المجهر الإلكتروني: 5 حقائق مثيرة للاهتمام يجب معرفتها


المحتويات

ما هو المجهر الإلكتروني؟

يشير المجهر الإلكتروني (EM) إلى طريقة تسمح بتحليل ومراقبة الصور عالية الدقة للعديد من العينات الحية وغير الحية. تُستخدم هذه الأنواع من المجاهر في البحوث الطبية الحيوية من أجل فحص الشكل التفصيلي وبنية الأنسجة والخلايا والعضيات والمجمعات الجزيئية الأخرى. الإلكترونات (التي تعمل كمصدر لإضاءة الإشعاع في هذه الحالة) لها أطوال موجية قصيرة جدًا تساعد في إنتاج دقة عالية للصور بالمجهر الإلكتروني. بشكل عام ، يتم دمج المجهر الإلكتروني مع عدد من التقنيات المساعدة مثل الوسم المناعي ، والتقطيع الرقيق ، والتلوين السلبي ، وما إلى ذلك لفحص بعض الهياكل المحددة. يمكن أن توفر الصور المجهرية الإلكترونية بيانات مهمة عن الأساس الهيكلي لوظيفة الخلية / الأنسجة ومرض الخلية.  

ميكروسكوب الكتروني
مجهر إلكتروني مبكر. مصدر الصورة: J المشروب، تم تحميله على ويكيبيديا الناطقة باللغة الإنجليزية بواسطة ar: المستخدم: Hat'nCoat., مجهر إرنست روسكا للإلكترون - المتحف الألماني - تحرير ميونيخCC BY-SA 3.0

ما هي أنواع المجهر الإلكتروني؟

يمكن أن يكون المجهر الإلكتروني من نوعين مختلفين:

مجهر الإرسال الإلكتروني (TEM): يتم استخدام المجهر الإلكتروني للإرسال لمشاهدة العينات الرقيقة للغاية مثل الجزيئات وأقسام الأنسجة وما إلى ذلك. في هذا ، يمكن للإلكترونات المرور عبر هذه الأنسجة لعرض صورة. يشبه TEM المجهر الضوئي المركب النموذجي من نواح كثيرة. مثل المجهر المركب ، يتم استخدام TEM لتصوير الجزء الداخلي من الخلايا البيولوجية في طبقات رقيقة للغاية ، وهي بنية جزيئات البروتين التي تتناقض مع مساعدة التظليل المعدني ، وتنظيم الجزيء الهيكلي في خيوط الهيكل الخلوي باستخدام تقنية التلوين السلبي ، وترتيب جزيء البروتين الهيكلي في أغشية الخلايا باستخدام تقنية كسر التجميد.

مجهر الكتروني ناقل حديث. مصدر الصورة؛ ديفيد جيه مورغان من كامبريدج ، المملكة المتحدة ، ميكروسكوب الكترونيCC BY-SA 2.0

مجهر المسح الإلكتروني (SEM): المجهر الإلكتروني المسح أو SEM يعتمد على انبعاث الإلكترون الثانوي من الطبقة العليا للعينة. يمكن أن توفر المجاهر الإلكترونية الماسحة عمقًا كبيرًا من التركيز الذي يمكن استخدامه كمجهر ضوئي استريو. يساعدنا هذا في تصوير الخصائص الهيكلية والفيزيائية الدقيقة والمفصلة للغاية للخلايا والأنسجة والعضيات والمجمعات الجزيئية الأخرى التي لا يمكن إجراؤها باستخدام TEM. تعمل المجاهر الإلكترونية الماسحة على دعم تطبيقاتها في عد الخلايا وتحديد الحجم وأحجام المجمعات الجزيئية والتحكم في العمليات.

تم تسمية تصميم المجهر باسم مجهر المسح الإلكتروني لأن هذا المجهر يولد صورًا عن طريق مسح سطح العينة باستخدام شعاع إلكتروني. ثم يتم جمع الانبعاثات السطحية المتناثرة باستخدام أجهزة الكشف. يمكن تصنيف SEMs إلى نوعين ، مسح المجهر النفقي ، ومسح المجهر الإلكتروني للإرسال.

مجهر مسح الكتروني. مصدر الصورة: الدكتور جراهام بيردزنقل Jeol ومسح EMCC BY-SA 4.0

كيف يعمل المجهر الإلكتروني؟

عرض توضيحي للظاهرة الناتجة بعد تفاعل شعاع إلكتروني متحمس مع عينة. مصدر الصورة: كلوديونيكو ~ كومونسويكيتفاعل الإلكترون مع المادةCC BY-SA 4.0

يشبه عمل المجهر الإلكتروني عمل المجهر الضوئي باستثناء حقيقة أن المجهر الإلكتروني يتضمن استخدام حزم إلكترونية لتكوين الصورة بدلاً من الفوتونات. تعمل خيوط التنجستن المسخنة أو الانبعاث الميداني كمصدر لحزمة الإلكترون وتنبعث منها تيار من إلكترونات الجهد العالي بحوالي 5-100 كيلوفولت. يعمل الجهد الكهربي الموجب على تسريع شعاع الإلكترون في الفراغ. يتم بعد ذلك تركيز تيار الإلكترونات هذا في حزمة رقيقة أحادية اللون باستخدام العدسات المغناطيسية. تقع الحزمة المركزة على عينة العينة التي تتفاعل مع المادة. يتم ملاحظة أنماط التفاعل هذه واكتشافها بواسطة شاشة الفلورسنت والكاميرا لتكوين الصور.

ما هي مميزات المجهر الإلكتروني؟

يتميز المجهر الإلكتروني بمجموعة من المزايا مثل:

  • يساعد الفحص المجهري الإلكتروني على تحليل ومراقبة الصور عالية الدقة للعديد من العينات الحية وغير الحية.
  • يمكن أن توفر الصور المجهرية الإلكترونية بيانات مهمة عن الأساس الهيكلي لوظيفة الخلية / الأنسجة ومرض الخلية الذي لم يتم حله بواسطة أنواع أخرى من المجاهر بشكل صحيح.
  • يسمح الفحص المجهري الإلكتروني بتصوير الهياكل البيولوجية الدقيقة للغاية دون إلحاق أي نوع من الضرر بها.
  • يوفر المجهر الإلكتروني صورًا دقيقة للغاية إذا تم إعداده بشكل صحيح.

ما هي عيوب المجهر الإلكتروني؟

المجهر الإلكتروني له مجموعة من العيوب مثل:

  • قد يكون بناء وصيانة تكلفة تشغيل وإعداد المجاهر الإلكترونية مكلفًا.
  • تتطلب هذه المجاهر وضعها في مبانٍ مستقرة مزودة بأدوات لإلغاء الحقول المغناطيسية من أجل الحصول على صور عالية الدقة.
  • يجب أن تبقى العينات المستخدمة في المجهر الإلكتروني في فراغ لتجنب جزيئات الهواء لتشتت الإلكترونات وتتداخل مع تكوين الصورة.
  • تعمل هذه المجاهر بشكل عام مع العينات الموصلة. لذلك ، تتطلب المواد غير الموصلة طلاءًا موصلًا من سبائك الذهب / البلاديوم والكربون والأوزميوم وما إلى ذلك من أجل التصوير المناسب.

ما هي تطبيقات المجهر الإلكتروني؟

يمكن أن يجد المجهر الإلكتروني تطبيقاته في مجالات مختلفة مثل:

  1. تخزين البيانات وأشباه الموصلات: يستخدم المجهر الإلكتروني على نطاق واسع في مختلف عمليات تخزين أشباه الموصلات والبيانات مثل تحرير الدائرة وتحليل الفشل وتحليل العيوب.
  2. صناعة: يستخدم المجهر الإلكتروني على نطاق واسع في عدد من الأعمال الصناعية مثل التصنيع المباشر لكتابة الحزمة ، والتوصيف الدقيق ، ومراقبة الجودة الصيدلانية ، والتعدين (تحليل تحرير المعادن) ، والفراكوغرافيا ، وأبحاث علوم الأغذية ، وأبحاث الطب الشرعي ، والتحليل الكيميائي أو البتروكيماوي.
  3. علم الأحياء وعلوم الحياة: يستخدم المجهر الإلكتروني على نطاق واسع لعدد من أعمال البحث البيولوجي مثل علم الأحياء المجهرية ، المجهر الإلكتروني بالتبريد ، أبحاث الأدوية (مثل المضادات الحيوية) ، الفحص المجهري الإلكتروني التشخيصي ، علم الفيروسات (مثل مراقبة الحمل الفيروسي) ، التصوير المقطعي الإلكتروني ، توطين البروتين ، تحليل الجسيمات ، البيولوجيا الهيكلية ، وكشف الجسيمات ، وتصوير الأنسجة ، وعلم السموم.
  4. بحوث المواد: يستخدم المجهر الإلكتروني على نطاق واسع في أغراض بحث المواد المختلفة مثل تجارب المواد الديناميكية ، واختبار الجهاز ، والتوصيف ، والتوصيف في الموقع ، الترسب الناجم عن شعاع الإلكترون، والبحوث الطبية ، وتأهيل المواد ، والنمذجة النانوية ، و نانومترولوجي.

لمعرفة المزيد عن زيارة الفحص المجهري https://lambdageeks.com/optical-microscope/

سانشاري تشاكرابورتي

أنا متعلم شغوف ، مستثمر حاليًا في مجال البصريات التطبيقية والضوئيات. أنا أيضًا عضو نشط في SPIE (الجمعية الدولية للبصريات والضوئيات) و OSI (الجمعية البصرية في الهند). تهدف مقالاتي إلى تسليط الضوء على موضوعات البحث العلمي عالية الجودة بطريقة بسيطة ولكنها غنية بالمعلومات. العلم يتطور منذ زمن سحيق. لذا ، أحاول أن أستفيد من التطور وأقدمه للقراء. دعنا نتواصل من خلال https://www.linkedin.com/in/sanchari-chakraborty-7b33b416a/

آخر المقالات

Electron Microscope | Working | 2 Important Types | Uses

ELECTRON MICROSCOPE

Contents

What is electron microscopy?

Electron microscope (EM) refers to a method that allows analyzing and observation of very high-resolution images of various living and non-living samples. These types of microscopes are utilized for biomedical research in order to examine the detailed shape and structure of tissues, cells, organelles, and other macromolecular complexes. Electrons (that act as a source of illuminating radiation in this case) have very short wavelengths that help in producing a high resolution of electron microscopy images. Generally, electron microscopy is combined with a number of ancillary techniques such as immuno-labeling, thin sectioning, negative staining, etc. for examining certain specific structures. Electron microscopic images can provide important data on the structural basis of cell/tissue function and of cell disease.  

electron microscope
An early electron microscope. Image source: J Brew, uploaded on the English-speaking Wikipedia by en:User:Hat’nCoat., Ernst Ruska Electron Microscope – Deutsches Museum – Munich-editCC BY-SA 3.0

What are the types of electron microscopy?

Electron microscope can be of two different types:

Transmission Electron Microscope (TEM): Transmission Electron Microscope is used for viewing extremely thin specimens such as molecules, tissue sections, etc. In this, electrons can pass through such tissues to project an image. The TEM is similar to the typical compound light microscope in many ways. Like a compound microscope, TEM is used for imaging the interior of biological cells in extremely thin layers, the structure of protein molecules that is contrasted with the help of metal shadowing, the structural molecule-organization in cytoskeletal filaments by using the negative staining technique, and the structural protein molecule arrangement in cell membranes by using the freeze-fracture technique.

A modern transmission electron microscope. Image source; David J Morgan from Cambridge, UK, Electron MicroscopeCC BY-SA 2.0

Scanning Electron Microscope (SEM): Scanning Electron Microscope or SEM is dependent upon the emission of secondary electron from the upper layer of the specimen. Scanning Electron Microscopes can provide a great depth of focus due to which, it can be utilized as a stereo light microscope. This helps us to image extremely delicate and detailed structural and physical properties of cells, tissues, organelles, and other macromolecular complexes which cannot be performed with TEM. Scanning electron microscopes fids its applications in cell-counting, size-determination the sizes of macromolecular complexes, and process control.

The microscope design is named as Scanning electron microscope because this microscope generates images by scanning the surface of the sample by using an electron beam. The scattered surface emissions are then gathered by using detectors. SEMs can be further categorized into two types, scanning tunneling microscopy, and scanning transmission electron microscopy.

A scanning electron microscope. Image source: Dr Graham BeardsJeol Transmission and scanning EMCC BY-SA 4.0

How does an electron microscope work?

A demonstration of the resultant phenomenon after an excited electron beam interacts with a sample. Image source: Claudionico~commonswikiElectron Interaction with MatterCC BY-SA 4.0

The working of an electron microscope is similar to that of an optical microscope except for the fact that electron microscopy involves the use of electron beams for image formation instead of photons. A heated tungsten or field emission filament acts as a source of the electron beam and emits a stream of high voltage electrons of about 5-100 KeV. A positive electric potential further accelerates the electron beam in a vacuum. This stream of electrons is then focused into a thin monochromatic beam by using magnetic lenses. The focused beam falls on the sample specimen interacting with the material. these interaction patterns are observed and detected by the fluorescent screen and camera to form images.

What are the advantages of electron microscopy?

Electron microscopy has a set of advantages such as:

  • Electron microscopy helps to analyze and observe very high-resolution images of various living and non-living samples.
  • Electron microscopic images can provide important data on the structural basis of cell/tissue function and of cell disease that is not resolved by other types of microscopes properly.
  • Electron microscopy allows the imaging of extremely delicate biological structures without forcing any kind of damage on them.
  • Electron microscopy provides extremely accurate images if it is set-up properly.

What are the disadvantages of electron microscopy?

Electron microscopy has a set of disadvantages such as:

  • Building and maintaining the running and setup cost of the electron microscopes can be expensive.
  • These microscopes require to be placed in stable buildings with instruments to cancel magnetic fields in order to achieve high-resolution images.
  • The samples used in electron microscopy should be kept in a vacuum for avoiding the air molecules to scatter the electrons and interfere with the image formation.
  • These microscopes generally work with conductive specimens. So, non-conductive materials require a conductive coating of gold/palladium alloy, carbon, osmium, etc. for proper imaging.

What are the applications of an electron microscope?

Electron microscope can find its applications in various fields such as:

  1. Semiconductor and data storage: Electron microscopy is used widely in various semiconductor and data storage processes such as circuit edit, failure analysis, and defect analysis.
  2. Industry: Electron microscopy is used widely for a number of industrial work like direct beam-writing fabrication, micro-characterization, pharmaceutical QC, mining (mineral liberation analysis), fractography, food science research, forensic research, and chemical or petrochemical analysis.
  3. Biology and life sciences: Electron microscopy is used widely for a number of biological research work such as cryobiology, cryo-electron microscopy, drug research (e.g. antibiotics), diagnostic electron microscopy, virology (e.g. viral load monitoring), electron tomography, protein localization, particle analysis, structural biology, particle detection, tissue imaging, and toxicology.
  4. Materials research: Electron microscopy is used widely in various material research purposes such as dynamic materials experiments, device testing, and characterization, In-situ characterization, Electron beam-induced deposition, medical research, material qualification, Nanoprototyping, and Nanometrology.

To know more about microscopy visit https://lambdageeks.com/optical-microscope/

About Sanchari Chakraborty

I am an eager learner, currently invested in the field of Applied Optics and Photonics. I am also an active member of SPIE (International society for optics and photonics) and OSI(Optical Society of India). My articles are aimed towards bringing quality science research topics to light in a simple yet informative way. Science has been evolving since time immemorial. So, I try my bit to tap into the evolution and present it to the readers.

Let's connect through https://www.linkedin.com/in/sanchari-chakraborty-7b33b416a/