Introduction à MOSFET | C'est le principe de fonctionnement et les effets de canal importants

Sujet de discussion: les bases du MOSFET

  • Qu'est-ce que MOSFET?
  • Principes de base du MOSFET
  • Types de MOSFET
  • Principe de fonctionnement du MOSFET
  • Application du MOSFET
  • Différents effets de canal dans les bases du MOSFET

Qu'est-ce que MOSFET?

Définition de MOSFET:

"au jugement, Effet de champ métal-oxyde-semi-conducteur-transistor (MOSFET), est une forme de transistor à effet de champ à grille isolée qui est constitué par le semi-conducteurs contrôlables à base de silicium oxydé ».

Différents types de MOS:

  • · MOSFET canal P
  • · MOSFET canal N

Différents types d'appareils MOSFET:

  • · MOSFET en mode d'amélioration
  • · MOSFET en mode d'épuisement

Symbole MOSFET

Principes de base du MOSFET: symbole MOSFET

Principe de fonctionnement du MOSFET:

Principes de base du MOSFET

Un FET fonctionne comme un canal semi-conducteur conducteur avec 2 contacts - la «SOURCE» et le DRAIN. La jonction GATE peut être comprise comme un circuit à 2 bornes comme une structure MOS fonctionnant comme un mode de polarisation inverse de redressement. En général, l'impédance GATE est plus élevée dans les situations de travail classiques.

Les FET selon ces normes sont généralement MOSFET, JFET, FET métal-semi-conducteur (MESFET) et FET à hétérostructure. Parmi ces FET, le MOSFET est l'un des plus importants et couramment utilisé pour diverses applications.

Dans un MOSFET à base de silicium, la borne GATE est normalement isolée par une couche de SiO2 spécifique. Les porteurs de charge du canal conducteur développent une charge opposée, e- dans ce cas, un substrat de type p pour un canal n et des «trous» pour un substrat de type n pour le canal p. Ceci sera induit dans le semi-conducteur au bord du silicium-isolant par le volt appliqué dans la borne GATE. L'e- entrera et sortira du canal à n + bornes de source et de drain coactifs pour un transistor à effet de champ à oxyde de métal-semi-conducteur à canal n. Ce seront des contacts p + pendant le transistor à effet de champ à oxyde métallique-semi-conducteur de type p.

Les bases du MOSFET: une puce MOSFET typique avec dissipateur de chaleur
Crédit image: WilltronTransistor et disipadorCC BY-SA 3.0

Couche MOSFET

Principes de base du MOSFET: couches MOSFET dans Structure métal – oxyde – semi-conducteur sur silicium de type p Crédit d'image:MOS_Condensateur.pngBrasse bien travail dérivé: Fred l'huître (parler), Condensateur MOSCC BY-SA 3.0

Implémentation de MOSFET:

Les transistors à effet de champ à oxyde de métal semi-conducteur fonctionnent comme un circuit discrétisé et également comme un élément actif. À l'heure actuelle, ces circuits sont réduits dans la gamme des sous-micromètres profonds. À l'heure actuelle, le nœud de technologie standard CMOS standard de 0.13 micromètre est utilisé pour la technologie VLSI et, à l'avenir, la technologie de 0.1 micromètre sera existante, avec une certaine amélioration de la vitesse et de la plage d'intégration.

La technologie CMOS s'associe aux transistors à effet de champ à canal n et à canal p à oxyde de métal semi-conducteur pour consommer très moins d'énergie sans limiter la vitesse d'exécution. La nouvelle technologie SOI permet une intégration en trois dimensions avec plusieurs couches, avec une augmentation électrisante de la stupidité d'intégration. Des structures nouvelles et enrichies et la combinaison de la technologie Bi-CMOS conduiront probablement à d'autres améliorations. L'un des domaines émergents du CMOS concerne une variabilité d'applications allant du périphérique audio de la gamme kHz aux applications sans fil modernes exploitées à la gamme GHz.

Bases du MOSFET: Régions MOSFET, Crédit d'image - Cyril BUTTAY, Mosfet latéralCC BY-SA 3.0

Effet de canal court dans MOSFET:

Les tailles FET sont généralement évaluées par le rapport hauteur / largeur de l'appareil. C'est le rapport de la longueur de grille par rapport à la mesure verticale active du FET. La dimension perpendiculaire de la largeur de l'oxyde est mesurée comme paramètre di, les profondeurs de jonction source et drain sont considérées comme paramètre rj. Les profondeurs d'épuisement des jonctions source et drain sont définies par le paramètre Ws et Wd respectivement. Le faible rapport hauteur / largeur est identique aux caractéristiques des canaux courts.

                 L <Lmin(µm) = 0.4 [rj(µMarylandi(Å) (Wd + Ws)2(µm2)]1/3

Lorsque L est inférieur à Lmin,.

La tension de seuil du transistor à effet de champ à effet de champ à oxyde de métal semi-conducteur est considérée comme VT . Cette tension sera affectée de plusieurs façons en raison de la commande de grille. En général, les charges d'épuisement à proximité de la source et du drain sont sous le contrôle commun. La charge développera une partie modérément plus élevée du porteur de charge GATE. La charge d'appauvrissement près du drain se gonfle avec l'augmentation de la tension de polarisation drain-source, provoquant une VDS-déplacement dépendant de la tension de seuil .

Le VT est une sorte de barrière combinée à un porteur injecté de la source au canal. Cette barrière est considérablement ajustée par l'utilisation d'une tension de polarisation de drain. Dans les transistors à effet de champ à canal n, le drain fait chuter la tension de seuil et une augmentation simultanée du courant de seuil avec la croissance VDS.

Effet de champ élevé du MOSFET:

En cas de polarisation drain-source d'un transistor à effet de champ, croître vers la tension de saturation du drain qui est appelée 'VSAT«partout où une plage de champ électrique plus élevé est créée à proximité d'un drain. La vitesse de e- dans cette région sature. Dans la région de saturation, la longueur considérée comme ∆L du champ haut augmente au cours de la source avec la croissance de VDS, et le fonctionne comme si la longueur du canal d'effet était diminuée du paramètre ∆L. Ce phénomène est appelé la modulation de longueur de canal ou simplement appelé CLM dans les bases du MOSFET. Les liens de manifestation simplifiés ultérieurs de VDS à la longueur de la région saturée est la suivante:

                                             VDS = VP + Vα [exp (Δl / l) -1]]

partout où Vp, Vαainsi que l sont des paramètres liés à la vitesse de saturation électronique. Ici, Vp est le potentiel au point de saturation dans le canal, qui est généralement estimé par le paramètre VSAT. Cet accord est obtenu entre le résumé potentiel qui est acquis à partir du modèle de simulation 2D d'un MOSFET à canal N.

Effets du porteur chaud:

L'effet de porteuse chaude est l'une des préoccupations les plus importantes lors de la réduction de la taille du FET dans le sous-micromètre profond.Il diminue la longueur du canal tout en maintenant des niveaux d'alimentation élevés. Ceux-ci sont augmentés aux intensités de champ électrique et aux raisons d'accélérer et de chauffer les porteurs chargés. Un modèle complet du courant du substrat est très difficile pour la modélisation au niveau du circuit.

Dépendance de la température et auto-échauffement:

Les circuits de base du MOSFET sont fonctionnels dans différents environnements, y compris différentes plages de températures. La chaleur créée par la dissipation de puissance dans un circuit est également importante et l'augmentation de la température pour la conception du circuit doit également être prise en compte. La conception s'avère de plus en plus difficile car la taille de l'appareil devient très petite et la dissipation de puissance augmente avec différents modes de fonctionnement. Les caractéristiques thermiques sont largement étudiées par différents modèles.

Pour en savoir plus sur les bases du MOSFET et d'autres articles liés à l'électronique  cliquer ici

À propos de Soumali Bhattacharya

Je suis actuellement investi dans le domaine de l'électronique et de la communication.
Mes articles se concentrent sur les principaux domaines de l'électronique de base dans une approche très simple mais informative.
Je suis un apprenant vif et j'essaie de me tenir au courant de toutes les dernières technologies dans le domaine de l'électronique.

Connectons-nous via LinkedIn -
https://www.linkedin.com/in/soumali-bhattacharya-34833a18b/

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaîtra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Geeks Lambda

Introduction to MOSFET | It’s Working Principle and important Channel Effects

Topic of Discussion: MOSFET basics

  • What is MOSFET ?
  • MOSFET Basics
  • Types of MOSFET
  • Working principle of MOSFET
  • Application of MOSFET
  • Different channel effects in MOSFET basics

What is MOSFET?

Definition of MOSFET:

The Metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect-transistor (MOSFET), is a form of insulated gate field effect transistor that is made-up by the controllable oxidised silicon based semiconductors”.

Different types of MOS:

  • ·        P Channel MOSFET
  • ·        N Channel MOSFET

Different types of MOSFET devices:

  • ·        Enhancement Mode MOSFET
  • ·        Depletion Mode MOSFET

MOSFET Symbol

MOSFET basics : MOSFET Symbol

Working Principle of MOSFET:

MOSFET Basics

A FET is worked as a conductive  semiconductor channel with 2 contacts – the ‘SOURCE ‘ and the DRAIN. The GATE juntion might be comprehended as a  2 -terminal circuitry as a MOS structure working as a rectifing reverse biasing mode. Usually, the GATE  impedance is higher in classic working situations.

The FETs as per these standards are typically MOSFET, JFET,  metal-semiconductor FET (MESFET), and heterostructure FET. Out of these FET, MOSFET is one of the significant one and commonly utilized for various applications.

In a silicon  based MOSFET, the GATE terminal is normally insulated by a specific SiO2 layer. The charge carriers of the conductive channel develop an opposite charge,  e-  in that case, p-type substrate for an n-channel and ‘holes’ for n-type substrate  for the p-channel. This will induced in the semiconductor at the silicon-insulator edge by the applied volt in GATE terminal. The e- will enter and depart the channel at n+ source and drain terminals cotacts for an n-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect-transistor.  This will be  p+ contacts during the  p-type Metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect-transistor.

MOSFET basics : A typical MOSFET chip with heat sink
Image credit: WilltronTransistor y disipadorCC BY-SA 3.0

MOSFET layer

MOSFET basics : MOSFET layers in Metal–oxide–semiconductor structure on p-type silicon Image Credit :MOS_Capacitor.pngBrews ohare derivative work: Fred the Oyster (talk), MOS CapacitorCC BY-SA 3.0

Implementation of MOSFET:

Metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect-transistors are working as discretized circuit and also as an active element. At the present time, these circuits are scaled down into the deep sub micro meter range. At the moment, the standard 0.13-µicro meter standard technology node CMOS is utilized for VLSI technology and, in future 0.1-µicro meter technology will be existing, with a certain upgradation of speed and integration range.

CMOS technology associates with the n-channel and p-channel Metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect-transistor to consume very less power without constraining the performing speed. New SOI technology accomplish three dimentional integration with multiple layers, with a electrifying increase in integration stupidity. Novel and enriched structures and the combination of Bi-CMOS technology possibly will lead to further enhancements. One of the emerging areas of CMOS is across a variability of applications from audio device of  kHz range to modern wireless application operated at GHz range.

MOSFET basics : MOSFET Regions, Image Credit – Cyril BUTTAY, Lateral mosfetCC BY-SA 3.0

Short channel Effect in MOSFET:

Usually FET sizes are assessed by the device aspect ratio. This is the ratio of the gate length in respect of active vertical measurement of FET. The perpendicular dimension for the oxide breadth is measured as parameter di, the source and drain junction depths is considered as parameter rj.  The source and drain junction depletion depths are diefined by the parameter Ws and Wd respectively. The low aspect ratio is identical with short channel characteristics.

                 L<Lmin(µm) = 0.4[rj(µm)di(Å)(Wd + Ws)2(µm2)]1/3

When L is less than Lmin,.

The Metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect-transistor threshold voltage is consederd as VT . This voltage will be impacted in a number of ways as a result of gate control. Generally, depletion charges near-source and drain are under the common control. The charge will develop a moderately higher portion of the GATE charge carrier. The depletion charge near drain inflates with increasing drain-source biasing voltage, causing in an additional VDS-dependent shift in threshold voltage .

The VT is a sort of barrier combined with carrier injected from the source to channel direction. This barrier is considerably adjusted by use of a drain biasing voltage. In n-channel Field effect transistors, the drain is dropping the threshold voltage and a concurrent rise in the threshold current with growing VDS.

High Field Effect of MOSFET:

In case of drain-source biasing of a Field effect transistor grow towards the drain saturation voltage which termed as ‘VSAT’ wherever a range of higher electric field  is created near by  drain. The  velocity of e-  in that region will saturates. In saturation region, the length considered as ∆L of the high-field  increases in the course of the source with growing VDS, and the performs as if the in effect channel length is decreased  by the parameter ∆L. This phenomenon is entitled as the Channel-length modulation  or  simply termed as CLM in the MOSFET basics. The subsequent simplified manifestation links of VDS to the length of the saturated region is as follows:

                                             VDS = VP + Vα [exp(l/l)-1]]

wherever Vp, Vα, and l are parameters interrelated to the e- saturation velocity. Here, Vp is the potential at the point of saturation in the channel, that is commonly estimated by the parameter VSAT.  Ths agreement is obtained amongst the potential summary which is acquired from the 2D simulation model of an N-channel MOSFET.

Hot Carrier Effects:

Hot-carrier effect is one of  the most important concerns when shrinking FET size into the deep sub micrometre.It decreases the channel length while maintaining high power supply levels. These are increased  to electric field strengths and reasons  of speed up and heating the charged carriers. A comprehensive model for the substrate current is very difficult for circuit-level modelling.

Temperature Dependence and Self-Heating:

The MOSFET basics circuitry is functional in different environs, including different temperatures ranges. Heat created from power dissipation in a circuitry is also significant and the increase in temperature for circuit design is also needed to be considered. The design turns out to be more and more difficult as the device size is becoming very small and power dissipation are increasing with different mode of operation. The thermal characteristics are extensively studied by various models.

For more about MOSFET basics and others electronics related article  click here

About Soumali Bhattacharya

I am currently invested in the field of Electronics and communication.
My articles are focused towards the major areas of core electronics in a very simple yet informative approach.
I am a vivid learner and try to keep myself updated with all latest technologies in the field of Electronics domains.

Let's connect through LinkedIn -
https://www.linkedin.com/in/soumali-bhattacharya-34833a18b/

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *