هيكل وخصائص لويس NI3: 17 حقائق كاملة


تشير بنية NI3 Lewis إلى الهيكل الإلكتروني للمركب ، NI3. هنا يتم تمثيل الإلكترونات بالنقاط. دعونا نأخذ فكرة موجزة عن هيكل لويس NI3.

يمكن الاعتماد على بنية NI3 Lewis في فرض بنية إلكترونية محددة جيدًا للمركب. يمكنه تقييم عدد الإلكترونات المنخرطة من جانب كل من النيتروجين واليود في تكوين NI3 أو ثلاثي اليود النيتروجين. تم وصف عملية الترابط الداخلي أيضًا بواسطة بنية لويس.

تمثل بنية NI3 Lewis عدة حقائق حول الشكل والترابط الداخلي والزاوية والقاعدة وراء التفاعل الإلكتروني وغيرها. دعونا نصف الحقائق المثيرة للاهتمام مع المبررات الكيميائية في جميع أنحاء هذه المقالة.

كيفية رسم هيكل NI3 Lewis؟

يمكن أن يسبق رسم هيكل لويس NI3 من خلال بعض الخطوات الشائعة. تتم مناقشة هذه الخطوات ، المرتبطة كيميائياً بإنشاء السندات أدناه.

الخطوة 1: حساب التكافؤ الإلكتروني

حساب عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ ، الخطوة الأساسية والأكثر أهمية للرسم. نظرًا لأن بنية لويس تدور حول التعبير الإلكتروني للمركب ، فمن الضروري حساب العدد الدقيق للإلكترونات الموجودة داخليًا في المركب.

الخطوة 2: حساب عدد الإلكترونات المطلوبة في ذرات النيتروجين واليود

يحتاج كل عنصر في الجدول الدوري إلى ملء حالة الثماني للحصول على الاستقرار النهائي. بعد حساب إلكترونات التكافؤ ، يمكننا تحديد نقص أو سعة الإلكترونات في العناصر. اعتمادًا على المتطلبات ، يتم اكتشاف حصة الإلكترون في النقل في الخطوة الثانية.

الخطوة 3: اختيار مركز الذرة

يعد اختيار ذرة مركزية مناسبة عاملاً ضروريًا للغاية لرسم هيكل لويس. تحصل أقل الذرة الكهربية دائمًا على الأولوية الأولى لتكون في مركز التصميم. في NI3 ، يعتبر اليود أكثر كهرسلبية من النيتروجين ؛ يحقق النيتروجين مركزًا مركزيًا في المركب.

الخطوة 4: تمثيل نقطة الإلكترون لإحالة السندات

يمثل تمثيل النقاط الإلكترونية عاملاً قيماً لتحليل الروابط بين ذرتين مختلفتين. يشير وضع نقطتين كإلكترونين بين العناصر إلى الارتباط بين العناصر برابطة سيجما.

الخطوة 5: فحص الاستقرار للإلكترون النهائي لـ NI3

بعد التعبير عن الروابط في المركبات ، ستكون الوظيفة الأخيرة هي فحص الثبات. بالنسبة لأي مركب ، من المهم التحقق من الهيكل العام الذي إذا كان قد اتبع القواعد قبل الانخراط في عملية مشاركة الإلكترون. تؤكد هذه المعلومات على استقرار ملف NI3 أيضا.

NI3 لويس هيكل الرنين

يحدث الرنين بسبب وجود روابط أو شحنة سالبة. إنه يدمج نوعًا مشابهًا من البنية البديلة للمركبات. دعونا نجد ما إذا كان يعمل مع NI3 أم لا.

NI3 بنية لويس ليس لها صدى بسبب عامل غير مهم. كما هو الحال في NI3 ، لا توجد روابط في الهيكل الداخلي أو أنها لا تمتلك أي شحنة موجبة أو سالبة أيضًا. إن وجود بنية رنين بديلة أمر مستحيل بالنسبة لـ NI3.

NI3 شكل هيكل لويس

الشكل هو الميزة الخارجية التي تعطي المظهر المناسب للمركب. تحمل بنية لويس اكتشاف شكل المركبات. دعونا نجد شكل NI3 أدناه.

NI3 هيكل لويس على شكل هرم ثلاثي. بوجود زوج وحيد على النيتروجين ، تولد الذرة المركزية شكلاً منحنيًا للمركب. يمكن العثور على تصميم غير متماثل لـ NI3 من بنية لويس لـ NI3. الهندسة الإلكترونية لـ NI3 هي رباعي السطوح.

هيكل ni3 لويس
NI3 هيكل لويس من ويكيبيديا

وفقًا لـ VSEPR (تنافر زوج الإلكترون من Valence Shell) ، تعرض النظرية فكرة تأثير الأزواج المنفردة على شكل المركبات. يتم إنشاء توتر خارجي بواسطة زوج وحيد من النيتروجين في NI3 مما يؤثر على الشكل المثالي للمركب.

NI3 رسوم هيكل لويس الرسمية

تُظهر الشحنة الرسمية حقيقة مساهمة الإلكترون في الترابط بواسطة كل عنصر. دعونا نحسب الرسوم الرسمية لـ NI3 عن طريق حساب نفس الرسوم للأفراد.

توجد صيغة محددة لحساب الشحنة الرسمية للمركبات. الصيغة هي الشحنة الرسمية = عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ - عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ غير المترابطة - (إلكترونات الترابط / 2)

تم تحديد الحساب بشكل عام من خلال الجدول أدناه:

عناصر &
مركب
عدد من
تكافؤ
الإلكترونات
عدد من
nonbonding
إلكترونات التكافؤ
المساهمة في الترابط
(إلكترونات الترابط / 2)
رسمية
تهمة
1. N523/2 (5-2-3/2) = 0.5
2. أنا1761/2 (7-6-1/2) = 0.5
3. أنا2761/2 (7-6-1/2) = 0.5
4. أنا3761/2 (7-6-1/2) = 0.5
5. NI3[0.5-(0.5-0.5-0.5)] = 0
حساب الشحنة الرسمي لهيكل لويس NI3

NI3 لويس هيكل الثماني القاعدة

تنص القاعدة الثمانية على أن كل عنصر في الجدول الدوري يريد ملء حالة الثماني للحصول على الاستقرار مثل الغازات النبيلة. دعونا نحدد كيف يفي NI3 بقاعدة الثمانيات.

NI3 هيكل لويس القاعدة الثماني يدفع كل من N و I لملء غلافهما الأخير بـ 8 إلكترونات. يساعد الذرات على إرضاء حالة الثماني مع ثبات عالٍ في الجدول الدوري. أقرب غاز نبيل من ذرات N و I هما Helium و Xenon ، وكلاهما يميل إلى إنشاء نفس التكوين الإلكتروني لهما.

في حالة استقرار الموضع في الجدول الدوري ، يتشارك كل من النيتروجين واليود في الإلكترون عن طريق تكوين ثمانية إلكترونات في آخر مستوى للطاقة. يشترك النيتروجين في ثلاثة إلكترونات مع ثلاث ذرات يود متشابهة عن طريق استعارة إلكترون واحد من كل ذرة من ذرات اليود ويخلق روابط مع بعضها البعض.

NI3 أزواج بنية لويس الوحيدة

يعد اكتشاف الزوج المنفرد في المركبات عاملاً مهمًا يساعد على تحديد التوتر الداخلي داخل المركبات. دعونا نحسب عدد الأزواج المنفردة الموجودة في NI3.

يحتوي هيكل NI3 Lewis على إجمالي 10 أزواج منفردة. بعد تكوين الروابط ، يترك النيتروجين مع زوج واحد. تحتوي كل ذرة من ذرات اليود على ثلاثة أزواج منفردة ، مما يضيف إجمالي 9 أزواج وحيدة في بنية لويس. تلعب الأزواج المنفردة دورًا كبيرًا في التصميم الداخلي للمركبات.

وفقًا لنظرية VSEPR ، يعد تنافر الزوج المنفرد أحد أكبر العوامل في الجسم الداخلي للمركبات ، مما يؤدي إلى إحداث تأثيرات على الشكل وزاوية الرابطة.

NI3 إلكترونات التكافؤ

عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ هو أكثر المعلومات قيمة حول العناصر التي تنشط رسم المركبات. دعونا نحسب عدد إلكترون التكافؤ في NI3.

  • عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ في النيتروجين = 5
  • عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ في كل ذرة يود = 7
  • إجمالي عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ في 3 ذرات يود = (3 * 7) = 21
  • إجمالي عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ في NI3 = (5 + 21) = 26

زاوية الرابطة NI3

زاوية الرابطة هي الحقيقة اللازمة للتعرف عليها من أجل تكوين فكرة عن قدرة الاحتفاظ بالروابط في العناصر. دعونا نتعرف على زاوية الرابطة NI3.

زاوية الرابطة NI3 هي 107.1º. هذه ليست زاوية الرابطة المثالية لثلاثي اليود النيتروجين وفقًا لشكلها وهندستها الجزيئية وتهجينها. يجب أن تكون زاوية الرابطة المثالية 109.5 درجة. لذلك ، يمكن تحديد أن المركب ينحرف قليلاً عن الزاوية المثالية.

يحدث هذا الانحراف المذكور أعلاه بسبب وجود زوج وحيد على النيتروجين. يخلق هذا الزوج الوحيد تنافرًا بين أزواج الإلكترون ، مما يعطي شكلًا منحنيًا للمركب بشكل عام ويقلل زاوية ارتباطه من الزاوية المثالية.

تهجين NI3

يشير التهجين إلى خلط المدارات لعناصر مختلفة بعد تكوين روابط مع بعضها البعض. دعونا نشير إلى الهيكل المداري المختلط لـ NI3.

NI3 هو جزيء sp3 مهجن. تساعد الأعداد المعقمة للمركبات في تحديد بنية التهجين. تم العثور على عدد steric من NI3 كأربعة مما يدل على التهجين كـ sp3. ومع ذلك ، وفقًا لمخطط VSEPR ، فإن التهجين المثالي للهندسة الإلكترونية الرباعية السطوح هو sp3.

يتم حساب العدد المجسم لـ NI3 عن طريق إضافة عدد الذرات المترابطة على النيتروجين وعدد الذرات الوحيدة على نفس الزوج. الرقم إذا كانت الذرة المستعبدة هنا ثلاثة والزوج الوحيد هو واحد. هذه تجعل العدد الكلي 4 في المجموع وتشير إلى زوج إلكترون واحد في مدار s وآخرون في ثلاثة مدارات p.

هل NI3 صلب؟

المادة الصلبة هي الحالة الشائعة للعديد من المركبات في الكيمياء. دعونا نأخذ تحديدًا مبررًا لحالة ثلاثي اليود النيتروجين في هذا القسم.

NI3 مركب صلب. يظهر هذا المركب بشكل طبيعي في الحالة الصلبة مع اللون الداكن. يتكون هذا المركب الهرمي عن طريق تفاعل بين اليود والأمونيا وكلا المتفاعلات صلبة في حالة. ينتج عن هذا العنصر مركب أحمر غامق يسمى ثلاثي يود النيتروجين.

لماذا وكيف يكون NI3 صلبًا؟

NI3 مادة صلبة بسبب القوة الكهروستاتيكية القوية داخل المركبات. بشكل عام ، تكتسب المركبات الحالة الصلبة بتأثير القوة الداخلية. تثبت هندسة التأثير لـ NI3 حالتها الصلبة بلون غامق. ومع ذلك ، بعد الانفجار ، ينتج هذا المركب بخار اليود الأرجواني الداكن.

هل NI3 قابل للذوبان في الماء؟

الذوبان هو العامل الذي يختلف مركبًا إلى مركب من خلال التأثيرات الداخلية للعناصر على الروابط. سيكون هذا ممتعًا للتحقق من قابلية ذوبان NI3.

NI3 غير قابل للذوبان في الماء. يشير عدم الذوبان هذا إلى حالته الصلبة. هذا الجزيء مركب استثنائي في سلسلة NF3 و NCl3 و NBr3 و NI3. إن عدم قابلية NI3 للذوبان تقف في وجه حقيقة أن هذا المركب لا يتحلل في الماء بسهولة.

لماذا وكيف NI3 غير قابل للذوبان في الماء؟

NI3 غير قابل للذوبان في الماء بسبب الاصطدام غير الضروري بين ذرات اليود والعائق الفراغي. بشكل عام ، يلاحظ أن جزيئات الهاليد قابلة للذوبان في الماء. NI3 هو استثناء من هذه الحقيقة. NI3 غير قابل للذوبان في الماء عن طريق التنافر الداخلي بين ذرات اليود غير المترابطة.

هل NI3 قطبي أم غير قطبي؟

القطبية وعدم القطبية هي الحقيقة التي تحدد الوظائف الداخلية المتفائلة للمركبات. دعونا نحدد ما إذا كان NI3 قطبيًا أم غير قطبي.

NI3 مركب قطبي. قطبيتها تأتي من توحيد غير متماثل للهيكل. يعمل الشكل المنحني للمركب وراء إنشاء عزم ثنائي القطب محدد حول أطراف ثلاثي يوديد النيتروجين.

لماذا NI3 قطبي؟

NI3 قطبي بسبب التأثير الداخلي الناتج عن الزوج الوحيد من النيتروجين. الشكل المنحني لـ NI3 يبعد المركب عن كونه تدوينًا متماثلًا في الكيمياء. يتم التوزيع غير المتكافئ للشحنة في جميع أنحاء العناصر بواسطة الزوج الوحيد ، والذي لا يسمح للمركب بإلغاء عزمه ثنائي القطب.

كيف NI3 القطبية؟

NI3 قطبي بتأثير ثلاثة عوامل مختلفة. العوامل هي الكهربية والشكل والعزم ثنائي القطب. على الرغم من أن الاختلاف بين السالبية الكهربية بين ذرات N و I قليل وينشئ روابط غير قطبية ، فإن الزوج الوحيد على N يجعل المركب القطبي الكلي.

هل NI3 مركب جزيئي؟

يعتمد المظهر الجزيئي على حيادية المركبات حيث لا تحمل أي شحنة سالبة أو موجبة. دعونا نكتشف ما إذا كان NI3 جزيئيًا أم لا أدناه.

NI3 مركب جزيئي. تشير الهندسة الجزيئية المحددة لثلاثي اليود النيتروجين إلى تكوينه المحايد. NI3 جزيئي طبيعي يتبع القواعد المحددة لتشكيل الجزيء في الكيمياء.

هيكل ni3 لويس
NI3 هندسة تشبه السلسلة من ويكيبيديا

لماذا وكيف NI3 هو الجزيء؟

NI3 هو جزيء لأنه يأخذ المظهر كمركب محايد. لا يحمل نقصًا في فائض الإلكترونات في الجانب. يتم تعريف الطريقة التي يمكن أن يطلق عليها الجزيء على أنها تفاعل إلكتروني بين نوعين مختلفين من الذرات التي تصنع الجزيء.

هل NI3 حمض أم قاعدة؟

وفقًا لـ Lewis ، تشير الحموضة إلى قدرة قبول الإلكترون وتعتمد الأساسيات على قدرة التبرع الإلكتروني. دعونا نجد أي عامل قادر على Ni3.

يمكن اعتبار NI3 على أنه حمض وأقل قاعدية. تم تحديد هذه الحقيقة من خلال اكتشاف التطابقات بين التعريف المثالي لحموضة لويس أو قاعدية وقدرة Ni3 في قبول أو التبرع بالإلكترونات.

لماذا NI3 حمض؟

NI3 هو حمض بسبب قدرته العالية على قبول الإلكترون. ذرات اليود قادرة على قبول الإلكترونات كجزء مهم من NI3. المركب غير قادر على التخلي عن الإلكترونات ما لم يتم دفعه بواسطة بعض التأثيرات الخارجية. هذا العامل يجعل المركب العام أقل أساسية.

كيف NI3 هو حمض؟

NI3 هو حمض بواسطة قدرة قبول الإلكترون لليود. يحتوي اليود على فراغ فارغ في مداراته d حيث يمكنه بسهولة إعطاء مكان للإلكترونات. بهذه الطريقة ، يفي المركب الكلي بشرط كونه حمض لويس.

هل NI3 إلكتروليت؟

الإلكتروليتات قادرة على توصيل الكهرباء في الحالة المنصهرة أو اختراق الأيونات بسهولة. دعونا نحدد ما إذا كان NI3 يتبع أيًا من هذه المعايير أدناه.

NI3 هو إلكتروليت قوي. بعد الحصول على العديد من الاستثناءات ، يمكن لهذا المركب أن يظهر طبيعة التحليل الكهربائي دون اتباع الجوانب ، يجب أن يمتلك المنحل بالكهرباء. ويرد أدناه سبب استدعاء NI3 بالكهرباء.

لماذا وكيف NI3 هو إلكتروليت قوي؟

NI3 هو إلكتروليت قوي بسبب طبيعته المتفجرة. حتى بعد أن تكون غير قابلة للذوبان في الماء ، لديها قدرة عالية على تكسير الأيونات. كاختلاف كبير في الحجم بين ذرات N و I ، فإن رابطة NI في Ni3 ضعيفة وتتكسر بسهولة إلى أيونات اليوديد. ومن ثم ، فإنه يظهر خاصية التحليل الكهربائي فيه.

هل NI3 ملح؟

يمتلك الملح بعض الخصائص الخاصة لكونه يسمى الملح مثل قابلية الذوبان العالية في الماء. دعونا نحدد ما إذا كان NI3 يحمل مثل هذه الخصائص ويسمى الملح أم لا.

لا يمكن تسمية NI3 بالملح. يجب أن يكون الملح دائمًا بلوريًا أو على شكل مسحوق بلوري بلون أبيض. الى جانب ذلك ، يجب أن يكون الملح قابل للذوبان في الماء. تم العثور على الأملاح في معظم الأحيان على شكل بلورات عديمة اللون مثل مكعبات الثلج أو في تصميم شفاف.

لماذا وكيف لا يعتبر NI3 ملحًا؟

NI3 ليس ملحًا لأنه من الواضح أن المركب غير قابل للذوبان في الماء. من المؤكد أنها تظل محايدة بطبيعتها ولكن بلورة NI3 ذات لون أحمر غامق وليست شفافة أيضًا. السمية والتكوين الناتج عن الانفجار النووي لثلاثي اليود النيتروجين يميزه عن الأملاح.

هل NI3 أيوني أم تساهمي؟

تختصر الطبيعة الأيونية أو التساهمية للمركبات عملية تكوين الروابط بين العناصر. دعونا نجد نوع السندات التي يمتلكها NI3 مع نظرة عامة كيميائية.

NI3 تساهمية. يتكون NI3 من التعاون بين إلكترونات التكافؤ لذرات النيتروجين واليود. التساهم هو العامل الرئيسي الذي يعمل وراء الترابط بين ذرات النيتروجين واليود. تعطي خصائص التساهم قوة الرابطة للعناصر من خلال اعتماد الاستقرار الكيميائي.

لماذا وكيف يكون NI3 تساهمية؟

NI3 تساهمي بسبب الطبيعة الداعمة للنيتروجين واليود. كل من العنصر لديه نقص في الإلكترون فيما يتعلق بحالة الثماني. يملأ كلا العنصرين الثمانية ويحصلان على الاستقرار من خلال مشاركة إلكترونات التكافؤ مع بعضهما البعض. بهذه الطريقة يصنعون روابط تساهمية.

هل NI3 مستقر؟

استقرار NI3 حقيقة عظيمة تعطي معرفة بوجود NI3 كمادة متفجرة في الطبيعة. دعونا نكتشف ما إذا كان NI3 مستقرًا أم لا.

NI3 مركب غير مستقر. كما نعلم أن هذا شديد الانفجار ، يمكن تحديده من خلال فئة الهيكل والتكوين مع وصف واسع. يؤثر حجم العناصر التشاركية في التكوين المركب دائمًا على ثبات المركبات. هذا العامل مهم في حالة عدم استقرار NI3.

لماذا وكيف يكون NI3 غير مستقر؟

NI3 غير مستقر لأن فرق الحجم بين ذرات النيتروجين واليود مرتفع جدًا. النيتروجين عبارة عن ذرة صغيرة تحصل على المركز المركزي في NI3 وتتحمل عبء ثلاث ذرات كبيرة من اليود التي تخلق إجهادًا ستريكيًا. يصبح من الصعب على NI3 إدارة التأثير الفراغي الذي يجعله غير مستقر.

في الختام

وصفت هذه المقالة الخصائص الاستثنائية لـ NI3 ، والتي تم اكتشافها من بنية NI3 Lewis. قدم هذا الهيكل الإلكتروني بشكل كبير معلومات حول الشكل المنحني والانحراف عن زاوية الرابطة المثالية للمركب من خلال تقييم تخصصه.

سارنالي موخيرجي

مرحبًا ..... أنا سارنالي موخيرجي ، خريج جامعة كلكتا. احب تعليم وتبادل المعرفة حول الكيمياء. لقد اكتسبت اهتمامًا تدريجيًا بكتابة المقالات منذ عام مضى. أرغب في اكتساب المزيد من المعرفة حول موضوعي في المستقبل. دعنا نتواصل عبر LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/sarnali-mukherjee-921b59231

آخر المقالات

NI3 Lewis Structure & Characteristics: 17 Complete Facts


NI3 Lewis structure refers to the electronic skeleton of the compound, NI3. Here the electrons are represented by dots. Let us take a brief idea on NI3 Lewis structure.

NI3 Lewis structure is reliable in imposing a well-defined electronic structure of the compound. It can evaluate the number of electrons engaged from the side of both Nitrogen and Iodine in the formation of NI3 or Nitrogen triiodide. The process of internal bonding is also described by the Lewis structure.

NI3 Lewis structure represents several facts about the shape, internal bonding, angle, the rule behind the electronic reaction and others. Let us describe the interesting facts with chemical justifications throughout this article.

How to draw NI3 Lewis structure?

Drawing NI3 Lewis structure can be preceded through some common steps. Those steps, chemically related with bond creation are being discussed below.

Step 1: Valence electron calculation

Calculating the number of valence electrons, the most fundamental and significant step for the drawing. As Lewis structure is all about electronic expression of a compound, it is required to calculate the exact number of electrons present internally in the compound.

Step 2: Count of required electrons in Nitrogen and Iodine atoms

Every element in periodic table need to fill octet state to get ultimate stability. After calculating the valence electrons, we can identify the deficiency or amplitude of electrons in the elements. Depending on the requirements, electron share of transfer is discovered in second step.

Step 3: Centre atom selection

Selecting a suitable centre atom is much-needed factor to sketch the Lewis structure. The least electronegative atom always gets first priority to be in the centre of design. In NI3, Iodine is more electronegative than Nitrogen therefore; Nitrogen achieves centre position in the compound.

Step 4: Electron dot representation to refer bonds

Representation of electron dots is the valuable a factor for analysing the bonds between two different atoms. Putting two dots as two electrons in between the elements refers to the connection between elements with sigma bond.

Step 5: Stability checking for the final electron of NI3

After expressing the bonds in the compounds, the last function would be stability check.  For any compound, it is important to check the overall structure that if it has followed the rules before being engaged in electron sharing process. This information confirms the stability of the NI3 also.

NI3 Lewis structure resonance

Resonance happens due to the presence of π bonds or negative charge. It embeds similar kind of alternative structure of the compounds. Let us find if it works for NI3 or not.

NI3 Lewis structure has no resonance due to an insignificant factor.  As in NI3, there are no π bonds in the internal structure or it does not possess any positive or negative charge as well. Having alternative resonance structure is impossible for NI3.

NI3 Lewis structure shape

Shape is the outermost feature that gives proper outlook of a compound. Lewis structure holds to discover the shape of compounds. Let us find the shape of NI3 below.

NI3 Lewis structure is shaped as Trigonal pyramidal. The presences of lone pair on Nitrogen, the central atom brings forth a bent shape to the compound. An asymmetric design of NI3 can be found from the Lewis structure of NI3. Electronic geometry of NI3 is Tetrahedral.

ni3 lewis structure
NI3 Lewis structure from Wikipedia

According to VSEPR (Valence Shell Electron Pair Repulsion), theory exhibits the idea of effect of lone pairs on shape of the compounds.  An external tension is created by the lone pair of Nitrogen in NI3 that affects the ideal shape of the compound.

NI3 Lewis structure formal charge

Formal charge displays the fact of electron contribution on the bonding by each element. Let us calculate the formal charge of NI3 by calculating the same for individuals.

A specific formula is there to calculate the formal charge of compounds. The formula is Formal charge = Number of valence electrons – Number of nonbonding valence electrons – (Bonding electrons/2)

The calculation is broadly outlined through the table below:

Elements &
Compound
Number of
valence
Electrons
Number of
nonbonding
Valence Electrons
Contribution in bonding
(Bonding electrons/2)
Formal
Charge
1. N523/2(5-2-3/2) = 0.5
2. I1761/2(7-6-1/2) = 0.5
3. I2761/2(7-6-1/2) = 0.5
4. I3761/2(7-6-1/2) = 0.5
5. NI3[0.5-(0.5-0.5-0.5)] = 0
Formal Charge calculation of NI3 Lewis structure

NI3 Lewis structure octet rule

Octet rule states that each element in periodic table wants to fill octet state to get stability like noble gases. Let us identify how NI3 satisfies octet rule.

NI3 Lewis structure octet rule drives both N and I to fill their last shell with 8 electrons. It helps the atoms to satisfy octet state with high stability in periodic table. The nearest noble gas of N and I atoms are Helium and Xenon, both the element tends to create same electronic configuration as them.

In the case of stabilising the position in periodic table Both Nitrogen and iodine shared electron by making eight electrons in last energy level. Nitrogen shares three electrons with three similar Iodine atoms by borrowing one electron from each of the Iodine atoms and creates bonds with each other.

NI3 Lewis structure lone pairs

Lone pair detection in the compounds is a significant factor that helps to identify internal tension inside the compounds. Let us calculate how many lone pairs are there in NI3.

NI3 Lewis structure holds total 10 lone pairs. After making bonds, Nitrogen is left with one lone pair. Each of the Iodine atoms holds three lone pairs, which adds total 9 lone pairs in the Lewis structure. Lone pairs play a huge role on the internal design of the compounds.

According to VSEPR theory, Lone pair-lone pair repulsion is one of the biggest factors in the internal body of compounds, which implements effects on the shape and bond angle.

NI3 valence electrons

The number of valence electrons is the most valuable information about elements that activates the sketching of compounds. Let us calculate the number of valence electron in NI3.

  • The number of valence electrons in Nitrogen = 5
  • The number of valence electrons in each Iodine atom = 7
  • The total number of valence electrons in 3 Iodine atoms = (3*7) = 21
  • Total number of valence electrons in NI3 = (5+21) = 26

NI3 bond angle

Bond angle is the fact that is needed to identify for making an idea about the capacity of holding bonds in the elements. Let us recognise the bond angle of NI3.

NI3 bond angle is 107.1º. This is not the ideal bond angle of Nitrogen triiodide in accordance with its shape, molecular geometry and hybridisation. The ideal bond angle should be 109.5º. Therefore, it can be identified that the compound is slightly deviated from the ideal angle.

This above-mentioned deviation happens due to the presence of lone pair on Nitrogen. This lone pair creates repulsion between the electron pairs, which generally gives a bent shape to the compound and reduces its bond angle from the ideal one.

NI3 hybridization

Hybridisation refers to the mixing of orbitals for different elements after making bonds with each other. Let us point out the mixed orbital structure of NI3.

NI3 is a sp3-hybridised molecule. Steric numbers of compounds help to pick out the hybridisation structure. The steric number of NI3 is found as four which denotes the hybridisation as sp3.  However, according to VSEPR chart, the ideal hybridisation of tetrahedral electronic geometry is sp3.

Steric number of NI3 is calculated by adding the number of bonded atoms on Nitrogen and the lone of lone pair on the same. Number if bonded atom here is three and lone pair is one. These make the steric number 4 in total and indicate one electron pair in s orbital and others on three p orbitals.

Is NI3 solid?

Solid is the common state of many compounds in chemistry. Let us take a justified identification about the state of Nitrogen triiodide in this section.

NI3 is a solid compound. This compound naturally appears in solid state with dark colour. This pyramidal compound is formed by a reaction between Iodine and ammonia and both the reactants are solid in state. These element gives out dark red compound named as Nitrogen triiodide.

Why and How NI3 is solid?

NI3 is solid due to the strong electrostatic force inside the compounds. Generally, compounds gain solid state by the effect of internal strength. Impact geometry of NI3 proofs its solid state with dark colour. However, after explosion, that compound makes dark purple vapour of Iodine.

Is NI3 soluble in water?

Solubility is the factor that varies compound to compound by the internal effects of elements on bonds. This would fun to check solubility of NI3.

NI3 is insoluble in water. This insolubility refers to its solid state. This molecule is an exceptional compound in the series of NF3, NCl3, NBr3 and NI3. Insolubility of NI3 stands fir the fact that says this compound does not decomposes in water easily.

Why and how NI3 is insoluble in water?

NI3 is insoluble in water because of the unnecessary collision between Iodine atoms and steric hindrance. Generally, halide molecules are noticed to be soluble in water. NI3 is exception of this fact. NI3 is insoluble in water by the internal repulsion between non-bonded Iodine atoms.

Is NI3 polar or nonpolar?

Polarity and non-polarity is the fact that defines internal optimistic functions of the compounds. Let us identify if NI3 is polar or non-polar.

NI3 is a polar compound. Its polarity comes from an asymmetric standardisation of structure. The bent shape of the compound works behind the creation of specific Dipole moment around the terminals of Nitrogen triiodide.

Why is NI3 polar?

NI3 is polar due to the internal effect created by the lone pair of Nitrogen. The bent shape of NI3 distant the compound from being symmetric notation in chemistry. An unequal distribution of charge throughout the elements is by the lone pair, which does not let the compound to cancel out its dipole moment.

How does NI3 polar?

NI3 is polar by the effect of three different factors. The factors are electronegativity, shape and dipole moment. Though different between electronegativity between N and I atoms is little and create non-polar bonds, the lone pair on N makes the overall compound polar.

Is NI3 a molecular compound?

Molecular appearance depends on the neutrality of compounds where they do not hold any negative or positive charge.  Let us find if NI3 is molecular or not below.

NI3 is a molecular compound.  Specific molecular geometry of Nitrogen triiodide refers to its neutral formation.  NI3 is naturally molecular which follows the definite rules of forming a molecule in chemistry.

ni3 lewis structure
NI3 Chain-like geometry from Wikipedia

Why and how NI3 is molecule?

NI3 is molecule because it takes appearance as a neutral compound. It does not hold deficiency of excessiveness of electrons in side. The way it can be called molecule is defined as the electronic reaction between two different types of atoms that make molecule.

Is NI3 an acid or base?

According to Lewis, acidity refers to electron acceptance capability and basicity depends on capability of electron donation.  Let us find for which factor Ni3 is capable.

NI3 can be considered as an acid and least basic. This fact has been identified by discovering the matches between ideal definition of Lewis acidity or basicity and capability of Ni3 in accepting or donating electrons.

Why NI3 is an acid?

NI3 is an acid due to its high capability of accepting electron. Iodine atoms are capable of accepting electrons as an important part of NI3.  The compound is not capable of giving up electrons unless forced by some external effect. This factor makes the overall compound least basic.

How NI3 is an acid?

NI3 is an acid by the electron accepting ability of Iodine. Iodine has void space in its d orbitals where it can easily give place to electrons. In this way, the overall compound satisfies the condition of being a Lewis acid.

Is NI3 an electrolyte?

Electrolytes are capable of conducting electricity in molten state or break into ions readily. Let us identify if NI3 follows any of these criteria below.

NI3 is a strong electrolyte. After having several, exceptionality this compound can show electrolytic nature without following the aspects, an electrolyte should possess. The reason of calling NI3 an electrolyte is given below.

Why and how NI3 is a strong electrolyte?

NI3 is a strong electrolyte because its explosive nature. Even after being insoluble in water, it has high capacity in breaking into ions. As a huge difference in size between N and I atoms, N-I bond in Ni3 is weak and it readily breaks into Iodide ions. Hence, it shows electrolytic property in it.

Is NI3 a salt?

Salt holds some special characteristics for being called salt like high solubility in water. Let us identify if NI3 holds such characteristics and called salt or not.

NI3 cannot be called a salt. A salt should always be crystalline or in a form of crystalline powder in white colour.  Besides, salt should be soluble in water. Most of the time salts are found as colourless crystals like ice cubes or in a transparent design.

Why and how NI3 is not a salt?

NI3 is a not a salt because it is clear that the compound is not soluble in water. It definitely stays neutral in nature but the crystal of NI3 is dark red in colour and not transparent as well. Toxicity and formation from nuclear explosion of Nitrogen triiodide distinguishes it from salts.

Is NI3 ionic or covalent?

Ionic or covalent nature of compounds abbreviates the formation process of bonds between the elements. Let us find which kind of bond NI3 is possessing with chemical overview.

NI3 is covalent. NI3 is formed by the cooperation between valence electrons of Nitrogen and Iodine atoms. Covalence is the key factor that works behind the bonding between Nitrogen and Iodine atoms. Covalence characteristics give bond strength to the elements by adopting chemical stability.

Why and how NI3 is covalent?

NI3 is covalent due to the supportive nature of Nitrogen and Iodine. Both the element has electron deficiency in related with the octet state. Both element fills octet and get stability by sharing valence electrons with each other. In this way they make covalent bonds.

Is NI3 stable?

Stability of NI3 is a great fact that gives knowledge about the existence of NI3 as an explosive matter in nature. Let us find if NI3 is stable or not.

NI3 is an unstable compound. As we know this is highly explosive, that can defined by the structure and formation category with a broad description. Size of the participative elements in a compound formation always effects on the stability of compounds. This factor matters in the case of instability of NI3.

Why and how NI3 is unstable?

NI3 is unstable because the size difference between Nitrogen and Iodine atoms is quite high. Nitrogen is a tiny atom that gets the centre position in NI3 and bears the burden of three large Iodine atom that creates steric strain.  It becomes difficult NI3 to manage the steric effect that makes it unstable.

Conclusion

This article has descried the exceptional characteristics of NI3, which are discovered from the NI3 Lewis structure. This electronic structure has significantly brought forth information about bent shape and deviation from ideal bond angle of the compound by evaluating its specialty.

Sarnali Mukherjee

Hi.....I am Sarnali Mukherjee, a graduate from the University of Calcutta. I love to teach and share knowledge on chemistry. I have gradually gained interest in article writing since one year ago. I would love to acquire more knowledge on my subject in the future. Let's connect through LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/sarnali-mukherjee-921b59231

Recent Posts