تعزيز نقل الحرارة في Nanofluid: 9 حقائق مهمة

نظرة عامة على الموائع النانوية

نانوفلويد هو سائل يتكون من سائل أساسي بحجم النانو. الجسيمات بحجم النانو (1 - 100 نانومتر) مشتتة في السائل الأساسي. في تطبيق تعزيز نقل الحرارة في الموائع النانوية ، يتم استخدام جزيئات نانو أكسيد المعدن أو المعدن. كما نعلم أن أكسيد المعدن والمعدن يزيد من التوصيل والحمل الحراري. في العقود القليلة الماضية ، أدى التقدم السريع في تكنولوجيا النانو إلى ظهور جيل جديد من المبردات يسمى الموائع النانوية.

إذا قمنا بتحليل التشتت العادي للسائل الصلب ، فإن الموائع النانوية لها مساحة سطح فعالة أعلى وبالتالي سطح نقل حرارة عالي الفعالية بين الجسيمات والسوائل. يتم استخدام تقنية النانو أو اعتبارها لبعض التطبيقات التي تركز على توفير المزيد من إمدادات الطاقة والتوظيفات الإنتاجية.

في حين أن العديد من هذه التطبيقات قد لا تؤثر على نقل الطاقة الحرارية بشكل مباشر ، فإن لكل منها القدرة على تقليل الحاجة إلى الطاقة الكهربائية أو وقود نواتج تقطير البترول أو الغاز الطبيعي الذي يمكن نقله بطريقة أخرى عبر نظام نقل الطاقة. قد يؤدي توليد واستخدام الطاقة الأكثر كفاءة إلى تقليل كمية أنشطة البناء والصيانة وإيقاف التشغيل.

الموصلية الحرارية

التوصيل الحراري لـ الموائع النانوية تم العثور على خاصية جذب للعديد من التطبيقات. يمكن تعريفه على أنه قدرة المادة على توصيل الحرارة أو نقلها. تم الانتهاء من العديد من الأبحاث حول هذا الموضوع

يتم رفع الموصلية الحرارية لـ 0.3٪ من جسيمات النحاس النانوية لسوائل الإيثيلين جلايكول (EG) النانوية بنسبة تصل إلى 40٪ مقارنةً بالسائل الأساسي. أكد المؤلفون أن هذه الخاصية تلعب دورًا حيويًا في بناء نظام نقل الحرارة الموفر للطاقة. الموصلية الحرارية العالية أعلى ، وتعزى مساحة سطح جزيئات النحاس النانوية إلى هذا التحسن.

ومع ذلك ، فإن نسبة السطح إلى الحجم (A / V) للجسيمات النانوية هي عامل مهيمن يؤثر على التوصيل الحراري للموائع النانوية بدلاً من التوصيل الحراري للجسيمات النانوية. يتم توسيع نسبة السطح إلى الحجم (A / V) بأحجام أقل من الجسيمات النانوية.

نقل الحرارة باستخدام موائع نانوية

أدت عمليات توليد الحرارة المرتفعة إلى زيادة الطلب على أحدث التقنيات لزيادة نقل الحرارة. تتوفر العديد من الطرق لزيادة نقل الحرارة في العمليات. 

يمكن حساب انتقال الحرارة في العملية على النحو التالي:

س = ح * أ * ∆T

Q هو معدل نقل الحرارة ، h هو معامل نقل الحرارة ، A هو منطقة نقل الحرارة الفعالة ، و T هو الفرق في درجة الحرارة. ويلاحظ أنه من خلال هذه المعادلة يمكن تعزيز نقل الحرارة من خلال:

(ط) زيادة ΔT 

(XNUMX) زيادة أ 

(XNUMX) زيادة h

يمكن أيضًا زيادة تحسينات نقل الحرارة عن طريق زيادة معامل نقل الحرارة h. من خلال تطوير طرق أكثر كفاءة لنقل الحرارة أو تحسين خصائص النقل للمواد المستخدمة في نقل الحرارة.

من صناعة النقل إلى وحدات إنتاج الطاقة ، يمكن استخدام الموائع النانوية على نطاق واسع في جميع المجالات أيضًا في أنظمة الإلكترونيات مثل المعالجات الدقيقة ، والميكانيكية الدقيقة ، والنظام الكهربائي ، ومجال التكنولوجيا الحيوية.

تحسين خصائص الموائع النانوية

في معظم الحالات ، لوحظ زيادة في التوصيل الحراري. شوهدت اتجاهات غير طبيعية في حالة اللزوجة مع الموائع النانوية. وجدت أن اللزوجة تزداد عندما تتشتت الجسيمات النانوية في السائل الأساسي.

لتركيز الحجم الأعلى ، وجد سلوك الموائع النانوية ترقق القص لاهتمام أقل بالحمل النيوتوني. تظهر العديد من الخلافات في العديد من الأعمال ، ولكن على الرغم من أنه يمكننا القول أن الحمل الحراري في حالة الموائع النانوية يزيد عن السائل الأساسي. هذه الزيادة بسبب النانو لا تعتمد على النظريات التقليدية.

على سبيل المثال ، يتم عرض خصائص الجسيمات النانوية CuO.

عقاراتأكسيد النحاس
صيغة كيميائيةCUO
اللوناسود
علم التشكُّل المورفولوجياكروي
متوسط ​​حجم الجسيمات (نانومتر)30-50
الكثافة الحقيقية (كجم / م3)6400
حرارة محددة (J / kgK)531.02
الموصلية الحرارية (w / mK)20

 لنفترض أننا نرى مائع نانوي في حالة الحمل الحراري الطبيعي. يمكن القول أن التدهور في النتائج الملحوظة في الموائع النانوية ، تؤدي زيادة تركيز الحجم إلى زيادة التدهور. يلزم إجراء المزيد من التجارب على الجزيئات المعدنية ذات التركيز المنخفض الحجم. حتى بالنسبة للحرارة المحددة ، فقد لوحظ أنها أقل من السائل الأساسي ، يلزم إجراء المزيد من البحث على حرارة معينة لأنها معلمات أساسية في مجال نقل الحرارة.

مقارنة بين الموائع النانوية المختلفة

تعتمد الموصلية الحرارية للسائل النانوي على خصائص الجسيمات المعدنية. تستخدم أنواع مختلفة من الموائع النانوية لتعزيز نقل الحرارة في المبادل الحراري (TiO2، شركة2O3، سيو2، CuO ، المدير التنفيذي2 الخ.)

هناك العديد من نتائج التجارب المتاحة لمقارنة الموائع النانوية المختلفة. دعونا نرى بعض المقارنة الرسومية لمختلف الموائع النانوية. يمكن رؤية المقارنة بين ثلاثة ماء سائل عامل ، CuO / ماء ، MgO / ماء في الشكل الموضح أدناه.

نقل الحرارة باستخدام المائع النانوي: مقارنة بين الماء ، المائع النانوي CuO و MgO nanofluid
مقارنة الماء ، المائع النانوي CuO و MgO nanofluid

النتيجة الرسومية المقدمة بين معدل نقل الحرارة (Q) ودرجة حرارة مدخل المائع النانوي. يمكن ملاحظته بسهولة من الرسم البياني للسائل النانوي CuO الذي يُظهر نقلًا فائقًا للحرارة مقارنةً بالسائل النانوي MgO والماء. تم رسم الرسم البياني لثلاث درجات حرارة مختلفة 70 و 80 و 90 درجة مئوية.

 لنأخذ مثالًا ثانيًا لفهم المزيد حول مقارنة أخرى للسائل النانوي. التمثيل الرسومي ، بما في ذلك مقارنة المياه ، Al2O3/ الماء ، يظهر CuO / الماء الشكل أدناه.

مقارنة الماء ، Al2O3 nanofluid و CuO nanofluid

 يمكن أن يكون ملحوظًا بوضوح من الرسم البياني أعلاه أن السائل النانوي CuO يؤدي معدل نقل حرارة أفضل مقارنة بالاثنين الآخرين.

الآن ، دعونا نلاحظ تحليل النتائج في جدول المعطى أدناه،

ماك هو معدل التدفق الشامل المبرد باللتر في الدقيقة (ما هو معدل التدفق الكتلي؟ راجع انقر). سالمتوسط يتم حساب معدل نقل الحرارة للمياه ، Al2O3/ الماء و CuO / الماء. وحدة معدل نقل الحرارة هي kW (kJ / s) (ما هو معدل نقل الحرارة؟ راجع انقر)

تجعلنا دراسة جدول النتائج نعرف أن المائع النانوي CuO يقوم بنقل حرارة أفضل في كل حالة من معدلات التدفق الكتلي. إذا أجرينا مقارنة التكلفة ، فإن Al2O3 nanofluid أرخص من CuO nanofluid.

فرق نقل الحرارة ليس مرتفعًا جدًا بين Al2O3 nanofluid و CuO nanofluid. لفعالية من حيث التكلفة ، فإن Al2O3 يمكن أن يكون المائع النانوي سائلًا تجاريًا لتحسين نقل الحرارة.

تطبيقات الموائع النانوية في نقل الحرارة

تم استخدام الموائع النانوية أو اعتبارها في العديد من التطبيقات لتوفير موارد واستخدامات أكثر كفاءة للطاقة. تم استخدام الموائع النانوية أو اعتبارها في العديد من التطبيقات لتوفير موارد واستخدامات أكثر كفاءة للطاقة. لا تؤثر هذه التطبيقات على نقل الطاقة تمامًا ، إلا أنها يمكن أن تقلل من المتطلبات الأولية للوقود البترولي أو الكهرباء أو وقود تقطير الزيت أو الغاز القابل للاشتعال. سيتم نقله بطريقة ما من خلال إطار نقل الطاقة. فيما يلي بعض الأمثلة على الموائع النانوية للتطبيقات الصريحة

غرفة بخار

أظهرت الأبحاث الحديثة في التبريد الإلكتروني استخدام الموائع النانوية لتعزيز معدل نقل الحرارة. حجرة البخار المستخدمة في التبريد الإلكتروني مملوءة بسائل نانوي لتحسين نقل الحرارة.

الاصطدام النفاث

الاصطدام النفاث هو التقنية الممكنة لتبريد بعض الأجهزة الإلكترونية. يتم رش الماء على جهاز امتصاص الحرارة لامتصاص المزيد من الحرارة منه. يمكن أن يؤدي استخدام المائع النانوي بدلاً من الماء إلى استخراج المزيد من الحرارة من المشتت الحراري.

المشعاع

 المبرد مضغوط نوع مبادل حراري عبر التدفق وتستخدم لتبريد المحرك. تعد إدارة المساحة قضايا مهمة في كل مركبة آلية. يمكن تقليل حجم مكونات التبريد إذا تم تحسين وظيفة المكون في نقل الحرارة. المائع النانوي هو المبرد الفائق والحديث الذي يمكنه تلبية متطلبات الاكتناز.

مجمع الطاقة الشمسية المكافئ والأجهزة الحرارية الشمسية الأخرى

يتم تدوير سائل العمل من خلال النظام الحراري الشمسي عن طريق امتصاص الإشعاع الشمسي. يتم نقل الطاقة الشمسية التي يمتصها سائل العمل بشكل عام إلى المبادل الحراري لتطبيقات أخرى. يؤدي استخدام مائع النانو كسائل عامل في النظام الحراري الشمسي إلى تحسين أدائه وكفاءته.

تبريد المحولات

محول يستخدم على نطاق واسع في المعدات الكهربائية لنقل الطاقة. يستخدم زيت التبريد في محول لامتصاص الحرارة الناتجة عن المقاومة. يمكن تحسين أداء زيت التبريد عن طريق إضافة الجسيمات النانوية في الزيت. هنا ، السائل الأساسي هو الزيت الذي يدعم استقرار المائع النانوي.

فيما يلي بعض التطبيقات الأخرى للسائل النانوي في مجال التبريد ونقل الحرارة:           

نظام التبريد

يعمل نظام التبريد على دورات ديناميكية حرارية مختلفة. المبرد هو سائل العمل في نظام التبريد. تم إجراء بعض التجارب لاستخدام الجسيمات النانوية مع مادة التبريد. لاحظ الباحثون نتائج توافق جيدة باستخدام الموائع النانوية في بعض أنظمة التبريد.

تبريد المفاعلات النووية

يتم توليد كمية هائلة من الحرارة في قلب المفاعل النووي. لتوفير التبريد الكافي ، يتم تدوير الماء من خلال نظام المكثف. يتطلب النظام النووي صيغة أفضل لنقل الحرارة لنظام التبريد. المائع النانوي هو خيار لتحسين نظام التبريد للمفاعل النووي.

تبريد نظام نقل المحرك

في محرك الاحتراق الداخلي (IC) ، يتم تدوير زيت المحرك عبر جميع أجزاء ناقل الحركة بما في ذلك علبة التروس والصمامات والعمود المرفقي والأسطوانة وما إلى ذلك. والغرض من زيت ناقل الحركة هو توفير التبريد والتشحيم لأجزاء مختلفة من محرك IC.

 أظهر السائل النانوي استقرارًا فائقًا في الزيت. يعد استخدام الموائع النانوية في نظام نقل محرك IC حقبة جديدة للباحثين.

نظام استعادة الحرارة المفقودة في الغلاية

يتم استنفاد غاز المداخن ذو درجة الحرارة المرتفعة من مدخنة في المرجل. يمكن زيادة كفاءة المرجل عن طريق امتصاص الحرارة التي يضيعها غاز المداخن. تم تركيب نظام استعادة الحرارة المهدرة لتحقيق كفاءة الطاقة. استخدام مائع النانو كسائل عامل في نظام استعادة الحرارة المهدرة لزيادة كفاءة امتصاص النظام.

تعزيز التبخر الشمسي

يستخدم التقطير الشمسي لتحويل المياه المالحة أو مياه الصرف إلى مياه عذبة صالحة للشرب. يتم تبخير المياه المالحة باستخدام الطاقة الشمسية ، ثم يتم تكثيف الماء المتبخر للحصول على مياه عذبة.

تتمتع جسيمات الكربون النانوية بقدرة امتصاص أعلى للإشعاع الشمسي. يزيد استخدام جزيئات الكربون النانوية في المياه المالحة من معدل التبخر ، مما يؤدي إلى الأداء المتفوق لتقطير المياه بالطاقة الشمسية.

الجدوى كسائل حراري

المائع النانوي هو سائل حراري متقدم لتطبيق نقل الحرارة. ينتج عن التقدم في توليد الطاقة والأجهزة الإلكترونية للطاقة كمية هائلة من الحرارة. يؤدي توليد الحرارة إلى تقليل أداء الجهاز. لتلبية هذا المطلب ، تم اختراع المائع النانوي لتعزيز نقل الحرارة وأداء الجهاز.

يُظهر السائل النانوي أداءً فائقًا في نقل الحرارة. قد يكون من المجدي استخدام الموائع النانوية في التطبيقات الصغيرة. بالنسبة للنطاق الكبير أو الصناعي ، لا يزال يتعين إجراء عدد أكبر من الأبحاث. يلعب تحضير الموائع النانوية دورًا حيويًا في جدواه. يعد استقرار الموائع النانوية عاملاً أساسيًا يؤثر على جدواها.

 يمكن أن يكون المائع النانوي عالي الاستقرار أكثر جدوى كسائل حراري.

أسئلة و أجوبة

لماذا تمتلك الموائع النانوية خاصية نقل الحرارة؟

تحتوي الموائع النانوية على مساحة سطح صريحة أعلى وبالتالي سطح أكثر لتوصيل الحرارة بين الجسيمات والسوائل.

التعريف: التوصيل الحراري

يمكن وصف الموصلية الحرارية بأنها قدرة مادة ما على توجيه الحرارة أو نقلها.

ما هي طرق زيادة انتقال الحرارة؟

هناك ثلاث طرق لزيادة نقل الحرارة بناءً على تعبير نقل الحرارة:

  1. زيادة ΔT (فرق درجة الحرارة)
  2. زيادة أ (مساحة السطح الفعالة)
  3. زيادة h (معامل انتقال الحرارة)

ما هو حجم تركيز الموائع النانوية؟

تركيز الحجم هو مصطلح يستخدم لذكر نسبة الجسيمات النانوية في مائع نانوي محضر.

أي من الموائع النانوية يؤدي نقل حرارة أعلى في أمثلة معينة؟

أكسيد النحاس (CuO) نانوفلويد.

أي موائع نانوية فعالة من حيث التكلفة؟

أكسيد الألومنيوم (Al2O3) نانوفولويد.

أي من السوائل النانوية الثلاثة المستخدمة في هذه المقالة؟

فيما يلي ثلاثة نونوفلويد مستخدمة في هذه المقالات:

  1. Al2O3/ماء
  2. النحاس / الماء
  3. MgO / الماء

أعط وحدة نقل الحرارة.

وحدة نقل الحرارة هي كيلو واط (كيلو واط) أو كيلو جول / ثانية (كيلو جول / ثانية)

في أي جهاز إلكتروني يمكن استخدام الموائع النانوية؟

يمكن استخدام المائع النانوي في غرفة البخار وإعداد الاصطدام النفاث للتبريد الإلكتروني.

ما هو الاسم المحدد للمبرد في مجال المبادل الحراري؟

نوع مدمج عبر تدفق مبادل حراري

ما هو العامل المهيمن للمائع النانوي بالنسبة للجدوى؟

استقرار الموائع النانوية هو العامل المهيمن على الجدوى.

ما فائدة جسيمات الكربون النانوية؟

تعتبر جزيئات الكربون النانوية ممتصًا جيدًا للإشعاعات الشمسية. يمكن استخدامه في وحدات التقطير الشمسي لتعزيز تبخر الماء.

في الختام

هذه المقالة مفيدة للطلاب والباحثين للحصول على فكرة أساسية عن بعض الموائع النانوية وخصائصها. المقالة مفيدة أيضًا للطالب في العثور على موضوع بحث يتعلق بعلوم النانو وتطبيقاتها. يتم تقديم المقارنة بين عدد قليل من السوائل في هذه المقالة لإنشاء أساس لدراسة السوائل والمتغيرات مسبقًا. النطاق المستقبلي للسائل النانوي شامل وجذاب. سيكون المائع النانوي هو المفتاح لزيادة كفاءة أي معدات.

لمزيد من التفاصيل ، راجع انقر هنا

المزيد من الموضوعات المتعلقة بالسائل النانوي ، من فضلك انقر هنا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المشار إليها إلزامية *

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Heat transfer enhancement in nanofluid | New research area

Overview of nanofluid

Nanofluid is fluid which consists of a base fluid with nano-sized. The nano-sized particles (1–100 nm) dispersed in the base fluid. In the application of heat transfer enhancement in nanofluid, metal or metal oxide nano particles are used. As we know that metal and metal oxide increase conduction and convection. In the past few decades, nanotechnology’s rapid advancement has led to the emerging of a new generation of coolants called nanofluids.

If we analyze the regular solid-liquid dispersion, nanofluid has higher effective surface area and therefore higher effective heat transfer surface between particles and fluids. Nanotechnology is being utilized or considered for some, applications focused to give more productive energy supplies and employments.

While many of these applications may not influence heat energy transfer directly, each has the potential to reduce the need for the electrical energy, petroleum distillate fuel, or natural gas that would otherwise be moved through the energy transmission system. More efficient energy generation and use may decrease the amount of construction, maintenance and decommissioning activities.

Thermal conductivity

Thermal conductivity of nanofluids is found to be an attracting characteristic for many applications. It can be defined as the ability of a material to conduct or transfer heat. Numerous researchs have been completed on this subject

Thermal conductivity of 0.3% copper nanoparticles of ethylene glycol (EG) nanofluids is raised up to 40% contrasted with the base liquid. Authors stressed that this property plays a vital role in the construction of energy-efficient heat transfer system. Higher thermal conductivity is higher and surface area of copper (Cu) nanoparticles are attributed to this improvement.

However, the surface to volume ratio (A/V) of nanoparticles is a dominant factor influencing the nanofluids’ thermal conductivity rather than nanoparticles thermal conductivity. Surface to volume proportion (A/V) is expanded with more lesser sizes of nanoparticles.

Heat transfer using nanofluid

The high heat-generating processes have generated an increased requirement for the latest technology to increase heat transfer. Many methods are available to increase heat transfer in processes. 

The heat transfer in a process can be calculated as follows:

Q = h* A*∆T

Q is the used for heat transfer rate, h is the heat transfer coefficient, A is the effective heat transfer area, and ∆T is the temperature difference. It is observed that from this equation that heat transfer possible to enhance by:

(i)            Increase ΔT 

(ii)           Increase A 

(iii)         Increase h

Heat transfer improvements can also be increased by increasing the heat transfer coefficient h. By developing more efficient heat transfer methods or improving the transport properties of the material used for heat transfer.

From the transportation industry to energy production units, nanofluid can be used widely in all range also in electronics systems like microprocessor, micromechanical, electrical system and the biotechnology field.

The improvement in properties of nanofluid

In most cases, an increase in thermal conductivity has been observed. Abnormal trends in case of viscosity have been seen with nanofluid. The viscosity found to increase when nanoparticles are dispersed in the base fluid.

For higher volume concentration, nanofluid behaviour found shear thinning for less attention it’s Newtonian loading. Many disagreements are seen in many works, but even though we can say that force convection in case of nanofluid is increased than base fluid. This increase because of nanofluid is not dependent on conventional theories.

For example, the properties of CuO nanoparticles are shown.

PropertiesCopper Oxide
Chemical FormulaCuO
ColourBlack
MorphologySpherical
Average Particle Size (nm)30-50
True Density (kg/m3)6400
Specific Heat (J/kgK)531.02
Thermal Conductivity (w/mK)20

 Suppose we see nanofluid in case of natural convection. It can be said that deterioration in results seen in nanofluid, increase in volume concentration result in an increase in deterioration. More experiments are required to conduct on metallic particles and with low volume concentration. Even for specific heat, it has been noted that it lower over base fluid,  More research is required to be done on specific heat as it is essential parameters in the heat transfer field.

Comparison of various nanofluid

The nanofluid thermal conductivity is dependent on its metallic particle properties. Different types of Nanofluids used to enhance heat transfer in the Heat exchanger (TiO2, Al2O3, SiO2, CuO, CeO2 etc.)

There are so many experiments result available to compare different nanofluid. Let’s see some graphical comparison of various nanofluids. The comparison of three working fluid water, CuO/water, MgO/water can be seen in the figure given below.

Heat Transfer Using Nanofluid : Comparison of water, CuO nanofluid and MgO nanofluid
Comparison of water, CuO nanofluid and MgO nanofluid

The graphical result presented between heat transfer rate (Q) and Inlet temperature of nanofluid. It can be easily observed from graph CuO nanofluid shows superior heat transfer compared with MgO nanofluid and water. The graph is plotted for three different temperatures 70, 80 and 90 °C.

 Let’s take a second example to understand more about another nanofluid comparison. The graphical representation, including a comparison of water, Al2O3/water, CuO/water is shown figure below.

Heat transfer enhancement in nanofluid | New research area
Comparison of water, Al2O3 nanofluid and CuO nanofluid

 It can be noticeable clearly from the above graph that CuO nanofluid performs better heat transfer rate as compared to the other two.

Now, let’s observe result analysis in the table given below,

Heat transfer enhancement in nanofluid | New research area

mc is the mass flow rate of coolant in litre per minute (What is the mass flow rate? Refer click ). Qavg is calculated heat transfer rate for water, Al2O3/water and CuO/water. The unit of heat transfer rate is kW (kJ/s) (What is heat transfer rate? Refer click )

The study of the result table makes us know that CuO nanofluid performs better heat transfer at every condition of mass flow rate. If we do cost comparison, then Al2O3 nanofluid is cheaper than CuO nanofluid.

The heat transfer difference is not very high between Al2O3 nanofluid and CuO nanofluid. For cost-effective, the Al2O3 nanofluid can be commercial fluid to get enhanced heat transfer.

Applications of nanofluid in heat transfer

Nanofluid has been used or considered for many applications to give more efficient energy supplies and uses. Nanofluid has been used or considered for many applications to give more efficient energy supplies and uses. These applications not influencing energy transmission completely yet they can lessen the preliminary requirement for Petroleum fuel, electricity, oil distillate fuel, or flammable gas. It would somehow be traveled through the energy transmission framework. Coming up next are a few instances of nanofluid for explicit applications

Vapour chamber

The recent researches in electronic cooling demonstrate the use of nanofluid to enhance the heat transfer rate. The vapour chamber used in electronic cooling is filled with nanofluid for better heat transfer.

Jet impingement

The jet impingement is the possible technology to cool some electronics devices. The water is sprayed over the heat sink device to absorb more heat from it. The use of nanofluid instead of water can extract more heat from the heat sink.

Radiator

 The radiator is compact type cross-flow heat exchanger and used for engine cooling.  The space management is significant issues in every automobile vehicle. The size reduction of cooling components can be possible if the component’s function gets enhanced in heat transfer. The nanofluid is the superior and modern coolant which can meet the requirement for compactness.

Parabolic solar collector and other solar thermal devices

The working fluid is circulated through the solar thermal system by absorbing solar radiation. The solar energy absorbed by working fluid is generally transferred to the heat exchanger for other applications. The use of nanofluid as a working fluid in the solar thermal system improves its performance and efficiency.

Transformer cooling

The transformer is widely used electrical equipment for power transmission. The cooling oil is used in the transformer to absorb heat generated due to resistance. The performance of cooling oil can be improved by adding nanoparticles in oil. Here, the base fluid is oil which supports the stability of nanofluid.

Some of the other applications of nanofluid in the area of cooling and heat transfer are as given below:           

Refrigeration system

The refrigeration system works on various thermodynamic cycles.  The refrigerant is the working fluid in the refrigeration system. There are certain experiments carried out to use nanoparticles with refrigerant. The researchers observed good agreement results using nanofluid in some refrigeration system.

Nuclear reactor cooling

The tremendous amount of heat is generated in the nuclear reactor core. To provide sufficient cooling, the water is circulated through the condenser system. The nuclear system requires better heat transfer formula for the cooling system. The nanofluid is an option to enhance the cooling system of the nuclear reactor.

Engine transmission system cooling

In an internal combustion engine (IC), the engine oil is circulated through all transmission parts including gearbox, valves, crankshaft, cylinder etc. The purpose of transmission oil is to provide cooling and lubrication to various parts of the IC engine.

 The nanofluid has shown superior stability in oil. The use of nanofluid in IC engine transmission system is a new era for researchers.

Waste heat recovery system in the boiler

The higher temperature flue gas is exhausted from a chimney in the boiler. The boiler efficiency can be increased by absorbing heat which is wasted by flue gas. The waste heat recovery system is installed to fulfil energy efficiency. The use of nanofluid as a working fluid in the waste heat recovery system to increase system’s absorbing efficiency.

Solar evaporation enhancement

Solar distillation is used to convert saline or wastewater into fresh drinkable water. The saline water is evaporated by using solar energy, and the evaporated water is then condensed to get fresh water.

The carbon nanoparticle is having higher solar radiation absorptivity. The use of carbon nanoparticle in saline water increases the evaporation rate, which leads to the superior performance of solar water distillation.

Feasibility as a thermal fluid

The nanofluid is advance thermal fluid for heat transfer application. The advancement in power generating and power electronics devices produce a tremendous amount of heat. The generation of heat is reducing the performance of the device. To meet this requirement, the nanofluid is invented to enhance heat transfer and device performance.

The nanofluid shows superior performance on heat transfer. It can be feasible to use nanofluid for small scale application. For large or industrial scale, more number of researches still required to be done. The preparation of nanofluid plays a vital role in its feasibility. The stability of nanofluid is an essential factor affecting its feasibility.

 The higher stable nanofluid can be more feasible as thermal fluid.

Questions & Answers

Why nanofluid possess heat transfer characteristic?

Nanofluids have higher explicit surface area and accordingly more heat conduction surface among particles and liquids.

Definition: Thermal conductivity

The Thermal conductivity can be characterized as capacity of a material to direct or move heat.

Which are the ways to increase heat transfer?

There are three ways to increase heat transfer based on heat transfer expression:

  1. Increase ΔT (temperature difference)
  2. Increase A (Effective surface area)
  3. Increase h (heat transfer coefficient)

What is the volume concentration of nanofluid?

The volume concentration is a term used to state the proportion of nanoparticles in a prepared nanofluid.

Which of the nanofluid is performing higher heat transfer in given examples?

Copper Oxide (CuO) nanofluid.

Which nanofluid is cost-effective?

Aluminium Oxide (Al2O3) nanofluid.

Which of the three nanofluids used in this article?

Followings are three naonofluids used in this articles :

  1. Al2O3/water
  2. CuO/water
  3. MgO/ water

Give the unit of heat transfer.

The unit of heat transfer is kW (kilowatt) or kJ/s (kilo Joule/second)

In which of the electronic device, the use of nanofluid is possible?

The nanofluid can be used in vapour chamber and jet impingement setup for electronic cooling.

What is the specific name of the radiator in the field of the heat exchanger?

Compact type cross-flow heat exchanger

What is the dominant factor of nanofluid for feasibility?

The stability of nanofluid is the dominant factor for feasibility.

What is the use of carbon nanoparticles?

The carbon nanoparticles are good absorber of solar radiations. It can be used in solar distillation units for evaporation enhancement of water.

Conclusion

This article is useful for students and researcher to get a basic idea of some nanofluid and its properties. The article is also helpful for the student to find a research topic related to nano science and its applications. The comparison of few fluids is presented in this article to create a base for advance fluid and parameters study. The future scope of nanofluid is comprehensive and attractive. The nanofluid will be the key to increase any equipment efficiency.

For more detail, refer click here

More topic related to Nanofluid, please click here

About Deepakkumar Jani

Heat transfer enhancement in nanofluid | New research areaI am Deepak Kumar Jani, Pursuing PhD in Mechanical- Renewable energy. I have five years of teaching and two-year research experience. My subject area of interest are thermal engineering, automobile engineering, Mechanical measurement, Engineering Drawing, Fluid mechanics etc. I have filed a patent on "Hybridization of green energy for power production". I have published 17 research papers and two books.
I am glad to be part of Lambdageeks and would like to present some of my expertise in a simplistic way with the readers.
Apart from academics and research, I like wandering in nature, capturing nature and creating awareness about nature among people.
Let's connect through LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/jani-deepak-b0558748/.
Also refer my You-tube Channel regarding “Invitation from Nature”

x
About Lambdageeks

1 thought on “Heat transfer enhancement in nanofluid | New research area”

  1. Pingback: AFBC boiler | Important 4 Interview Questions - Lambda Geeks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en English
X