peut être définie. Essentiellement, un objet à très faible conductivité thermique peut être considéré comme un matériau bien isolé. 

Isolant thermique

Alors que l'isolation thermique est le processus d'épuisement du transfert de chaleur, les isolants thermiques sont des matériaux qui utilisent le processus d'isolation. Il empêche l'énergie thermique d'être transférée d'un objet à un autre. Cela peut être vu en détail du point de vue de la thermodynamique tout en comprenant les principes de l'énergie thermique et plus encore.

La Chaleur Isolation

C'est une forme d'énergie qui dépend d'un autre facteur appelé température. Le transfert d'énergie sous forme de chaleur d'un corps à un autre entraîne une différence de température. La chaleur s'écoule généralement d'un corps plus chaud vers un corps plus froid. Il joue un rôle important dans les principes de la thermodynamique. Si un corps est froid, cela signifie que la chaleur est évacuée et non la froideur ajoutée, ce qui apporte un fait amusant à propos de cette forme d'énergie.

La chaleur peut être transférée par trois moyens différents.

  1. Conduction
  2. Convention
  3. Radiation

La conduction est le processus de transfert d'énergie entre deux objets où le moyen d'échange se fait par contact direct. Dans le même temps, la convection est le transfert d'énergie par le mouvement de la matière, utilisant l'air comme moyen. Le rayonnement est le processus de transfert qui se produit sans aucun milieu mais à l'aide d'ondes électromagnétiques.

Les trois équations concernant les trois formes de transfert de chaleur sont les suivantes,

Conduction: Q = [k · A · (Thot - Tcold)] / d

Convection: Q = hc · A · (Ts - Tf)

Rayonnement: P = e · σ · A · (Tr4 - Tc4) (En utilisant la loi de Stefan-Boltzmann)

Des exemples de modes de transfert que l'on retrouve dans notre vie quotidienne sous conduction peuvent être aussi simples que des molécules vibrantes accélérées dans la main au contact d'une tasse de café chaude. Cela signifie que la main s'est réchauffée là où le transfert d'énergie a eu lieu par contact direct. 

Un exemple typique de convection serait la réfrigération, où les aliments conservés dans le réfrigérateur deviendraient essentiellement froids par convection d'air et d'autres liquides de refroidissement. 

Le rayonnement est le mode de transfert à travers un vide, comme la chaleur du soleil qui atteint la terre.

Pourquoi l'isolation thermique? Ses objectifs et ses exigences

L'objectif de l'isolation thermique est de modérer la température dans quelque chose d'aussi petit qu'une maison individuelle à aussi complexe qu'un réacteur nucléaire. L'isolation thermique a pour but de fortifier les éléments de construction contre les dommages causés par l'humidité ou l'impact thermique sur le composant. L'usure de l'objet ou de la pièce peut être diminuée pendant l'hiver grâce à une isolation thermique, qui sert à la conservation de l'énergie. Dans le même temps, pendant l'été, la surchauffe est considérablement réduite. 

Avantages de l'isolation thermique

L'isolation thermique crée un environnement optimal qui maintient l'environnement au chaud en hiver et au frais en été, permettant une vie et un fonctionnement confortables. En raison de la demande d'un environnement de vie confortable, l'isolation thermique améliore considérablement la conservation de l'énergie et les coûts d'entretien. Il aide également à empêcher le dépôt d'humidité sur les murs intérieurs d'une pièce ou d'un conteneur qui peut être causé par l'effet de la température et de l'humidité.

Isolation thermique matériels

  1. Fibre de verre
  2. Mousse de polyurethane
  3. Cellulose
  4. polystyrène
  5. Laine minérale

Isolation thermique en fibre de verre: 

c'est la méthode d'isolation thermique la plus courante et la plus fréquemment utilisée dans les maisons modernes. Il est dérivé de silicium finement tissé, de fragments de verre recyclé et de particules de sable contenant de la poudre de verre. 

La fibre de verre ou la laine de verre est généralement utilisée comme matériau d'isolation acoustique, un matériau d'intérieur appliqué sous les toits en pente ou les planchers en bois. Étant donné que la fibre de verre perd sa valeur isolante lorsqu'elle est en contact avec l'humidité ou l'humidité, elle est principalement visible à l'intérieur des maisons et non à l'extérieur.

Les valeurs d'isolation du matériau sont données par,

  • Densité = 25 kg / m³
  • Capacité de stockage de chaleur = 800 J / kgK
  • Classe de feu => A2, S1, d0 (s'éteint par auto et faible capacité de flamme)
  • λ = 0.032 à 0.040 W / mL-K
  • Résistance à la diffusion: 1

Cellulose:

Ce type de méthode d'isolation thermique est considéré comme l'un des processus les plus écologiques de nos jours. La cellulose comprend 70 à 80% de denim, de papier ou de carton recyclé sous forme de mousse en vrac fortement traitée (15% volume) avec (NH () ₂SO₄, acide borique ou borax. Il est considéré comme la meilleure forme d'isolation thermique contre les solutions de résistance au feu qui sont essentiellement utilisées pour modérer les pertes de chaleur et augmenter la transmission du bruit. 

Propriétés de la cellulose, 

  • Conductivité thermique = 40 mW / m · K 
  • Valeur R = R-2.6 à R-3.8 par 100 mm 
  • Densité = 57 kg / m3

Laine minérale:

La laine de verre ou la laine minérale est largement utilisée pour ses propriétés fonctionnelles, sa facilité d'achat et sa manipulation simple. La laine minérale comprend le filé fabriqué à partir de verre ou de pierre fondu ou recyclé (laine de roche). La laine de roche est fabriquée à partir de basalte, où les fils sont combinés de manière unique pour une structure laineuse à former pour l'isolation. Ensuite, la laine est compressée en nattes ou panneaux minéraux qui peuvent être achetés sur le marché à des fins d'isolation. 

La laine minérale est généralement utilisée pour isoler les murs creux, les murs extérieurs, les cloisons et les sols stockés. Ils sont également largement appliqués dans des applications industrielles telles que les machines, les climatiseurs, etc. 

Propriétés: 

  • λ = 0.03 W / mK à 0.04 W / mK
  • Densité = 30-200 kg / m³
  • R = 0.035 W / mK

Polystyrène:

Ceci est également connu sous le nom de mousse de polystyrène, c'est une mousse thermoplastique imperméable qui isole très efficacement la température et le son. Ils sont de deux types: EPS (expansé) et XEPS (extrudé), différant par leur coût et leurs performances. Ils possèdent une surface d'isolation très lisse que l'on ne trouve dans aucun autre type, généralement créé en blocs coupés, ce qui le rend très idéal pour l'isolation. La mousse est parfois inflammable et nécessite une couche d'hexabromocyclododécane (HBCD), un produit chimique ignifuge. 

Ses avantages significatifs sont qu'il possède de magnifiques propriétés d'amortissement, de nature légère, une faible conductivité thermique et absorbe très peu d'humidité, principalement 98% d'air et 100% recyclable. 

Propriétés: 

  • R = 4-5.5
  • Densité = 0.05 g / cm3
  • λ = 0.033 W / (m · K)
  • Indice de réfraction = 1.6
polystyrène
Crédit image:PhyrexianPolystyrèneCC BY-SA 3.0

Mousse de polyurethane:

Il s'agit de la forme d'isolation thermique la plus abondante et la plus exceptionnelle utilisant du non-chlorofluorocarbone (CFC) comme agent gonflant pour réduire les dommages causés par la couche d'ozone. Ce sont des mousses de faible densité constituées de gaz à faible conductivité dans leurs coques qui peuvent être pulvérisées sur les zones isolées. 

Ils sont légers en relativité et pèsent près de 2 lb / pi3. Ils sont également résistants au feu et utilisés sur des surfaces comme les blocs de briques, le béton, etc., par fixation directe. Il est également utilisé dans le cas de la maçonnerie non finie en découpant la mousse dans la forme et la taille souhaitées. La mousse est ensuite recouverte d'un adhésif constructif, en la pressant contre la surface de la maçonnerie et en scellant les joints entre les feuilles avec la mousse en expansion. 

Propriétés:

  • λ = 0.022 W / mK à 0.028 W / mK
  • Densité = 30 kg / m3 à 100 kg / m3
  • R = 6.3 / pouce d'épaisseur

Types d'isolation thermique

Couverture: Isolation Batt and Roll

Le type d'isolant le plus connu et le plus largement accessible est l'isolant Blanket, qui se présente en nattes ou en rouleaux. Il comprend de la fibre flexible, de la fibre de verre. Les nattes et rouleaux sont également finis à partir de laine minérale, de plastique et de fibres naturelles, telles que le coton et la laine de mouton. L'isolant de couverture est le plus susceptible d'être utilisé dans les murs, les planchers et les plafonds non finis et ces isolants pourraient facilement être installés entre les montants, les solives et les poutres. Ce type d'isolation est très utilisé car il convient à l'espacement standard des montants et des solives qui est comparativement exempt d'obstacles différents. Ce type est également relativement cher par rapport aux autres.

Isolation thermique en blocs de béton

L'isolation en blocs de béton est incorporée de plusieurs façons, comme l'ajout de billes de mousse ou d'air dans le mélange de béton pour obtenir les valeurs R souhaitées. L'isolant en blocs de béton est largement utilisé pour les murs non finis, y compris les murs de fondation, et est également utilisé en bonne place pour la construction et la rénovation. L'installation nécessite des compétences spécialisées telles que l'empilement, l'isolation de blocs de béton sans utiliser de mortier et le collage de surface. Les noyaux sont isolés pour atteindre les valeurs souhaitées de R, ce qui nous aide également à modérer les températures.

Mousse de béton isolante 

Le matériau utilisé pour la fabrication est des panneaux de mousse ou des blocs de mousse. Ce type d'isolant est très utilisé pour compléter les murs non finis, ainsi que les murs de fondation pour les nouvelles constructions. Ils font également partie de l'assemblage du bâtiment. Cette catégorie d'isolation est très utilisée pour la construction. Comme ils sont intégrés dans les murs de la maison, cela augmente la résistance thermique.

Isolation fibreuse ou fibreuse rigide

La fibre de verre et la laine minérale sont utilisées pour assimiler l'isolation en fibre. L'isolant fibreux rigide est très utilisé dans les régions qui résistent à des températures élevées et souvent utilisé pour les conduits dans les espaces non conditionnés. L'isolation en fibre est établie par les entrepreneurs CVC, fabrique généralement l'isolation et les installe sur les évents. Ceux-ci sont principalement utilisés en raison de sa capacité à résister à des températures élevées.

Panneaux isolants structurels (SIP)

Il s'agit principalement d'un noyau isolant en mousse ou en mousse liquide et d'une isolation en paille. Ils sont incorporés dans les murs non finis, les plafonds, les planchers et la construction initiale des toits. Ils sont mis en œuvre par des travailleurs de la construction qui assemblent des SIP pour former des murs et des toits. Les avantages de l'utilisation de ce type d'isolant fournissent une isolation uniforme et supérieure par rapport à l'isolation traditionnelle. Les SIP prennent un temps limité à mettre en œuvre.

Isolation thermique dans le secteur nucléaire

L'idée générique d'une centrale nucléaire est qu'elle est utilisée pour produire de l'électricité par fission nucléaire. 

Les cœurs des réacteurs nucléaires ont un objectif particulier en libérant de l'énergie d'énormes quantités de chaleur et de production de travail. Le confinement du réacteur nucléaire dans un conteneur est un grand espace intégrant le système d'alimentation en vapeur nucléaire (NSSS).

 Le NSSS comprend un réacteur, des vannes, des tuyaux, des pompes et divers autres composants et équipements. Le NSSS produit une charge thermique positive nette très importante. L'isolation des tuyaux chauds et des équipements à l'intérieur du réacteur a un objectif: contrôler les charges de refroidissement de l'enceinte. Le refroidissement de confinement est effectué pour éliminer cette chaleur directement liée à un plan d'eau (rivière, lacs, etc.) ou un refroidissement par compression de vapeur tel que la climatisation. Les spécifications techniques des centrales nucléaires seront alarmées si la source de chaleur dégage de la chaleur plus que le taux de refroidissement en standard.

Propriétés thermiques de l'isolation

Il y a des considérations principales particulières à choisir lors du processus de sélection de l'isolation. Ces propriétés varient selon le matériau choisi, allant de la laine à l'isolation thermique des réacteurs nucléaires. La différence dans les propriétés thermiques des types d'isolants fait une différence en termes d'efficacité, de performance et de durabilité. 

Les différentes propriétés à considérer sont: 

Émissivité (E):

Un matériau écrit par ε est défini comme le rapport de l'énergie rayonnée par le matériau à l'énergie émise par un corps noir à une température similaire. En termes simples, il est utile pour émettre de l'énergie sous forme de rayonnement thermique tel que l'énergie infrarouge.

Conductance thermique (C):

Il peut être appelé par la différence de température unitaire entre deux corps qui déduit le taux de temps d'un flux de chaleur en régime permanent à travers une unité de surface du matériau donné. 

Limites de température:

les niveaux supérieurs et inférieurs de température doivent être satisfaits par les matériaux choisis pour l'isolation. 

Résistance thermique (valeur R): la différence de température entre deux surfaces induit un débit de chaleur unitaire à travers la surface unitaire des objets (Km2/ W). 

Transmission thermique (U):

à travers un assemblage, la conductance globale du flux de chaleur est appelée transmission thermique. 

Conductivité thermique (valeur k): 

Où, L = épaisseur du matériau, (m)

T = température, (K)

q = débit de chaleur, (W / m2)

Pour en savoir plus sur la thermodynamique cliquez ici!


À propos de Shakthivel Bhaskar

Je m'appelle Shakthivel Bhaskar, quelqu'un qui a été passionné par la mécanique des choses que nous utilisons dans la vie de tous les jours depuis qu'on m'a donné des jouets fascinants quand j'étais petite. Cette passion contribue à mon amour pour le génie mécanique, ce qui m'a conduit à terminer ma maîtrise dans ce domaine. J'ai travaillé sur deux projets organisés par SAE, Inde et FS, Royaume-Uni. Mon évasion de la réalité serait ma passion alternative, le football qui m'aide à me concentrer sur mon travail lorsque j'y passe un peu de temps.

Connectons-nous via LinkedIn (https://www.linkedin.com/in/shakthivel-bhaskar-589690170/).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaîtra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Geeks Lambda

Thermal insulation| All its important concepts and applications

Topic of Discussion: Thermal insulation

  • Thermal insulation definition
  • Thermal insulator
  • Heat and heat transfer
  • Thermal insulation modes of transfer
  • Why thermal insulation? Its purposes and requirements
  • Advantages of thermal insulation
  • Materials used for thermal insulation
  • Types of thermal Insulation
  • Thermal insulation in the nuclear sector
  • Thermal properties of insulation

Thermal insulation definition

When two objects are in thermal contact with each other or under the influence of radiation, the process of depletion of heat transfer among the entities is known as thermal insulation. It is quite the opposite of what thermal conductivity can be defined as. Essentially, an object with very low thermal conductivity can be regarded as a well-insulated material. 

Thermal insulator

While thermal insulation is the process of depletion of heat transfer, thermal insulators are materials that employ the insulation process. It prevents heat energy from being transferred from one object to another. This can be viewed in detail from a thermodynamics perspective while comprehending heat energy principles and more.

Heat Insulation

It is a form of energy that depends upon another factor called temperature. The transfer of energy in the form of heat from one body to another result in a temperature difference. Heat usually flows from a hotter to a colder body. It plays a significant role in the principles of thermodynamics. If a body is cold, it means that heat is removed and not coldness added, which brings about a fun fact about this form of energy.

Heat can be transferred by three different means.

  1. Conduction
  2. Convention
  3. Radiation

Conduction is the energy transfer process between two objects where the medium of exchange is through direct contact. At the same time, convection is the transfer of energy through the motion of matter, using air as a medium. Radiation is the transfer process that happens without any medium but with the aid of electromagnetic waves.

The three equations concerning the three forms of heat transfer are as follows,

Conduction: Q = [k · A · (Thot – Tcold)]/d

Convection: Q = hc · A · (Ts – Tf)

Radiation: P = e · σ · A · (Tr4 – Tc4) (Using Stefan-Boltzmann law)

Examples of the modes of transfer that can be found in our everyday life under conduction can be as simple as accelerated vibrating molecules in the hand when in contact with a hot coffee mug. This means that the hand has heated up where the transfer of energy took place through direct contact. 

A typical example of convection would be refrigeration, where the food items kept in the fridge would essentially get cold through convection of air and other coolants. 

Radiation is the mode of transfer through a void, such as the heat from the sun that reaches the earth.

Why thermal insulation? Its purposes and requirements

The objective of thermal insulation is to moderate the temperature in something as small as an individual house to as complex as a nuclear reactor. Thermal insulation is to fortify the constructional elements against damage caused by moisture or thermal impact on the component. The wear on the object or the part can be decreased during winter with thermal insulation, which serves the purpose of energy conservation. At the same time, during the summer, overheating is significantly depleted. 

Advantages of thermal insulation

Thermal insulation creates an optimum environment that keeps the surroundings warm in the winter and chill during the summer, enabling a comfortable living and operating. Due to the demand for a comfortable lifestyle environment, thermal insulation greatly enhances energy conservation and maintenance costs. It also helps prevent the deposition of moisture on the interior walls of a room or a container that can be caused due to the effect of temperature and humidity.

Thermal insulation materials

  1. Fiberglass
  2. Polyurethane foam
  3. Cellulose
  4. Polystyrene
  5. Mineral wool

Thermal insulation Fiberglass: 

it is the most common and frequently used for thermal insulation method in modern-day houses. It is derived from finely woven silicon, recycled glass fragments, and sand particles containing glass powder. 

Fiberglass or glass wool is generally used as an acoustic insulation material, an indoor material applied under pitched roofs or wooden floors. Since fiberglass loses their value insulation when in contact with damp or moisture, they are mostly seen inside homes and not outside.

Insulation values of the material are given by,

  • Density = 25 kg/m³
  • Heat storage capacity = 800 J/kgK
  • Fire class => A2, S1, d0 (extinguish by self and low flame ability)
  • λ= 0.032 to 0.040 W/mL-K
  • Diffusion resistance: 1

Cellulose:

This type of thermal insulation method is considered one of the most eco-friendly processes in the modern-day. Cellulose comprises 70-80% recycled denim, paper or cardboard in the form of loose foam heavily treated (15% volume) with (NH₄)₂SO₄, boric acid or borax. It is considered the best form of thermal insulation against fire resistance solutions that are essentially used to moderate heat loss and gain noise transmission. 

Properties of cellulose, 

  • Thermal conductivity = 40 mW/m·K 
  • R value = R-2.6 to R-3.8 per 100mm 
  • Density = 57 kg/m3

Mineral wool:

The glass wool or mineral wool is used widely for its functional properties, easy purchase, and simple handling. Mineral wool comprises spun yarn manufactured from melted or recycled glass or stone (rock wool). Rock wool is made from basalt, where the threads are combined in a unique way for a wooly structure to be formed for insulation. Hereafter the wool is compressed into mineral batts or boards that can be purchased off the market for insulation purposes. 

Mineral wool is generally used to Insulate cavity walls, exterior walls, partition walls, and stored floors. They are also extensively applied in industrial applications like machines, air conditioners, etc. 

Properties: 

  • λ= 0.03 W/mK to 0.04 W/mK
  • Density= 30-200 kg/m³
  • R= 0.035 W/mK

Polystyrene:

This is also commonly known as styrofoam, is a waterproof thermoplastic foam that insulates temperature and sound very effectively. They come in two types: EPS (expanded) and XEPS(extruded), differing in cost and performance. They possess a very smooth surface of insulation not found in any other types, usually created into cut blocks, making it very ideal for insulation. The foam is sometimes flammable and requires a coating of Hexabromocyclododecane (HBCD), a fireproofing chemical. 

Its significant advantages are that it possesses magnificent cushioning properties, lightweight in nature, low thermal conductivity, and absorbs very little moisture, mostly 98% air and 100% recyclable. 

Properties: 

  • R= 4-5.5
  • Density= 0.05 g/cm3
  • λ= 0.033 W/(m·K)
  • Refractive index= 1.6
Thermal insulation| All its important concepts and applications
Polystyrene
Image credit:PhyrexianPolistiroloCC BY-SA 3.0

Polyurethane foam:

It is the most abundant and exceptional form of thermal insulation utilizing non-chlorofluorocarbon (CFC) as a blowing agent to decrease the ozone layer’s damage. They are low-density foams that consist of low conductivity gas in their shells that can be sprayed onto the insulated areas. 

They are lightweight in relativity and weigh almost 2lb/ft3. They are also fire-resistant and used on surfaces like brick blocks, concrete, etc., by direct fixation. It is also used in the case of unfinished masonry by cutting the foam into the desired shape and size. The foam is then covered with constructive adhesive, pressing it against the masonry surface and seal the joints between the sheets with the expanding foam. 

Properties:

  • λ= 0.022 W/mK to 0.028 W/mK
  • Density= 30 kg/m3 to 100 kg/m3
  • R= 6.3/ inch of thickness

Types of thermal Insulation

Blanket: Batt and Roll Insulation

The most well-known and broadly accessible sort of insulation is Blanket insulation, which comes in Batts or Rolls. It comprises flexible fiber, fiberglass’s. Batts and Rolls are also finished from mineral-wool, plastic, and natural fiber, such as cotton and sheep’s wool. The Blanket insulation is most likely to be used in unfinished walls, floors, and ceilings and these insulation could easily be fitted in-between studs, joists, and beams. This insulation type is highly used since it is suited for standard stud and joist spacing that is comparatively free from different obstruction. This type is also relatively expensive in comparison to the others.

Concrete Block thermal Insulation

Concrete block insulation is incorporated in several ways, like adding foam bead or air into the concrete mixture to get the desired R-values. Concrete Block insulation is widely used for unfinished walls, including foundation walls, and is also used prominently for construction and renovation. Installation requires specialized skills like stacking, insulating concrete blocks without using mortar, and surface bonding. The cores are insulated to achieve R’s desired values, which helps us moderate temperatures as well.

Insulating Concrete foam 

The material used in the making of this is foam boards or foam blocks. This type of insulation is highly used to complete unfinished walls, as well as foundation walls for new construction. They are incorporated as a part of the building assembly also. This category of insulation is highly in use for construction. Since they are built into the home’s walls, it increases the thermal resistance.

Rigid fibrous or fiber insulation

Fiberglass and mineral wool are used to assimilate fiber insulation. Rigid fibrous insulation is highly used in regions that withstand high temperatures and often used for ducts in unconditioned spaces. Fiber insulation is established by HVAC contractors, usually manufactures the insulation and install them onto vents. These are mainly utilized for the reason of its ability to withstand high temp.

Structural insulated panels (SIPs)

This is primarily foam-board or liquid-foam insulation core and straw-core insulation. They are incorporated in unfinished walls, ceilings, floors, and the initial construction of roofs. They are implemented by construction workers who fit SIPs together to form walls and roofs. The perks of using this type of insulation provide consistent and higher insulation compared to traditional insulation. SIPs take a limited amount of time to implement.

Thermal insulation in the nuclear sector

The generic idea of a nuclear power plant is that it is utilized to generate electricity with nuclear fission. 

Nuclear reactor cores serve a particular purpose in energy-releasing enormous amounts of heat and work output. The containment of the nuclear reactor in an container is a large space incorporating the nuclear steam supply system (NSSS).

 The NSSS has a reactor, valves, pipe, pumps, and other various components and equipment. The NSSS produces a very substantial net positive heat load. Insulation on hot pipe and equipment inside the reactor has one objective: to control containment cooling loads. Containment cooling is performed to remove that heat linked directly to a water body (river, lakes, etc.) or vapor compression cooling such as air conditioning. The nuclear plants’ technical specifications will be alarmed if heat source release heat more than the cooling rate in standard.

Thermal properties of insulation

There are particular primary considerations to be chosen during the selection process of insulation. These properties vary with the material selected, ranging from wool to nuclear reactor thermal insulation. The difference in the insulation types’ thermal properties makes a difference in the amount of efficiency, performance, and sustainability. 

The various properties to be considered are: 

Emissivity (E):

A material written as ε is defined as the ratio of energy radiated by the material to the energy emitted by a black body at a similar temperature. In layman’s terms, it is useful in emitting energy as thermal radiation such as infrared energy.

Thermal conductance (C):

It can be termed by the unit temperature difference between two bodies that infer the time rate of a steady-state heat flow through a unit area of the given material. 

Thermal insulation| All its important concepts and applications

Temperature limits:

upper and lower levels of temperature should be satisfied by the materials chosen for insulation. 

Thermal resistance (R-Value): the temperature difference between two surfaces induces a unit heat flow rate through the objects’ unit area (K.m2/W). 

Thermal insulation| All its important concepts and applications

Thermal transmittance (U):

through an assembly, heat flow’s overall conductance is coined as thermal transmittance. 

Thermal conductivity (k-value): 

Thermal insulation| All its important concepts and applications

Where, L= thickness of the material, (m)

T= temperature, (K)

q = heat flow rate, (W/m2)

To learn more about thermodynamics click here!


About Shakthivel Bhaskar

Thermal insulation| All its important concepts and applicationsMy name is Shakthivel Bhaskar, someone who has been ardent about the mechanics of the things we use in everyday life ever since I was given fascinating toys when I was a little child. This passion aids my love for mechanical engineering, which led me to complete my Master’s degree in the said field. I have worked on two projects organized by SAE, India, and FS, UK. My escape from reality would be my alternative passion, football that helps me focus on my work when I spend a little time on it.

Let’s connect through LinkedIn (https://www.linkedin.com/in/shakthivel-bhaskar-589690170/).

x
About Lambdageeks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en English
X