Qu'est-ce que les lasers à fibre? | Applications importantes | 7 avantages

LASERS À FIBRE OPTIQUE

Que sont les lasers à fibre?

Les lasers à fibre ou les lasers à fibre optique utilisent le principe de la réflexion interne totale à l'aide de fibres optiques pour transmettre la lumière. Ces lasers sont utilisés pour transmettre la lumière sur de grandes longueurs et contribuent également à réduire la distorsion thermique du faisceau laser. Les lasers à fibre optique sont généralement dopés avec des terres rares avec comme l'ytterbium, l'erbium, le néodyme, le praséodyme, l'holmium, le dysprosium et le thulium. Ces lasers utilisaient des amplificateurs à fibre dopée n'utilisant pas d'action laser pour fournir une amplification de la lumière. Le gain dans ces lasers est fourni par des non-linéarités de fibre comme le mélange à quatre ondes ou la diffusion Raman stimulée. Dans les lasers à fibre, la cavité laser est générée par la méthode de épissage par fusion avec différentes fibres optiques.

Quels sont les avantages des lasers à fibre optique?

Les lasers à fibre présentent des avantages significatifs par rapport aux autres lasers:

  • Dans les lasers à fibre, la lumière laser est à la fois produite et dirigée par un milieu intégralement flexible permettant un transport meilleur et plus facile de la lumière laser vers l'emplacement ciblé.
  • Les lasers à fibre optique fournissent une puissance de sortie élevée par rapport aux autres types de lasers.
  • Les lasers à fibre optique offrent un gain optique très élevé et ont des régions actives s'étendant sur plusieurs kilomètres.
  • Les fibres optiques ont un rapport surface / volume élevé qui permet une puissance de sortie continue de niveau kilowatt avec un refroidissement efficace.
  • Le guide d'ondes d'une fibre optique réduit la distorsion du chemin optique due à des problèmes thermiques.
  • Les lasers à fibre optique sont comparativement plus compacts que les lasers à semi-conducteurs ou à gaz (de même puissance) et génèrent un faisceau laser de haute qualité à diffraction limitée.
  • Les lasers à fibre optique offrent une stabilité vibratoire, une tolérance aux températures élevées et une durée de vie prolongée à moindre coût.
Démonstration de transmission de la lumière à travers un câble à fibre optique. source de l'image: GringerFibre optique, marqué comme domaine public, plus de détails sur Wikimedia Commons

Quelles sont les applications des lasers à fibre?

Les lasers à fibre optique fournissent des faisceaux laser continus de haute puissance qui peuvent être efficaces pour plusieurs applications industrielles telles que le soudage et la découpe de matériaux tels que le polymère, le métal ou le verre. Les lasers à fibre optique de moyenne et faible puissance sont utilisés pour la gravure sur les matériaux.

En dehors des applications industrielles, les lasers à fibre optique sont également utilisés en médecine, télécommunications, spectroscopie. les lasers sont bien adaptés dans le domaine médical sur les tissus délicats et mous où l'utilisation d'un scalpel peut être difficile. Les lasers à fibre optique sont souvent utilisés en spectroscopie pour étudier et observer l'interaction entre les rayonnements électromagnétiques et la matière.

Que sont les lasers à disque à fibre optique?

Le laser à disque à fibre est une forme de laser à fibre optique dans laquelle la pompe n'est pas limitée à l'intérieur de la gaine de la fibre optique. La pompe de ces lasers est enroulée afin de diriger la lumière de la pompe plusieurs fois à travers le noyau. Ces types de lasers sont efficaces pour la mise à l'échelle de la puissance qui nécessite plusieurs sources de pompage autour de la périphérie de la bobine.

Laser à fibre optique
lasers à disque à fibre optique.
Source de l'image: Ken-ichi Ueda - de l'auteur
3 lasers à disque à fibre, lasers à fibre avec distribution transversale de la pompe. la fibre optique avec Yb: le coeur dopé est enroulé et entouré du diodes laser. Wikipédia

Comment les lasers à fibre optique sont-ils verrouillés en mode?

Les lasers à fibre optique sont généralement verrouillés en mode à l'aide de la biréfringence de la fibre. En raison de l'effet Kerr optique non linéaire, la quantité de changement de polarisation varie avec l'intensité de la lumière. Par conséquent, le polariseur présent dans la cavité laser absorbe ou bloque la lumière laser de faible intensité et permet à une lumière de haute intensité de passer avec une atténuation négligeable. Cela prend en charge les impulsions en mode verrouillé.

 Parfois, les miroirs à absorbeur saturable à semi-conducteur (SESAM) sont également utilisés pour les lasers à fibre optique à verrouillage de mode. Les miroirs à semi-conducteur absorbant saturable (SESAM) ont des techniques d'absorbeur saturable qui permettent de personnaliser les limites d'absorbeur en fonction du type de laser. Ces derniers temps, des absorbeurs saturables en graphène sont incorporés dans des fibres optiques à base de fibres optiques (en particulier dans les lasers accordables) pour le verrouillage de mode.

Structure du mode laser
Source de l'image: diagramme des modes de cavité, pour le modélisme article. Dessiné par Dr Bob.
CC BY-SA 3.0 wikipedia

Que sont les lasers à fibre à soliton noir?

Les lasers à soliton sombre ont été construits à partir d'un laser à fibre dopée à l'erbium à dispersion normale qui a un polariseur présent dans la cavité laser. Ces lasers appartiennent au régime de verrouillage sans mode. Même si l'émission d'impulsions lumineuses est commune pour ces lasers, dans des conditions appropriées, les lasers à fibre à soliton sombre sont capables d'émettre des impulsions d'obscurité uniques ou multiples. La génération d'impulsions d'obscurité par ces lasers peut être attribuée à la mise en forme du soliton sombre selon des simulations numériques.

Que sont les lasers à fibre optique multi-longueurs d'onde?

Les lasers à fibre multi-longueur d'onde sont des types de lasers à fibre optique qui génèrent simultanément plusieurs longueurs d'onde de lumière laser. Le laser à fibre optique ZBLAN a démontré l'émission simultanée de lumière cohérente bleue et verte. Le laser à pompage d'extrémité ZBLAN était mis à la terre sur un support de gain optique à conversion ascendante qui utilisait des lasers à semi-conducteurs de longueurs d'onde plus longues pour pomper une fibre de fluorure dopée Pr3 + / Yb3 +. Cette fibre de fluorure avait des miroirs diélectriques revêtus présents à chaque extrémité de la fibre optique pour former une cavité.

Pour en savoir plus sur la physique des lasers et les différents types de lasers, visitez https://lambdageeks.com/laser-physics/

À propos de Sanchari Chakraborty

Je suis un apprenant passionné, actuellement investi dans le domaine de l'optique appliquée et de la photonique. Je suis également membre actif de SPIE (Société internationale pour l'optique et la photonique) et OSI (Optical Society of India). Mes articles visent à mettre en lumière des sujets de recherche scientifique de qualité d'une manière simple mais informative. La science évolue depuis des temps immémoriaux. Alors, j'essaie de ma part de puiser dans l'évolution et de la présenter aux lecteurs.

Connectons-nous via https://www.linkedin.com/in/sanchari-chakraborty-7b33b416a/

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaîtra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Geeks Lambda

What is Fiber Lasers ? | Important Applications | 7 Advantages

What is Fiber Lasers ? | Important Applications | 7 Advantages

OPTICAL FIBER LASERS

What are fiber lasers?

Fiber lasers or optical fiber lasers use the principle of total internal reflection with the help of optical fibers for transmitting light. These lasers are used for transmitting light over long lengths and also helps in reducing the thermal distortion of the laser beam. Optical fiber lasers are generally doped with rare-Earth with like ytterbium, erbium, neodymium, praseodymium, holmium, dysprosium, and thulium. These lasers used doped fiber amplifiers that do not use lasing action for providing light amplification. The gain in these lasers is provided by fiber nonlinearities like four-wave mixing or stimulated Raman scattering. In fiber lasers, the laser cavity is generated by the method of fusion splicing with different optical fibers.

What are the advantages of Optical fiber lasers?

Fiber lasers have significant advantages over other lasers:

  • In fiber lasers, the laser light is both produced and directed by an integrally flexible medium allowing better and easier conveyance of laser light to the targeted location.
  • Optical Fiber-based lasers provide high output power compared to the other different types of lasers.
  • Optical fiber-based lasers provide very high optical gain and have active regions ranging over several kilometers.
  • Optical fibers have a high surface area to volume ratio that allows continuous output power of kilowatt level with efficient cooling.
  • The waveguide of an optical fiber reduces the distortion in the optical path due to thermal issues.
  • Optical fiber-based lasers are comparatively more compact than solid-state or gas lasers (of the same power output) and generate a diffraction-limited, high-quality laser beam.
  • Optical fiber-based lasers provide vibrational stability, high-temperature tolerance, and an extended lifespan at lower costs.
What is Fiber Lasers ? | Important Applications | 7 Advantages
Demonstration of Transmission of light through an optical fiber cable. image source: GringerOptical-fibre, marked as public domain, more details on Wikimedia Commons

What are the applications of fiber lasers?

Optical fiber-based lasers provide high power continual laser beams that can be effective for several industrial applications like welding and cutting materials like polymer or metal or glass. Medium and low power fiber optics lasers are used for engraving on materials.

Apart from industrial applications, optical fiber-based lasers are also used in medicine, telecommunications, spectroscopy. lasers are well suited in medical field on delicate and soft tissues where using a scalpel might be difficult. Optical fiber-based lasers are often used in spectroscopy for studying and observing the interaction between electromagnetic radiations and matter.

What are optical fiber disk lasers?

Fiber disk laser is a form of optical fiber laser in which the pump is not restricted within the cladding of the optical fiber. The pump in these lasers is coiled in order to direct the pump light multiple times across the core. These types of lasers are effective for power scaling that requires several pump sources around the periphery of the coil.

fiber laser
optical fiber disk lasers.
Image source: Ken-ichi Ueda – from author
3 fiber disk lasers, fiber lasers with transversal delivery of pump. the optical fiber with Yb: the doped core is coiled and surrounded with the laser diodes. wikipedia

How are optical fiber lasers mode-locked?

Optical fiber-based lasers are generally mode-locked with the help of birefringence of the fiber. Due to the optical non-linear Kerr effect, the amount of change in polarization varies with the intensity of light. Therefore, the polarizer present in the laser cavity absorbs or blocks the lower intensity laser light and allows high-intensity light to pass with negligible attenuation. This supports mode-locked pulses.

 At times, Semiconductor saturable-absorber mirrors (SESAMs) are also used for mode-locking optical fiber lasers. Semiconductor saturable-absorber mirrors (SESAMs) have some saturable absorber techniques that allow customizing the absorber limits according to the laser type. In recent times, Graphene saturable absorbers are incorporated in optical fiber-based (especially in tunable lasers) for mode-locking.

What is Fiber Lasers ? | Important Applications | 7 Advantages
Laser mode structure
Image source: Cavity mode diagram, for the modelocking article. Drawn by DrBob.
CC BY-SA 3.0 wikipedia

What are dark soliton fiber lasers?

Dark soliton lasers were built from all-normal dispersion erbium-doped fiber laser that has a polarizer present in the laser cavity. These lasers belong to the non-mode locking regime. Even though the bright pulse emission is common for these lasers, under suitable conditions dark soliton fiber lasers are capable of emitting single or multiple dark pulses. The dark pulse generation by these lasers can be attributed to the dark soliton shaping according to numerical simulations.

What are Multi-wavelength optical fiber lasers?

Multi-wavelength fiber lasers are types of optical fiber based lasers that generate multiple wavelengths of laser light simultaneously. ZBLAN optical fiber-based laser demonstrated the emission of blue and green coherent light simultaneously. The ZBLAN end-pumped laser was grounded on an upconversion optical gain media that used semiconductor lasers of longer wavelengths for pumping a Pr3+/Yb3+ doped fluoride fiber. This fluoride fiber had coated dielectric mirrors present on either end of the optical fiber for forming a cavity.

To know more about laser physics and different types of lasers visit https://lambdageeks.com/laser-physics/

About Sanchari Chakraborty

What is Fiber Lasers ? | Important Applications | 7 AdvantagesI am an eager learner, currently invested in the field of Applied Optics and Photonics. I am also an active member of SPIE (International society for optics and photonics) and OSI(Optical Society of India). My articles are aimed towards bringing quality science research topics to light in a simple yet informative way. Science has been evolving since time immemorial. So, I try my bit to tap into the evolution and present it to the readers.

Let's connect through https://www.linkedin.com/in/sanchari-chakraborty-7b33b416a/

x
About Lambdageeks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en English
X