هيكل HClO2 لويس ، الخصائص: 25 حقائق سريعة كاملة


تحتوي هذه المقالة فقط على هيكل HClO2 lewis و 31st حقائق مهمة بالتفصيل. لنبدأ المقال برسم هيكل HClO2 lewis.

يتكون هيكل حمض الكلور أو HClO2 لويس من oxoacid للهالوجين Cl. ذرة Cl المركزية هي sp3 مهجن في هذا الحمض. هناك واحد دπ-pπ الرابطة الموجودة بين Cl و O. وهي أقل حمضية من HClO3 بسبب نقص ذرة O واحدة. إنه مركب ثنائي. حالة الأكسدة المركزية Cl في هيكل HClO2 لويس هي +3.

نظرًا لحالة الأكسدة المعتدلة ، يمكن أن يعمل HClO2 كعامل مؤكسد أو مختزل ، ولكنه يعمل كعامل مؤكسد في العديد من تفاعلات الأكسدة والاختزال. الهندسة الجزيئية عبارة عن رباعي السطوح حول وسط Cl ، نظرًا لوجود زوجين من أزواج منفردة وثلاثة أزواج من الروابط وأحدهم عبارة عن رابطة π.

بعض الحقائق عن HClO2

القاعدة المترافقة لـ HClO2 هي ClO2-، ما هو اسم كلوريت واللاحقة تنتهي بـ "ous" بدلاً من "ite". بناءً على القاعدة المترافقة ، يحصل الحمض على اسمه. بناءً على استقرار القاعدة المترافقة ، يتم تحديد الحمض أيضًا من خلال حموضته ومدى قوته. حالة أكسدة cl هي قيمة وسيطة في هذا الحمض ، لذا فهي عرضة لتفاعل غير متناسب وغير متناسب مع هيبوكلوروس (+1) وحمض الكلوريك (+5).

2 حمض الهيدروكلوريك2 → HClO + HClO3

 III I IV

الكتلة المولية لـ HClO2 هي 68.46 جم / مول. قيمة pka لحمض الكلور هي 1.96 ، لذلك فهي أقل حمضية من HClO3.

طريقة تحضير HClO2 هي ، عن طريق تفاعل الباريوم أو كلوريت الرصاص مع حمض الكبريتيك المخفف.

Ba (ClO2)2 + H2SO4 → BaSO4 + 2 حمض الهيدروكلوريك2

الرصاص (ClO2)2 + H2SO4 → PbSO4 + 2 حمض الهيدروكلوريك2

فقط الكلورين هو هالوجين يمكنه تكوين تركيبة حمض قابلة للعزل مثل HXO2 ، ولا يمكن عزل حمض البروموس أو حمض اليود.

1. كيفية رسم هيكل لويس HClO2؟

لكل جزيء تساهمي ، من المهم جدًا رسمه هيكل لويس. لذلك ، نحاول رسم هيكل HClO2 لويس باتباع بعض البروتوكولات. يساعدنا هيكل HClO2 lewis هذا في العثور على أحرف تساهمية مختلفة.

هيكل HClO2 لويس
هيكل HClO2 لويس

في عملية رسم هيكل HClO2 لويس ، يجب أن نجد إلكترونات التكافؤ لجزيء بأكمله. نحسب إلكترونات التكافؤ للذرات الفردية الموجودة في هيكل HClO2 لويس بشكل منفصل ونجمعها معًا. Cl هو عنصر مجموعة VIIA لذا فهو يحتوي على سبعة إلكترونات تكافؤ في مدار التكافؤ الخاص به ، O هو عنصر VIA لذا فهو يحتوي على ستة إلكتروناتs و H له إلكترون واحد فقط.

لذا فإن إجمالي إلكترونات التكافؤ لهيكل HClO2 لويس هي ، 7+(6*2)+1 =20 electrons.

الآن علينا أن نختار الذرة المركزية لهيكل HClO2 lewis. Cl هو أكبر بين جميع الجزيئات في HClO2 هيكل لويس، لذلك اخترنا Cl كالذرة المركزية لهيكل HClO2 لويس. اثنان O و H متصلان بالذرة المركزية مع عدد مناسب من الروابط.

في بنية HClO2 lewis ، يجب أن تتبع جميع الذرات قاعدة الثمانيات. لذلك وفقًا لقاعدة الثمانيات ، فإن الإلكترونات المطلوبة لكل ذرة هي 2+ (3 * 8) = 26 إلكترونًا. لكن إلكترونات التكافؤ المحسوبة سابقًا لهيكل لويس HClO2 هي 20 إلكترونًا. لذا فإن النقص في الإلكترونات هو 26-20 = 6 إلكترونات.

سيكون هذا النقص في ستة إلكترونات المتراكمة من خلال 6/2 = 3 سندات. لذلك ، في هيكل HClO2 lewis ، سيكون هناك حد أدنى مطلوب من 3 روابط. أضفنا جميع الذرات مع الذرة المركزية بالعدد المطلوب من الروابط.

تتم إضافة ذرتين من O مع Cl بواسطة رابطتين منفردتين وسيتم ربط h بواحد O عبر رابطة واحدة. كونه جزيء حمض يجب أن يحتوي HClO2 على مجموعة واحدة من OH، لذلك يتم ربط ذرات H بموقع O وليس Cl.

بعد إضافة عدد مناسب من السندات الفردية ، أضفنا روابط متعددة إذا لزم الأمر. لتبرير تكافؤ Cl و O ، أضفنا رابطًا آخر بين Cl و O. وهو حرف رابطة مزدوجة وهو a dπ-pπ عودة الترابط أيضا.

أضف الآن الأزواج الوحيدة فوق الذرات المعنية. يحتوي اثنان O على زوجين من أزواج منفردة كل منهما ويحتوي Cl أيضًا على زوجين من الأزواج المنفردة التي تشارك في التهجين.

2. شكل هيكل لويس HClO2

شكل هيكل HClO2 lewis مسؤول عن الأزواج الوحيدة فوق ذرات Cl المركزية وكذلك حول ذرتين من O. بسبب تنافر أزواج السندات المنفردة ، ينحرف الشكل إلى حد ما عن الشكل رباعي السطوح الفعلي.

شكل HClO2

هندسة HClO2 هيكل لويس هو رباعي السطوح مع اثنين من أزواج وحيدة فوق ذرة الكلور المركزية. لكن هندسة الإلكترون للجزيء هي زاوية. في الواقع ، بدون الأزواج الوحيدة فوق ذرات Cl ، يكون شكل هيكل HClO2 لويس منحني أو زاوي.

جزيء من النوع AX2  سيكون خطي الشكل وفقًا لنظرية VSEPR (زوج Valence Shell Electrons Pair). ولكن إذا كانت هناك أزواج وحيدة موجودة فوق الذرة المركزية ، فسيتم تغيير هندستها أو شكلها وتنحرف عن الهندسة المثالية.

مرة أخرى ، من عدد الإلكترون للمدار الخارجي للذرات المحيطة وكذلك الذرة المركزية ويساوي 8 ثم سيكون شكله رباعي السطوح. لذلك ، إذا أخذنا في الاعتبار الأزواج الوحيدة فوق ذرة Cl المركزية في HClO2 هيكل لويس ثم عدد الإلكترونات هو 8 وهو يعتمد الهندسة رباعية السطوح مع زوجين من أزواج وحيدة.

ولكن بدون أزواج وحيدة ، فإن ملف لا يمكن أن يكون الشكل خطيًا لهيكل HClO2 لويس بسبب تنافر كثافة الإلكترون لذرات O و Cl.

3. إلكترونات تكافؤ HClO2

إجمالي إلكترونات التكافؤ لهيكل HClO2 لويس هي مجموع إلكترونات التكافؤ الفردية لكل ذرة موجودة في الجزيء. نحسب بشكل فردي إلكترونات التكافؤ لكل ذرة ثم نجمعها معًا لتكوين HClO2 lewis.

الذرة المركزية في هيكل HClO2 لويس هي Cl وهي المجموعة 17th العنصر في الجدول الدوري ، لذلك يحتوي على سبعة إلكترونات تكافؤ في مدار التكافؤ. تشارك هذه الإلكترونات السبعة في تكوين الرابطة أو أزواج وحيدة ، لذلك نحسب سبعة إلكترونات لـ Cl باعتبارها إلكترونات التكافؤ.

2nd ذرة مهمة في هيكل لويس HClO2 هي O ، وهي المجموعة 16th العنصر في الجدول الدوري وينتمي أيضًا إلى المجموعة VIA. لذا ، فقد ستة إلكترونات تكافؤ. تشارك هذه الإلكترونات الستة في تكوين الرابطة والأزواج الوحيدة في هيكل HClO2 لويس ، لذلك نعتبر ستة إلكترونات لـ O كإلكترونات التكافؤ.

تحتوي ذرة H المتبقية على إلكترون تكافؤ واحد في مدارها.

إذن ، إجمالي إلكترونات التكافؤ في هيكل HClO2 lewis هي ، 7+ (6 * 2) +1 = 20 إلكترونًا.

4. HClO2 لويس هيكل أزواج وحيدة

الأزواج الوحيدة متاحة لتلك الذرات التي تحتوي على العديد من الإلكترونات من زوج السندات في غلاف التكافؤ أو المدار. فقط ذرات O و Cl لها أزواج وحيدة في هيكل HClO2 لويس.

في هيكل HClO2 lewis ، يحتوي CL على سبعة إلكترونات تكافؤ في غلاف التكافؤ الخاص به ، ولكن لا تشارك جميع الإلكترونات في تكوين الرابطة أو التبرع بها ، لذا فإن الإلكترونات المتبقية غير المشاركة في تكوين الرابطة موجودة كأزواج وحيدة.

 استخدم Cl ثلاثة إلكترونات فقط لتكوين السندات مع ذرتين من O ، وروابط مفردة ، ورابطة مزدوجة واحدة. لذلك ، توجد بقية الإلكترونات الأربعة الموجودة في غلاف التكافؤ لـ Cl في هيكل HClO2 lewis زوجان من أزواج وحيدة فوق ذرة الكلور.

الآن تأتي في ذرات O ، O لديها ستة إلكترونات تكافؤ لأنها عنصر VIA ، وكلاهما O يصنع رابطين في هيكل HClO2 لويس. ذرة O واحدة تصنع سيغما واحد وسند واحد مع Cl والآخر O يجعل رابطة واحدة مع Cl ورابط واحد سيجما مع ذرة H.

لذلك بشكل أساسي ، استخدمت ذرتان من O إلكترونين تكافؤين في تكوين الرابطة ، وبقية الإلكترونات الأربعة التي لا تشارك في تكوين الرابطة ولكنها تساهم في الثماني بتات زوجان من أزواج وحيدة فوق كل O ذرة في هيكل لويس HClO2.

ليس لدى H أي فرصة من هذا القبيل ، لذا فهو نقص في الزوج الوحيد.

5. HClO2 لويس هيكل حكم ثماني بتات

تحاول جميع الذرات الموجودة في الجدول الدوري بعد تكوين الرابطة إكمال الثماني الخاصة بها ومحاولة الحصول على أقرب تكوين للغاز النبيل لحالة مستقرة خاصةً عناصر الكتلة s و p دائمًا تتبع قاعدة الثمانيات وفي بنية HClO2 lewis ، تكون جميع الذرات من الكتل s و p لذا يتعين عليهم اتباع قاعدة الثمانيات.

التكوين الإلكتروني لـ Cl هو [ني] 3 ثوانٍ23p4، إنها مجموعة 17th العنصر. ينتمي Cl إلى عائلة الهالوجين ومجموعة VIIA. من التكوين الإلكتروني لذرة Cl المركزية ، يمكننا القول أن لديها سبعة إلكترونات تكافؤ موجودة في 3s و 3 p على التوالي. وفقًا لقاعدة الثمانيات ، يجب أن يحقق عنصر كتلة p غلاف التكافؤ بثمانية إلكترونات ، لذلك يحتاج إلى إلكترون واحد آخر لإكمال ثماني بتات.

هناك خمسة إلكترونات في مدار 3p من ذرة Cl ، والحد الأقصى لعدد الإلكترونات المتراكمة في المدار p هو ستة ، وهي الآن تشكل رابطتين منفردتين مع ذرتين O مشتركتين مع إلكترونين. الآن لديها ستة إلكترونات في مدارها 3p تخضع للتهجين. لذلك ، يفي Cl بثمانيته من خلال تكوين روابط مع O التي تخضع للتهجين.

الآن بالنسبة لـ O ، التكوين الإلكتروني هو ، [هو] 2 ثانية22p4. O هي المجموعة 16th عنصر وعنصر VIA. إذن ، لديها ستة إلكترونات تكافؤ ، حيث يوجد إلكترونان في مدار 2s وأربعة إلكترونات في مدار 2p. O هو أيضًا عنصر كتلة ap ، لذلك يجب أن يتبع قاعدة الثمانيات بإكمال مداره 2p بستة إلكترونات.

يشكل O الآن رابطين أحدهما مع Cl والآخر مع H ، أو رابطة مزدوجة مع ذرات Cl. في هذين الرابطين ، تشترك O في إلكترونين لها وتأتي الإلكترونان الآخران من موقع Cl أو H. لذلك ، بعد المشاركة في تكوين السندات ، تكمل O ثماني بتاتها من خلال تحقيقها 2p مداري بستة إلكترونات ويوجد إلكترونان بالفعل في مدار 2s.

H هو عنصر كتلة يحتوي على إلكترون واحد في مداره. لكي يكمل عنصر الكتلة s قاعدة الثمانيات ، فإنه يحتاج إلى إلكترونين في المدار s لأن المدار s يمكنه تجميع إلكترونين كحد أقصى فقط لأنه يحتوي على قشرة فرعية واحدة. لذلك ، تنشئ H رابطة مع O لمشاركة أحد إلكتروناتها والآخر من موقع O لإكمال ثماني بتات.

6. HClO2 lewis هيكل المسؤول الرسمي

حالة أكسدة Cl في هيكل HClO2 لويس هي +3 لكن لا يمكننا التنبؤ بأن الجزيء مشحون أو متعادل. لذلك ، علينا حساب الشحنة الرسمية للجزيء من خلال النظر في نفس الكهربية لكل بديل.

الصيغة التي يمكننا استخدامها لحساب الرسوم الرسمية ، FC = Nv - نليرة لبنانية -1/2 نبي بي

حيث نv هو عدد الإلكترونات في غلاف التكافؤ أو المدار الخارجي ، Nليرة لبنانية هو عدد الإلكترونات في الزوج الوحيد ، و Nبي بي  هو العدد الإجمالي للإلكترونات التي تشارك في تكوين الرابطة فقط.

في هيكل HClO2 lewis ، توجد ثلاثة بدائل مختلفة ، لذا علينا حساب الشحنة الرسمية للذرة الفردية.

الشحنة الرسمية لـ Cl هي ، 7-4- (6/2) = 0

الشحنة الرسمية لـ O هي ، 6-4- (4/2) = 0

الشحنة الرسمية لـ H هي ، 1-0- (2/2) = 0

لذلك ، من حساب الشحنة الرسمية لهيكل HClO2 lewis ، من الواضح أن الجزيء محايد ولا تظهر أي شحنة عليه أو أن الشحنة معادلة تمامًا.

7. زاوية هيكل لويس HClO2

بسبب تنافر الزوج الوحيد ، تنخفض زاوية الرابطة عن القيمة المتوقعة في هيكل HClO2 lewis. إذا كان هناك أي عامل انحراف ، فإن زاوية الرابطة تنحرف دائمًا عن التوجيه الصحيح للذرات في الجزيء.

زاوية رابطة HClO2

الهندسة حول مركز Cl في هيكل لويس HClO2 هو رباعي السطوح مع اثنين من أزواج منفردة. لذا ، فإن المتوقع يجب أن تكون زاوية الرابطة 109.50 وفقًا لنظرية VSEPR. ولكن هنا إذا كانت زاوية رابطة O-Cl-O تتبنى 1090 ثم يجب أن يكون هناك تنافر هائل بين الرابطة المزدوجة والأزواج المنفردة.

نحن نعلم أن الأزواج الفردية والروابط المزدوجة تتطلب مساحة أكبر. لذلك ، لن يكون الجزيء موجودًا في شكله المستقر. لذلك ، لتجنب مثل هذا النوع من التنافر ، تنخفض زاوية رابطة O-Cl-O من قيمتها الأصلية وهي يجب أن بالقرب من 1040. في الواقع ، إنه يتخذ شكلًا من النوع المنحني ، وبالتالي تقل زاوية الرابطة من أجل التوجيه الصحيح لأزواج السندات وكذلك الأزواج المنفردة.

مرة أخرى ، لوحظ أيضًا زاوية رابطة أخرى Cl-OH في هيكل HClO2 لويس. زاوية الرابطة هذه تقريبًا 1040 لأن الهيكل يشبه جزيء الماء على شكل حرف v. في الواقع ، الهندسة حول O هي رباعي السطوح بزوجين منفردان ، لكن التنافر هنا أقل مما كان عليه في الحالة السابقة لأنها رابطة Cl-O الأحادية موجودة ودائمًا ما تكون مسافة الرابطة للسند الواحد أكبر من الرابطة المزدوجة.

إذن ، تنافر الأزواج المنفردة هنا أقل وزاوية الرابطة تقريبًا 1040 مثل جزيء الماء، لأنه يتخذ نفس شكل الماء.

8. صدى هيكل لويس HClO2

القاعدة المترافقة لهيكل HClO2 lewis أكثر استقرارًا في الرنين من جزيء الحمض. في أيون الكلور (ClO2-) بسبب الشحنة السالبة ، يمكن فصل سحب الإلكترون بين أشكال الهيكل العظمي المختلفة عن طريق الرنين.

هياكل الرنين HClO2

جميع الهياكل الثلاثة هي أشكال رنين مختلفة للقاعدة المترافقة لهيكل HClO2 lewis. من بين الهياكل الثلاثة ، يوجد هيكل الرنين الأكثر مساهمة لأنه أكثر استقرارًا بسبب الرابطة التساهمية أكثرs والشحنة السالبة موجودة على ذرة Cl الكهروضوئية.

بعد هذا الهيكل ، يأتي الثاني ، لأنه يحتوي على عدد أقل من الروابط التساهمية من الهيكل الأول ولكن عددًا أكبر من الهيكل الأول. الهيكل الأول أقل مساهمة أو أقل استقرارًا لأنه يحتوي على عدد أقل من الروابط التساهمية وشحنة موجبة فوق ذرة الكلور الكهربية التي تعد عامل زعزعة الاستقرار.

الاستقرار الكلي للقاعدة المقترنة لهيكل HClO2 لويس هو III> II> I.

9. تهجين HClO2

تختلف طاقة مدار Cl و O وليس من السهل تكوين رابطة تساهمية ، لذلك يخضعون للتهجين عن طريق الخلط المداري لإنتاج مدار هجين من مدار مكافئ وتشكيل رابطة تساهمية مستقرة. الوسط Cl هو sp3 مهجن هنا.

استخدمنا الصيغة للتنبؤ بتهجين بنية HClO2 lewis ،

H = 0.5 (V + M-C + A) أين H = قيمة التهجين ، V هو عدد إلكترونات التكافؤ في الذرة المركزية ، M = الذرات أحادية التكافؤ المحاطة ، C = لا. الكاتيون ، أ = لا. من الأنيون.

في هيكل HClO2 lewis ، تكون ذرة Cl المركزية ، ½ (6 + 2) = 4 (sp3)

الهيكلية    قيمة التهجين  حالة تهجين الذرة المركزية    زاوية السندات
خطي           2          sp / sd / pd            1800
مخطط ثلاثي الزوايا    3sp2                 1200
رباعي السطوح      4sd3/ س3            109.50
ثلاثي الزوايا ثنائي الهرمية 5sp3د / دسب3          900 (محوري) ، 1200(استوائي)
ثماني السطوح            6sp3d2/ د2sp3          900
خماسي ثنائي الهرمي  7sp3d3/d3sp3            900، 720

           

من جدول التهجين يمكننا القول أنه إذا كانت قيمة التهجين لأي ذرة مركزية هي 4 ثم ينبغي أن يكون س3 مهجن.

دعونا تحت تهجين Cl المركزية في هيكل HClO2 لويس.

تهجين HClO2

من مخطط مربع HClO2 هيكل لويس، يمكننا القول أن زوجين من الأزواج المنفردة فوق Cl يمثلان أيضًا مدارًا هجينًا ولا يمكننا اعتبار الرابطة π في التهجين. واحد s وثلاثة مدارات p متضمنة هنا.

10. الذوبان HClO2

HClO2 قابل للذوبان في ،

  • Water
  • البنزين
  • رابع كلوريد الكربون

11. هل HClO2 قابل للذوبان في الماء؟

HClO2 هو جزء أيوني وقطبي ، لذلك فهو قابل للذوبان في الماء.

12. هل HClO2 إلكتروليت؟

نعم ، HClO2 هو إلكتروليت في محلول مائي.

13. هل HClO2 إلكتروليت قوي؟

نعم ، ينتج التحليل الكهربائي أيونات H + قوية ، لذلك فهو إلكتروليت قوي.

14. هل HClO2 حمضي أم أساسي؟

بسبب وجود البروتون الحمضي حمض الهيدروكلوريك HClO2 حمضي.

15. هل HClO2 حمض قوي؟

HClO2 هو حمض قوي بسبب وجود ذرات Cl و O كهربية قوية.

16. هل حمض الهيدروكلوريك متعدد البروتينات؟

لا ، HClO2 هو حمض أحادي البروتين.

17. هل HClO2 حمض لويس؟

لا ، لا يوجد موقع شاغر موجود في HClO2.

18. هل HClO2 حمض أرهينيوس؟

يطلق HClO2 HClOXNUMX+ أيون في وسط مائي ، لذلك فهو حمض أرهينيوس.

19. هل HClO2 قطبي أم غير قطبي؟

نعم ، HClO2 هو جزيء قطبي بسبب هيكله غير المتماثل وله عزم ثنائي القطب ناتج.

20. هل HClO2 خطي؟

لا ، HClO2 منحني الشكل.

21. هل HClO2 مغناطيسي أم مغناطيسي؟

بسبب عدم وجود أي إلكترونات غير متزاوجة ، فإن HClO2 هو ثنائي مغناطيسي.

22. نقطة غليان HClO2

درجة غليان HClO2 عالية بسبب كسر الرابطة المزدوجة.

23. هل HClO2 أيوني أم تساهمي؟

HClO2 هو جزيء تساهمي.

24. هل HClO2 رابطة هيدروجينية؟

لا ، في HClO2 لا يوجد ارتباط H.

25. هل HClO2 ثنائي أو oxoacid

نعم ، HClO2 هو حمض أوكسيد ثنائي للهالوجين.

في الختام

HClO2 هو حمض قوي لأن قاعدته المقترنة أكثر استقرارًا. الحمض أقل قوة من HClO3 ، بسبب العدد الأقل من ذرات O.

بيسواروب شاندرا داي

مرحبًا ...... أنا بيسواروب شاندرا داي ، لقد أكملت الماجستير في الكيمياء. تخصصي هو الكيمياء غير العضوية. الكيمياء لا تدور حول القراءة سطراً بسطر والحفظ ، إنه مفهوم يجب فهمه بطريقة سهلة وهنا أشارككم مفهوم الكيمياء الذي أتعلمه لأن المعرفة تستحق مشاركتها.

آخر المقالات

HClO2 Lewis Structure, Characteristics: 25 Complete Quick Facts


This article contains only the HClO2 lewis structure and its 31st important facts in detail. Let’s start the article by drawing the HClO2 lewis structure.

Chlorus acid or HClO2 lewis structure consists of oxoacid of halogen Cl. The central Cl atom is sp3 hybridized in this acid. There is one dπ-pπ bond present between Cl and O. It is less acidic than HClO3 due to a shortage of one O atom. It is a binary compound. The oxidation state of central Cl in the HClO2 lewis structure is +3.

Due to the moderate oxidation state HClO2 can acts as an oxidizing or reducing agent, but it acts as an oxidizing agent in many redox reactions. The molecular geometry is tetrahedral around central Cl, due to the presence of two pairs of lone pairs and three bond pairs and one of them is a π bond.

Some facts about HClO2

The conjugate base of HClO2 is ClO2, which name is chlorite and the suffix is end with “ous” instead of “ite”. Based on the conjugate base, the acid gets its name. based on the stability of the conjugate base the acid is also decided by its acidity and how strong is. The oxidation state of cl is intermediate value in this acid so it is prone to disproportionation reaction and disproportionated to hypochlorous (+1) and chloric acid (+5).

2 HClO2 → HClO + HClO3

 III                    I           IV

The molar mass of HClO2 is 68.46 g/mol. The pka value of chlorous acid is 1.96, so it is less acidic than HClO3.

The method of preparation of HClO2 is, by reaction of barium or lead chlorite with diluted sulfuric acid.

Ba(ClO2)2 + H2SO4 → BaSO4 + 2 HClO2

Pb(ClO2)2 + H2SO4 → PbSO4 + 2 HClO2

Only Cl is a halogen that can form an isolable acid formula like HXO2, neither bromous acid nor iodous acid can ever be isolated.

1.    How to draw the HClO2 lewis structure?

For every covalent molecule, it is very important to draw its lewis structure. So, we try to draw the HClO2 lewis structure by following some protocols. This HClO2 lewis structure helps us to find different covalent characters.

HClO2 lewis structure
HClO2 Lewis Structure

In the process of drawing the HClO2 lewis structure, we should find the valence electrons for an entire molecule. We calculate the valence electrons for individual atoms present in the HClO2 lewis structure separately and added them together. Cl is a group VIIA element so it has seven valence electrons in its valence orbital, O is a VIA element so it has six electrons and H has only one electron.

So total valence electrons for HClO2 lewis structure are, 7+(6*2)+1 =20 electrons.

Now we have to choose the central atom for the HClO2 lewis structure. Cl is larger among all the molecules in the HClO2 lewis structure, so we choose Cl as the central atom for the HClO2 lewis structure. Two O and H are attached to the central atom with a suitable number of bonds.

In the HClO2 lewis structure, all the atoms should follow the octet rule. So according to the octet rule, the electrons required for every atom are 2+(3*8) = 26 electrons. But the valence electrons previously calculated for the HClO2 lewis structure are 20 electrons. So, the shortage of electrons are 26-20 = 6 electrons.

That shortage of six electrons will be accumulated by the 6/2 = 3 bonds. So, in the HClO2 lewis structure, there will be a required minimum of 3 bonds. We added all the atoms with the central atom by the required number of bonds.

Two O atoms are added with Cl by two single bonds and h will be attached to one O via a single bond. Being an acid molecule HClO2 should contain one -OH group, so H atoms are attached to the O site, not the Cl.

After adding a suitable number of single bonds, we added multiple bonds if required. To justify the valency of Cl and O we added one more bond between Cl and O. which is a double-bond character and it is a dπ-pπ back bonding also.

Now add the lone pairs over the respective atoms. Two O contains two pairs of lone pairs each and Cl also contains two pairs of lone pairs that are involved in the hybridization.

2.      HClO2 lewis structure shape

The shape of the HClO2 lewis structure is responsible for the lone pairs over the central Cl atoms and also surrounding two O atoms. Due to the lone pair-bond pairs repulsion, the shape somewhat deviates from the actual tetrahedral shape.

HClO2 Shape

The geometry of the HClO2 lewis structure is tetrahedral along with two lone pairs over the central Cl atom. But the electron geometry of the molecule is angular. Actually, without the lone pairs over the Cl atoms, the shape of the HClO2 lewis structure is bent or angular.

A molecule of type AX2  will be linear in shape according to the VSEPR (Valence Shell Electrons Pair ) theory. But if there are lone pairs present over the central atom then its geometry or shape will be changed and deviated from ideal geometry.

Again, from electron count for outer orbital for surrounding atoms as well as central atom and is equal to 8 then its shape will be tetrahedral. So, if we consider the lone pairs over the central Cl atom in the HClO2 lewis structure then the electron counts are 8 and it adopts tetrahedral geometry along with two pairs of lone pairs.

But without lone pairs, the shape cannot be linear for the HClO2 lewis structure due to electron density repulsion for O and Cl atoms.

3.    HClO2 valence electrons

The total valence electrons for the HClO2 lewis structure are the summation of individual valence electrons for every atom present in the molecule. We individually calculate the valence electrons for every atom and then add them together for the HClO2 lewis structure.

The central atom in the HClO2 lewis structure is Cl which is group 17th element in the periodic table, so it has seven valence electrons in the valence orbital. Those seven electrons are involved in the bond formation or lone pairs, so we count seven electrons for Cl as its valence electrons.

2nd important atom in the HClO2 lewis structure is O, which is group 16th element in the periodic table and it also belongs to group VIA. So, it has six valence electrons. Those six electrons are involved in the bond formation and lone pairs in the HClO2 lewis structure, so we consider six electrons for O as its valence electrons.

The remaining H atom has one valence electron in its orbital.

So, the total valence electrons in the HClO2 lewis structure are, 7+(6*2)+1 = 20 electrons.

4.    HClO2 lewis structure lone pairs

The lone pairs are available for those atoms which have many electrons from the bond pair in the valence shell or orbital. Only O and Cl atoms have lone pairs in the HClO2 lewis structure.

In the HClO2 lewis structure, CL has seven valence electrons in its valence shell, but not all the electrons are involved in the bond formation or donation, so the remaining electrons which are not involved in the bond formation exist as lone pairs.

 Cl used only three electrons for bond formation with two O atoms, two single bonds, and one double bond. So, the rest of the four electrons which are present in the valence shell of Cl in the HClO2 lewis structure exist as two pairs of lone pairs over the Cl atom.

Now come in O atoms, O has six valence electrons as it is a VIA element, and both O makes two bonds in the HClO2 lewis structure. One O atom makes one sigma and one π bond with Cl and the other O makes one single bond with Cl and one sigma bond with the H atom.

So basically, two O atoms used two valence electrons in the bond formation, and the rest of the four electrons which are not involved in the bond formation but in contribute octet exists as two pairs of lone pairs over each O atom in the HClO2 lewis structure.

H has no opportunity like that so it is a lack of lone pair.

5.    HClO2 lewis structure octet rule

All the atoms in the periodic table after bond formation try to complete their octet and try to gain the nearest noble gas configuration for a stable state especially s and p block elements always follow the octet rule and in the HClO2 lewis structure, all the atoms are from s and p block so they have to follow the octet rule.

The electronic configuration of Cl is [Ne]3s23p4, it is a group  17th element. Cl belongs to the halogen family and group VIIA. From the electronic configuration of the central Cl atom, we can say that it has seven valence electrons which are present in 3s and 3p orbitals respectively. According to the octet rule, p block element should fulfill the valence shell by eight electrons, so it needs one more electron to complete its octet.

There are five electrons in the 3p orbital of the Cl atom, and the maximum number of electrons accumulated by the p orbital is six, now it forms two single bonds with two O atoms shared with two electrons. Now it has six electrons in its 3p orbital undergoing hybridization. So, Cl fulfills its octet by forming bonds with O undergoing hybridization.

Now for O, the electronic configuration is, [He]2s22p4. O is group 16th element and VIA element. So, it has six valence electrons, where two electrons are in the 2s orbital and four electrons in the 2p orbital. O is also a p block element, so it should follow the octet rule by completing its 2p orbital by six electrons.

Now O forms two bonds one with Cl and one with H, or a double bond with Cl atoms. In these two bonds, O shares its two electrons and the other two electrons come from Cl or H site. So, after sharing in bond formation, O completes its octet by fulfilling its 2p orbital by six electrons and two electrons are already in the 2s orbital.

H is s block element having one electron in its orbital. For the s block element to complete the octet rule, it needs two electrons in the s orbital because the s orbital can accumulate a maximum of two electrons only as it has one subshell. So, H makes a bond with O to share one of its electrons and the other from the O site to complete its octet.

6.    HClO2 lewis structure formal charge

The oxidation state of Cl in the HClO2 lewis structure is +3 but we cannot predict that the molecule is charged or neutral. So, we have to calculate the formal charge for the molecule by considering the same electronegativity for each and every substituent.

The formula we can use to calculate the formal charge, F.C. = Nv – Nl.p. -1/2 Nb.p.

Where Nv is the number of electrons in the valence shell or outermost orbital, Nl.p is the number of electrons in the lone pair, and Nb.p  is the total number of electrons that are involved in the bond formation only.

In the HClO2 lewis structure, there are three different substituents are present so, we have to calculate the formal charge for an individual atom.

The formal charge of Cl is, 7-4-(6/2) = 0

The formal charge of O is, 6-4-(4/2) = 0

The formal charge of H is, 1-0-(2/2) = 0

So, from the calculation of the formal charge of HClO2 lewis structure, it is evident that the molecule is neutral and no charge appears on it or the charge is neutralized fully.

7.    HClO2 lewis structure angle

Due to lone pair-bond pair repulsion, the bond angle decreases from the expected value in the HClO2 lewis structure. If there is any deviation factor present then the bond angle always deviates for proper orientation of the atoms in the molecule.

HClO2 Bond Angle

The geometry around the central Cl in the HClO2 lewis structure is tetrahedral along with two pairs of lone pairs. So, the expected bond angle should be 109.50 according to the VSEPR theory. But here if the O-Cl-O bond angle adopts to 1090 then there should be massive repulsion between the double bond and lone pairs.

We Know lone pairs and double bonds required more space.  So, the molecule will no longer exist in its stable form. So, avoiding such type of repulsion, the O-Cl-O bond angle decreases from its original value and it should nearby 1040. Actually, it adopts a bent type shape, so the bond angle decreases for proper orientation of bond pairs as well as lone pairs.

Again, another bond angle Cl-O-H is also observed in the HClO2 lewis structure. This bond angle is nearly 1040 because the structure is like a water molecule v-shaped. Actually, the geometry around the O is tetrahedral with two lone pairs, but here repulsion is less than in the previous case because her Cl-O single bond is present and the bond distance of a single bond is always greater than a double bond.

So, here repulsion of lone pairs is less and the bond angle is nearly 1040 like a water molecule, as it adopts the same shape as water.

8.    HClO2 lewis structure resonance

The conjugate base of the HClO2 lewis structure is more resonance stabilized than the acid molecule. In the Chlorus ion (ClO2) due to the negative charge, the electron clouds can be delocalized between different skeleton forms via resonance.

HClO2 Resonating Structures

All three structures are different resonating forms of the conjugate base of the HClO2 lewis structure. Among three structures III is the more contributing structure of resonance as it is more stable due to more covalent bonds and the negative charge is present over electronegative atom Cl.

After that structure, II comes, as it contains a lesser number of covalent bonds than structure I but more number than structure I. The structure I is less contributing or less stable as it contains a lesser number of covalent bonds and a positive charge over the electronegative Cl atom which is a destabilization factor.

The overall stability of the conjugate base of the HClO2 lewis structure is III>II>I.

9.    HClO2 hybridization

The energy of orbital of Cl and O are different and it is not easy to form a covalent bond, so they undergo hybridization by mixing orbital to produce a hybrid orbital of equivalent orbital and form a stable covalent bond. The central Cl is sp3 hybridized here.

We used the formula to predict the hybridization of the HClO2 lewis structure is,

H = 0.5(V+M-C+A), where H= hybridization value, V is the number of valence electrons in the central atom, M = monovalent atoms surrounded, C=no. of cation, A=no. of the anion.

In the HClO2 lewis structure, the central Cl atom is, ½(6+2) = 4 (sp3)

Structure    Hybridization value  State of hybridization of central atom    Bond angle
Linear           2          sp /sd / pd            1800
Planner trigonal    3sp2                 1200
Tetrahedral      4sd3/ sp3            109.50
Trigonal bipyramidal 5sp3d/dsp3          900 (axial), 1200(equatorial)
Octahedral            6sp3d2/ d2sp3          900
Pentagonal bipyramidal  7sp3d3/d3sp3            900,720

           

From the hybridization table we can say that if the hybridization value for any central atom is 4 then it should be sp3 hybridized.

Let us under the hybridization of central Cl in the HClO2 lewis structure.

HClO2 Hybridization

From the box diagram of the HClO2 lewis structure, we can say that two pairs of lone pairs over Cl also present a hybrid orbital and we cannot consider the π bond in the hybridization. One s and three p orbitals are involved here.

10. HClO2 solubility

HClO2 soluble in,

  • Water
  • Benzene
  • Carbon tetrachloride

11. Is HClO2 soluble in water?

HClO2 is partial ionic and polar, so it is soluble in water.

12. Is HClO2 an electrolyte?

Yes, HClO2 is an electrolyte in an aqueous solution.

13. Is HClO2 a strong electrolyte?

Yes, electrolysis produces strong H+ ions, so it is a strong electrolyte.

14. Is HClO2 acidic or basic?

Due to the presence of acidic proton HClO2 is acidic.

15. Is HClO2 a strong acid?

HClO2 is a strong acid due to the presence of strong electronegative Cl and O atoms.

16. Is HClO2 polyprotic acid?

No, HClO2 is a monoprotic acid.

17. Is HClO2 a lewis acid?

No, there is no vacant site is present in HClO2.

18. Is HClO2 an Arrhenius acid?

HClO2 releases H+ ion in an aqueous medium, so it is an Arrhenius acid.

19. Is HClO2 polar or nonpolar?

Yes, HClO2 is a polar molecule due to its asymmetric structure and having a resultant dipole moment.

20. Is HClO2 linear?

No, HClO2 is bent-shaped.

21. Is HClO2 paramagnetic or diamagnetic?

Due to the absence of any unpaired electrons, HClO2 is diamagnetic.

22. HClO2 boiling point

The boiling point of HClO2 is high due to the breaking of a double bond.

23. Is HClO2 ionic or covalent?

HClO2 is a covalent molecule.

24. Is HClO2 hydrogen bonding?

No, in the HClO2 there is no H bonding present.

25. Is HClO2 binary or oxoacid

Yes, HClO2 is a binary oxoacid of halogen.

Conclusion

HClO2 is a strong acid as its conjugate base is more stable. The acid is less strong than HClO3, due to the lesser number of O atoms.

Biswarup Chandra Dey

Hi......I am Biswarup Chandra Dey, I have completed my Master's in Chemistry. My area of specialization is Inorganic Chemistry. Chemistry is not all about reading line by line and memorizing, it is a concept to understand in an easy way and here I am sharing with you the concept about chemistry which I learn because knowledge is worth to share it.

Recent Posts