هيكل لويس PCl3: الرسومات ، والتهجين ، والشكل ، والشحنات ، والاقتران ، والحقائق التفصيلية


في هذه المقالة ، يجب أن نناقش نوبة هيكل PCl3 lewis والمزيد من الحقائق. لنبدأ المقال بحقائق مهمة حول PCl3.

في هيكل PCl3 لويس. حالة الأكسدة المركزية P هي +3. لذلك ، هنا P فقط ثلاث روابط حيث يوجد إلكترونان كزوج وحيد. المركز P هو sp3 مهجن والزوج الوحيد يقع في أحد المدارات الهجينة. لذلك ، يمكن التبرع بهذا الزوج الوحيد بسهولة ويمكن أن يتصرف كقاعدة لويس. لكن حموضة لويس تنخفض بسبب ربط ثلاث ذرات Cl كهربية سلبية.

يمكنه قبول الإلكترونات في مداره d الشاغر ويتصرف أيضًا كحمض لويس. زاوية الرابطة لهيكل لويس PCl3 أقل من 1090، بسبب تجنب التنافر بين أزواج وحيدة من ذرات P و Cl. في الكيمياء العضوية المعدنية ، يتم استخدام PCl3 باعتباره يجند π حامضيًا ويمكنه تثبيت حالة الأكسدة المنخفضة للمعدن.

بعض الحقائق التفصيلية عن PCl3

PCl3 في حالته الفيزيائية هو سائل دخان يكون عديم اللون إلى الأصفر في بعض الأحيان. رائحة ثلاثي كلوريد الفوسفور كريهة مثل حمض الهيدروكلوريك. الكتلة المولية لـ PCl3 هي 137.33 جم / مول. كثافة الجزيء 1.574 جم / سم3. نقطة الانصهار ونقطة الغليان لـ PCl3 هي 179.6 كلفن و 349.2 كلفن على التوالي.

طريقة الصناعة لتحضير PCl3 هي تفاعل مع غاز الكلور مع الفوسفور الأبيض. يتم استخدام PCl3 كمذيب هنا ويتم إزالة PCl3 لتجنب تكون PCl5.

P4 + 6 سل2 → 4 PCl3

في 31P NMR ، يُظهر الجزيء إشارة مفردة حول +220 جزء في المليون مع مرجع H3PO4.

يمكن أن يتصرف PCl3 كعامل مؤكسد وكذلك عامل مختزل. يمكن أن يعمل ككهربائي بسبب نقص الإلكترونات في المركز P.

3 PhOH + PCl3 → P (OPh)3 + 3 حمض الهيدروكلوريك

PCl3 + 3 إتوه + 3 ر3N → P (OEt)3 + 3 ر3NH+Cl-

يمكن أن يتفاعل مع كاشف Grignard لإعطاء ylide الفوسفور.

3 PhMgBr + PCl3 → دكتوراه3P + 3 مغبركل

يعمل PCl3 أيضًا باعتباره محبًا للنواة في العديد من التفاعلات العضوية.

PCl3 + RCl + AlCl3 → RPCl+3 + AlCl-4

كيفية رسم هيكل لويس لـ PCl3؟

لرسم بنية PCl3 lewis ، نحتاج إلى اتباع قاعدة الثمانيات ، نظرًا لأن P هو عنصر الكتلة p ، يجب أن يتبع قاعدة الثمانيات. بعد رسم بنية PCl3 lewis ، يمكننا حساب أزواج الروابط والأزواج المنفردة والخصائص التساهمية الأخرى لهيكل PCl3 lewis.

هيكل PCl3 لويس
هيكل PCl3 لويس

خطوة 1 - في الخطوة الأولى من بنية PCl3 lewis ، يجب أن نحسب إلكترونات التكافؤ لجزيء PCl3 ونجمعها معًا. يوجد نوعان من الذرات P و Cl. لذلك ، نحسب بشكل فردي إلكترونات التكافؤ لـ P وكذلك Cl. P هي المجموعة 15th عنصر VA. إنه ينتمي إلى عائلة N ، لذا فهو يحتوي على خمسة إلكترونات في غلاف التكافؤ الخاص به.

مرة أخرى ، Cl هو عنصر group17th VIIA وينتمي إلى عائلة F. Cl هو هالوجين ومن التكوين الإلكتروني ، يمكننا القول أنه يحتوي على سبعة إلكترونات في غلاف التكافؤ. توجد ثلاث ذرات Cl ، لذا فإن إجمالي إلكترونات التكافؤ لهيكل PCl3 lewis هو 5+ (7 * 3) = 26 إلكترونًا.

الخطوة2 - الآن في 2nd الخطوة نختار الذرة المركزية لهيكل PCl3 lewis. P أقل كهرسلبية وفقًا لصيغة هيكل لويس ، P هي الذرة المركزية هنا. توجد ثلاث ذرات Cl في المواقع المحيطة بذرات P.

خطوة 3 - الآن يجب أن نتحقق من قاعدة الثمانيات هنا. كل من P و Cl هي عناصر كتلة p. لذا ، يجب أن يتبعوا قاعدة الثمانيات. وفقًا لقاعدة الثمانيات ، يجب أن يكمل عنصر الكتلة p مدار التكافؤ بثمانية إلكترونات حيث يمكن أن يتراكم المدار p بحد أقصى ستة إلكترونات ويحتوي المدار s على إلكترونين كحد أقصى. لذلك ، فإن الإلكترونات اللازمة لـ ثماني بتات كاملة في PCl3 لويس الهيكل 4 * 8 = 32 إلكترون. لكن إلكترونات التكافؤ المتاحة لهيكل لويس PCl3 هي 26 إلكترونًا.

لذلك ، تتطلب الإلكترونات 32-26 = 6 إلكترونات. سوف تتراكم هذه الإلكترونات الستة بواسطة الروابط 6/6 = 2. لذلك ، في بنية PCl3 lewis ، سيكون هناك 3 سندات على الأقل مطلوبة.

خطوة 4 - نقوم الآن بتوصيل جميع الذرات في بنية PCl3 lewis عبر العدد المطلوب من الروابط. نقوم بتوصيل ثلاث ذرات Cl مع ذرة P مركزية مع ثلاث روابط سيجما أكمل ثماني بتات في بنية PCl3 lewis.

خطوة 5 - في الخطوة الأخيرة ، نتحقق مما إذا كانت جميع الذرات في بنية PCl3 lewis راضية عن الثماني أم لا. بعد تكوين الرابطة المفردة المتتالية ، إذا كان من الضروري عدم اكتمال الثماني ، فإننا نضيف روابط متعددة بين الذرات. في بعض الأحيان نضيف الأزواج الوحيدة الموجودة في إلكترونات التكافؤ ولكنها لا تشارك في تكوين الرابطة. يحتوي P على خمسة إلكترونات في غلاف التكافؤ وشكل فقط ثلاث روابط مع ثلاثة إلكترونات ، لذا فإن يوجد الإلكترونان الباقيان كزوج وحيد فوق P. ذرة.

يحتوي Cl على سبعة إلكترونات في غلاف التكافؤ الخاص به ولكنه شكل رابطة واحدة فقط مع ذرة P وتوجد بقية الإلكترونات الستة في شكل ثلاثة أزواج من أزواج وحيدة فوق ذرات Cl.

شكل هيكل لويس PCl3

يعتمد شكل بنية PCl3 lewis على عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ بواسطة نظرية VSEPR ، أو بناءً على التهجين ، يتم تحديد الشكل. يؤثر عدد أزواج الروابط والأزواج المنفردة أيضًا على شكل الجزيء. شكل هيكل PCl3 lewis حول وسط P هو هرمي ثلاثي الزوايا مع زوج واحد من الأزواج الوحيدة.

شكل PCl3

إجمالي عدد الإلكترونات لبنية لويس PCl3 هو 5 + 3 = 8. وفقًا لنظرية VSEPR (تنافر زوج الإلكترونات من Valence Shell) ، إذا كان عدد الإلكترون لأي AX3 سيكون جزيء النوع ثمانية وتحتوي الذرة المركزية على زوج وحيد ثم يصبح الشكل هرميًا مثلثًا بدلاً من رباعي السطوح. هندسة الجزيء هي رباعي السطوح ولكن شكل الجزيء هرمي ثلاثي الزوايا حيث لا يعتبر الزوج الوحيد في شكل الجزيء.

لذلك ، شكل هيكل PCl3 lewis هو هرمي مثلث ، في الواقع ، بسبب تجنب تنافر الأزواج المنفردة ، يتخذ الجزيء هذا النوع من الشكل جنبًا إلى جنب مع زاوية الرابطة.

PCl3 lewis هيكل أزواج وحيدة

الأزواج الوحيدة من بنية PCl3 lewis هي الأزواج الوحيدة الكلية فوق الذرات الأربع. يحتوي كل من P و Cl على أرقام مختلفة من الأزواج المنفردة ، لذلك نقوم بحساب الأزواج المنفردة وإضافتها معًا للحصول على عدد الأزواج المنفردة لهيكل PCl3 lewis.

PCl3 أزواج وحيدة

في بنية PCl3 lewis ، تحتوي ذرة P المركزية على خمسة إلكترونات في غلاف التكافؤ الخاص بها. هذا يعني أنه يمكنه استخدام تلك الإلكترونات الخمسة في تكوين الرابطة. ولكن لا يوجد سوى ثلاثة روابط سيجما موجودة بين P وثلاث ذرات Cl في بنية PCl3 lewis. لذلك ، يصنع P ثلاثة أزواج روابط عبر مشاركة الإلكترونات مع ثلاث ذرات Cl. الآن لا يشارك باقي الإلكترونين الموجودين في غلاف التكافؤ في تكوين الرابطة. تساهم هذه الإلكترونات في قاعدة الثمانيات. يوجد هذان الإلكترونان كزوج وحيد فوق ذرة P.

الآن لثلاث ذرات Cl المحيطة بها سبعة إلكترونات لكل منها لقشرة التكافؤ. ولكن في بنية PCl3 lewis ، ينشئ Cl واحدًا رابطة واحدة فقط مع ذرة P عن طريق مشاركة إلكترون واحد فقط من مداره الخارجي. لذلك ، فإن الإلكترونات الستة المتبقية التي لا تشارك في تكوين الرابطة ولكنها تشارك في إكمال الثماني توجد على شكل ثلاثة أزواج من أزواج وحيدة فوق كل ذرة Cl.

لذلك ، في بنية PCl3 lewis ، يكون العدد الإجمالي لأزواج الفصوص المتاحة 2+ (3 * 2) = 8 أزواج من الأزواج الوحيدة.

رسوم PCl3 lewis الهيكلية الرسمية

هيكل PCl3 lewis محايد ولكن إذا كان هناك أي شحنة تظهر على الذرة الفردية ، فيجب حسابها من خلال الشحن الرسمي. الشحنة الرسمية هي مفهوم افتراضي حيث نفترض نفس الكهربية لذرات P و Cl في بنية PCl3 lewis.

الصيغة التي يمكننا استخدامها لحساب الرسوم الرسمية لهيكل PCl3 lewis هي ، FC = Nv - نليرة لبنانية -1/2 نبي بي

حيث نv هو عدد الإلكترونات في غلاف التكافؤ أو المدار الخارجي ، Nليرة لبنانية هو عدد الإلكترونات في الزوج الوحيد ، و Nبي بي  هو العدد الإجمالي للإلكترونات التي تشارك في تكوين الرابطة فقط.

نظرًا لاختلاف البيئة وطبيعة الترابط بين P و Cl ، فإننا نحسب الرسوم الرسمية الفردية لذرات P و Cl.

الشحنة الرسمية لـ P هي ، 5-2- (6/2) = 0

الشحنة الرسمية لـ Cl هي ، 7-6- (2/2) = 0

من حساب الشحنة الرسمية لهيكل PCl3 lewis ، يمكننا القول أنه لا توجد شحنة تظهر للذرات الفردية والجزيء محايد.

PCl3 لويس هيكل الثماني حكم

في بنية PCL3 lewis ، يعتبر كل من P و Cl من عناصر كتلة p لذا يجب عليهم اتباع قاعدة الثمانيات. وفقًا لقاعدة الثمانيات لعنصر كتلة p ، يجب أن تكمل كل ذرة غلاف التكافؤ بثمانية إلكترونات.

PCl3 ثماني

التكوين الإلكتروني لـ P هو [Ne] 3s23p3. P هي المجموعة 15th عنصر VA. يحتوي المداران 3s و 3 p على خمسة إلكترونات ويتطلبان ثلاثة إلكترونات أخرى في مدار 3p لإكمال الثماني. لذلك ، يصنع P ثلاثة روابط مع ثلاثة إلكترونات غير مقترنة من الغلاف 3p ويشترك في إلكترون واحد من ثلاث ذرات Cl ، وبهذه الطريقة يكتمل الغلاف 3p لـ P عبر ستة إلكترونات ويوجد إلكترونان بالفعل في غلاف 3s كزوج وحيد. لذلك ، يكمل P ثماني بتات من خلال تكوين ثلاث سندات.

الآن Cl هي المجموعة 17th عنصر VIIA. التكوين الإلكتروني هو [Ne] 3s23p5. لذلك ، لديها سبعة إلكترونات في قذائف التكافؤ 3s و 3 p. لذلك ، يحتاج Cl إلى إلكترون آخر في مداره 3p لإكمال ثماني بتات. الآن كل ذرة Cl تصنع رابطة سيجما مع p من خلال مشاركة إلكترون واحد وإكمال مدارها 4p بستة إلكترونات. الآن ، يحتوي Cl على ثمانية إلكترونات من بين اثنين متورطين في زوج السندات والباقي من ستة إلكترونات متورطة في الزوج الوحيد.

لذلك ، في بنية PCl3 lewis ، يكمل كل من P و Cl ثماني بتاتهما.

صدى هيكل لويس PCl3

في PCl3 هيكل لويس، يحدث إلغاء تحديد موقع الإلكترون بين الهياكل العظمية المختلفة لـ PCL3 عن طريق الرنين. يتم توزيع السحابة الإلكترونية فوق P وعدم تحديد موقعها لأن الزوج الوحيد موجود في أحد المدارات الهجينة.

تراكيب الرنين PCl3

جميع الهياكل الثلاثة هي الهياكل الرنانة المختلفة لهيكل PCl3 lewis. الهيكل الثاني هو الهيكل الأكثر مساهمة في جميع الهياكل الرنانة. لأن الهيكل II هو الأكثر استقرارًا ، حيث يوجد المزيد من الروابط التساهمية والشحنة السالبة موجودة فوق ذرة Cl الكهربية والشحنة الموجبة فوق ذرة P الموجبة للكهرباء. البنية III هي بنية أقل مساهمة أو أقل استقرارًا لأن الشحنة الموجبة موجودة على ذرات Cl الكهربية ، وهو عامل مزعزع للاستقرار.

تهجين PCl3

في بنية PCl3 lewis ، يكون P موجبًا للكهرباء و Cl كهربيًا ، لذا فإن طاقتهم المدارية مختلفة وفي ظل الحالة العادية ، لا يمكنهم تكوين رابطة. لذلك ، يخضعون للتهجين لتشكيل عدد متساوٍ من المدارات الهجينة إلى عدد متساوٍ من المدارات الذرية مختلطة. هذه المدارات الهجينة ذات طاقة مكافئة. في بنية PCl3 lewis ، يخضع المركز P ل sp3 التهجين عن طريق خلط مدارات ذرية واحدة s وثلاثة p.

استخدمنا الصيغة للتنبؤ بتهجين بنية PCl3 lewis ،

H = 0.5 (V + M-C + A) أين H = قيمة التهجين ، V هو عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ في الذرة المركزية, M = ذرات أحادية التكافؤ محاطة, ج = لا. الكاتيون ، أ = لا. من الأنيون.

إلكترونات التكافؤ لـ P في بنية لويس PCl3 هي 5 وهناك ثلاث ذرات Cl المحيطة موجودة.

لذلك ، فإن وضع تهجين P المركزية في بنية PCl3 lewis هو 5 + 3 = 8 (sp3)

الهيكلية       قيمة التهجين  حالة تهجين الذرة المركزية    زاوية السندات
خطي        2sp / sd / pd         1800
مخطط ثلاثي الزوايا    3sp2          1200
رباعي السطوح         4sd3/ س3        109.50
ثلاثي الزوايا ثنائي الهرمية5 sp3د / دسب3          900 (محوري) ، 1200(استوائي)
ثماني السطوح       6sp3d2/ د2sp3       900
خماسي ثنائي الهرمي7sp3d3/d3sp3         900، 720

              

لذلك ، من جدول التهجين ، من الواضح أنه إذا كان عدد المدارات المشاركة في التهجين يساوي 4 ، فيجب أن تكون الذرة المركزية sp3 مهجن.

دعونا نفهم تهجين بنية PCl3 lewis بالتفصيل.

تهجين PCl3

من المخطط المربع لهيكل PCl3 lewis ، من الواضح أن الزوج الوحيد فوق P متورط أيضًا في التهجين ويقع في أحد المدارات الهجينة. لذلك ، يمكن التبرع بالزوج الوحيد بسهولة وزيادة أساسيات لويس لـ PCl3.

تساهم ثلاث ذرات Cl بإلكترون واحد في P وتشكل رابطة عبر sp3 تهجين.

PCl3 قطبي أو غير قطبي

من شكل هيكل لويس PCL3 ، يمكننا القول إنه جزيء غير متماثل وهناك فرق كبير في القدرة الكهربية بين ذرات P و Cl. لذا فإن PCl3 هو جزيء قطبي.

يحدث التدفق ثنائي القطب الإلكتروني من P موجب كهربائي إلى ذرات Cl الكهربية. بسبب الشكل غير المتماثل للجزيء ، هناك عزم ثنائي القطب الناتج في بنية PCl3 lewis. مما جعل الجزيء قطبيًا.

يستخدم PCl3

يمكن استخدامه

  • مضافات البنزين
  • تشطيب المنسوجات
  • صنع المبيدات
  • الروابط العضوية المعدنية
  • قاعدة لويس
  • عامل مؤكسد واختزال

في الختام

PCl3 هي قاعدة لويس ويمكن أن تعمل كمحب للنيوكليوفيل أيضًا. يمكن استخدامه كعامل مساعد في العديد من التفاعلات العضوية. نظرًا لتجنب تنافر الأزواج المنفردة ، تكون زاوية رابطة Cl-P-Cl أقل من 1090.

بيسواروب شاندرا داي

مرحبًا ...... أنا بيسواروب شاندرا داي ، لقد أكملت الماجستير في الكيمياء. تخصصي هو الكيمياء غير العضوية. الكيمياء لا تدور حول القراءة سطراً بسطر والحفظ ، إنه مفهوم يجب فهمه بطريقة سهلة وهنا أشارككم مفهوم الكيمياء الذي أتعلمه لأن المعرفة تستحق مشاركتها.

آخر المقالات

PCl3 Lewis Structure: Drawings, Hybridization, Shape, Charges, Pair, And Detailed Facts


In this article, we should discuss bout the PCl3 lewis structure and much more facts. Let’s start the article with important facts about PCl3.

In the PCl3 lewis structure. The oxidation state of central P is +3. So, here P makes only three bonds where two electrons reside as lone pair. The central P is sp3 hybridized and the lone pair is situated in one of the hybrid orbitals. So, that lone pair can be donated easily and it can behave as a lewis base. But the lewis acidity decreases due to three electronegative Cl atoms being attached.

It can accept electrons in its vacant d orbital and also behave as lewis acid. the bond angle of the PCl3 lewis structure is less than 1090, due to avoiding repulsion between lone pairs of P and Cl atoms. In organometallic chemistry, PCl3 is used as a π acidic ligand and can stabilize the lower oxidation state of metal.

Some details facts about PCl3

PCl3 in its physical state is a fuming liquid having colorless to yellowish sometimes. The smell of phosphorus trichloride is unpleasant like hydrochloric acid. the molar mass of the PCl3 is 137.33 g/mol. The density of the molecule is 1.574 g/cm3. The melting point and boiling point of PCl3 are 179.6 K and 349.2 K respectively.

The industry method for the preparation of PCl3 is a reaction with chlorine gas with white phosphorus. PCl3 is used as solvent here and removed PCl3 to avoid the formation of PCl5.

P4 + 6 Cl2 → 4 PCl3

In 31P NMR the molecule exhibits a singlet signal around +220 ppm with the reference of H3PO4.

PCl3 can behave as both oxidizing as well as a reducing agent. It can acts as an electrophile due to a deficiency of electrons in the P center.

3 PhOH + PCl3 → P(OPh)3 + 3 HCl

PCl3 + 3 EtOH + 3 R3N → P(OEt)3 + 3 R3NH+Cl

It can react with the Grignard reagent to give the phosphorus ylide.

3 PhMgBr + PCl3 → Ph3P + 3 MgBrCl

PCl3 also acts as a nucleophile in many organic reactions.

PCl3 + RCl + AlCl3 → RPCl+3 + AlCl4

How to draw the lewis structure for PCl3?

To draw the PCl3 lewis structure, we need to follow the octet rule, a s P is the p block element it should follow the octet rule. After drawing the PCl3 lewis structure, then we can calculate the bond pairs, lone pairs, and other covalent properties of the PCl3 lewis structure.

PCl3 lewis structure
PCl3 Lewis Structure

Step 1 – In the First step of the PCl3 lewis structure, we should calculate the valence electrons for the PCl3 molecule and add them together. There are two types of atoms P and Cl present. So, we individually calculate the valence electrons for P as well as Cl. P is the group 15th VA element. It belongs to the N family, so it has five electrons in its valence shell.

Again, Cl is group17th VIIA element and belongs to the F family. Cl is a halogen and from the electronic configuration, we can say that it has seven electrons in its valence shell. There are three Cl atoms are present so the total valence electrons for the PCl3 lewis structure is, 5+(7*3) =26 electrons.

Step 2 – Now in the 2nd step we select the central atom for the PCl3 lewis structure. P is less electronegative according to the lewis structure formula P is the central atom here. Three Cl atoms are present at the surrounding positions of P atoms.

Step 3 – Now we should check the octet rule here. Both P and Cl are p block elements. So, they should follow the octet rule. According to the octet rule p block element should complete their valence orbital by eight electrons as the p orbital can accumulate a maximum of six electrons and the s orbital contains a maximum of two electrons. So, the electrons needed for a complete octet in the PCl3 lewis structure is 4*8  = 32 electrons. But the available valence electrons for the PCl3 lewis structure is 26 electrons.

So, the electrons required 32-26 = 6 electrons. Those 6 electrons will accumulate by the 6/2 = 3 bonds. So, in the PCl3 lewis structure, there will be minimum of 3 bonds are required.

Step 4 – Now we connect all the atoms in the PCl3 lewis structure via the required number of bonds. We connect three Cl atoms with a central P atom with three sigma bonds to complete their octet in the PCl3 lewis structure.

Step 5 – in the last step, we check whether all the atoms in the PCl3 lewis structure are satisfied with their octet or not. After the successive single bond formation if there is necessary that the octet is not complete then we add multiple bonds between atoms. Sometimes we add the lone pairs which are present in the valence electrons but do not participate in the bond formation. P has Five electrons in the valence shell and only formed three bonds with three electrons, so the rest of the two electrons are present as lone pair over the P atom.

Cl has seven electrons in its valence shell but formed only one bond with the P atom and the rest of the six electrons are present as three pairs of lone pairs over Cl atoms.

PCl3 lewis structure shape

The shape of the PCl3 lewis structure depends on the valence electrons count by VSEPR theory, or based on hybridization, the shape is determined. The number of bond pairs and lone pairs also influence the shape of a molecule. The shape of the PCl3 lewis structure around central P is trigonal pyramidal with one pair of lone pairs.

PCl3 Shape

The total electron count for the PCl3 lewis structure is 5+3 = 8. According to VSEPR (Valence Shell Electrons Pair Repulsion) theory, if the electron count for any AX3 type molecule will be eight and the central atom contains one lone pair then the shape becomes trigonal pyramidal instead of tetrahedral. The geometry of the molecule is tetrahedral but the shape of the molecule is trigonal pyramidal as lone pair does not consider in the shape of the molecule.

So, the shape of the PCl3 lewis structure is trigonal pyramidal, actually, due to avoiding the repulsion of the lone pairs, the molecule adopts this kind of shape along with the bond angle.

PCl3 lewis structure lone pairs

The lone pairs of the PCl3 lewis structure are the total lone pairs over the four atoms. P and Cl both contain different numbers of lone pairs, so we individually calculate the lone pairs and added them, together to get the number of lone pairs for the PCl3 lewis structure.

PCl3 Lone Pairs

In the PCl3 lewis structure, the central P atom has five electrons in its valence shell. That means it can use those five electrons in the bond formation. But there are only three sigma bonds present between P and three Cl atoms in the PCl3 lewis structure. So, P makes three bond pairs via sharing electrons with three Cl atoms. Now rest of the two electrons which are present in the valence shell do not participate in the bond formation. Those electrons contribute to the octet rule. Those two electrons exist as lone pair over the P atom.

Now for other three surrounding Cl atoms has seven electrons each for the valence shell. But in the PCl3 lewis structure, one Cl makes only one bond with the P atom via sharing only one electron from its outermost orbital. So, the remaining six electrons which are not involved in the bond formation but involved in the octet completion exist as three pairs of lone pairs over every Cl atom.

So, in the PCl3 lewis structure, the total number of lobe pairs available is 2+(3*2) = 8 pairs of lone pairs.

PCl3 lewis structure formal charges

The PCl3 lewis structure is neutral but if there is any charge that appears on the individual atom that should be calculated via formal charge. The formal charge is a hypothetical concept where we assume the same electronegativity for P and Cl atoms in the PCl3 lewis structure.

The formula we can use to calculate the formal charge for the PCl3 lewis structure is, F.C. = Nv – Nl.p. -1/2 Nb.p.

Where Nv is the number of electrons in the valence shell or outermost orbital, Nl.p is the number of electrons in the lone pair, and Nb.p  is the total number of electrons that are involved in the bond formation only.

As the environment and bonding nature of P and Cl are different so we calculate the individually formal charges for P and Cl atoms.

The formal charge of P is, 5-2-(6/2) = 0

The formal charge of Cl is, 7-6-(2/2) = 0

From the calculation of the formal charge of PCl3 lewis structure, we can say that there is no charge is appear for individual atoms and the molecule is neutral.

PCl3 lewis structure octet rule

In the PCL3 lewis structure, P and Cl both are p block elements so they have to follow the octet rule. According to the octet rule for the p block element, every atom should complete its valence shell by eight electrons.

PCl3 Octet

The electronic configuration of P is [Ne]3s23p3. P is group 15th VA element. The 3s and 3p orbital P contains five electrons and required three more electrons in the 3p orbital to complete the octet. So, P makes three bonds with three unpaired electrons from the 3p shell and shares one electron from three Cl atoms, this way the 3p shell of P is completed via six electrons and two electrons already exist in the 3s shell as lone pair. So, P completes its octet by making three bonds.

Now Cl is group 17th VIIA element. The electronic configuration is [Ne]3s23p5. So, it has seven electrons in its valence 3s and 3p shells. So, Cl needs one more electron in its 3p orbital to complete its octet. Now each Cl atom makes a sigma bond with p via sharing one electron and completing its 4p orbital by six electrons. Now, Cl has eight electrons among two involved in the bond pair and the rest of six involved in the lone pair.

So, in the PCl3 lewis structure, both P and Cl complete their octet.

PCl3 lewis structure resonance

In the PCl3 lewis structure, electron delocalization occurs between the different skeletons of PCL3 via resonance. The electronic cloud over P is distributed and delocalized because the lone pair is present in one of the hybrid orbitals.

PCl3 Resonating Structures

All three structures are the different resonating structures of the PCl3 lewis structure. Structure II is the most contributing structure in all the resonating structures. Because structure II is the most stable, as there are more covalent bonds present and the negative charge is present over the electronegative Cl atom and the positive charge is over the electropositive P atom. Structure III is a less contributing or least stable structure because the positive charge is on electronegative Cl atoms, which is a destabilizing factor.

PCl3 hybridization

In the PCl3 lewis structure, P is electropositive and Cl is electronegative so their orbital energy is different and under the normal condition, they cannot form a bond. So, they undergo hybridization to form an equal number of hybrid orbitals to an equal number of atomic orbitals are mixed. These hybrid orbitals are of equivalent energy. In the PCl3 lewis structure, central P undergoes sp3 hybridization by mixing one s and three p atomic orbitals.

We used the formula to predict the hybridization of the PCl3 lewis structure is,

H = 0.5(V+M-C+A), where H= hybridization value, V is the number of valence electrons in the central atom, M = monovalent atoms surrounded, C=no. of cation, A=no. of the anion.

The valence electrons for P in the PCl3 lewis structure is 5 and there are three surrounding Cl atoms present.

So, the mode of hybridization of central P in the PCl3 lewis structure is, 5+3 = 8(sp3)

Structure       Hybridization value  State of hybridization of central atom    Bond angle
Linear        2sp /sd / pd         1800
Planner trigonal    3sp2          1200
Tetrahedral         4sd3/ sp3        109.50
Trigonal bipyramidal5 sp3d/dsp3          900 (axial), 1200(equatorial)
Octahedral       6sp3d2/ d2sp3       900
Pentagonal bipyramidal7sp3d3/d3sp3         900,720

              

So, from the hybridization table it is evident that, if the number of orbitals involved in hybridization is equal to 4 then the central atom should be sp3 hybridized.

Let’s understand the hybridization of the PCl3 lewis structure in detail.

PCl3 Hybridization

From the box diagram of the PCl3 lewis structure, it is evident that the lone pair over P is also involved in the hybridization and it is situated in one of the hybrid orbitals. So, the lone pair easily be donated and increase the lewis basicity for PCl3.

Three Cl atoms contribute one electron to P and they formed a bond via sp3 hybridization.

PCl3 polar or nonpolar

From the PCL3 lewis structure shape, we can say it is an asymmetric molecule and there is a huge electronegativity difference between P and Cl atoms. So PCl3 is a polar molecule.

The electronic dipole flow occurs from electropositive P to electronegative Cl atoms. Due to the asymmetric shape of the molecule, there is resultant dipole moment is present in the PCl3 lewis structure. Which made the molecule polar.

PCl3 uses

It can be used as,

  • Gasoline additive
  • Textile finishing
  • Making pesticides
  • Organometallic ligands
  • Lewis base
  • The oxidizing and reducing agent

Conclusion

PCl3 is a lewis base and can acts as a nucleophile also. It can be used as a catalyst in many organic reactions. Due to avoiding the repulsion of the lone pairs the bond angle of Cl-P-Cl is less than 1090.

Biswarup Chandra Dey

Hi......I am Biswarup Chandra Dey, I have completed my Master's in Chemistry. My area of specialization is Inorganic Chemistry. Chemistry is not all about reading line by line and memorizing, it is a concept to understand in an easy way and here I am sharing with you the concept about chemistry which I learn because knowledge is worth to share it.

Recent Posts