هيكل الحديد ، الخصائص: 5 حقائق يجب أن تعرفها


الحديد O هو الصيغة الكيميائية لأكسيد الحديدوز. لها مرادفات مثل أكسيد الحديد (XNUMX) أو أوكسويرون. نحن هنا نناقش حول هيكل FeO وخصائصه وبعض الحقائق.

يتكون أكسيد الحديد O (أكسيد الحديدوز) أو أكسيد الحديد (2) من عنصرين ، أي ذرات الحديد والأكسجين. في هيكل الحديد O يكون أيون الحديد في حالة أكسدة +2. إنه يختلف تمامًا عن أيون Fe3OXNUMX في الهيكل والخصائص. الحديد O هو شكل معدني يعرف باسم Wustite. هذا المركب أسود اللون. يشبه هيكل كلوريد الصوديوم.

يتغير تناسق الهيكل إلى معيني الوجوه ويصبح مركب FeO مغنطيسيًا مضادًا. ومن ثم فإن الترتيب المغنطيسي المضاد في الاتجاه [1 ، 1 ، 1] يستلزم اختيار الخلية التي تحتوي على الأقل على ذرتين مختلفتين من الحديد في هذا الاتجاه.

الموقع أو الخلية السداسية الشكل المعينية السطوح هي أصغر أو أدنى خلية تفي بهذا الشرط. يحتوي FeO على شعرية في هذه الحالة لها معلمات a = b = c = 5. 260 وزوايا α = β = γ = 33. 557. وبالتالي ، تقع ذرات الحديد (Fe) عند إحداثيات كسرية (0 ، 0 ، 0) و (0.5 ، 0.5 ، 0.5) ، وذرة الأكسجين (O) تقع في (0.25 ، 0.25 ، 0.25) و (0.75 ، 0.75 ، 0.75).

هيكل الحديد O في شكل عام

بعض الحقائق عن هيكل الحديد O

يتم تحضير أكسيد الحديدوز أو أكسيد الحديد (XNUMX) بواسطة التحلل الحراري للأكسالات بالحديد (XNUMX).

FeC2O4 → FeO + CO2 + CO

عندما يتم إجراء التحلل الحراري للحديد (2) أكسالات (FeC4O2) ، ويمكن تكوين أكسيد الحديد (XNUMX) (FeO) مع تحرير ثاني أكسيد الكربون (COXNUMX) وأحادي أكسيد الكربون (CO). تفاعل التحلل الحراري يتم إجراؤه في حالة خاملة لتجنب تكوين أكسيد الحديديك (Fe2O3).

هنا ، أكسيد الحديدوز أو أكسيد الحديد (0.84) مخاريط تحت مجموعة المركبات غير المتكافئة ، والتي تعاني بشكل خاص من نقص في تركيبات الحديد من نطاق Fe0.95O إلى FeXNUMXO. FeO (الحديد (XNUMX) أكسيد) له بنية مماثلة مثل NaCl (ملح صخري). في التركيب البلوري للحديد O ، تكون بلورات FeO ناقصة الحديد وتظهر دائمًا غير متكافئ.

توجد بعض المواقع الكاتيونية الشاغرة وبعض المواقع يحتوي على أيونات Fe3 + فيها ، لكن تركيبتها تجعل الهيكل محايدًا كهربيًا تمامًا. الصيغة التقريبية للحديد O هي Fe0.95O. جزيء الحديد O له هيكل مثل الملح الصخري وله أيضًا كثافة 5.073 جم / سم 3.

ما هو هيكل الحديد O؟

يشبه هيكل FeO هيكل ملح الصخور (NaCl). إنه هيكل غير متكافئ حيث توجد بعض المواقع أو الثقوب الشاغرة في الهيكل أو بعض أيونات Fe3 + موجودة في الهيكل بدلاً من أيونات Fe2 +. هنا ، يُحاط كل أيون من الحديد (Fe2 +) بستة أيونات أكسجين مجاورة (O2-) أو كل أيون أكسجين (O2-) يُحاط بستة أيونات حديدية مجاورة (Fe2 +) أي بالعكس.

الحديد O (أكسيد الحديد (XNUMX)) يحتوي على هيكل مكعب أو هيكل ملح صخري مكعّب الوجه (FCC) وكل حافة من خلية وحدة FeO هي 5.0 A0. لذلك هناك أربعة أيونات Fe2 + وأربعة أيونات O2 موجودة في كل حافة من حواف خلية الوحدة للبنية البلورية. في هذا الهيكل ، يتم تنسيق ذرة الحديد مع ذرات الأكسجين بشكل ثماني السطوح وبطريقة مماثلة ، يتم تنسيق ذرات الأكسجين مع ذرات الحديد ثماني السطوح (والعكس بالعكس).

الهيكل غير متكافئ حيث توجد راحة أكسدة Fe2 ليصبح Fe3 أيون ينزعج عن طريق استبدال قسم صغير من Fe2 + أيونات مع اثنين 3rd عدد أيونات Fe3 + التي تأخذ موقع رباعي السطوح في شبكة معبأة مغلقة من هيكل الحديد O. بالمقارنة مع المادة الصلبة المتبلورة ، يتم تنسيق ذرات الحديد في الحالة المنصهرة بواسطة أربع أو خمس ذرات أكسجين في الغالب. هناك تحول صغير جدًا في الهيكل تحت درجة حرارة 200 كلفن.

هيكل feo
هيكل الحديد FCC (هيكل مكعب مركز الوجه)

هل الحديد O أيوني أم تساهمي؟

نعم ، الحديد O هو مركب قطبي تساهمي. في هيكل الحديد O ، تمتلك ذرة الحديد كهرسلبية تبلغ 1.83 وذرة الأكسجين لها كهرسلبية تبلغ 3.44. الفرق بين كلا السالبية الكهربية هو 3.44 (O) - 1.83 (Fe) = 1.61. طبيعة الرابطة في الحديد O تساهمية قطبية وبالتالي فإن الاختلاف قريب جدًا من الروابط الأيونية. حتى الحديد (XNUMX) أكسيد التساهمية القطبية مركب مع خصائص أيونية.

لماذا الحديد O أيوني؟

في جزيء الحديد O ، توجد ذرات الحديد (Fe) والأكسجين (O) ولديها فرق كهربية 1.61. فرق الكهربية هذا أقل من القيمة المعيارية المحددة 1.71. نظرًا لقيمته المنخفضة مقارنة بـ 1.7 ، فإن جزيء FeO هو جزيء تساهمية قطبية.

إذا كانت قيمة الكهربية أعلى من 1.7 ، فإن أي مركب سيكون مركبًا أيونيًا. ولكن لا يزال هناك طابع أيوني سائد في جزيء الحديد O بسبب وجود أو اثنين من الأيونات المشحونة بشكل معاكس ، مثل Fe2 + و O2-.

كيف FeO هو أيوني؟

وفقًا لقاعدة فوزان ، يفضل المركب ذو الحجم الموجب الأكبر والأنيون الأصغر السمة الأيونية بينما تكون الرابطة داخل الكاتيون والأنيون. وبالتالي ، فإن الحديد O هو أكثر أيونية ولكن يمكن أن يظهر الطابع التساهمي أيضًا.

بشكل عام ، يمكن أن تتكون الروابط الأيونية بين الأيونات المشحونة بشكل معاكس ، أي الشحنة الموجبة والأيونات السالبة الشحنة. ومن ثم ، تتشكل الروابط الأيونية عن طريق التجاذب الكهروستاتيكي داخل أيونات مشحونة معاكسة. الأنيون هو الذي يكتسب الإلكترونات والكاتيون هو الذي يتبرع بالإلكترونات.

هل الحديد O قابل للذوبان في الماء؟

الحديد O (الحديد (XNUMX) أكسيد) أو أكسيد الحديدوز غير قابل للذوبان في الماء. أكاسيد الحديد التي تحدث بشكل طبيعي غير قابلة للذوبان في الماء في الغالب. وبالتالي فإن أكسيد الحديدوز غير قابل للذوبان في الماء لأنه مركب طبيعي. كما أنه أيوني بطبيعته وبالتالي لا يمكنه تكوين أيونات في الماء عندما يتفاعل مع الماء.

لماذا الحديد O غير قابل للذوبان في الماء؟

الحديد O هو مركب أيوني لأنه يتكون من أيوني مشحون متعاكس. يحتوي جزيء الحديد O على Fe2 + أيون (كاتيون) و O2- أيون (أنيون). ومن ثم عندما يختلط FeO (أكسيد الحديدوز) أو يتفاعل مع الماء فإنه لا يمكن أن تشكل أيونات في الماء. وبالتالي ، لا يمكن أن ينفصل FeO أو لا ينفصل تمامًا في الماء. لذلك ، فإن FeO (الحديد (XNUMX) أكسيد) غير قابل للذوبان أو غير قابل للذوبان في الماء.

كيف FeO غير قابل للذوبان في الماء؟

بشكل عام ، الحديد في شكله الأولي (الحديد الأولي) قابل للذوبان في الماء في حالة الغرفة العادية. ولكن وفقًا لقاعدة الذوبان ، فإن أكاسيد الحديد ليست قابلة للذوبان في الماء. تزداد قابلية ذوبان الجزيئات أو المركبات المحتوية على الحديد مع انخفاض قيمة الأس الهيدروجيني.

يمكن زيادة قابلية ذوبان مركبات الحديد بمركبات الشحنة الموجبة المنخفضة. نظرًا لأن Fe2 + أيون له شحنة أقل من Fe3 + أيون ، فإن المركبات المحتوية على Fe2 + قابلة للذوبان تمامًا من المركبات الأخرى ولكن لا يمكن فصلها في الماء وبالتالي فهي تعتبر مركبات غير قابلة للذوبان. ومن ثم ، فإن الحديد O غير قابل للذوبان في الماء.

هل الحديد O مادة صلبة؟

نعم ، الحديد O هو مركب صلب لأنه يحتوي على هيكل ملح صخري بلوري مثل NaCl. حتى مسحوق الحديد O عبارة عن مسحوق أسود صلب شكل مركب. التركيب البلوري لأيون الحديد O غير متكافئ.

لماذا الحديد O صلب؟

الحديد O (أكسيد الحديدوز) هو مركب صلب لأنه يحتوي على هيكل ملح صخري بلوري مثل NaCl. كما أن التركيب البلوري للحديد O له هيكل مكعب مركزي الوجه (FCC) حيث تكون كل ذرة Fe2 + محاطة بأيونات O2 المجاورة. وبالتالي فإن أيونات الهيكل معبأة بشكل وثيق في مكعب وبالتالي فهو مركب صلب.

كيف الحديد O صلبة؟

في التركيب البلوري للحديد O ، يتم تعبئة جميع أيونات Fe2 + و O2- بشكل وثيق في هيكل مكعب متمركز في الوجه. في أي مركب صلب ، تكون الذرات أو الأيونات معبأة بشكل وثيق ولها شكل معين. وبالتالي فإن FeO أيون له شكل مكعب متمركز في الوجه والأيونات معبأة بشكل وثيق. وبالتالي فهو مركب صلب.

الخلاصة:

يُعرف FeO باسم أكسيد الحديدوز أو أكسيد الحديد (2). في بنية الحديد O ، يكون أيون الحديد في حالة أكسدة +2 وذرة O في حالة أكسدة -2. إنه هيكل غير متكافئ حيث أن بنية الحديد O بها بعض الأماكن الشاغرة أو يتم استبدال بعض أيونات Fe3 + بأيونات FeXNUMX +. هيكل الحديد O هو هيكل مكعب مركزي الوجه. لها رابطة تساهمية قطبية ولكنها تظهر أحرف أيونية. إنه أيوني ، غير قابل للذوبان في الماء ومركب صلب.

د. شروتي رامتكي

مرحباً بالجميع ، أنا دكتور شروتي إم رامتيك ، لقد حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه في الكيمياء. لديّ خمس سنوات من الخبرة في التدريس لـ 11-12 معيارًا و B و Sc و MSc في مادة الكيمياء. لقد نشرت ما مجموعه خمس مقالات بحثية خلال الدكتوراه في عملي البحثي ولدي زمالة من UGC للحصول على درجة الدكتوراه. ماجستير في الكيمياء غير العضوية وتخرجي في مواد الكيمياء وعلم الحيوان وعلوم البيئة. شكرا

آخر المقالات

FeO Structure, Characteristics: 5 Facts You Should Know


FeO is the chemical formula for ferrous oxide. It has the synonyms like iron (ii) oxide or oxoiron. Here we are discussing about the FeO structure, its characteristics and some facts.

FeO (ferrous oxide) or iron (ii) oxide is composed of two elements i.e. iron and oxygen atoms. In FeO structure the Fe ion is in +2 oxidation state. It is totally different from Fe2O3 ion in structure and characteristics. FeO is a mineral form which is known as Wustite. This compound is black in colour. It resembles the structure of NaCl.

The symmetry of the structure changes to rhombohedral and the FeO compound becomes antiferromagnetic. Hence the antiferromagnetic arrangement is in [1, 1, 1] direction necessitating the selection of cell which contains at least two different Fe atoms in this direction.

The rhombhohedral centred hexagonal site or cell is the lowest or smallest cell which fulfils this condition. FeO has the lattice in this condition has parameters a = b = c = 5. 260 and angles of α = β = γ = 33. 557. Thus, the iron atoms (Fe) are located at fractional coordinates of (0, 0, 0) and (0.5, 0.5, 0.5), and oxygen atom (O) are located at (0.25, 0.25, 0.25) and (0.75, 0.75, 0.75).

FeO structure in general form

Some facts about FeO structure

The FeO ferrous oxide or iron (ii) oxide is prepared by the iron (ii) oxalate thermal decomposition.

FeC2O4 → FeO + CO2 + CO

When the thermal decomposition of iron (ii) oxalate (FeC2O4) is done, iron (ii) oxide (FeO) can be formed with the liberation of carbon dioxide (CO2) and carbon mono- oxide (CO). The thermal decomposition reaction is done with inert condition to avoid the formation of ferric oxide (Fe2O3).

Here, Ferrous oxide or iron (ii) oxide cones under the group of non- stoichiometric compounds, which are especially deficient of iron compositions from the range of Fe0.84O to Fe0.95O. FeO (iron (ii) oxide) have the similar structure like NaCl (rock salt). In FeO crystalline structure, the FeO crystals are iron deficient and always show non- stoichiometric.

There are some vacant cationic sites and some site contains Fe3+ ions in it, but its combination makes the structure quite electrically neutral. The approximate formula of FeO is Fe0.95O. FeO molecule has the structure like rock salt and also has the density of 5.073 g/cm3.

What is FeO structure?

The FeO structure is like the rock salt (NaCl) structure. It is a non- stoichiometric structure as there are some vacant sites or holes in the structure or some of the Fe3+ ions are present in the structure in place of Fe2+ ions. Here, each iron (Fe2+) ion gets surrounded by six neighbouring oxygen (O2-) ions or each oxygen (O2-) ion gets surrounded by six neighbouring iron (Fe2+) ion i.e. vice versa.

FeO (iron (ii) oxide) has the cubic structure or face centred cubic (FCC) rock salt structure and each edge of FeO unit cell is 5.0 A0. Therefore there are four Fe2+ ions and four O2- ions are present in each edge of the unit cell of the crystal structure. In this structure, the iron atom is coordinated to oxygen atoms octahedrally and in similar way, the oxygen atoms get coordinated to iron atoms octahedrally (vice- versa).

The structure is non- stoichiometric as there is the comfort of oxidation of Fe2 to become Fe3 ion get disturbed by replacing small section of Fe2+ ions  with two 3rd number of Fe3+ ions which takes the tetrahedral position in closed packed lattice of FeO structure. In compare to the crystalline solid, in the melted state iron atoms are coordinated by four or five oxygen atoms predominantly. There is a quite small transformation in the structure below 200 kelvin temperature.

feo structure
FeO structure FCC (faced centred cubic structure)

Is FeO ionic or covalent?

Yes, FeO is polar covalent compound. In FeO structure, the iron atom has an electronegativity of 1.83 and the oxygen atom has electronegativity of 3.44. The difference between both electronegativities are 3.44 (O) – 1.83 (Fe) = 1.61. The nature of bond in FeO is polar covalent thus the difference is very near to that of ionic bonds. So iron (ii) oxide is a polar covalent compound with ionic characterizations.

Why FeO is ionic?

In FeO molecule, the iron (Fe) and oxygen (O) atoms are present and having 1.61 electronegativity difference. This electronegativity difference is below the given standard value 1.71. Due to low value as compared to 1.7 the FeO molecule is being polar covalent molecule.

If the electronegativity value is above 1.7 then any compound will be an ionic compound. But still there is a predominant ionic character in FeO molecule due to the presence or two oppositely charged ions i.e. Fe2+ and O2-.

How FeO is ionic?

According to Fuzan Rule, the compound with bigger cation in size and smaller anion in size favours the ionic characteristic while bond formation within cation and anion. Thus, FeO is quite more ionic but can show covalent character too.

Generally ionic bonds can formed between the two oppositely charged ions i.e. positive charge and negatively charged ions. Hence, ionic bonds are formed by the electrostatic attraction within oppositely charged ions. The anion is which gains electrons and the cation is which donates electrons.

Is FeO soluble in water?

FeO (iron (ii) oxide) or ferrous oxide is not soluble in water. The iron oxides which occurs naturally are mostly insoluble in water. Thus FeO ferrous oxide also insoluble in water as it is a naturally occurring compound. Also it is ionic in nature thus it cannot form ions in water when it reacts with water.

Why FeO is insoluble in water?

FeO is an ionic compound as it consists of two opposite charged ions. FeO molecule has Fe2+ ion (cation) and O2- ion (anion). Hence when FeO (ferrous oxide) when mixed or reacts with water it cannot form ions into water. Thus, FeO cannot dissociates or completely not dissociates in water. Therefore, FeO (iron (ii) oxide) is not soluble or insoluble in water.

How FeO is insoluble in water?

Generally iron in elemental form (elementary iron) is soluble in water at normal room condition. But according to solubility rule the oxides of iron is not soluble in water. The solubility of iron containing molecules or compounds are increases with the lower pH value.

The solubility of iron compounds can be increased with lower positive charge compounds. As the Fe2+ ion has lower charge than Fe3+ ion hence the Fe2+ containing compounds are quite soluble than other compounds but cannot dissociated in water thus they considered as insoluble compounds. Hence, FeO is insoluble in water.

Is FeO a solid?

Yes, FeO is a solid compound as it has a crystalline rock salt structure like NaCl. Even the FeO powder is a black solid powder form of compound. The crystal structure of FeO ion is non – stoichiometric.

Why FeO is solid?

FeO (ferrous oxide) is a solid compound as it has crystalline rock salt structure like NaCl. Also the crystalline structure of FeO has face centred cubic structure (FCC) in which each Fe2+ atom is surrounded by neighbouring O2- ions. Thus the ions of the structure are closely packed in a cube and hence it is a solid compound.

How FeO is solid?

In FeO crystal structure, all the Fe2+ and O2- ions are closely packed in face centred cubic structure. In any solid compound the atoms or ions are closely packed and have a particular shape. Thus FeO ion has face centred cubic shape and ions are closely packed. Thus it is a solid compound.

Conclusion:

FeO is known as ferrous oxide or iron (ii) oxide. In FeO structure, the Fe ion is in +2 oxidation state and O atom is in -2 oxidation state. It is a non – stoichiometric structure as the FeO structure has some vacant places or some Fe2+ ions get replaced with Fe3+ ions. The FeO structure is face centred cubic structure. It has polar covalent bond but shows ionic characters. It is ionic, insoluble in water and a solid compound.

Read more about following Structure & Characteristics

ZnO
ZnS
Fe3O4
NaClO2
Lithium
Krypton
Neon
Peptide Bond
NaHSO4
KMnO4
NaH2PO4
Fe2S3
Hyaluronic Acid
Disulfide Bond
Alanine Amino Acid
Glycolic Acid
Heptane
Glycine
Gold
ZnSO4
Glutamic Acid
Graphite
Hexanoic Acid

Dr. Shruti Ramteke

Hello everyone I am Dr. Shruti M Ramteke, i did my Ph.D in chemistry. I have five years of teaching experience for 11-12 standard, B,Sc and MSc in chemistry subject. I have published total five research articles during Ph.D on my research work and i have fellowship from UGC for my Ph.D. My Masters with specilization Inorganic chemistry and my graduation with chemistry, zoology and environmental science subjects. thank You

Recent Posts