هيكل وخصائص NaOH Lewis: 17 حقائق كاملة


هيدروكسيد الصوديوم عبارة عن قاعدة غير عضوية قوية ذات كتلة مولية 40 جم / مول. دعونا نناقش المزيد من هيدروكسيد الصوديوم في المقالة التالية.

NaOH عبارة عن قاعدة معدنية قلوية ، لذا فإن طبيعة القاعدة قوية جدًا. إنه جزيء أيوني وليس تساهميًا لأن الرابطة التي يتكون منها الجزيء هي النقل الكلي للإلكترونات. O هو sp3 مهجن هنا مع زوجين من الأزواج المنفردة. يرتبط H بذرة O ويزيد من قاعدتها.

نظرًا لأنها قاعدة قوية ، يمكنها تحييد الأحماض القوية مثل H2SO4 أو HCl لتكوين الملح والماء. في هذه المقالة ، يمكننا استكشاف المزيد حول وضع ربط NaOH وهيكله وأساسيته وحقائق مهمة أخرى بالتفصيل.

1. كيفية رسم هيكل NaOH لويس؟

يمكن أن تعطي بنية لويس للجزيء التساهمي فكرة موجزة عن الخاصية الجزيئية. في القسم التالي ، نرسم بنية لويس لـ NaOH في بضع خطوات.

حساب إلكترونات التكافؤ

بادئ ذي بدء ، يجب أن يكون إجمالي إلكترونات التكافؤ لـ NaOH معادًا وهو 8. هذه هي القيمة الإجمالية لإلكترونات التكافؤ لكل ذرة موجودة في NaOH. يحتوي O على ستة و Na و H لهما إلكترون واحد في مدار التكافؤ. نضيف هذه الإلكترونات فقط للحصول على القيمة الإجمالية لإلكترونات التكافؤ لـ NaOH.

اختيار الذرة المركزية

في الخطوة الثانية ، حددنا الذرة المركزية بين ثلاث ذرات. يجب اختيار الذرة المركزية على أساس الكهربية والحجم. من بين Na و H و O ، O هي الأكثر كهرسلبية وحجم O أكبر من الأخريين. لذلك ، يتم اختيار O كالذرة المركزية هنا.

إرضاء الثماني

لكي يطيع كل عنصر كتلة s الثماني ، يحتاجون إلى إلكترونين في مدار التكافؤ ؛ بالنسبة لعناصر كتلة p ، فإنها تحتاج إلى ثمانية إلكترونات. O هو عنصر كتلة ap لذا فهو يحتاج إلى ثمانية و H و Na يحتاجان إلى إلكترونين. لذلك ، لتلبية العدد الإجمالي للثمانيات من الإلكترونات المطلوبة سيكون 8 + 2 + 2 = 12.

إرضاء التكافؤ

لإرضاء تكافؤ كل ذرة يجب أن نضيف الروابط التي تأتي من تلك الإلكترونات المتبقية من الإلكترونات الثمانية المطلوبة وإلكترونات التكافؤ الكلي الموجودة. إذن ، السند المطلوب هنا هو ½ (12-8) = 2. توجد رابطة واحدة بين O و Na والأخرى بين O و H لإرضاء التكافؤ.

عيّن الأزواج المنفردة

بعد تلبية كل من الثماني والتكافؤ ، يجب أن نتحقق من وجود إلكترونات إضافية غير مرتبطة بمدار التكافؤ لكل ذرة. فقط O لديها أربعة إلكترونات إضافية غير مرتبطة موجودة بعد تكوين رابطتين. هذه الإلكترونات هي الإلكترونات غير المرتبطة بـ O ويتم تخصيصها كزوجين من أزواج منفردة.

2. إلكترونات التكافؤ NaOH

إلكترونات التكافؤ هي تلك الإلكترونات الموجودة في المدار الخارجي لكل ذرة وتشارك في تكوين الرابطة. دعونا نناقش إلكترونات التكافؤ لـ NaOH.

إجمالي إلكترونات التكافؤ لـ NaOH هي 8. هذا هو مجموع إلكترونات التكافؤ في ذرات O و Na و H. تأتي هذه الأرقام من التكوين الإلكتروني الخارجي الخاص بها. يتم تأكيد عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ الموجودة في غلاف التكافؤ من خلال التكوين الإلكتروني لكل ذرة.

دعونا نحسب عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ الكلي لـ NaOH.

  • عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ لـ O هو 6
  • عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ لـ Na هو 1
  • عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ لـ H هو 1
  • إذن ، إجمالي عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ لـ NaOH هو 6 + 1 + 1 + = 8.

3. شكل هيكل لويس لويس

شكل الجزيء التساهمي وفقًا لنظرية VSEPR وللمركب الأيوني مسؤول عن بنية الشبكة. الآن استكشف شكل الجزيء.

شكل جزيء NaOH مثني بزوجين من أزواج منفردة. تنحرف هذه الهندسة عن الهندسة الفعلية لجزيء إحداثيات رباعي وفقًا لنظرية VSEPR (تنافر أزواج الإلكترونات من Valence Shell). هنا زوجان من الأزواج المنفردة يُعتقد أنهما ذرتان مع أزواج رابطة أخرى.

هندسة الجزيء على الرغم من رباعي السطوح ولكن الشكل منحني مثل جزيء الماء. الأزواج الوحيدة من الجزيء مسؤولة عن الشكل المنحني. بسبب الأزواج المنفردة - تنافر زوج السندات ، يتغير الشكل لينثني تمامًا مثل جزيء الماء.

4. أزواج هيكل NaOH لويس وحيدة

توجد الإلكترونات غير المرتبطة في غلاف التكافؤ لكل ذرة ولا تشارك في أزواج الروابط. دعونا نناقش المزيد من الأزواج المنفردة من هيدروكسيد الصوديوم.

يحتوي O فقط على الأزواج الوحيدة في جزيء NaOH. لأنه يحتوي على ستة إلكترونات في مداره الخارجي كمجموعة 16th العنصر ، بعد تكوين زوجين من السندات ، يكون له أربعة إلكترونات غير مرتبطة والتي توجد كأزواج وحيدة. Na و H كلاهما من عناصر المجموعة IA لذا فهما يحتويان على إلكترون واحد فقط ويفتقران إلى أزواج وحيدة.

  • دعونا نحسب الأزواج الوحيدة لكل ذرة في هيدروكسيد الصوديوم من خلال الصيغة ، أزواج وحيدة = إلكترونات التكافؤ - إلكترون مرتبط.
  • الأزواج الوحيدة الموجودة فوق Na هي ، 1-1 = 0
  • الأزواج الوحيدة الموجودة على H هي ، 1-1 = 0
  • الأزواج الوحيدة الموجودة فوق O هي 6-2 = 4
  • إذن ، O لديها 4 إلكترونات غير مرتبطة ، مما يعني أنها تحتوي على زوجين من أزواج وحيدة.

5. زاوية هيكل NaOH لويس

بنية لويس أو زاوية الرابطة هي الزاوية الخاصة التي تصنعها الذرات في الجزيء بترتيبها المطلق. دعونا نجد زاوية رابطة هيدروكسيد الصوديوم.

تقترب قيمة زاوية الرابطة لـ NaOH من حوالي 1040. القيمة أقل من قيمة زاوية رباعي السطوح ، ولكن بسبب تنافر الأزواج المنفردة ، يتغير الشكل وكذلك زاوية الرابطة أيضًا. تشبه هذه الزاوية تمامًا جزيء الماء حيث أن جزيء الماء له شكل منحني بسبب تنافر الأزواج المنفردة.

لتقليل الأزواج الوحيدة - تنافر أزواج السندات هيدروكسيد الصوديوم يقلل زاوية الرابطة من 109.50 وهي القيمة الحقيقية لجزيء رباعي السطوح. بسبب تنافر الأزواج المنفردة ، يتغير شكل الجزيء ، ولهذا السبب ، تتغير زاوية الرابطة إلى 1040.

6. حكم ثماني بتات هيكل لويس لويس

تحاول كل ذرة في جزيء معين إكمال ثماني بتاتها من خلال تحقيق مدارات التكافؤ. دعونا نفهم ثماني بتات هيدروكسيد الصوديوم في القسم التالي.

لإكمال الثماني ، شكل O رابطتين مفردتين مع ذرات H و Na على التوالي. وبهذه الطريقة ، تكون قد شاركت في أربعة إلكترونات ولديها بالفعل أربعة إلكترونات في مدارها الخارجي. مرة أخرى ، يشترك كل من Na و H في رابطة واحدة لإكمال ثماني بتات. احتياجات الإلكترونات اثنين فقط هنا.

يتم تجميع ثمانية إلكترونات بواسطة عنصر كتلة p حسب الثماني. التكوين الإلكتروني لعنصر الكتلة p O هو [He] 2s22p4. يوجد ستة إلكترونات كحد أقصى يمكن كذبها في المدار p ، لذلك يلزم وجود إلكترونين فقط. بالنسبة لعناصر كتلة s مثل Na و H ، فإنها تحتاج إلى إلكترون واحد فقط.

7. NaOH هيكل لويس المسؤول الرسمي

مقدار الشحنة الموجودة التي يمكن توقع الذرة عليها بمساعدة مفهوم الشحنة الرسمي. دعونا نحسب الشحنة الرسمية من هيدروكسيد الصوديوم.

قيمة الشحنة الرسمية لـ NaOH هي صفر. لأنه جزيء محايد وكل شحنة الجزيء وتكافئه راضية تمامًا. يتم استيفاء اختلاف التكافؤ الكهربي لـ O بواسطة ذرتين Na و H أحادي التكافؤ كهربائياً. لذلك ، لا يمكن تقديم أي نوع من التهمة.

  • علينا أن نفترض نفس الكهربية لجميع الذرات. الآن احسب الشحنة الرسمية لكل ذرة على حدة باستخدام الصيغة FC = Nv - Nl.p. -1/2 ملحوظة.
  • الشحنة الرسمية على ذرة O هي ، 6-4- (4/2) = 0
  • الشحنة الرسمية على ذرة Na هي ، 1-0- (2/2) = 0
  • الشحنة الرسمية على ذرة H هي ، 1-0- (2/2) = 0

8. صدى هيكل لويس لويس

الرنين هو المفهوم الافتراضي الذي يتم من خلاله فصل سحب الإلكترون بين الأشكال الهيكلية المختلفة للجزيء. دعونا نفهم صدى هيدروكسيد الصوديوم.

لا يوجد صدى لوحظ في جزيء NaOH. بسبب عدم وجود عدد كافٍ من السحب الإلكترونية التي يمكن فصلها بين الجزيئات. لذلك ، لم يتم ملاحظة أي شكل من أشكال الهيكل العظمي. O لديها أزواج وحيدة كونها ذرة كهربية لا يمكنها التبرع بكثافة الإلكترون لذرات أخرى.

تتدفق كثافة الإلكترون من Na و H إلى ذرة O الكهربية. بعبارة أخرى ، يسحب O كثافة الإلكترون من ذرات Na و H الكهربية بواسطة روابط سيجما. لذلك ، يتم سحب كثافة إلكترون سيجما فقط بعيدًا عن الذرات الكهربية الإيجابية إلى موقع O فقط.

9. تهجين هيدروكسيد الصوديوم

عن طريق خلط المدارات الذرية للطاقة المختلفة للحصول على مدار هجين من الطاقة المكافئة يسمى التهجين. الآن ناقش تهجين هيدروكسيد الصوديوم بالتفصيل.

من جدول التهجين أدناه ، من المتوقع أن NaOH هو sp3 مهجن.

الهيكلية  قيمة التهجينحالة التهجين    زاوية السندات
1. الخطي   2sp / sd / pd   1800
2-مخطط ثلاثي الزوايا  3sp2      1200
3. رباعي السطوح  4sd3/ س3   109.50
4. مثلث ثنائي الهرمي5sp3د / دسب3       900 (محوري) ، 1200(استوائي)
5. الاوكتاهدرا 6sp3d2/ د2sp3     900
6. خماسية ثنائية الهرم7sp3d3/d3sp3    900، 720
جدول التهجين

يتم حساب تهجين O المركزي في NaOH بالصيغة التالية ، H = 0.5 (V + M-C + A) ، حيث H = قيمة التهجين ، V هو عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ في الذرة المركزية ، و M = أحاطت الذرات أحادية التكافؤ. من الصيغة أعلاه ، فإن قيمة التهجين للمركز O هي sp3 في هيدروكسيد الصوديوم.

10. هل هيدروكسيد الصوديوم صلب؟

عندما يتم الاحتفاظ بجزيء بواسطة قوة جذب قوية مثل قوة فان دير وال أو قوة ثنائي القطب ، عندئذٍ يطلق عليه صلب. دعونا نرى ما إذا كان NaOH صلبًا أم لا.

هيدروكسيد الصوديوم هو جزيء صلب لأنه ممسك بقوة جذب فان دير وال القوية. إلى جانب ذلك ، يتم الاحتفاظ به أيضًا بواسطة قوة تشتت لندن وبسبب طبيعته الأيونية ، هناك أيضًا تفاعل أيوني ملحوظ بين Na + و OH- وهو قوي بدرجة كافية. لديها نقطة انصهار أعلى ، لذلك فإن هيدروكسيد الصوديوم صلب.

لماذا وكيف يكون هيدروكسيد الصوديوم صلبًا؟

تجعل الطاقة الشبكية الأقوى لـ NaOH الجزيء صلبًا في درجة حرارة الغرفة. يحتوي الجزيء على نقطة غليان أعلى لأنه نظرًا لارتفاع قوة جذب فان دير وال ، فقد تطلب المزيد من الطاقة لكسر الرابطة. لذلك ، يحتوي NaOH على نقطة غليان أعلى مما يدل على طبيعته الصلبة.

11. هل هيدروكسيد الصوديوم قابل للذوبان في الماء؟

أي جزيء قطبي أو أيوني قابل للذوبان في الماء عن طريق التأين عبر الترابط H مع جزيء الماء. دعونا نرى ما إذا كان NaOH قابل للذوبان في الماء أم لا في الجزء التالي.

هيدروكسيد الصوديوم قابل للذوبان في الماء بسبب طبيعته القطبية والأيونية. يمكن بسهولة أن يتأين في Na+ و OH- ويذوب في الماء. يتم إذابة هذه الأيونات صغيرة الحجم في الماء بسرعة كبيرة. كما أن طاقتها المائية عالية جدًا من طاقتها الشبكية ، لذا فهي تساعد على الذوبان في الماء بسرعة وسرعة.

لماذا وكيف يذوب NaOH في الماء؟

بما أن هيدروكسيد الصوديوم هو قطبي لذا فهو قابل للذوبان في المذيبات القطبية مثل الماء. نحن نعلم أن مثل هذا المذاب يعني أن الجزيء القطبي قابل للذوبان دائمًا في مذيب قطبي. أيضا ، عندما يتأين ثم OH- يمكن للأيون تكوين رابطة H مع جزيئات الماء التي تكون أكثر ملاءمة للذوبان في الماء.

12. هل هيدروكسيد الصوديوم مركب جزيئي

المركب الجزيئي هو خليط من الذرات بنسبة ثابتة للحفاظ على التكافؤ ومثبتة مع رابطة. دعونا نرى ما إذا كان NaOH مركب جزيئي أم لا.

هيدروكسيد الصوديوم مركب جزيئي لأنه يتبع جميع معايير المركب. إن تكافؤ Na و H و O راضٍ تمامًا ويتم ربطهم بالتفاعل الأيوني والرابطة الأيونية. دائمًا ما تكون نسبة كل ذرة ثابتة لأنه إذا تم تغيير النسبة لأي ذرة فلن تصبح جزيئًا.

لماذا وكيف هو NaOH مركب جزيئي؟

كل ذرة في NaOH مرتبطة بالرابطة الأيونية أو قوة جذب فان دير وال. يتم الحفاظ دائمًا على نسبة Na و O و H وهي 1 للجزيء. هنا يتم استيفاء ثنائية التكافؤ لـ O من خلال سندات سيغما وأيضًا يتم استيفاء التكافؤ الأحادي لـ H و Na من خلال تكوين الرابطة الواحدة.

13. هل NaOH قطبي أم غير قطبي؟

إن وجود عزم ثنائي القطب الدائم وأيضًا فرق الكهربية الملحوظ يجعل الجزيء قطبيًا. دعونا نرى ما إذا كان NaOH قطبيًا أم لا في الجزء القادم.

NaOH هو جزيء قطبي لأنه يحتوي على عزم ثنائي القطب ناتج. أيضًا ، هناك وجود ذرات O الكهربية ، لذلك لوحظ أيضًا فرق الكهربية بين O وذرات Na و H الكهربية. بسبب الطبيعة الأيونية للرابطة ، هناك بعض السمات القطبية في رابطة Na-OH.

لماذا وكيف هيدروكسيد الصوديوم هو القطبية؟

في هيدروكسيد الصوديوم ، تتدفق العزم ثنائي القطب من O كهربيًا إلى ذرات Na و H الكهربية. على الرغم من أن حجم العزم ثنائي القطب متساوٍ بسبب الشكل غير المتماثل ، إلا أنه يوجد قيمة ثابتة لعزم ثنائي القطب. مرة أخرى ، تشير قابليته للذوبان في جزيئات الماء أيضًا إلى طبيعة القطبية للجزيء.

14. هل هيدروكسيد الصوديوم حمض أم قاعدة؟

في محلول مائي إطلاق OH- يُعرف أيون بالقاعدة وإطلاق H+ يُعرف باسم الحمض وفقًا لنظرية أرهينيوس. دعونا نرى ما إذا كان NaOH حمض أم قاعدة.

NaOH هو قاعدة قوية لأنه يمكن أن يطلق OH- أيون بسهولة شديدة عندما يذوب في محلول مائي. من قيمة pkb يمكننا القول أن طبيعة هذه القاعدة قوية جدًا ، يمكنها تحييد الأحماض القوية مثل H2SO4 ، HCl ، إلخ. نظرًا لتوافر OH- يمكنها قبول البروتون الحمضي بسهولة.

لماذا وكيف هو NaOH قاعدة?

عندما يتأين NaOH في المحلول المائي فإنه يمكن أن يشكل Na + و OH-. يمكن لـ OH- أن يقبل بروتونًا من الجزيء الحمضي ويمكنه تحييد تلك الأنواع الحمضية. أيضا ، هو هيدروكسيد قلوي وهو أساسي في الطبيعة بسبب وجود أيونات الفلزات القلوية. أيضًا ، قيمة الأس الهيدروجيني لـ NaOH عالية جدًا.

15. هل هيدروكسيد الصوديوم "الإلكتروليت"?

يذوب أحد الأنواع في محلول مائي ليتأين في الأيونات ويعرف حمل الكهرباء باسم المنحل بالكهرباء. دعونا نرى ما إذا كان NaOH هو إلكتروليت أم لا.

هيدروكسيد الصوديوم هو محلول إلكترولي لأنه يؤين Na+ و OH- عندما يذوب في محلول الماء ويحمل الكهرباء. نظرًا لوجود جسيم مشحون ، يمكنه توصيل الكهرباء بسهولة عن طريق المحلول والتصرف كإلكتروليت. طريقة التأين تجعل المحلول مشحونًا.

لماذا وكيف NaOH هو إلكتروليت قوي؟

بسبب التأين يتأين NaOH إلى Na+ و OH-. هذه الأيونات صغيرة الحجم وكثافة شحن أعلى وأيضًا قدرة أكبر على الحركة. لهذه الأسباب ، يصبح المحلول المؤين أكثر تكلفة. يتأين هيدروكسيد الصوديوم في المحلول المائي بطريقة أسرع مما يجعله إلكتروليتًا قويًا.

16. هل هيدروكسيد الصوديوم ملح؟

يحتوي الجزيء على كاتيون وأنيون متصل بالتفاعل الأيوني يسمى ملح ، لكن الكاتيون والأنيون لا ينبغي أن يكونا H + و OH-. الآن معرفة ما إذا كان NaOH ملح أم لا.

هيدروكسيد الصوديوم ليس ملحًا لأنه يحتوي على أنيون أساسي OH-. على الرغم من أنه يحتوي على كاتيون نا+ إنه أيون مضاد لأنيون الهيدروكسيد. يتكون الملح بسبب التفاعل بين جزيئات الحمض والقاعدة. لكن هيدروكسيد الصوديوم في حد ذاته قاعدة قوية ويتفاعل مع جزيء الحمض لتشكيل ملح.

لماذا وكيف لا يعتبر هيدروكسيد الصوديوم ملحًا؟

يحتوي هيدروكسيد الصوديوم على اثنين من الأيونات واحد هو Na+ الكاتيون والآخر هو OH- أنيون. على الرغم من أنه يحتوي على كاتيون آخر غير H+ لديها أنيون يا-. لذلك ، لا يتشكل هيدروكسيد الصوديوم من خلال التفاعل مع جزيئات الحمض والقاعدة ، على عكس الملح. يمكن لـ NaOH أيضًا تحييد جزيئات الحمض بواسطة الهيدروكسيد ويتم تشكيلها عبر التفاعل الأيوني وليس الملح.

17. هل هيدروكسيد الصوديوم أيوني أم تساهمي؟

لا يوجد جزيء أيوني نقي أو تساهمي ، كل جزيء أيوني له طابع تساهمي أو العكس - حكم فجان. دعونا نناقش ما إذا كانت NaOH تساهمية أو أيونية.

NaOH هو جزيء أيوني لأن وجود الرابطة بين Na و OH يتكون من إجمالي الإلكترون المشترك بواسطة Na. مرة أخرى ، كثافة شحنة Na+ الأيون مرتفع جدًا والحجم صغير أيضًا لذا فإن إمكاناته الأيونية عالية وأيضًا OH- هو أنيون أكبر يمكن استقطابه بسهولة بواسطة الكاتيون

لماذا وكيف هو هيدروكسيد الصوديوم أيوني؟

وفقًا لقاعدة فاجان للاستقطاب ، فإن الكاتيون هو أنيون مستقطب بسهولة شديدة. أيضًا ، الرابطة الموجودة بين أيونيين هي ذات طبيعة أيونية عالية لذا يمكننا القول أن الذرات محتفظ بها بالتفاعل الأيوني بينهما. مرة أخرى ، الطاقة الشبكية وطاقة الترطيب عالية أيضًا مثل الجزيئات الأيونية.

في الختام

هيدروكسيد الصوديوم هو هيدروكسيد فلز قلوي وقاعدة أحادية حمضية قوية. يحتوي على أيون هيدروكسيد واحد قابل للاستبدال موجود حتى يتمكن من تحييد حمض أحادي القاعدة بواسطة جزيء واحد. إنه مركب أيوني عالي وقابل للذوبان في الماء ذو ​​قطبية أعلى.

بيسواروب شاندرا داي

الكيمياء لا تتعلق فقط بالقراءة سطرًا بسطر والحفظ ، إنه مفهوم يجب فهمه بطريقة سهلة ، وهنا أشارككم مفهوم الكيمياء الذي أتعلمه لأن المعرفة تستحق مشاركتها.

آخر المقالات

رابط لهيكل وخصائص النيون: 27 حقائق سريعة

هيكل النيون وخصائصه: 27 حقائق سريعة

ينتمي النيون إلى المجموعة الثامنة عشر وينتمي إلى عائلة الغازات النبيلة. إنه غاز أحادي الذرة بدون لون أو رائحة. دعونا نتعلم المزيد عن طبيعة النيون كما هو موضح أدناه. النيون موجود كغاز في ...

NaOH Lewis Structure& Characteristics: 17 Complete Facts


NaOH is a strong inorganic base with 40 g/mol molar mass. Let us discuss more NaOH in the following article.

NaOH is an alkali metal base, so the nature of the base is very strong. It is an ionic molecule rather than a covalent because the bond formed by the molecule is the total transfer of electrons. O is sp3 hybridized here with two pairs of lone pairs. The H is attached to the O atom and increases its basicity.

As it is a strong base, it can neutralize strong acids like H2SO4 or HCl to form salt and water. In this article, we can explore more about NaOH bonding mode, structure, basicity, and other important facts in detail.

1.      How to draw the NaOH lewis structure?

Lewis structure of a covalent molecule can give a brief idea about the molecular property. In the following section, we draw the lewis structure of NaOH in a few steps.

Counting the valence electrons

First of all, the total valence electrons of NaOH should be counter which is 8. These are the total value of valence electrons of each atom present in the NaOH. O has six and Na and H have 1 electron in their valence orbital.  We just add those electrons to get the total value of valence electrons of NaOH.

Choosing the central atom

In the second step, we have identified the central atom among three atoms. The central atom should be selected based on electronegativity and size. Among Na, H, and O, O is the most electronegative and the size of the O is larger than the other two. So, O is selected as the central atom here.

Satisfying the octet

For every s block element to obey the octet, they need two electrons in their valence orbital; for p block elements, they need eight electrons. O is a p block element so it needs eight and for H and Na they need two electrons. So, to satisfy the octet total number of electrons required will be 8+2+2=12.

Satisfying the valency

To satisfy the valency of each atom we should add bonds that are coming from those remaining electrons from the octet electrons required and the total valence electrons present. So, the bond required here is ½(12-8) =2. One bond is present between O and Na and the other is between O and H to satisfy the valency.

Assign the lone pairs

After satisfying both the octet and valency we should check the presence of extra non-bonded electrons of the valence orbital of each atom. Only O has four extra nonbonded electrons present after forming two bonds. Those electrons are the non-bonded electrons for O and assign as two pairs of lone pairs.

2.      NaOH valence electrons

Valence electrons are those electrons present in the outermost orbital of each atom and are involved in bond formation. Let us discuss the valence electrons of NaOH.

The total valence electrons of NaOH are 8. This is the summation of O, Na, and H atoms’ valence electrons. These numbers are coming from their respective outermost electronic configuration. The number of valence electrons present in the valence shell is confirmed by the electronic configuration of each atom.

Let us calculate the number of total valence electrons for NaOH.

  • The number of valence electrons for O is 6
  • The number of valence electrons for Na is 1
  • The number of valence electrons for H is 1
  • So, the total number of valence electrons for the NaOH is 6+1+1+ = 8.

3.      NaOH lewis structure shape

The shape of the covalent molecule as per VSEPR theory and for an ionic compound is responsible for the lattice structure. Now explore the shape of the molecule.

The shape of the NaOH molecule is bent with two pairs of lone pairs. This geometry is deviated from the actual geometry of tetra coordinate molecule according to the VSEPR (Valence Shell Electrons Pairs Repulsion) theory. Here two pairs of lone pairs are thought of as two atoms along with two other bond pairs.

The geometry of the molecule although tetrahedral but shape is bent like a water molecule. The lone pairs of the molecule are responsible for the bent shape. Due to lone pairs – bond pair repulsion the shape is changed to bent just like a water molecule.

4.      NaOH lewis structure lone pairs

Non-bonded electrons are present in the valence shell of each respective atom and not involved in the bond pairs. Let us discuss more lone pairs of NaOH.

Only O contains the lone pairs in the NaOH molecule. Because it has six electrons in its outermost orbital as a group 16th element, after forming two bond pairs, it has four non-bonded electrons which exist as lone pairs. Na and H both are group IA elements so they have only one electron and lack lone pairs.

  • Let us calculate the lone pairs of each atom in NaOH by the formula, Lone pairs = valence electrons – bonded electron.
  • The lone pairs present over the Na is, 1-1 =0
  • The lone pairs present over the H is, 1-1 = 0
  • The lone pairs present over the O are, 6-2 = 4
  • So, O has 4 non-bonded electrons, meaning it has two pairs of lone pairs.

5.      NaOH lewis structure angle

Lewis structure or bond angle is the particular angle which makes by the atoms in a molecule by their absolute arrangement.  Let us find the bond angle of NaOH.

The bond angle value for NaOH is near about 1040. The value is less than a tetrahedral angle value, but due to lone pairs repulsion, the shape is changed as well as the bond angle too. This angle is quite similar to a water molecule as a water molecule has a bent shape due to lone pairs repulsion.

To minimize the lone pairs – bond pairs repulsion NaOH decreases its bond angle from 109.50 which is the true value for the tetrahedral molecule. Due to lone pairs repulsion, the shape is changed for the molecule, and for this reason, the bond angle is changed to 1040.

6.      NaOH lewis structure octet rule

Every atom in a particular molecule tries to complete its octet by fulfilling the valence orbitals. Let us understand the octet of NaOH in the following section.

To complete the octet O formed two single bonds with H and Na atoms respectively. In this way, it has shared four electrons and already it has four electrons in its outermost orbital. Again, Na and H both share one single bond to complete their octet. The needs of electrons are only two here.

Eight electrons are accumulated by the p block element as per octet. The electronic configuration of p block element O is [He]2s22p4. There are a maximum of six electrons that can be lied in the p orbital, so only two electrons are required. For s block elements like Na and H, they need only one electron.

7.      NaOH lewis structure formal charge

The amount of charge present over which atom can be predicted with the help of the formal charge concept. Let us calculate the formal charge of NaOH.

The value of the formal charge of NaOH is zero. Because it is a neutral molecule and all the charge and valency of the molecule are fully satisfied. The electronegative di-valency of O is satisfied by the two electropositive monovalent Na and H atoms. So, there is not possible to present any kind of charge.

  • We have to assume the same electronegativity for all the atoms. Now calculate the formal charge of each atom separately by the formula F.C. = Nv – Nl.p. -1/2 Nb.p.
  • The formal charge over the O atom is,6-4-(4/2)=0
  • The formal charge over the Na atom is,1-0-(2/2)=0
  • The formal charge over the H atom is,1-0-(2/2)=0

8.      NaOH lewis structure resonance

Resonance is the hypothetical concept by which electron clouds are delocalized among different skeleton forms of the molecule. Let us understand the resonance of NaOH.

There is no resonance observed in the NaOH molecule. Because there is the absence of enough electron clouds which can be delocalized in between the molecules. So, there is no skeleton form observed. O has lone pairs being an electronegative atom it could not donate electron density to other atoms.

The electron density flows from the Na and H to the electronegative O atom. In another word, O pulls the electron density from the electropositive Na and H atoms by the sigma bonds. So, only the sigma electron density is being dragged away from the electropositive atoms to the O site only.

9.      NaOH hybridization

By mixing the atomic orbitals of different energy to get a hybrid orbital of equivalent energy is called hybridization. Now discuss the hybridization of NaOH in detail.

From the below table of hybridization, it is predicted that NaOH is sp3 hybridized.

Structure  Hybridization valueHybridization state    Bond angle
1.Linear   2sp /sd / pd   1800
2.Planner trigonal  3sp2      1200
3.Tetrahedral  4sd3/ sp3   109.50
4.Trigonal bipyramidal5sp3d/dsp3       900 (axial), 1200(equatorial)
5.Octahedral 6sp3d2/ d2sp3     900
6.Pentagonal bipyramidal7sp3d3/d3sp3    900,720
Hybridization table

The hybridization of the central O in the NaOH is calculated by the following formula, H = 0.5(V+M-C+A), where H= hybridization value, V is the number of valence electrons in the central atom, and M = monovalent atoms surrounded. From the above formula, the hybridization value of central O is sp3 in NaOH.

10. Is NaOH a solid?

When a molecule is held by a strong attraction force like Van der Waal’s force or dipole-dipole force then it is called solid. Let’s see whether NaOH is solid or not.

NaOH is a solid molecule because it is held by strong Van Der Waal’s force of attraction. Besides this, it is also held by London dispersion force and due to its ionic nature, there is also observed ionic interaction between Na+ and OH- which is strong enough. It has a higher melting point, so NaOH is solid.

Why and how NaOH is solid?

The stronger lattice energy of NaOH makes the molecule solid at room temperature. The molecule has a higher boiling point because due to the higher van der Waal’s force of attraction so, it required more energy to break the bond. So, NaOH has a higher boiling point which indicates its solid nature.

11. Is NaOH soluble in water?

Any polar or ionic molecule is soluble in water by ionization via H-bonding with the water molecule. Let’s see whether NaOH is soluble in water or not in the next part.

NaOH is soluble in water due to its polarity and ionic nature. It can easily be ionized in Na+ and OH and gets soluble in water. Those small-sized ions are gets dissolved in water very quickly. Also, its hydration energy is very high than its lattice energy so it helps to quickly and fast soluble in water.

Why and how NaOH is soluble in water?

As NaOH is polar so it has a solubility in polar solvents like water. We know like dissolved like that means polar molecule always soluble in a polar solvent. Also, when it is ionized then OH ion can form H-bond with water molecules which are more favorable for solubility in water.

12. Is NaOH a molecular compound

A molecular compound is a mixture of atoms with a fixed ratio to maintain valency and held together with a bond. Let’s see whether NaOH is a molecular compound or not.

NaOH is a molecular compound because it follows all the criteria of a compound. The valency of Na, H, and O are fully satisfied and they are bonded with an ionic interaction and ionic bond. The ratio of each atom is always fixed because if the ratio is changed for any atom then it will no longer be a molecule.

Why and how NaOH is a molecular compound?

Each atom in the NaOH is attached by the ionic bond or van der Waal’s attraction force. The ratio of Na, O, and H is always maintained which is 1 for the molecule. Here bi valency of O is satisfied by the two sigma bonds and also mono valency for H and Na is also satisfied by the one bond formation.

13. Is NaOH polar or nonpolar?

The presence of permanent dipole-moment and also observed electronegativity difference makes a molecule polar. Let us see whether NaOH is polar or not in the coming part.

NaOH is a polar molecule because it has a resultant dipole moment. Also, there is the presence of electronegative O atoms, so the electronegativity difference between O and electropositive Na and H atoms is also observed. Due to the ionic nature of the bond, there is some polar character in the Na-OH bond.

Why and how NaOH is polar?

In NaOH the dipole-moment flows from electronegative O to electropositive Na and H atoms. Although the magnitude of the dipole moment is equal due to asymmetric shape there is present a permanent dipole-moment value. Again, its solubility in water molecules also indicates the polarity nature of the molecule.

14. Is NaOH an acid or base?

In the aqueous solution releasing of OH ion is known as base and releasing of H+ is known as acid according to Arrhenius’s theory. Let’s see whether NaOH is acid or base.

NaOH is a strong base because it can release OH- ion very easily when it gets dissolved in the aqueous solution. From the value of pkb we can say that the nature of this base is very strong, it can neutralize strong acids like H2SO4, HCl, etc. Due to availability of OH- it can accept acidic proton easily.

Why and how NaOH is a base?

When NaOH is ionized in the aqueous solution then it can form Na+ and OH-. The OH- can accept a proton from the acidic molecule and can neutralize that acidic species. Also, it is an alkaline hydroxide which is basic in nature due to the presence of alkali metal ions. Also, pH value of NaOH is very high.

15. Is NaOH an electrolyte?

A species gets dissolved in an aqueous solution to ionize in the ions and carry electricity is known as an electrolyte. Let’s see whether NaOH is an electrolyte or not.

NaOH is electrolye because it ionized Na+ and OH when it gets dissolved in the water solution and carries electricity. Due to the presence of a charged particle, it can easily conduct electricity by the solution and behave as an electrolyte. The method of ionization makes the solution charged.

Why and how NaOH is a strong electrolyte?

Due to ionization NaOH is ionized to Na+ and OH. Those ions have small in size and higher charge density and also higher mobility. Due to those reasons, the ionized solution becomes more chargeable. NaOH is ionized in the aqueous solution in a very faster way which makes it a strong electrolyte.

16. Is NaOH a salt?

A molecule has a cation and an anion attached by ionic interaction is called salt, but cation and anion is should not be H+ and OH-. Now see if NaOH is salt or not.

NaOH is not salt because it has the basic anion OH. Although it has a cation Na+ it is the counter ion of the hydroxide anion. Salt is formed due to the reaction between acid and base molecules. But NaOH itself is a strong base and reacts with the acid molecule to form a salt.

Why and how NaOH is not a salt?

NaOH has two ions one is Na+ cation and the other is OH anion. Although it has a cation other than H+ it has anion OH. So, NaOH is not formed by the reaction with acid and base molecules, unlike salt. NaOH can also neutralize acid molecules by hydroxide and it is formed via ionic interaction but not salt.

17. Is NaOH ionic or covalent?

No molecule is pure ionic or covalent, every ionic molecule has a covalent character or vice versa – Fajan’s rule. Let’s discuss whether NaOH is covalent or ionic.

NaOH is an ionic molecule because the bond presence between Na and OH is formed by the total electron shared by Na. again, the charge density of the Na+ ion is very high and the size is also small so its ionic potential is high and also OH is a larger anion that can easily be polarized by the cation

Why and how NaOH is ionic?

According to Fajan’s rule of polarizability, the cation is polarized anion very easily. Also, the bond present between two ions is highly ionic in nature so we can say that the atoms are held by the ionic interaction between them. Again, its lattice energy and hydration energy are also high like ionic molecules.

Conclusion

NaOH is an alkali metal hydroxide and a strong monoacidic base. It has one replaceable hydroxide ion is present so it can neutralize monobasic acid by one molecule. It is a high ionic compound and soluble in water having a higher polarity.

Biswarup Chandra Dey

Hi......I am Biswarup Chandra Dey, I have completed my Master's in Chemistry. My area of specialization is Inorganic Chemistry. Chemistry is not all about reading line by line and memorizing, it is a concept to understand in an easy way and here I am sharing with you the concept about chemistry which I learn because knowledge is worth to share it.

Recent Posts