الليزر: 7 حقائق مهمة يجب أن تعرفها


المحتويات

ما هو الليزر؟

LASER تعني "تضخيم الضوء عن طريق تحفيز انبعاث الإشعاع"، هي أداة ينبعث فيها الضوء من خلال عملية التضخيم البصري من خلال الانبعاث المحفز للإشعاع الكهرومغناطيسي. تم اختراع وتصميم أول ليزر بواسطة ثيودور ميمان في عام 1960 ، وقد تأثر تصميم هذه الأداة بالأعمال النظرية لتشارلز هارد تاونز وآرثر ليونارد شاويلو والضوء المنبعث من الليزر متماسك في الطبيعة أي المرحلة- الاختلاف ثابت أيضًا. يستخدم هذا الجهاز في مجموعة متنوعة من التطبيقات في مجال الطب ، والبحوث ، والتصنيع ، والجيش ، وما إلى ذلك.

الليزر
مصدر الصورة: 彭家杰وحدة الليزرCC BY-SA 3.0

ما هو تحفيز الانبعاث?

الإلكترون الحالي الذي يشغل حالة طاقة منخفضة يمتص بعض الطاقة الخارجية الموجودة في شكل ضوء (فوتونات) أو حرارة (فونونات) من أجل احتلال حالة طاقة أعلى وهذا الانتقال الإلكتروني من حالة إلى أخرى يكون ممكنًا فقط عندما تكون الطاقات للفوتون أو الفونون يساوي فرق الطاقة بين هاتين الحالتين. لذلك ، فإن هذه الإلكترونات أو الذرات قادرة على امتصاص تردد معين من الضوء فقط للانتقال.

لا تستطيع الإلكترونات البقاء في حالة الإثارة الأعلى إلى الأبد. إنهم يميلون إلى العودة إلى حالتهم الأساسية. تتأثر هذه الإلكترونات أحيانًا خارجيًا لتهبط من حالة الإثارة الأعلى إلى حالة الإثارة الأقل أو الحالة الأرضية. الفوتون المنبعث بعد الانتقال العالي والمنخفض يطابق الفوتون المزود خارجيًا من حيث الاتجاه والطور والطول الموجي. يشار إلى عملية إطلاق الفوتونات هذه على أنها انبعاث محفز وهذا يشكل أساس العمل بالليزر.

بالنسبة للانبعاثات المحفزة ، فإن المطلب الأول هو إثارة الإلكترونات أو الذرات بمساعدة وسيط كسب ، لأنه في الوسط الطبيعي ، يكون عدد الذرات في حالة الطاقة المنخفضة أكبر مما هو عليه في حالات الطاقة الأعلى عند توازن حراري وبالتالي ، فإن معدل الامتصاص يتجاوز معدل الانبعاث المحفّز في الوسط الطبيعي.

مظاهرة الانبعاث المستحث ، مصدر الصورة: V1adis1av مساهمات), الانبعاث المستحثCC BY-SA 4.0

ما هو المازر؟

MASER أو "تضخيم الميكروويف عن طريق الانبعاث المحفز للإشعاع"، هو جهاز يتم فيه توليد انبعاث كهرومغناطيسي متماسك للميكروويف عن طريق التضخيم من خلال وضع الانبعاث المستحث. اخترع مازر في جامعة كولومبيا عام 1953 على يد العالم جيمس ب. جوردون ، وتشارلز إتش. تاونز ، وهربرت ج. تستخدم الماسكات تطبيقاتها في أجهزة مثل الساعات الذرية والتلسكوبات الراديوية. يمكن أن تنتج الماسكات أيضًا إشعاعات كهرومغناطيسية تنتمي إلى نطاق الراديو والأشعة تحت الحمراء.

تفريغ تردد الراديو للهيدروجين في مازر الهيدروجين. مصدر الصورة: مجاملة وكالة ناسا/JPL-معهد كاليفورنيا للتكنولوجيا
مازر الهيدروجين

ما هو الفرق بين الليزر ومازر؟

الليزر مقابل مازر

الليزرماستر
ينتج هذا الجهاز انبعاثًا كهرومغناطيسيًا متماسكًا عبر نطاق تردد واسع (بشكل أساسي التردد المرئي والأشعة فوق البنفسجية والأشعة تحت الحمراء).ينتج مازر انبعاثًا كهرومغناطيسيًا متماسكًا له تردد في نطاق تردد الموجات الدقيقة والراديو.
تستخدم هذه الأداة في مجموعة متنوعة من التطبيقات في مجال الطب ، والبحوث ، والتصنيع ، والجيش ، إلخ.تستخدم هذه الأداة بشكل أساسي في اتصالات الميكروويف وفي العديد من الأدوات الفلكية.
تعمل هذه الأداة بشكل شائع عن طريق ذرات مثيرة من الهيليوم والنيون وثاني أكسيد الكربون ، إلخ.تعمل هذه الأداة بشكل شائع عن طريق ذرات مثيرة من الأمونيا والهيدروجين وما إلى ذلك.

ما هي وسيلة تضخيم؟

في الليزر ، يعد وسط التضخيم أو وسيط الكسب البصري مادة تعمل على تضخيم قوة حزمة الضوء المتولدة. يعوض وسيط الكسب فقدان الطاقة بسبب الرنان. يقوم وسيط الكسب بتضخيم الضوء عن طريق امتصاص الطاقة من خلال عملية الضخ الكهربائي (أو في بعض الأحيان الضخ البصري). يمكن أن يكون وسيط الكسب من عدة أنواع مثل Nd: YAG (عقيق الألومنيوم الإيتريوم المشبع بالنيوديميوم ليزر YAG) متوسط ​​، Yb: YAG (YAG-doped YAG) ، زرنيخيد الغاليوم ، نيتريد الغاليوم ، أو وسط أشباه موصلات زرنيخيد الغاليوم الإنديوم ، وسيط كسب السيراميك ، وسيط الألياف الضوئية ، إلخ.

كيف يعمل الليزر؟

بشكل عام ، تحتوي هذه الأدوات على وسيط كسب أو تضخيم ، وآلية ضخ ، ونظام لتوفير التغذية الراجعة البصرية. يعمل الليزر على مبدأ الامتصاص الكهروضوئي والانبعاثات المحفزة. تحتوي هذه الأدوات على وسيط كسب يمكن أن يكون مادة صلبة أو سائلة أو غازية. يستقبل هذا الوسيط الطاقة الخارجية ويوجهها نحو الذرات أو الإلكترونات لإثارة حالاتها الطاقية الأعلى ويمكن تعديل هذه المادة من حيث الشكل والحجم والتركيز والنقاء.

يشير انعكاس السكان إلى الحالة التي لا يتجاوز فيها عدد الجسيمات الموجودة في حالة الإثارة الأعلى عدد الجسيمات الموجودة في حالة الإثارة المنخفضة. في هذه الحالة ، سوف تتجاوز معدلات انبعاث الفوتون المحفز معدل الطاقة التي يمتصها الإلكترون. لذلك ، يتم تضخيم شعاع الضوء المنبعث على شكل فوتونات.

يوجد تجويف بصري داخل الجهاز. إنه في الأساس زوج من المرايا (تسمى أيضًا مقرنات الإخراج) موجودان في كل جانب من وسط الكسب لجعل شعاع الضوء يرتد ذهابًا وإيابًا عبر الوسط الذي يتم تضخيمه في كل مرة تضرب المرآة ، وإحدى المرآتين جزئيًا شفافة تسمح بمرور بعض الضوء من خلاله وإذا كانت المرايا الموجودة منحنية فإن الضوء يخرج على شكل شعاع ضيق وإذا كانت المرايا مسطحة فإن شعاع الضوء ينتشر.

أوصاف المكونات. : 1. Gainmedium. 2. طاقة الضخ. 3. العاكس العالي. 4. O / P المقرنة. 5. شعاع الضوء.
مصدر الصورة. المستخدم: TatouteالليزرCC BY-SA 3.0

ما هما وضعي تشغيل الليزر؟

يمكن أن يتولد شعاع ضوئي متماسك إما في الوضع النبضي أو في الوضع المستمر.

تشغيل الوضع النبضي لليزر:

في الوضع النبضي ، تتبع الطاقة الضوئية نمط النبضة ولها معدل تكرار يعتمد على مدة زمنية معينة. يستخدم الوضع النبضي لتوليد نبضات عالية الطاقة عن طريق خفض معدل النبضات. غالبًا ما تستخدم عملية الاجتثاث والحفر التي تتطلب مخرجات طاقة عالية الوضع النبضي عند ذروة قوة النبض. تستخدم العمليات التي تتطلب تطبيق التأثيرات الضوئية غير الخطية الوضع النبضي الذي يعتمد على أقصى طاقة أو طاقة نبضية. في بعض الأحيان لا يمكن تحقيق التضخيم في الوضع المستمر ، لذلك يتم استخدام الوضع النبضي.

تشغيل الوضع المستمر لليزر:

في الوضع المستمر ، تظل طاقة الخرج ثابتة بمرور الوقت. في هذا الأسلوب ، يكون تغير التردد ضئيلاً ولا يؤثر على تطبيق الليزر. يتطلب هذا الوضع مصدر مضخة ثابتًا بحيث يمكن تحقيق انعكاس السكان لوسط التضخيم. قد يؤدي ضخ الليزر بمستويات طاقة عالية باستمرار إلى إتلاف الليزر بسبب التسخين المفرط. لهذا السبب ، يكون للوضع المستمر مستوى خرج قدرة محدود. يستخدم هذا الوضع للأغراض التجريبية والطبية بشكل أساسي.

ما هي تطبيقات الليزر؟

تطبيقات الليزر

التطبيقات العسكرية لليزر

تُستخدم عدة أنواع من الليزر مثل ليزر ثاني أكسيد الكربون الذي يعمل وينبعث منه ضوء الأشعة تحت الحمراء في العديد من التطبيقات العسكرية. الغلاف الجوي للأرض أكثر شفافية نسبيًا لأشعة الأشعة تحت الحمراء. لهذا السبب ، أثبتت هذه الليزرات فعاليتها في تحديد المدى العسكري باستخدام طرق مثل LIDAR (اكتشاف الضوء وتحديد المدى). يوفر شعاع الليزر معلومات حول مسافات المراقب والموقع المستهدف.

التطبيقات الطبية لليزر

الأشعة تحت الحمراء ، الليزر الإكسيمري المستخدم في المجال الطبي.

التطبيقات الصناعية (القطع واللحام) لليزر

يوفر الليزر حزمًا عالية الطاقة يمكن أن تكون فعالة للعديد من التطبيقات الصناعية مثل عملية اللحام ، وعملية الحفر ، وعملية الثقب والحفر ، وإعداد الكسوة ، والقطع بالليزر للمعادن الصلبة أو عملية قطع الزجاج وما إلى ذلك. في الوقت الحاضر ، تُستخدم هذه الأدوات أيضًا في تنظيف الأسطح الذي يتضمن إزالة الشوائب والملوثات من سطح المادة. CO2 تستخدم للنقش على المواد وتستخدم هذه الأجهزة أيضًا في عمليات التصنيع الانتقائية لـ SLS أو التلبيد الانتقائي بالليزر.

تطبيقات البحث الليزر

يتضمن إجراء SILEX (فصل النظائر عن طريق الإثارة بالليزر) المستخدم لتخصيب اليورانيوم أيضًا ليزر الأشعة تحت الحمراء ، كما تتضمن العديد من التطبيقات المهمة الأخرى مثل تصنيع أجهزة ميكروفلويديك أيضًا استخدام هذه الأدوات لأن البولي البلاستيك الشائع (ميثيل ميثاكريلات) مادة ماصة جيدة من موجات الأشعة تحت الحمراء.

لمعرفة المزيد عن الليزر زيارة هنا

سانشاري تشاكرابورتي

أنا متعلم شغوف ، مستثمر حاليًا في مجال البصريات التطبيقية والضوئيات. أنا أيضًا عضو نشط في SPIE (الجمعية الدولية للبصريات والضوئيات) و OSI (الجمعية البصرية في الهند). تهدف مقالاتي إلى تسليط الضوء على موضوعات البحث العلمي عالية الجودة بطريقة بسيطة ولكنها غنية بالمعلومات. العلم يتطور منذ زمن سحيق. لذا ، أحاول أن أستفيد من التطور وأقدمه للقراء. دعنا نتواصل من خلال https://www.linkedin.com/in/sanchari-chakraborty-7b33b416a/

آخر المقالات

LASER | Definition | Its Working | 4 Important Applications

LASER | Definition | Its Working | 4 Important Applications

L.A.S.E.R

Contents

What is a laser?

LASER stands for “light amplification by stimulated emission of radiation“, is an instrument in which light is emitted by the process of optical amplification thru stimulated emission of electro magnetic radiation. The first laser has been invented and designed by Theodore Maiman in the year 1960, The design of this instrument was influenced by the theoretical works of  Charles Hard Townes and Arthur Leonard Schawlow and The light emitted by a laser is coherent in nature i.e. the phase-difference is also constant. This device is used for a wide variety of applications in the field of medicine, research, manufacturing, military, etc.

What is stimulated emission?

An electron present occupying a lower energy state absorbs some external energy present in the form of light (photons) or heat (phonons) in order to occupy a higher energy state and this e- transition from one state to another is possible only when the energies of the photon or phonon is equal to the energy-diff in-between these 2-states. Therefore, these electrons or atoms are capable of absorbing only a specific frequency of light for transitioning.

The electrons cannot stay in the higher excited state forever. They tend to return back to their ground state. These electrons are sometimes externally influenced to fall from a higher excited state to a lower excited state or ground state. The photon emitted after the high-low transition matches the externally supplied photon in terms of direction, phase, and wavelength. This process of releasing photons is referred to as stimulated emission and this forms the basis of laser-working.

For stimulated emission, the first requirement is to excite the electrons or the atoms with the help of a gain media, because in a normal medium the no of atoms in the lower energy state is greater than in the higher energy states at the thermal equilibrium condition hence, the rate of absorption exceeds the rate of stimulated emission in normal media.

LASER | Definition | Its Working | 4 Important Applications
Demonstration of stimulated emission, Image source: V1adis1av contribs), Stimulated EmissionCC BY-SA 4.0

What is a Maser?

MASER or “Microwave amplification by stimulated emission of radiation“, is a device in which coherent microwave electromagnetic emission is generated by amplification through stimulated emission mode. Maser has invented at Columbia University, in 1953 by the scientist James P. Gordon, Charles H. Townes, and  Herbert J. Zeiger. Masers have their applications in devices like atomic clocks, and radio telescopes. Masers can also produce electromagnetic radiations belonging in the range of radio and infrared.

LASER | Definition | Its Working | 4 Important Applications
A hydrogen radio frequency discharge in a hydrogen maser. Image source: Courtesy NASA/JPLCaltech
Hydrogen maser

What is the difference between a laser and a maser?

Laser vs Maser

L.A.S.E.RM.A.S.E.R
This instrument produces coherent electromagnetic emission over a wide frequency range (mainly the visible, UV and IR frequency).Maser produces coherent electromagnetic emission having frequency in the microwave and radio freq range.
This instrument is used for a wide variety of applications in the field of medicine, research, manufacturing, military, etc.This instrument is mainly used for microwave communication and in several astronomical instruments.
This instrument commonly works by exciting atoms of Helium, Neon, Carbon dioxide, etc.This instrument commonly works by exciting atoms of Ammonia, Hydrogen, etc.

What is an amplifying medium?

In lasers, amplifying medium or optical gain medium is a material that amplifies the power of the light beam generated. The gain medium compensates for the power loss due to the resonator. The gain medium amplifies the light by taking up energy through the process of electrical pumping (or at times optical pumping). The gain medium can be of several types such as Nd:YAG (neodymium-doped yttrium aluminum garnet YAG lasers) medium, Yb: YAG (ytterbium-doped YAG) medium,  gallium arsenide, gallium nitride, or indium gallium arsenide semiconductor medium, ceramic gain medium, optical fiber medium, etc.

How does a laser work?

Generally, these instruments contain a gain or amplifying medium, a pumping mechanism, and a system for providing optical feedback. Lasers work on the principle of photoelectric absorption and stimulated emission. These instruments have a gain medium that can be a solid, liquid, or gaseous material. This medium receives the external energy and directs it towards the atoms or electrons to excite them to their higher energy states and this material can be adjusted in term of shape and sizing, concentration and purities.

Population inversion refers to the state where the no of particle present in an higher excited state has exceed the no of particle present in the lower-excited state. In this state, Stimulated photon emission rates will exceed the rate of energy absorbed by the electron. Therefore, the light beam emitted in the form of photons gets amplified.

An optical cavity is present inside the device. It is primarily a pair of mirrors (also called output couplers) present in each side of the gain medium to make the light beam bounce back and forth through the medium being amplified every time it strikes the mirror, and One of the two mirrors is partially transparent allowing some light to escape through it and if the mirrors present are curved then the light comes out in the form of a narrow beam and if the mirrors are flat then the light beam is spread out.

LASER | Definition | Its Working | 4 Important Applications
Component Descriptions. : 1. The Gainmedium. 2. The Pumping energy. 3. The High reflector. 4. O/P coupler. 5. the Light beam.
Image source. User:TatouteLaserCC BY-SA 3.0

What are the two modes of operation of a laser?

Coherent light beam can generated either in pulsed mode or in continuous mode.

Pulsed mode operation of a laser :

In pulsed mode, the optical power follows the pattern of a pulse and has a repetition rate based on a certain duration of time. The pulsed mode is used for generating high power pulses by lowering the rate of pulses. The process of ablation and drilling that required high power outputs often used pulsed mode at peak pulse power. Processes that require the application of nonlinear optical effects use the pulsed mode relying on the maximum pulse power or energy. Sometimes amplification in continuous mode cannot be achieved, so the pulsed mode is used.

Continuous mode operation of a laser:

In continuous mode, the output power remains constant over time. In this mode, the frequency variation is negligible and does not influence the lasing application. This mode requires a steady pump source so that the population inversion of the amplifying medium can be achieved. Pumping the lasers at high power levels continually may result in damaging the laser due to excessive heating. For this reason, the continuous mode has a limited power output level. This mode is used for experimental and medical purposes mainly.

What are the applications of lasers?

Applications of lasers

Military applications of laser

Several types of lasers like carbon dioxide lasers that operate and emit infrared light are used for several military applications. The earth’s atmosphere is comparatively more transparent to Infrared light rays. Due to this reason, such lasers prove to be efficient for military range-finding using methods such as LIDAR (light detection and ranging). The laser beam provides information about the distances of the observer and the target position.

Medical applications of laser

IR Lasers , Excimer Lasers used in the Medical field.

Industrial applications (cutting and welding) of laser

Lasers provide high power beams that can be effective for several industrial applications like welding process, etching process, peening and drill process, clad preparation, and laser based cutting for hard metal or glass-cutting process etc. Nowadays, these instruments are also used for surface cleaning that involves eradicating the impurities and contaminants off the surface of a material. The CO2 used for engraving on materials and this devices are also used in the selective manufacturing processes of SLS or Selective laser sintering.

Research applications of laser

The SILEX (Separation of isotope by laser excitation) procedure utilized to enrich uranium also involves IR laser, several other important applications such as fabrication of microfluidic devices also involves the use of these instruments as the common plastic poly (methyl methacrylate) is a good absorbent of IR waves.

To know more about laser visit here

About Sanchari Chakraborty

LASER | Definition | Its Working | 4 Important ApplicationsI am an eager learner, currently invested in the field of Applied Optics and Photonics. I am also an active member of SPIE (International society for optics and photonics) and OSI(Optical Society of India). My articles are aimed towards bringing quality science research topics to light in a simple yet informative way. Science has been evolving since time immemorial. So, I try my bit to tap into the evolution and present it to the readers.

Let's connect through https://www.linkedin.com/in/sanchari-chakraborty-7b33b416a/

x
About Lambdageeks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en English
X