هل MgO أيوني أم تساهمي: لماذا ، كيف ، هيكل لويس ، تفسيرات مفصلة


في هذه المقالة ، "MgO الأيونية أو التساهمية" ، تمت مناقشة الخصائص التساهمية أو الأيونية لأكسيد المغنيسيوم مع شرح تفصيلي بإيجاز.

أكسيد المغنيسيوم (MgO) مادة أيونية صلبة بيضاء عديمة الرائحة تتكون من التفاعل بين المغنيسيوم والأكسجين بكتلة مولارية 40.344 جم / مول وكثافة 3.6 جم / سم3 عن طريق النقل الكامل لإلكترونين. يشكل هيدروكسيد المغنيسيوم في وجود الماء. يحتوي MgO على درجة انصهار وغليان عالية ، 28520C و 36000C على التوالي.

بعض الأدلة التي تثبت أن MgO هو أيوني موضحة أدناه في هذه المقالة.

ما هو المركب التساهمي والأيوني؟

تنشأ التساهمية في أي مركب بسبب مشاركة سحابة الإلكترون بين ذرتين متكونتين وينشأ السلوك الأيوني بسبب النقل الكامل للإلكترونات.

في مركب تساهمي يتم تحويل سحابة الإلكترون إلى ذرة كهربية أكثر نسبيًا لكن لا تنتقل بالكامل من ذرة إلى أخرى. لكن تحول سحابة الإلكترون يعتمد على الكهربية المقابلة للذرات المشاركة. يتم إزاحة الإلكترونات الرابطة أكثر نحو الذرة الأكثر كهرسلبية.

في الأنواع الأيونية ، يتم التبرع بالإلكترونات بالكامل بواسطة ذرة أكثر حساسية للكهرباء إلى ذرة أكثر كهرسلبية بسبب اختلاف الكهربية.

هو mgo الأيونية أو التساهمية
نقل الإلكترونات في مركب أيوني. الصورة الائتمان: ويكيميديا ​​كومنز
تقاسم سحابة الإلكترون في مركب تساهمي.
الصورة الائتمان: ويكيبيديا

لمعرفة المزيد يرجى التحقق من: 10 أمثلة على الرابطة الأيونية: شرح وحقائق مفصلة

كيف هو MgO الأيونية؟

MgO هو بالتأكيد مركب أيوني. الفرق في الكهربية بين المغنيسيوم والأكسجين مرتفع نسبيًا عن أي ذرتين في المركب التساهمي. المغنيسيوم هو في الأساس معدن أرضي قلوي حساس للكهرباء ، والأكسجين هو أحد أكثر الأنواع الجزيئية كهرسلبية (بجانب الفلور).

يحتوي Mg على عدد ذري ​​12 (1s2 2s22p63s2) وله إلكترونان في غلافه الخارجي الخارجي (غلاف الستارة). وهي تتبرع بإلكتروني التكافؤ الخاص بها للأكسجين وتحقق أقرب تكوين إلكتروني للغاز النبيل وهو نيون (1 ثانية)2 2s22p6). بعد التبرع بإلكترونين Mg يصبح ثنائي الموجة Mg2+، تكوين قذيفة مغلقة مستقرة.

يحتوي الأكسجين على ثمانية إلكترونات (1s2 2s2 2p4) ولها أربعة إلكترونات في غلاف التكافؤ. بعد قبول أربعة إلكترونات من Mg ، يصبح الأكسجين O2- ويكتسب أقرب غاز نبيل التوزيع الإلكترون (1 ثانية2 2s2 2p6) وزيادة الاستقرار.

يمكن حساب النسبة المئوية للحرف الأيوني (IC) من الصيغة التالية-

٪ IC = 16 (χA - χB) + 3.5 (χA - χB)2 في هذه الصيغة χA و χB هي الكهربية من النوعين A و B على التوالي.

  • ٪ IC = 16 (3.44-1.31) + 3.5 (3.44-1.31)2
  • ٪ IC = 50

تبلغ القدرة الكهربية للمغنيسيوم والأكسجين 1.31 و 3.44 في مقياس بول على التوالي. تشير هذه القيمة العالية للنسبة المئوية للطابع الأيوني إلى أن أكسيد المغنيسيوم لا يمكن أن يكون مركبًا تساهميًا.

لمعرفة المزيد يرجى اتباع: 15 أمثلة على الرابطة التساهمية المنسقة: البصيرة والحقائق التفصيلية

لماذا MgO ليس مركبًا تساهميًا؟

في أكسيد المغنيسيوم يتم نقل إلكترونين من المغنيسيوم بالكامل إلى غلاف التكافؤ للأكسجين ويملأ الثماني. Mg يصبح Mg2+ بعد التبرع بإلكترونين للأكسجين. ولكن في المركب التساهمي ، تتحول سحابة الإلكترون من ذرة أقل كهرسلبية إلى ذرة كهربية أكثر ولكن لا يتم نقلها بالكامل.

الفرق في الكهربية بين المغنيسيوم والأكسجين هو (3.44-1.31) = 2.13 في مقياس بولينج. يشير هذا الاختلاف في الكهربية إلى أن MgO لا يمكن أن يكون مركبًا تساهميًا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، نظرًا لشحن +2 و -2 على Mg و O ، فإن MgO يحتوي على قدر أكبر من طاقة الشبكة.

لمعرفة المزيد يرجى التحقق من: 4 أمثلة على الرابطة التساهمية الفردية: رؤى وحقائق مفصلة

هيكل MgO لويس

لويس بنية لويس اخترعها جيلبرت إن لويس في عام 1916 في مقالته بعنوان "الذرة والجزيء". هيكل لويس هو في الأساس التمثيل المبسط لإلكترونات غلاف التكافؤ حول الذرات المعنية. يشير عدد النقاط حول أي ذرة إلى عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ.

يتم تطبيق بنية لويس النقطية لتوضيح تكوين الكاتيون أو الأنيون من خلال التبرع أو قبول الإلكترونات. ولكن يجب أن يؤخذ في الاعتبار أن بنية لويس النقطية لأي جزيء لا يمكنها اكتشاف هندسة أو شكل ذلك الجزيء. على الرغم من استخدام هذا التمثيل للتأكد من أن الذرات المعنية في هذا الجزيء يفي بقاعدة الثمانيات أم لا و اتهام رسمي يمكن أيضًا تحديد كل ذرة من بنية لويس.

هيكل لويس النقطي من الماء. الصورة الائتمان: ويكيميديا ​​كومنز.

في الصورة أعلاه ، هيكل لويس نقطة من الماء. تظهر معظم إلكترونات الغلاف الخارجي للأكسجين حول ذرات الأكسجين.

في مجلة هيكل لويس من MgO ، يحتوي Mg على إلكترونين من غلاف التكافؤ ، ويحتوي الأكسجين على ستة إلكترونات غلاف التكافؤ. يتبرع Mg بإلكترونين التكافؤ لجعل تكوين الإلكترون 2,8،2,8,8 ويقبل الأكسجين هذين الإلكترونين ويكسب التكوين XNUMX،XNUMX،XNUMX. فيما يلي إلكترونات التكافؤ والإلكترونات المنقولة هيكل لويس نقطة صورة MgO.

 لمعرفة المزيد يرجى الاطلاع على: 5 أمثلة على الرابطة التساهمية القطبية: رؤى وحقائق مفصلة

الأسئلة الأكثر شيوعًا (FAQ)

كيف يتم تشكيل MgO؟

الإجابة: يتفاعل المغنيسيوم مع الأكسجين ويشكل مركب مسحوق أبيض ، MgO من خلال تفاعل طارد للحرارة وينتج كمية كبيرة من الطاقة في شكل ضوء.

ماذا يحدث عندما يتفاعل MgO مع الماء؟

الإجابة: عندما يتلامس MgO مع الماء ، فإن هيدروكسيد المغنيسيوم [Mg (OH)2] من خلال تفاعل عكسي. MgO + ح2O ملغ (OH)2

لماذا MgO غير قابل للذوبان في الماء؟

الإجابة: يحتوي MgO على كمية هائلة من الطاقة الشبكية بسبب التفاعل الأيوني القوي بين Mg2+ و يا2-. لا يمكن أن تتجاوز طاقة الترطيب أو طاقة المحلول طاقة الشبكة القوية. وبالتالي ، فإن MgO غير قابل للذوبان في الماء.

أديتي روي

مرحبًا ، أنا Aditi Ray ، شركة كيمياء صغيرة ومتوسطة الحجم على هذه المنصة. لقد أكملت تخرجي في الكيمياء من جامعة كلكتا وبعد التخرج من جامعة تكنو إنديا مع تخصص في الكيمياء غير العضوية. أنا سعيد جدًا لكوني جزءًا من عائلة Lambdageeks وأود أن أشرح الموضوع بطريقة مبسطة. دعنا نتواصل من خلال LinkedIn-https: //www.linkedin.com/in/aditi-ray-a7a946202

آخر المقالات

Is MgO Ionic Or Covalent: Why, How, Lewis structure, Detailed Explanations


In this article, “is MgO ionic or covalent”, covalent or ionic properties of magnesium oxide with detailed explanations are discussed briefly.

Magnesium oxide (MgO) is a solid white odorless ionic substance formed by the reaction between magnesium and oxygen with a molar mass 40.344 gm/mol and density 3.6g/cm3 by completely transferring of two electrons. It forms Magnesium hydroxide in presence of water. MgO has high melting and boiling point, 28520C and 36000C respectively.

Some evidences to prove that MgO is ionic are shown below in this article.

What is covalent and ionic compound?

Covalency in any compound arises due to sharing of electron cloud between two consisting atoms and ionic behaviour arises due to complete transferring of electrons.

In a covalent compound electron cloud is shifted to comparatively more electronegative atom but not completely transferred from one atom to another one. But shifting of electron cloud depends upon the corresponding electronegativity of the participating atoms. Bonding electrons are shifted more towards the more electronegative atom.

In ionic species, electrons are completely donated by the more electropositive atom to the more electronegative atom due to difference of electronegativity.

is mgo ionic or covalent
Transferring of Electrons in an Ionic Compound. Image Credit: Wikimedia Commons
Sharing of Electron Cloud in a Covalent Compound.
Image Credit: Wikipedia

To know more please check: 10 Ionic Bond Examples: Explanation And Detailed Facts

How is MgO ionic?

MgO is definitely an ionic compound. The difference in  electronegativity between magnesium and oxygen is relatively high than any two atoms in covalent compound. Mg is basically an electropositive alkaline earth metal and oxygen is one of the most electronegative (next to fluorine) molecular species.

Mg has atomic number 12 (1s2 2s22p63s2) and has two electrons in its outer most electron shell (valance shell). It donates its two valance electrons to oxygen and achieves the nearest noble gas electronic configuration that is Neon (1s2 2s22p6). After donating two electrons Mg becomes dipositive Mg2+, a stable closed shell configuration.

Oxygen has total eight electrons (1s2 2s2 2p4) and has four electrons in its valence shell. After accepting four electrons from Mg, oxygen becomes O2- and gains the nearest noble gas electron configuration (1s2 2s2 2p6) and stability is increased.

% of Ionic character (I.C) can be calculated from the following formula-

% I.C =16 ( χA – χB) + 3.5 ( χA – χB)2 .In this formula χA and χB are the electronegativity of species A and B respectively.

  • % I.C = 16 (3.44-1.31) + 3.5 (3.44-1.31)2
  • % I.C = 50

The electronegativity of Mg and oxygen is 1.31 and 3.44 in pauling scale respectively. This high value of percentage of ionic character indicates that the magnesium oxide cannot be a covalent compound.

To know more please follow: 15 Coordinate Covalent Bond Examples: Detailed Insight And Facts

Why MgO is not a covalent compound?

In magnesium oxide two electrons from magnesium is completely transferred to the valence shell of oxygen and make the octet filled up. Mg becomes Mg2+ after donating two electrons to oxygen. But in covalent compound, electron cloud is shifted from less electronegative atom to more electronegative atom but not completely transferred.

Difference of electronegativity between magnesium and oxygen is (3.44-1.31) = 2.13 in Pauling scale. This difference in electronegativity indicates that MgO cannot be a covalent compound. Besides that, due to +2 and -2 charge on Mg and O, MgO has greater amount of lattice energy.

To know more please check: 4 Single Covalent Bond Examples : Detailed Insights And Facts

MgO Lewis Structure

Lewis structure is invented by Gilbert N. Lewis in 1916 in his article named as “The atom and the molecule”. Lewis structure is basically the simplified representation of valance shell electrons around the respective atoms. The number of dots around any atom indicates the number of valance electrons.

Lewis dot structure is applied to illustrate the formation of cation or anion by donating or accepting the electrons. But it should be kept in mind that lewis dot structure of any molecule cannot detect the geometry or shape of that molecule. Though this representation is used to make sure that the respective atoms in that molecule satisfy the octet rule or not and formal charge of each of the atoms can also be determined from lewis structure.

Lewis dot structure of Water. Image Credit: Wikimedia Commons.

In the above image, lewis dot structure of water is shown. Outer most shell electrons of oxygen are shown around oxygen atoms.

In the lewis structure of MgO, Mg has two valance shell electrons and oxygen has six valance shell electrons. Mg donates its two valance electrons to make the electron configuration 2,8 and oxygen accepts those two electrons and gains the configuration 2,8,8. The valance electrons and the transferred electrons are shown in the following lewis dot structure image of MgO.

 To know more please go through: 5 Polar Covalent Bond Examples: Detailed Insights And Facts

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

How MgO is formed?

Answer:  Magnesium reacts with oxygen and form the whitish powdered compound, MgO through an exothermic reaction and produce a large amount of energy in form of light.

What happens when MgO reacts with water?

Answer: When MgO comes in contact with water, magnesium hydroxide [Mg(OH)2] is formed through a reversible reaction. MgO + H2O Mg(OH)2

Why MgO is not soluble in water?

Answer: MgO has a huge amount of lattice energy due to strong ionic interaction between Mg2+ and O2-. Hydration energy or solvation energy cannot exceed the strong lattice energy. Thus, MgO is not soluble in water.

Aditi Roy

Hello, I am Aditi Ray, a chemistry SME on this platform. I have completed graduation in Chemistry from the University of Calcutta and post graduation from Techno India University with a specialization in Inorganic Chemistry. I am very happy to be a part of the Lambdageeks family and I would like to explain the subject in a simplistic way. Let's connect through LinkedIn-https://www.linkedin.com/in/aditi-ray-a7a946202

Recent Posts