إيدي التيارات: نظرة عامة مفصلة ، 5 تطبيقات مهمة

هنا سوف ندرس حول التيارات الدوامة وما هو المقصود بالتخميد الكهرومغناطيسي. لكن تغيير التدفق المغناطيسي يستحث أيضًا تيارات في قطع كبيرة من الموصلات ، ويشبه نمط تدفقها نمط الدوامات الدوامة في الماء.

لاحظ فرانسوا أراغو ، عالم الرياضيات وحتى رئيس الوزراء الخامس والعشرين لفرنسا ، التيارات الدوامة لأول مرة في عام 25. لاحقًا اكتشف عالم فيزياء يُدعى فوكو هذه التيارات ، والتي يُطلق عليها صراحة تيارات إيدي.

مظاهرة بسيطة لتيار إيدي

يمكن فهم سبب وتأثير التيارات الدوامة من خلال تجربة بسيطة ، كما ذكرنا. لوح من النحاس يتأرجح مثل البندول.

الدوامة الحالية
إيدي كرنت ، الصورة بواسطة - شيتفورنوتيارات إيدي بسبب المغناطيسCC0 1.0

تنتج هذه العوائق في حركة التأرجح للوحة ، وبالتالي ، فإن حركة التأرجح تضعف. في بعض الوقت ، تستقر اللوحة في المجال المغناطيسي. 

يمكن تقليل تأثير التخميد الكهرومغناطيسي عن طريق قطع المساحة المتاحة لتدفق التيارات الدوامة. وبالتالي ، إذا تمكنا من إدخال فتحات وثقوب مستطيلة في اللوحة ، وبسبب حقيقة أن اللحظات المغناطيسية للتيارات المستحثة تعتمد على المنطقة المحيطة بها ، فيمكننا تقليل التخميد الكهرومغناطيسي وتتأرجح اللوحة بحرية أكبر.

قوة التيارات الدوامة

يمكن التعبير عن قوة تبديد التيارات الدوامة على النحو التالي:

أين،

تشير P إلى القدرة المفقودة لكل وحدة كتلة.

Bp يشير إلى المجالات المغناطيسية القصوى.

د يشير إلى السماكة.

يشير f إلى التردد.

ك يشير إلى ثابت.

ρ يشير إلى المقاومة.

يشير D إلى الكثافة.

ينخفض ​​تيار إيدي باستخدام التصفيح في قلب المعدن. وبسبب هذا ، يتم تقليل الحجم بشكل كبير.

نظرًا لأن تبديد الطاقة في شكل حرارة يعتمد على مربعات من حجم التيارات الدوامة ، فإن فقدان الحرارة وبالتالي ، يتم تقليل فقد الطاقة. يمكن أيضًا تقليل فقد الطاقة باستخدام تصفيح أرق بمحتوى منخفض جدًا من الكربون أو حديد ناعم وأسلاك ذات مقاطع عرضية أكبر.

التيارات الدوامة في بلاطة مع تصفيح وبدون الخروج
تيارات إيدي في بلاطة مع التصفيح وبدون الخروج ، ائتمان الصورة - شيتفورنوتيارات إيدي الأساسية مغلفة 2CC0 1.0

هذه تجربة مباشرة حيث يمكننا ملاحظة التخميد الكهرومغناطيسي.

أنبوبان أسطوانيان رفيعان مجوفان لهما نفس الاتجاهات الهندسية ولكن أحدهما مصنوع من الألمنيوم والآخر من الأنابيب البلاستيكية يتم تثبيتها عموديًا. يتم إسقاط مغناطيس أسطواني بقطر أقل بقليل من قطر الأسطوانة عبر كلا الأنبوبين بطريقة لا تلامس الجدران الداخلية للأنابيب الأسطوانية. يستغرق المغناطيس الذي يسقط عبر الأنبوب PVC نفس الوقت ليخرج من الأنبوب كما قد يستغرقه إذا سقط من نفس الارتفاع بدون أي أنبوب. يستغرق المغناطيس الموجود في أنبوب الألمنيوم وقتًا أطول نسبيًا للخروج من الأنبوب.

ويرجع ذلك إلى التيارات الدوامة التي يتم إنتاجها في أنبوب الألمنيوم والتي تعارض التدفق المغناطيسي المتغير عندما يتحرك المغناطيس عبر أنبوب الألمنيوم. نظرًا لأن PVC هو عازل ، فلا تتشكل فيه تيارات دوامة. تُعرف هذه الظاهرة التي تؤدي فيها قوة التثبيط بسبب التيارات الدوامة إلى تقييد حركة الجسم باسم التخميد الكهرومغناطيسي.

تطبيقات التيارات الدوامة

على الرغم من أن التيارات الدوامة غير مرغوب فيها في بعض التطبيقات ، إلا أن هناك العديد من التطبيقات التي تعتبر التيارات الدوامة ضرورية لعملهم. بعضها عبارة عن مكابح مغناطيسية في القطارات ، والتخميد الكهرومغناطيسي ، وفرن الحث ، وعدادات الطاقة الكهربائية ، والتحليق ، وتحديد المعادن ، واستشعار الاهتزاز والموضع ، والاختبار الإنشائي ، وما إلى ذلك ، وقد تم شرح بعضها بالتفصيل على النحو التالي:

  • الكبح المغناطيسي في القطارات: كما نعلم أن القطارات ثقيلة جدًا ويمكنها التحرك بسرعات كبيرة ، لذلك يجب أن يكون نظام الفرملة في القطارات قويًا وسلسًا للغاية. التيارات إيدي تجعل هذا ممكنا. قوي مغناطيسات كهربائية يمكن أن يستحث التيارات الدوامة في القضبان. نظرًا لعدم وجود احتكاك حيث لا توجد روابط ميكانيكية ؛ ومن ثم ، يصبح نظام الكبح سلسًا للغاية. لكن هذا التطبيق يستخدم في بعض القطارات التي تعمل بالكهرباء فقط.
  • فرن الحث: يستخدم لصهر الحديد والصلب والنحاس والألمنيوم والمعادن النفيسة الأخرى لأغراض اللحام أو إعادة التشكيل أو لصنع السبائك. في فرن الحث ، ينتج تيار الدوامة درجات حرارة عالية جدًا مناسبة بما يكفي لإذابة المعادن.
  • التخميد الكهرومغناطيسي: يستفيد عدد قليل من أدوات القياس مثل الجلفانومتر من تأثير التيارات الدوامة في معارضة الحركة. لديهم نواة ثابتة تتكون من مادة غير مغناطيسية ولكنها معدنية تتولد فيها التيارات الدوامة عندما يتأرجح الملف ، والذي بدوره يعارض حركة الملف ويجعله يستقر بسرعة.
  • التأثيرات البغيضة والارتفاع: عند تطبيق مجال مغناطيسي متغير ، فإنه يستحث التيارات الدوامة التي تظهر سلوك تنافر شبه مغناطيسي بسبب تعرض المعدن أو أي مادة موصلة لقوة تنافر.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول تطبيق إيدي الحالي ، يمكنك قراءة المقالة على اختبار التيار الدوامة, مستشعر التيار الدوامة و الفرامل الحالية الدوامة.

انتقل إلى الأعلى

An Overview of Eddy Currents | 5+ Important Applications

Here we will be studying about eddy currents and what is meant by electromagnetic damping. But changing magnetic flux also induces currents in bulk pieces of conductors, and their flow pattern resembles that of swirling eddies in the water.

François Arago, a mathematician and even the 25th prime minister of France, first observed the eddy currents in 1824. Later a physicist named Foucault discovered these currents, which are termed explicitly as eddy currents.

Eddy Current
Eddy Current, Image By – ChetvornoEddy currents due to magnetCC0 1.0

A Simple Demonstration of Eddy Current

The cause and effect of eddy currents can be understood by a simple experiment, as mentioned. A copper’s plate is swinging like pendulums.

These produce hindrances in the swinging motion of the plate, and hence, the swinging motion is damped. In some time, the plate comes to rest in the magnetic field. 

This electromagnetic damping effect can be reduced by cutting down the available area for the flow of eddy currents. Hence, if we can introduce rectangular slots and holes in the plate, and because of the fact that the magnetic moments of the induced currents depend on the area enclosed by it, we can reduce the electromagnetic damping and the plate swings more freely.

POWER OF EDDY CURRENTS

The dissipation power of eddy currents can be expressed as:

Where,

P refers to the power lost per unit mass.

Bp refers to the maximum magnetic fields.

d refers to the thickness.

f refers to the frequency.

k refers to a constant .

ρ refers to the resistivity.

D refers to the density.

Eddy current is decreased by using laminations in the metal core. Because of this, the magnitude is substantially reduced.

As the dissipation of energy in the form of heat is depended on squares of the magnitude of the eddy currents, the heat loss and subsequently, the energy loss is decreased. Energy losses can further be reduced by using thinner lamination with very low-carbon content iron or soft iron and wires with larger cross-sections.

eddy currents in a slab with and with-out laminations
eddy currents in a slab with and with-out lamination, Image Credit – ChetvornoLaminated core eddy currents 2CC0 1.0

Here’s a straightforward experiment where we can notice electromagnetic damping.

Two hollow thin cylindrical pipes of same geometrical orientations but one made up of aluminum and the other a PVC pipe is being clamped vertically. A cylindrical magnet having a diameter a little less than that of the cylinder’s diameters is dropped through both the pipes in such a way that they don’t get to touch the inner walls of the cylindrical pipes. The magnet dropped through the PVC pipe takes the same time to come out of the pipe as it would take if dropped from the same height without any pipe. The magnet in the aluminum pipe comparatively takes a longer time to come out of the pipe.

This is due to the eddy currents which are produced in the aluminum pipe that opposes the changing magnetic flux when the magnet moves through the aluminum pipe. As PVC is an insulator, no eddy currents are formed in it. This phenomenon where a retarding force due to the eddy currents restricts the motion of an object is known as electromagnetic damping.

APPLICATIONS OF EDDY CURRENTS

Although eddy currents are undesirable in some applications, there are many applications in which eddy currents are a necessity for their working. Some of them are magnetic braking in trains, electromagnetic damping, induction furnace, electrical power meters, levitation, identification of metals, Vibration and position sensing, structural testing, etc. Some of them have been explained in details as follows:

  • Magnetic braking in trains: As we know that the trains are quite heavy and can move at great speeds, hence, the braking system of trains should be very powerful and smooth. Eddy currents make this possible. Strong electromagnets can induces eddy currents in the rails. As there is no friction involved as there are no mechanical linkages; hence, the braking system becomes very smooth. But this application is used in some electrically powered trains only.
  • Induction furnace: They are used to melt iron, steel, copper, aluminum, and other precious metals for welding purposes, reshaping purposes, or for making alloys. In an induction furnace, the eddy current produces very high temperatures suitable enough to melt the metals.
  • Electromagnetic damping: Few measuring instruments like galvanometers make use of the effect of eddy currents in opposing the motion. They have a fixed core made up of a non-magnetic but metallic material in which the eddy currents are generated when the coil oscillates, which in turn opposes the motion of the coil and brings it to rest position quickly.
  • Repulsive effects and levitation: when a changing magnetic field is applied, it induces eddy currents that exhibit the behaviour of diamagnetic-like repulsion due to which a metal or any conductive material will experience a repulsion force.

For more about eddy current application, may read article on eddy current testing, eddy current sensor and eddy current brake.

About Amrit Shaw

Connect to our ex-author: LinkedIn(https://www.linkedin.com/in/amrit-shaw/)