قياس الضغط: 31 حقائق يجب أن تعرفها


وصف المنتج

تعريف مقياس الضغط

يمكن تعريف الضغط المقياس على أنه الضغط المرتبط بالضغط الجوي. بالنسبة للضغوط التي تكون أعلى من الضغط الجوي ، يتم أخذ مقياس الضغط ليكون موجبًا بينما بالنسبة للضغوط التي تقل عن الضغط الجوي ، يتم ملاحظة أن قياس الضغط يكون سالبًا. يشار إلى الضغط المقياس ليكون صفرًا عند الضغط الجوي.

على سبيل المثال ، أثناء ملء الهواء في إطار مفرغ من الهواء ، يتم ملء الهواء داخل الإطار من حيث قياس الضغط ويلاحظ أن الضغط الجوي يساوي صفرًا. هذا لأن مقاييس الإطارات مصممة للعمل عند ضغط جوي يساوي 0.

ما العلاقة بين مقياس الضغط والضغط الحقيقي؟

يمكن صياغة قياس الضغط على أنه الفرق بين الضغط المطلق والغلاف الجوي

Pabs = Pg + Patm

حيث يُشار إلى الضغط المطلق على أنه Pabs ، والضغط الجوي مثل Patm وقياس الضغط مثل Pg

إذا لوحظ أن قراءة مقياس الإطارات تبلغ 36 رطل لكل بوصة مربعة (رطل لكل بوصة مربعة) ، فسيكون الضغط المطلق مجموع الضغط الجوي (وهو ثابت ، أي 14.7 رطل لكل بوصة مربعة) وقياس الضغط

أي Pabs = Pg + Patm

              = 36 رطل لكل بوصة مربعة + 14.7 رطل لكل بوصة مربعة

              = 50.7 رطل

ما هو مقياس ضغط الهواء المحاصر؟

 يمكن قياس ضغط الهواء المحبوس في وعاء أو أنبوب باستخدام مقياس ضغط. مقياس الضغط هو أنبوب على شكل حرف U مملوء بالزئبق في الغالب كسائل لقياس الضغط. يستخدم الفرق في ارتفاع السائل (أي الزئبق) لقياس ضغط المقياس.

على سبيل المثال ، يمكن قياس ضغط المقياس باستخدام أنبوب U مع أحد طرفيه مكشوف للغلاف الجوي وبالون متصل بالطرف الآخر. الضغط المطلق أكبر من الضغط الجوي بمقدار hρg الذي يعتبر الضغط المقياس.

ما هو مقياس الضغط عند السطح البيني للزئبق المائي؟

لا يتأثر السطح البيني للزئبق المائي بالضغط الجوي. معادلة حساب قياس الضغط عند السطح البيني للزئبق المائي هي

Pg  = hρg

حيث h هو الارتفاع المزاح ، ρ هي كثافة الزئبق و g تسارع بسبب الجاذبية

ما هو مقياس الضغط؟

مقياس الضغط هو أداة تستخدم لقياس الضغط الذي يمارسه مائع يمكن أن يكون سائلًا أو غازًا ، لكل وحدة مساحة والتي يتم التعبير عنها من حيث نيوتن لكل متر مربع أو رطل لكل بوصة مربعة.

قياس الضغط
قياس الضغط

إسناد الصورة "صمام منظم ومقياس ضغط" by كامبريدج بايويذر مرخص تحت CC BY-SA 2.0

ما هو السائل في مقياس الضغط؟

غالبًا ما يستخدم الجلسرين السائل في مقاييس الضغط نظرًا لخصائصه الممتازة في ترطيب الاهتزازات في درجات حرارة الغرفة. عادة ما تعمل في نطاق درجة حرارة بين -200 ج و +600ج- هناك سوائل أخرى تستخدم كسوائل في مقاييس الضغط حسب التطبيق ، ولكن السائل الواعد هو الجلسرين.

مبدأ العمل لمقياس الضغط

تعمل مقاييس الضغط باستخدام مبدأ قانون الخطاف الذي ينص على أن القوة المطلوبة لضغط أو تمديد الزنبرك تعتمد على المسافة ، أي ، F = kx ، حيث k هو ثابت الزنبرك ، x ، المسافة التي يتم فيها ضغط الزنبرك أو توسيعه ، و F هو التطبيق القسري.

عند الضغط على جسم ما ، توجد قوة ضغط داخلية وقوة ضغط خارجية. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن الضغط الذي يمارس في أنبوب بوردون سيكون أكثر في السطح الداخلي بسبب مساحة السطح الأصغر مقارنة بالسطح الخارجي

ما هي معايرة مقياس الضغط؟

معايرة مقياس الضغط هي مقارنة قيم الوحدة التي يتم اختبارها بالقيم التي يتم قياسها من جهاز معاير بدقة. عادة ما يستخدم مقياس الضغط لمعايرة وضبط آلات تدفق السوائل. ستكون آلات تدفق السوائل غير موثوقة إذا لم تتم معايرتها باستخدام مقياس ضغط. يتم معايرة أجهزة قياس الضغط وفقًا للمعايير الوطنية (NMISA).

ما هو مقياس ضغط أنبوب بوردون؟

تستخدم هذه الأنواع من مقاييس الضغط لقياس الضغط النسبي في حدود 0.6 إلى 7000 بار. هم ينتمون إلى فئة مدفوعة ميكانيكيا قياس الضغط الأجهزة لأنها لا تتطلب طاقة كهربائية لتشغيلها.

قياس الضغط
مقياس ضغط أنبوب بوردون

إسناد الصورة "ملف: Rohrfeder colorida.jpg" by DStaiger مرخص تحت CC BY-SA 3.0

مبدأ العمل لمقياس الضغط

يحتوي مقياس ضغط أنبوب بوردون على منطقة مقطعية بيضاوية الشكل مع أنابيب معبأة بشكل شعاعي. يخلق الضغط الذي يمارسه مصدر القياس حركة على الطرف الآخر من الأنبوب غير مثبت. تعتبر هذه الحركة التي يتم إنشاؤها على الطرف الآخر من الأنبوب بمثابة الضغط الذي يتم قياسه. يمكن استخدام أنبوب بوردون على شكل حرف C لقياس ضغوط تصل إلى 60 بار. أنبوب بوردون معبأ بملفات ذات قطر زاوي دقيق ، أي أنابيب حلزونية تستخدم لقياس الضغوط العالية التي تتجاوز 60 بار.

يتم تصنيع مقاييس ضغط أنبوب بوردون وفقًا لمعيار EN 837-1. توجد مقاييس ضغط أنبوبية بوردون مملوءة بالسائل ، وتستخدم هذه الأنواع من المقاييس للتطبيقات الهامة حيث يجب أن تكون القراءات دقيقة ودقيقة.

ما هو مقياس ضغط الزيت؟

يمكن تصنيف مقاييس ضغط الزيت إلى مقاييس ميكانيكية ومقاييس كهربائية

مقياس الضغط الميكانيكي

يقيس هذا المقياس ضغط الزيت في نهاية الأنبوب الذي يربط المضخة بالفلتر. لقياس الضغط ، يتم ضغط أنبوب سحب الزيت على كتلة المحرك. تشير حركة الإبرة في القرص إلى الضغط المقاس.

الشكل 4. مقياس الزيت الميكانيكي (الاعتمادات التعلم التجويف).

مبدأ العمل

من خلال النقر على كتلة المحرك ، يتم إرسال الزيت إلى المقياس باستخدام تجويف نحاسي أو بلاستيكي. يتم ترتيب الأنبوب بطريقة تجعله يتعرض لأدنى حد من التلف لمنع تسرب زيت المحرك. يتكون المقياس من أنبوب ملفوف يسمى المصباح. يتم توصيل الطرف المفتوح للمصباح بالغلاف الخارجي للمقياس.

الزيت الذي يتم تغذيته في أنبوب الإمداد يكون عند نفس الضغط تقريبًا كما هو الحال عندما يغادر الزيت المحرك. تحت هذا الضغط ، يحاول المصباح الحفاظ على موضعه ، وبذلك تتحرك الإبرة الموجودة في القرص وتشير إلى الضغط. كلما زاد الضغط ، زادت درجة حركة الإبرة.

مقياس الضغط الكهربائي

يقيس هذا المقياس ضغط الزيت في نهاية الأنبوب الذي يربط المضخة بالفلتر. لقياس الضغط ، ينقر مستشعر ملولب على كتلة المحرك. تشير حركة الإبرة في القرص إلى الضغط المقاس.

مبدأ العمل

يتم تشغيل هذا النوع من مقاييس الضغط بواسطة تيار كهربائي يتم توفيره من أحد الأسلاك الموجودة في لوحة القيادة. يمر التيار الذي يتم توفيره عبر السلك عبر ملف ملفوف بسلك في محور الإبرة. يتم إنتاج مجال مغناطيسي يجعل الإبرة تتحرك داخل القرص حسب الضغط المقاس.

يعتمد الامتداد الذي تتحرك إليه الإبرة أو القراءة التي تظهرها على التيار الذي يتدفق عبر المقياس. العامل المساهم هو المقاومة التي يوفرها سلك القياس المؤرض في كتلة المحرك باستخدام المستشعر. جميع المقاييس مضاءة لسهولة قراءة القياس في الليل.

ما هو مقياس الضغط التفاضلي Magnehelic؟

إنها أداة تستخدم لقياس الضغط وكذلك فروق الضغط. تم تصميم وتطوير مقياس الضغط هذا بواسطة Dwyer الذي وضع حاليًا معايير لمقاييس الضغط المستخدمة في الصناعات. يتم استخدامه بشكل أساسي لقياس الضغط الإيجابي والسلبي ، أي الفراغ.

مبدأ العمل

يتكون مقياس الضغط المغنطيسي من غشاء حساس لتغيرات الضغط. قرص مقياس الضغط يستجيب بناءً على الضغط المطبق. مطلوب الوضع المناسب للأداة للتشغيل السليم لمقياس الضغط هذا. يجب وضعه في المستوى الصحيح وفي وضع عمودي وإلا فإن الحجاب الحاجز سيعطي قراءات غير دقيقة لأنه سيتراجع.

ما هو أدق مقياس ضغط الإطارات؟

كانت الصناعات والمختبرات تستخدم مقاييس الإطارات القياسية لقياس الضغط منذ العصور. ولكن منذ اكتشاف الأدوات الرقمية أدى إلى استخدام مقاييس الضغط الرقمية التي توفر القراءة الأكثر دقة. من السهل تشغيل مقياس إطار رقمي ، أي تشغيل المقياس ووضعه على جذع الصمام للحصول على القراءة المقابلة.

ما هو مقياس الضغط المركب؟

يستخدم هذا النوع من مقاييس الضغط لقياس كل من الضغوط الإيجابية والسلبية في الفراغ. أمثلة قليلة حيث يتم استخدام مقياس الضغط المركب

  • لاختبار تسرب في خطوط الضغط ،
  • لقياس الضغط المنخفض ، و
  • لقياسات الضغط في غرفة الاختبار

إنه قادر على قياس الضغط الإيجابي والفراغ فقط للضغوط التي تقل عن 200 رطل / بوصة مربعة.

مبدأ العمل

يتكون مقياس الضغط المركب من مستشعر قادر على قياس ضغوط الفراغ الإيجابية والسلبية. يشار إلى المؤشر الصفري للأداة عند الضغط المحيط. يتكون المقياس من فتحة تهوية تسمح بتعويض التغيرات في الضغط الجوي.

ما هو مقياس الضغط الرقمي؟

هذه مقاييس ضغط يمكنها قياس الضغط من السائل وتوفير قراءة مباشرة لقياس الضغط على عكس مقاييس الضغط التناظرية التي تتطلب من المشغل قراءة موضع الإبرة يدويًا في القرص لقراءة الضغط المعنية.

ما هو كيلو باسكال على مقياس الضغط؟

كيلو باسكال (كيلو باسكال) هي وحدة قياس الضغط وهي ألف مرة باسكال وهي وحدة ضغط النظام الدولي للوحدات.

ما هو رطل في مقياس الضغط؟

Psi في مقياس الضغط هو رطل لكل بوصة مربعة وهي وحدة الضغط المقاس. إنه الضغط الذي تمارسه قوة رطل واحدة على مساحة بوصة واحدة مربعة

ما هو شريط مقياس الضغط؟

البار هو الوحدة المترية للضغط وليس الوحدة الدولية. البار يعادل 100,000 باسكال.

ما هو مقياس ضغط الإمداد المستخدم؟

يساعد مقياس ضغط الإمداد في تحديد كمية الهواء أو الماء أو الوقود في الخزان. عادة ما يتم تزويد مركبات الفرامل الهوائية بمقياس ضغط الإمداد لقياس كمية الهواء في الخزان. للمركبات ذات نظام فرامل الهواء المزدوج ، يوجد مقياس ضغط لكل نصف قسم من النظام

ما هو قياس ضغط المياه؟

يستخدم عمود الماء أحيانًا لقياس الضغط. الوحدة غير التابعة للنظام الدولي للوحدات لقياس الضغط هي بوصة من الماء ويمكن تعريفها على أنها الضغط الذي يمارسه عمود الماء الذي يبلغ ارتفاعه 1 بوصة في ظل الظروف القياسية.

ما هو تعليب ضغط مقياس الطلب؟

معلب الضغط عبارة عن وعاء مزود بغطاء به قرص أو مقياس مرجح ينظم البخار المتراكم بالداخل. يتم إطلاق البخار المتراكم داخل الوعاء عندما يتجاوز الضغط الحد الذي يمكن للسفينة التعامل معه. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن البخار المتراكم بالداخل يكون أكثر سخونة من الماء المغلي. توجد منظمات قياس الطلب في الأنواع القديمة من علب الضغط. يعرض الاتصال الهاتفي الضغط الدقيق المتراكم داخل المعلب.

ما هو مقياس الضغط المرجح تعليب؟

معلب الضغط عبارة عن وعاء مزود بغطاء به قرص أو مقياس مرجح ينظم البخار المتراكم بالداخل. يتم إطلاق البخار المتراكم داخل الوعاء عندما يتجاوز الضغط الحد الذي يمكن للسفينة التعامل معه. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن البخار المتراكم بالداخل يكون أكثر سخونة من الماء المغلي. تتكون منظمات المقاييس الموزونة من قطع تشبه الأقراص التي يجب وضعها على أنبوب التهوية مع اختيار الوزن المفضل ومثل المنظم المكون من قطعة واحدة ، فإن هذا المنظم يصدر صوتًا هزازًا.

ما هو مقياس ضغط الوقود؟

يستخدم هذا النوع من مقاييس الضغط كأداة تشخيصية لضمان الحفاظ على ضغط الوقود في المحرك وتشغيله بمستويات أداء جيدة. كما أنها تساعد على منع أي نوع من الضرر الذي قد يحدث بسبب الضغط المتراكم على مضخة الوقود أو على الحاقن

ما هو مقياس الضغط المنوع؟

يستخدم مقياس الضغط هذا لقياس الضغط المطلق لخليط الوقود والهواء الموجود في مشعب السحب. يتم استخدام الحجاب الحاجز في مقياس الضغط المتنوع لقياس الضغط المطلق. يتم الحصول على تكوين وإعدادات الطاقة الدقيقة لمحرك الطائرة باستخدام الضغط المتشعب.

ما هي قراءة مقياس ضغط الزيت العادي؟

يجب أن تكون قراءة مقياس ضغط الزيت العادي عند تشغيل المحرك بين 25 و 65 رطل / بوصة مربعة. عندما تكون قراءة مقياس الضغط أعلى من 80 رطل / بوصة مربعة ، فهناك مشكلة ارتفاع ضغط الزيت والتي يجب التعامل معها.

ما هو مقياس الضغط Photohelic؟

مقياس ضغط Photohelic هو مقياس ضغط Magnehelic مجهز بمفتاح للضبط بين ضغوط الغاز العالية والمنخفضة. إنه إصدار متقدم من مقياس الضغط Magnehelic الذي يساعد في توفير المال مع تقليل استخدام الهواء المضغوط ويوفر عمرًا أطول لمقياس الضغط.

ما هو مقياس الضغط؟

يتم تخفيف الضغط العالي المطلوب لقطع اتيرجيت باستخدام جهاز قياس الضغط. يتم إنشاء هذه التقلبات عالية الضغط عن طريق المضخات الترددية ويساعد التحكم في هذه التقلبات في إطالة عمر مقياس الضغط وتقليل وقت المعايرة. تُفضل هذه المقاييس على الصمام نظرًا لفتحتها الصغيرة التي تقلل من حالات الانسداد.

A يتكون جهاز قياس الضغط من وعاء ضغط بشعرية بها تجويف صغير. يتراكم الضغط في المقياس ويتم تخفيف الضغط المتراكم وبالتالي تقليل التقلبات. المقياس مزود بفلتر فولاذي عند مدخل الأنبوب الشعري لتجنب دخول الأوساخ إلى التجويف أو انسداده.

ما هو محول ضغط مقياس الضغط؟

يحول محول الطاقة هذا الضغط إلى إشارة كهربائية. المبدأ الكامن وراء عمل محول ضغط مقياس الضغط هو مقاومة الانضغاط ، أي التغيير في قيمة المقاومة فيما يتعلق بالتشوه المادي أو التغيرات التي تحدث للمادة عند ممارسة الضغط. يكون محول الطاقة هذا عند توصيله بجسر ويتستون يمكنه تحويل تغييرات صغيرة في المقاومة للإشارات الكهربائية المقابلة للضغط الذي يمارس.

ما هي فئة الدقة في مقياس الضغط؟

تساعد فئة الدقة في مقاييس الضغط في تحديد النسبة المئوية المسموح بها للخطأ. فئات الدقة لمقاييس الضغط هي 0.1 ، 0.25. 0.6 ، 1 ، 1.6 ، 2.5 و 4. المقاييس مع توقف المؤشر هي النطاق من 10 إلى 100٪.

ما هي حلقة الحربة في مقياس الضغط؟

تحتوي مقاييس الضغط على حلقات قابلة للإزالة تسمى حلقة الحربة. الحربة هي فجوة على السطح الخارجي للحلقة. عادةً ما تحتوي حلقة الحربة على ما يصل إلى خمسة مسافات بادئة. تساعد الحلقات في تثبيت الحشية والنافذة. يمكن العثور على القرص عند إزالة الحشية والنافذة. تُرى هذه الحلقة في الغالب في مقاييس الضغط حيث يجب على المشغل الوصول إلى المؤشر القابل للتعديل.

ما هو مقياس الضغط منفاخ؟

الأسطوانة ذات الجدران الرقيقة ذات التلافيف والمعدن كمواد بناء ، عبارة عن مقياس ضغط منخفض يتم إغلاقه في أحد طرفيه بينما يكون الطرف الآخر مفتوحًا ويمكنه التحرك. عند الضغط على الطرف المغلق ، سوف تنضغط المنفاخ وتتحرك لأعلى. سوف يتحرك القضيب الموجود بين المنفاخ ونظام النقل أيضًا لأعلى ويبدأ حركة المؤشر. يمكنهم توفير طول أطول للضربة وممارسة قوى أكبر. يتم تصنيع هذه المنفاخ باستخدام مواد مختلفة حسب التطبيق.

يمكن التعبير عن الانحراف الناتج على النحو التالي

ما هي الحماية من الانفجار في مقياس الضغط؟

في حالة الضغط العالي ، سيتم نفخ القرص بالكامل وتقسيمه إلى قطعة لتحرير ضغط التراكم. لحماية المقياس من الكسر أو من التفجير ، يتم توفير الحماية لمقياس الضغط. التصميم المستحسن لحماية مقياس الضغط من الضغط الزائد هو فصل الجزء الأمامي والخلفي من مقياس الضغط باستخدام جدار صلب. باستخدام مثل هذا التصميم ، لن يتأثر الجزء الأمامي على الرغم من أن الجزء الخلفي سوف ينفجر وبالتالي توفير الحماية لمقياس الضغط.

ما هو مقياس الضغط التفاضلي؟

يساعد مقياس الضغط التفاضلي في قياس الفروق في ضغطين تم قياسهما. تستخدم عادة لقياس مستويات الضغط في الخزانات المغلقة ، والضغط الزائد في الغرفة ، وللتحكم في محطات الضخ.

يقسم عنصر الضغط الغرفتين في مقياس ضغط تفاضلي. إذا كانت الضغوط في الغرفتين هي نفسها ، فلا فرق في عنصر الضغط. من ناحية أخرى ، إذا كان هناك اختلاف في الضغط بين الغرفتين ، فإن عنصر الضغط يزيح ، والحركة الميكانيكية تشير إلى قيمة فرق الضغط.

ما هو FSD في مقياس الضغط؟

يعني FSD في مقياس الضغط انحراف النطاق الكامل ودقة مقياس الضغط في النطاق الكامل.

لمزيد من المنشور عن الهندسة الميكانيكية ، يرجى اتباع هذا الصفحة .

فينا بارثان

أنا فينا بارثان ، أعمل كمهندسة تشغيل وصيانة للطاقة الشمسية في قطاع الطاقة الشمسية في المملكة المتحدة. لدي أكثر من 5 سنوات خبرة في مجال الطاقة والمرافق. لقد أكملت البكالوريوس في الهندسة الكيميائية والماجستير في الهندسة الحرارية. لدي اهتمام عميق بالطاقة المتجددة وتحسينها. لقد قمت بنشر مقال في وقائع مؤتمر AIP الذي يعتمد على Cummins Genset وتحسين التدفق. خلال ساعات فراغي ، أشارك في الكتابة الفنية المستقلة وأود أن أقدم خبرتي على منصة LambdaGeeks. بصرف النظر عن ذلك ، أقضي ساعات فراغي في القراءة والمشاركة في بعض الأنشطة الرياضية ومحاولة التطور إلى شخص أفضل. نتطلع إلى توصيلك عبر LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/veena-parthan-07981790/

آخر المقالات

Gauge Pressure | Its Important Properties with 30 FAQs

Content

Definition of Gauge Pressure

Gauge Pressure can be defined as the pressure that is relative to the atmospheric pressure.  For pressures that are above atmospheric pressure, gauge pressure is taken to be positive while for pressures below atmospheric pressure, gauge pressure is noted to be negative. Gauge pressure is referenced to be zero at atmospheric pressure.

For example, while filling air in a flat tyre, the air is inside the tyre is filled in terms of gauge pressure and the atmospheric pressure is observed to be zero. This is because the tire gauges are designed to operate at 0 atmospheric pressure.

What is the relationship between Gauge pressure and True pressure?

Gauge Pressure can be formulated as the difference between absolute pressure and atmospheric

Pabs = Pg + Patm

where Absolute Pressure is denoted as Pabs, Atmospheric pressure as Patm and Gauge pressure as Pg

If the tire gauge reading is observed to be 36 psi (pounds per square inch), then the Absolute Pressure will be sum of the atmospheric pressure (which is a constant, i.e., 14.7 psi) and gauge pressure reading

i.e.  Pabs = Pg + Patm

              = 36 psi + 14.7 psi

              = 50.7 psi

What is the gauge pressure of the trapped air?

 The gauge pressure of air trapped in a vessel or a tube can be measured using a manometer. A manometer is a U- shaped tube often filled with mercury as a fluid to measure pressure. The difference in the height of fluid (i.e., mercury) is used for measuring the gauge pressure.

For example, the gauge pressure can be measured using a U- tube with one end exposed to the atmosphere and a balloon connected to the other end. The absolute pressure is greater than the atmospheric pressure by an amount hρg which is taken to be the gauge pressure.

What is the gauge pressure at the water mercury interface?

The water mercury interface is not affected by the atmospheric pressure. The equation for calculating gauge pressure at the water mercury interface is

Pg  = hρg

Where h is the height displaced, ρ is the density of mercury and g is acceleration due to gravity

What is Pressure Gauge?

Pressure Gauge is a tool used for measuring the pressure exerted by a fluid which can be liquid or gas, per unit area which is expressed in terms of Newton per square meter or pounds per square inch.

gauge pressure
Pressure Gauge

Image Attribution “Regulator valve & pressure gauge” by cambridgebayweather is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

What is the liquid in pressure gauge?

Liquid Glycerine is often used in pressure gauges due to its excellent vibration dampening properties at room temperatures. They usually operate in the temperature range between -200 C and + 600C.  There are other fluids which are used as liquids in pressure gauges depending on the application, but the most promising liquid is glycerine.

Working principle of Pressure Gauge

Pressure gauges work using principle of Hook’s law which states that the force required to compress or expand a spring depends on the distance i.e., F = kx, where k is the spring constant, x, the distance to which the spring is compressed or expanded, and F is the forced applied.

When pressure is applied on an object, there exists an inner pressure force and an external pressure force. Further, the pressure exerted in a Bourdon tube will be more in the inner surface due to the smaller surface area compared to the outer surface

What is Pressure Gauge calibration?

Pressure Gauge calibration is the comparison of values of the unit that is being tested to the values that are measured from an accurately calibrated device. The pressure gauge is usually used for calibrating and tuning fluid flow machines. The fluid flow machines would be unreliable if not calibrated using a pressure gauge. Pressure gauges are calibrated according to the National Standards (NMISA).

What is Bourdon Tube Pressure Gauge?

These types of pressure gauges are used for measuring relative pressure in the range of 0.6 to 7000 bar. They belong to the category of mechanically driven pressure measurement devices as they do not require electrical energy to power.

gauge pressure
Bourdon Tube Pressure Gauge

Image Attribution “File:Rohrfeder colorida.jpg” by DStaiger is licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0

Working Principle of Pressure Gauge

The Bourdon Tube Pressure Gauge has an oval-shaped cross-sectional area with tubes that radially packed. The pressure exerted by the measuring source creates a motion on the other end of the tube which is not clamped. This motion that is created on the other end of the tube is taken to be the pressure which is measured. A C- shaped Bourdon tube can be used for measuring pressures up to 60 bar. Bourdon tube packed with windings of exact angular diameter i.e., helical tubes are used for measuring high pressures that exceed 60 bar.

Bourdon tube pressure gauges are manufactured according to set standard of EN 837-1. There are Bourdon tube pressure gauges which are filled liquid, these types of gauges are used for critical applications where the readings to need to be accurate and precise.

What is Oil Pressure Gauge?

Oil pressure Gauges can be categorised into mechanical gauges and electrical gauges

Mechanical Pressure Gauge

This gauge measures the pressure of oil at the end of pipe connecting the pump and the filter. To measure the pressure, an oil take-off pipe taps on the engine block. The needle movement in the dial indicates the measured pressure.

Figure 4. Mechanical Oil Gauge (Credits Lumen Learning).

Working Principle

By tapping of the engine block, oil is sent to the gauge by using a copper or plastic bore. The pipe is arranged in such a way that it will be exposed to minimum damage to prevent leakage of the engine oil. The gauge is composed of a coiled tube which is termed as bulb. The open end of the bulb is connected to outer casing of the gauge.

The oil fed that is fed into the supply pipe is at almost the same pressure as when the oil leaves the engine. Under this pressure, the bulb tries to maintain its position, in doing so the needle in the dial moves and indicates the pressure. The higher the pressure, the larger will be the degree of movement of the needle.

Electrical Pressure Gauge

This gauge measures the pressure of oil at the end of pipe connecting the pump and the filter. To measure the pressure, a screwed sensor taps on the engine block. The needle movement in the dial indicates the measured pressure.

Working Principle

This type of pressure gauge is powered by electric current which is supplied from one of the wires that is present in the dashboard. The current that is supplied through the wire passes through a coil which is wound with a wire in the needle’s pivot. A magnetic field is produced which causes the needle to move within the dial depending on the measured pressure.

The extend to which the needle moves or the reading it shows depends on the current that flows through the gauge. The contributing factor is the resistance offered by the gauge wire that is earthed in the engine block using the sensor. All gauges are illuminated for the ease of reading the measurement at night.

What is a Magnehelic differential pressure gauge? | what is a magnehelic pressure gauge?

It is an instrument used for measuring pressure as well as pressure differences. This pressure gauge was modelled and developed by Dwyer which has currently set standards for the pressure gauges used in industries. It is primarily used for measuring positive and negative pressure i.e., vacuum.

Working Principle

A magnehelic pressure gauge is composed of a diaphragm that is sensitive to pressure changes. The dial of the pressure gauge responds based on the pressure applied. The appropriate positioning of the instrument is required for proper functioning of this pressure gauge. It should be placed at the right level and in a vertical position or else the diaphragm will give inaccurate readings as it will sag.

What is the most accurate tire pressure gauge?

Industries and labs had been using conventional analogy tire gauges for measuring pressure since ages. But ever since the discovery of digital instruments has led to the use of digital pressure gauges which provide the most accurate reading. It is easy to operate a digital tire gauge, that is to switch on the gauge and position it on the valve stem to get the corresponding reading.

What is Compound pressure gauge?

This type of pressure gauge is used for measuring both positive and negative pressures in a vacuum. Few examples where compound pressure gauge is employed are

  • for leaking testing in pressure lines,
  • for measurement of low pressures, and
  • for pressure measurements in test chamber

Its capable to measure positive and vacuum pressure only for pressures below 200 psi.

Working Principle

The compound pressure gauge consists of a sensor that is capable of measuring both positive as well as negative vacuum pressures. The zero pointer of the instrument is referenced at ambient pressure. The gauge consists of a vent hole which allows to compensate for the changes in atmospheric pressure.

What is Digital pressure gauge?

These are pressure gauges that can measure the pressure from fluid and provide direct reading of the pressure measurement unlike Analog pressure gauges which require an operator to manually read the positioning of the needle in the dial for the respective pressure reading.

What is kPa on a pressure gauge?

kPa (kilo Pascal) is a unit of pressure measurement and is thousand times Pascal which is the SI unit of pressure.

What is psi in pressure gauge?

Psi in a pressure gauge is pounds per square inch which is the unit for the measured pressure. It is the pressure exerted by one pound force over an area of one square inch

What is bar on a pressure gauge?

Bar is the metric unit for pressure and not the international unit. Bar is equivalent to 100,000 Pascal.

What is Supply pressure gauge used for?

A supply pressure gauge helps in determining the amount of air or water or fuel in a tank. Air brake vehicles are usually provided with a supply pressure gauge to measure the amount of air in the tank. For vehicles with dual air brake system, there is a pressure gauge for every half section of the system

What is Water gauge pressure?

Column of water is sometimes used for measuring pressure. A non- SI unit for measuring pressure is inch of water and can be defined as the pressure that a column of water that is 1 inch height exerts under standard conditions.

What is a Dial gauge pressure canner?

A pressure canner is a vessel that is fitted with a lid that has a dial or weighted gauge that regulated the steam that builds up inside. The steam that is build up inside the vessel is released when the pressure exceeds the limit the vessel can handle.  Further, the steam that is build up inside is hotter than boiling water. Dial gauge regulators are found in older types of pressure canners. The dial displays the exact pressure build up inside the canner.

What is a Weighted gauge pressure canner?

A pressure canner is a vessel that is fitted with a lid that has a dial or weighted gauge that regulated the steam that builds up inside. The steam that is build up inside the vessel is released when the pressure exceeds the limit the vessel can handle.  Further, the steam that is build up inside is hotter than boiling water. Weighted gauge regulators are made up of disc like pieces that must be placed on the vent pipe with preferred choice of weight and like the one-piece regulator, this regulator makes a rocking sound.

What is a Fuel pressure gauge?

This type of pressure gauge is used as a diagnostic tool to ensure that the fuel pressure in the engine is maintained and is running at good performance levels. They also help to prevent any kind of damage that might occur due to pressure build up on the fuel pump or on the injector

What is a Manifold Pressure Gauge?

This pressure gauge is used for measuring absolute pressure of the fuel-air mixture contained in the intake manifold. The diaphragm in the manifold pressure gauge is used for measuring the absolute pressure. The accurate power configuration and settings for an aircraft engine is obtained using the manifold pressure.

What is a normal oil pressure gauge reading?

The normal oil pressure gauge reading when an engine is running should be between 25 and 65 psi. When the pressure gauge reading is higher than 80 psi, then there is problem of high oil pressure which needs to be dealt with.

What is a Photohelic pressure gauge?

Photohelic pressure gauge is a Magnehelic pressure gauge equipped with a switch to adjust between high and low gas pressures. It is an advanced version of Magnehelic pressure gauge that helps in saving money with reduced usage of compressed air and provides a longer life for the pressure gauge.

What is a Pressure gauge snubber?

High pressure required for waterjet cutting is smoothened out by using pressure gauge snubber. These high-pressure fluctuations are created by reciprocating pumps and controlling these fluctuations help in extending the life of the pressure gauge and reducing the calibration time. These gauges are preferred over a valve due to their small orifice which reduces the cases of clogging.

A pressure gauge snubber consists of a pressure vessel with a capillary that has a small bore. The pressure is accumulated in the gauge and the built-up pressure is smoothened out thereby reducing the fluctuations. The gauge is equipped with a steel filter at the inlet to the capillary to avoid dirt from entering or clogging the bore.

What is a Strain gauge pressure transducer?

This transducer converts pressure into an electrical signal. The principle behind the working of a strain gauge pressure transducer is piezo resistance i.e., the change in resistance value with respect to the physical deformation or changes caused to the material when exerted by pressure. This transducer is when wired to a Wheatstone bridge can convert small changes in resistance to electrical signals corresponding to the pressure exerted.

What is accuracy class in pressure gauge?

The accuracy class in pressure gauges help in determining the permissible percentage of error. The accuracy classes for pressure gauges are 0.1, 0.25. 0.6, 1, 1.6, 2.5 and 4. The gauges with pointer stop are the range of 10 to 100%.

What is Bayonet ring in pressure gauge?

Pressure gauges have removable rings which are termed as bayonet ring.  A bayonet is an indentation on the outer surface of the ring. Usually, a bayonet ring has up to five indentations. The rings help in holding a gasket and window. The dial can be found on removing the gasket and window. This ring is mostly seen in pressure gauges where the operator must access the adjustable pointer.

What is Bellows pressure gauge?

Thin walled cylinder with convolutions and metal as material of construction, are Bellow pressure gauge they are closed at one end while the other end is open and can move about. On applying pressure to the sealed end, the bellows will compress and move upwards. The rod in between the bellows and the transmission system will also move up and initiate the movement of the pointer. They can provide longer stroke length and exert greater forces. These bellows are fabricated using different materials depending on the application.

The deflection that is produced can be expressed as below

What is Blowout protection in pressure gauge?

In case of high pressure, the entire disc will be blown and break into piece to release the build-up pressure. To protect the gauge from breaking or from being blown up, pressure gauge blows out protection is provided. An advisable design for protecting the pressure gauge from the over pressure is by separating the front and back part of the pressure gauge using a solid wall. Using such a design, the front part will not be affected though the back part will blow out thereby providing protection to the pressure gauge.

What is Differential pressure gauge?

A differential pressure gauge helps in measuring the differences in two measured pressure. They are usually used for measuring pressure levels in closed tanks, over pressure in room and for controlling pump stations.

A pressure element divides the two chambers in a differential pressure gauge. If the pressures in the two chambers are the same, then there occurs no difference in the pressure element. On the other hand, if there exists difference in pressure between the two chambers, then the pressure element displaces, and mechanical movement indicates the pressure difference value.

What is FSD in pressure gauge?

FSD in a pressure gauge means full scale deflection and the accuracy of the pressure gauge is in full range.

For more post on Mechanical Engineering, please follow this link.

About Veena Parthan

I am Veena Parthan, working as a Solar Operation and Maintenance Engineer for the UK Solar sector. I have more than 5 years’ experience in the field of Energy and Utilities. I have completed my Bachelor’s in Chemical engineering and Masters in Thermal Engineering. I have a profound interest in renewable energy and their optimization. I have published an article in AIP conference proceedings which is based on Cummins Genset and its flow optimization.
During my free hours, I engage in freelance technical writing and would love to offer my expertise on LambdaGeeks platform. Apart from that, I spend my free hours reading, engaging in some sport activities and trying to evolve into a better person.
Looking forward to connect you through LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/veena-parthan-07981790/