Test de courants de Foucault et ses (3+) applications et avantages importants

Essais par courants de Foucault est une méthode de test non destructif polyvalente, capable de détecter les défauts de surface du métal conducteur même sans enlever le revêtement de ce matériau. Une bobine électromagnétique est utilisée pour produire un champ magnétique. mais avant de discuter de ce sujet, nous devons connaître les caractéristiques de base du courant de Foucault et comment il pourrait être produit.

Quel est le principe du courant de Foucault?

Quelques caractéristiques des courants de Foucault

Courant de Foucault Ce courant qui circule dans un conducteur métallique ressemble à un tourbillon de tourbillons dans un ruisseau, à cause de cela, il est connu sous le nom de courant de Foucault. Il agit dans le sens vertical par rapport au plan du champ magnétique et circule en boucles fermées à l'intérieur du conducteur. Le courant de Foucault peut être produit et observé si le champ magnétique entourant un conducteur statique est variable, c'est-à-dire que tout ce qui conduit le conducteur à changer la direction ou l'intensité d'un champ magnétique peut créer des courants de Foucault.

«La valeur du courant de Foucault est proportionnelle au changement de champ magnétique et c'est donc un phénomène de changement de champ magnétique et souvent considéré comme un champ secondaire.»

L'électroaimant et les aimants permanents peuvent créer un courant de Foucault, en plus des transformateurs et du mouvement relatif effectué lorsqu'un aimant est situé le long d'une substance ou d'une plaque conductrice. Les courants de Foucault sont utilisés dans des applications particulières, telles que les tests non destructifs, connus sous le nom de tests de courants de Foucault en CND.

Il est inversement proportionnel à la résistivité de la substance par laquelle il est généré. Par conséquent, de nombreux facteurs peuvent avoir un impact sur un courant de Foucault, ce qui signifie également qu'il existe de nombreuses méthodes par lesquelles ils peuvent être réglés.

Des courants de Foucault sont créés car un champ magnétique secondaire est créé qui s'oppose au premier champ magnétique. à cause de cela, la création d'une zone électrique de champ circulaire se produit. Les zones de champ magnétique sont généralement représentées par des lignes circulaires dans lesquelles le champ magnétique est dirigé. Les lignes de champ électrique se déplacent dans le sens inverse des aiguilles d'une montre vers les lignes de champ magnétique.

Dans le freinage par courants de Foucault, utilisé comme conception de système de freinage pour l'outil électrique rotatif et les montagnes russes, dans lesquels les courants de Foucault (les champs magnétiques opposés créent cette résistance) ont été exploités dans cette application de génération de force de freinage.

Pourquoi les courants de Foucault sont-ils appelés Eddy?

Les courants de Foucault sont appelés «Eddy» car ils ressemblent à des tourbillons ou à des tourbillons. 

Qui a inventé les courants de Foucault?

Des courants de Foucault ont été observés en 1824 par des scientifiques et le Premier ministre français, François Arago. Il a reconnu qu'il était susceptible de magnétiser la plupart des conducteurs et a été le premier à observer le magnétisme rotatif. 

Après dix ans, vers 1834, la loi de Lenz fut postulée par Heinrich Lenz. 

Cependant, ce n'est qu'en 1855 que le physicien français Léon Foucault découvrit formellement les courants de Foucault.

Léon Foucault
Crédit d'image: Zátonyi Sándor, (ifj.) FizpedRécolte Foucault PortreCC BY 3.0

Quelle est la formule du courant de Foucault?

La perte par courants de Foucault ou (I2R), peut être calculée en standard où I est la valeur du courant et R est la résistance du trajet des courants de Foucault.

Bien que la mesure des courants de Foucault pour une grande géométrie complexe soit compliquée et doit être calculée par une solution intégrale elliptique et en tenant compte de l'impédance, de l'inductance mutuelle entre les bobines interférentes et contributives également.

Quelles sont les applications des courants de Foucault?

Application des courants de Foucault

Rupture électromagnétique: cela utilise la force de traînée créée par les courants de Foucault pour ralentir ou arrêter les objets en mouvement; par exemple, les freins électromagnétiques sont utilisés dans divers transports.

Lévitation: 

L'application des courants de Foucault se fait en lévitation magnétique. Les conducteurs sont vulnérables aux champs magnétiques variables, qui provoquent des courants de Foucault induits à l'intérieur du conducteur et créent un champ magnétique répulsif, obligeant l'aimant et le conducteur à l'écart l'un de l'autre. Ce champ magnétique changeant peut être provoqué par un mouvement relatif entre l'aimant et le conducteur (généralement l'aimant est dans une position fixe et les conducteurs se déplaçant) ou en utilisant un électroaimant employé avec un courant variable pour modifier la force du champ magnétique.

Train à lévitation magnétique (maglev) crédit d'image: Wahid145Changsha MaglevCC BY-SA 4.0

Qu'est-ce que le test par courants de Foucault en CND?

Le test par courants de Foucault est une méthode de test non destructif polyvalente, capable de détecter les défauts de surface du métal conducteur même sans enlever le revêtement de ce matériau. Une bobine électromagnétique est utilisée pour produire un champ magnétique.

Les applications industrielles les plus courantes sont dans les essais non destructifs NDT et dans les applications qui utilisent les principes d'amortissement électromagnétique.

Essais par courants de Foucault
Essais par courants de Foucault
Research Training Group Lorentz Force Velocimetry and Lorentz Force Eddy Current Testing LAISSERCC BY-SA 3.0

Courants de Foucault dans les essais non destructifs (CND)

Les courants de Foucault peuvent être utilisés pour découvrir des défauts (fissure ou fente) ou des pièces défectueuses dans les matériaux. Ceci peut être connu sous le nom d'essais par courants de Foucault non destructifs et est fréquemment utilisé dans la conception et les essais de sous-systèmes d'avions. Le champ magnétique généré par les courants de Foucault est quantifié, où une altération de la zone montre l'existence d'une irrégularité; un défaut minimisera ce courant de Foucault, ce qui diminue par la suite la force du champ magnétique.

Les courants de Foucault sont utilisés dans quelques-unes des approches CND électromagnétiques les plus courantes pour déterminer si une substance ou une surface présente des discontinuités, des défauts ou des fissures sans endommager la substance elle-même. Les approches CND sont largement utilisées dans tout le bâtiment de construction et le matériel civil pour examiner plusieurs substances. Pourtant, les courants de Foucault ont découvert les plus utilisés pour tester les substances tubulaires et en forme de barre. Cependant, tous les problèmes structurels orientés circonférentiellement sont difficiles à détecter par cette méthode de test par courants de Foucault car elle est plus complexe à détecter.

Le test par courants de Foucault est un objectif de test NDT non destructif populaire avec une technique simple. Les tests par courants de Foucault utilisent une bobine pour produire un champ électromagnétique sur la surface du matériau qui doit être analysé, un échantillon de matériau conducteur. Un courant de Foucault se produira à la surface du matériau d'essai dans le sens antihoraire par rapport à la direction initiale du courant.

Toute discontinuité, qu'il s'agisse de vides ou d'imperfections (sauf circonférentielle), sera probablement bientôt détectée car la densité des courants de Foucault peut probablement changer. Cela peut également être mesurable et détectable par les changements importants. Bien qu'il soit fréquemment utilisé sur des substances rondes, les résistances peuvent également être adaptées pour découvrir les difficultés de certaines substances horizontales. Il n'y a aucune difficulté avec des discontinuités spécifiques imperceptibles en raison de la géométrie de cette substance.

sondes de test de courants de Foucault

À quelle fréquence les tests par courants de Foucault doivent-ils être effectués?

  • Des tests par courants de Foucault sont recommandés périodiquement; des tests préventifs pour tous les faisceaux de tubes sont recommandés tous les trois ans. 
  • Les résultats des tests par courants de Foucault ont été comparés à ceux du test précédent pour aider à déterminer les taux de détérioration des tubes et prédire la durée de vie future des tubes, d'où la durabilité de la tuyauterie. 

Quel est le but des tests par courants de Foucault?

Cela peut être utilisé pour

  • détection de défauts, identification des matériaux
  • analyse du traitement thermique de certains métaux.
  • mesures d'épaisseur de revêtement de surface du matériau, etc.
Essais par courants de Foucault

Essais par courants de Foucault pour a) Bobine pour tube solide b) bobine pour tube creux c) Aimant permanent pour tube solide d) Aimant permanent pour tube creux
Crédit d'image: Research Training Group Lorentz Force Velocimetry and Lorentz Force Eddy Current Testing, Trans longitCC BY-SA 3.0

Les avantages des tests par courants de Foucault sont:

  • Sensibilité aux défauts de surface (peut détecter jusqu'à 0.5 mm.)
  • test de courants de Foucault capable de mesurer à travers de nombreuses couches.
  • capable de détecter même à travers les revêtements de surface.
  • Automatique - Des composants relativement uniformes pourraient être inspectés rapidement et de manière fiable avec des engrenages automatiques ou semi-automatisés, par exemple des freins, des tubes de chaudière et des disques de moteur d'avion.
  • Un pré-nettoyage minimum est requis dans la méthode de test par courants de Foucault. Seuls les revêtements de surface irréguliers importants doivent être éliminés, ce qui réduit le temps de préparation.
  • L'équipement de test mobile est assez petit et léger, un certain nombre des équipements les plus récents étant un peu comme une boîte vidéo et pesant plus de deux kg.

Les inconvénients des tests par courants de Foucault sont:

  • Vulnérable aux changements de perméabilité magnétique: De légères modifications de la perméabilité peuvent avoir eu un impact sur la génération des courants de Foucault, en particulier dans les substances ferromagnétiques. Cela rend les tests des soudures et autres matériaux ferromagnétiques difficiles; cependant, avec des détecteurs numériques contemporains et une conception avancée, il peut être possible d'améliorer la précision.
  • Uniquement pour les substances conductrices: La substance doit avoir la capacité de faire circuler le courant électrique, donc conductrice. Cela rend l'analyse des plastiques renforcés de fibres à l'aide de tests par courants de Foucault plus compliquée.
  • Impossible de détecter les défauts parallèles à la surface: dans le cas où un défaut planaire ne traverse pas ou n'interfère pas avec le présent, alors le défaut ne sera pas détecté.
  • Compliqué pour les grandes régions et / ou les géométries complexes: Peut-être pas acceptable pour les grandes régions et / ou les géométries complexes. Un balayage de grande surface peut être accompli mais nécessite l'assistance d'un certain type d'appareil de balayage de zone, généralement encouragé par un ordinateur, dont chacun n'est pas bon marché. Plus la géométrie devient compliquée, plus il est difficile de distinguer les signaux de défaut des signes d'influence de la géométrie. En raison des nombreux facteurs qui influencent les courants de Foucault, une interprétation prudente des signes est nécessaire pour différencier les signaux pertinents et non pertinents.

Quels facteurs peuvent avoir un impact sur les tests par courants de Foucault?

Plusieurs facteurs influent sur la précision des inspections par courants de Foucault par exemple

  • Fréquence des tests
  • Alignement des défauts
  • Décollage
  • Géométrie de surface. 

Qu'est-ce que le test par courants de Foucault des tubes?

  • Les tests par courants de Foucault permettent de détecter les défauts ou les fuites dans les tuyaux creux métalliques. 
  • Dans ce processus, une petite sonde magnétique s'insère dans le tube ou le tuyau. Cette sonde est capable de se déplacer sur toute la longueur du tuyau de détection. 
  • Un courant de Foucault sera produit dans cette sonde en raison de l'induction magnétique.
  • Si le signal s'écarte des normes, il détecte les défauts en utilisant ces méthodes de test par courants de Foucault.

Les courants de Foucault peuvent-ils détecter les fissures?

Oui, la méthode de détection des fissures par courants de Foucault est très sensible pour détecter une fissure mineure. Cette technique standard d'inspection de surface est également largement utilisée dans la pétrochimie et l'aérospatiale, principalement dans l'inspection des tubes et l'inspection des surfaces métalliques. C'est l'une des principales applications des tests par courants de Foucault.

L'application d'amortissement électromagnétique:

Dans les applications réelles, c'est un principe utilisé sur les freins de chemin de fer qui aident les wagons à grande vitesse à s'arrêter à des points spécifiques, car l'interaction entre les courants de Foucault et les substances conductrices ralentit le mouvement du train sans avoir besoin de freins corporels. Un autre usage est dans le plan des galvanomètres. Ces appareils mesurent de petits courants électriques, où des courants de Foucault peuvent être utilisés pour annuler les déviations du galvanomètre, de sorte que la bobine utilisée à partir du galvanomètre atteint l'équilibre.

Inconvénients des courants de Foucault:

Il y a une perte de chaleur importante lors de la circulation des courants de Foucault due au frottement dans le circuit magnétique.

Les inconvénients du courant de Foucault peuvent être réduits en réalisant des bandes minces au lieu d'un bloc du noyau d'induction car comme les blocs sont constitués de bandes minces, le nombre de boucles possibles diminue.

Pour en savoir plus sur les courants de Foucault, cliquez sur Frein à courant de Foucault et Capteur de courant de Foucault.

À propos du Dr Subrata Jana

Je suis Subrata, Ph.D. en génie, plus particulièrement intéressé par les domaines liés aux sciences nucléaires et énergétiques. J'ai une expérience multi-domaines allant de l'ingénieur de service pour les variateurs électroniques et les microcontrôleurs à des travaux de R&D spécialisés. J'ai travaillé sur divers projets, y compris la fission nucléaire, la fusion au solaire photovoltaïque, la conception de réchauffeurs et d'autres projets. J'ai un vif intérêt pour le domaine scientifique, l'énergie, l'électronique et l'instrumentation, et l'automatisation industrielle, principalement en raison du large éventail de problèmes stimulants hérités de ce domaine, et chaque jour il évolue avec la demande industrielle. Notre objectif ici est d'illustrer ces sujets scientifiques complexes et non conventionnels d'une manière simple et compréhensible.
Je suis passionné par l'apprentissage de nouvelles techniques et guide les jeunes esprits pour qu'ils se comportent comme un professionnel, aient une vision et améliorent leurs performances en enrichissant leurs connaissances et leur expérience.
En dehors du front professionnel, j'aime la photographie, la peinture et l'exploration de la beauté de la nature. Connectons-nous via linkedin - https://www.linkedin.com/in/subrata-jana-399336140/

Geeks Lambda

Eddy current testing and its (3+) important application and advantages

Eddy Current Testing is a versatile Non-Destructive Testing method, which capable to detect surface defects for conductive metal even without removal of coating of that material. An electromagnetic coil is utilized to produce a magnetic field. but before discussing about this topic we must know about the basic characteristics of eddy current and how it could be produced.

What is the principle of eddy current?

Some Characteristics of Eddy Current

Eddy current is current that circulate in metal conductor looks like a swirling eddies in a stream, because of this it’s known as eddy current. It acts in the vertical direction to the plane of the magnetic field and flows in closed loops within the conductor. The eddy current can be made and observed if the magnetic field surrounding a static conductor is changeable, i.e., whatever leads to the conductor changing the direction or intensity of a magnetic field may create eddy currents.

“The value of the eddy current is proportionate to the change of magnetic field and hence it’s a phenomena of changing magnetic field and frequently regarded as a secondary field.”

Either electromagnet and permanent magnets can make an Eddy current, in addition to transformers and from the relative movement made when a magnet is situated alongside a conductive substance or plate. Eddy currents are used in particular applications, such as non-destructive testing, known as eddy current testing in NDT.

It’s inversely proportional to the resistivity of the substance by which it generated. Therefore, many things may impact an eddy current, which also means that there are many methods by which they may be tuned.

Eddy currents are created since a secondary magnetic field is made that opposes the first magnetic field. because of this, creation of circular field electrical area occurs. Magnetic field areas are usually represented as circular lines in which the magnetic field is directed. The electrical field lines move into a counter-clockwise path to the magnetic field lines.

In eddy current braking, used as braking system design for the rotatable power-tool and rollercoaster, in which eddy current (The opposing magnetic fields create this resistance) have been exploited in that application of braking force generation.

Why is eddy current called Eddy?

Eddy currents are termed “Eddy” as it looks like whirlpools or eddies. 

Who invented eddy current?

Eddy currents were observed in 1824 by scientists and Prime Minister of France, François Arago. He recognized that it had been likely to magnetize most conductor and has been the first to watch rotary magnetism. 

After ten years, around 1834, Lenz’s Law was postulated by Heinrich Lenz. 

However, it was not until 1855 the French physicist Léon Foucault formally discovered eddy currents.

Léon Foucault
Image credit : Zátonyi Sándor, (ifj.) FizpedFoucault portre cropCC BY 3.0

What is the formula of eddy current?

The eddy current loss or (I2R) loss, can be calculated as standard where I is the value of the current and R is the resistance of the eddy current path.

Though eddy current measurement for large complex geometry is complicated and need to be calculated by elliptical integral solution and considering impedance, mutual inductance between interfering and contributing coils also.

What are the Application of Eddy Current?

Application of eddy current

Electromagnetic breaking: this utilized the drag force created by eddy current to slow or stop moving objects; for example, electromagnetic brakes are used in various transportations.

Levitation: 

The application of eddy currents is in magnetic levitation. Conductors are vulnerable to varying magnetic fields, which cause induced eddy currents inside the conductor and create a repulsive magnetic field, compelling the magnet and conductor apart from each other. This changing magnetic field may be brought on by relative motion between the magnet and conductor (usually the magnet is in a fixed position, and conductors moving in ) or using an electromagnet employed with a variable current to change the strength of the magnetic field.

Magnetically Levitated (maglev) Train image credit: Wahid145Changsha MaglevCC BY-SA 4.0

What is eddy current testing in NDT?

Eddy Current Testing is a versatile Non-Destructive Testing method, which capable to detect surface defects for conductive metal even without removal of coating of that material. An electromagnetic coil is utilized to produce a magnetic field.

The most common industrial applications are in NDT-Non destructive testing purposes and in the applications that use electromagnetic damping principles.

Eddy Current Testing
Eddy Current Testing
Research Training Group Lorentz Force Velocimetry and Lorentz Force Eddy Current Testing, LETCC BY-SA 3.0

Eddy currents in Non-Destructive Testing (NDT)

The eddy currents may be used to discover flaws (Crack or slit) or defective parts in materials. This can be known as non-destructive eddy current testing and is frequently utilized in airplanes subsystem design and testing. The magnetic field originated by the eddy currents is quantified, where an alteration in the area shows the existence of an irregularity; a flaw will minimize this eddy current, which subsequently lessens the strength of the magnetic field.

Eddy currents are employed in a few of the most usual electromagnetic NDT approaches to determine whether a substance or surface has some discontinuities, defects, or cracks without damaging the substance itself. NDT approaches are used extensively throughout the construction building and civil material to examine several substances. Still, eddy currents have discovered the mostly utilized to test tubular and bar-shaped substances. But, any structural problems that are circumferentially orientated are tough to detect by this eddy current testing method as it is more complex to detect.

Eddy current testing is a popular NDT-Non destructive testing purpose with a simple technique. Eddy current testing uses a coil to produce an electromagnetic field on the material’s surface that has to be analyzed, a sample conductive material. An eddy current, will generate on the surface of the test material in counter-clockwise to the initial current direction.

Any discontinuities, either voids or imperfection (unless circumferential), will probably soon be picked up as the eddy current density can probably change. This can also be measurable and detectable by the significant changes. Although it’s frequently used on round substances, the coils may also be adapted to discover some horizontal substances’ difficulties. There aren’t any difficulties with specific discontinuities being imperceptible because of the geometry of this substance.

eddy current testing probes

How often should eddy current testing be done?

  • Eddy current testing is recommended periodically; preventative testing for all tube bundles is recommended every three years. 
  • Eddy Current testing results have been compared to the prior test to help determine tube deterioration rates and predict future tube life, hence the durability of piping. 

What is the purpose of eddy current testing?

This can be utilized for

  • flaw detection, material identification
  • heat treatment analysis of certain metals.
  • material surface coating thickness measurements etc.
Eddy Current Testing

Eddy Current Testing for a) Coil for solid tube b) coil for hollow tube c) Permanent Magnet for solid tube d) Permanent magnet for hollow tube
Image credit : Research Training Group Lorentz Force Velocimetry and Lorentz Force Eddy Current Testing, Trans longitCC BY-SA 3.0

The advantages of eddy current testing are:

  • Sensitivity to surface defects( might detect up to 0.5 mm.)
  • eddy current testing capable of measuring through numerous layers.
  • capable to detect even through surface-coatings.
  • Automatic- Relatively uniform components could be inspected quickly and reliably with automatic or semi-automated gear, e.g., brakes, boiler tubes, and airplanes engine discs.
  • Minimum pre-cleaning is required in eddy current testing method. Only important irregular surface coatings have to be eliminated, reducing prep time.
  • Mobile test equipment is quite small and light, a number of the most recent gear being a little like a videotape box and weighing over two kg.

The disadvantages of eddy current testing are:

  • Vulnerable to magnetic permeability changes: Slight changes in permeability may have impacted in the eddy currents generation, particularly in ferromagnetic substances. This makes testing of welds and other ferromagnetic materials challenging; however, with contemporary digital detectors and advanced design, it can be possible to improve the accuracy.
  • Only for conducting substances: The substance has to have the ability to flow the electrical current, hence conductive. This makes analyzing of fiber-reinforced plastics using eddy current testing more complicated using this.
  • Not able detect defects parallel to the surface: In case a planar defect doesn’t cross or interfere with the present, then the flaw won’t be detected.
  • Complicated for large regions and/or intricate geometries: Maybe not acceptable for large regions and/or intricate geometries. Large area scanning may be accomplished but requires the assistance of some kind of area scanning apparatus, typically encouraged by a computer, each of which aren’t inexpensive. The more complicated the geometry becomes, the harder it’s to distinguish flaw signals from geometry influence signs. On account of the numerous factors which influence eddy currents, cautious interpretation of signs is required to differentiate between relevant and non-relevant signals.

Which factors may impacts eddy current testing?

Multiple factors impacts in accuracy of an eddy current inspections for example

  • Testing frequency
  • Alignment of flaws
  • Lift-off
  • Surface geometry. 

What is eddy current testing of tubes?

  • Eddy current testing utilizes to detect defect or leaks in the metal hollow pipes. 
  • In that process, A small magnetic probe inserts into the tube or pipe. This probe is able to move thru the length of the detecting pipe. 
  • Eddy current will be produced in that probe because of magnetic induction.
  • If the signal deviates from standards, then it detects the faults using this eddy current testing methods.

Can eddy current detect cracks?

Yes, the eddy current crack detection method is very sensitive to detect a minor crack. This standard technique for surface inspection is also used extensively in petrochemical and aerospace, mainly in tubing inspection and metal surface inspection. It’s one of the major application of eddy current testing.

The electromagnetic damping application:

In real-life applications, it’s a principle used on railroad brakes that assist high-speed railroad carriages in stopping at specific points, since the interaction between the eddy current and conductive substances slows the train’s movement with no necessity for bodily brakes. Another usage is in the plan of galvanometers. These devices measure small electric currents, where eddy currents may be employed to cancel the galvanometer’s deflections, so the coil used from the galvanometer reaches balance.

Disadvantages of Eddy Currents:

There is a major heat loss during circulation of eddy currents due to friction in the magnetic circuit.

The disadvantages of the eddy current can be reduced by making thin strips instead of a block of the core of induction because as the blocks are made of thin strips, the no of possible loops reduces.

To know more about Eddy current click Eddy Current Brake and Eddy Current Sensor.

About Dr. Subrata Jana

I am Subrata, Ph.D. in Engineering, more specifically interested in Nuclear and Energy science related domains. I have multi-domain experience starting from Service Engineer for electronics drives and micro-controller to specialized R&D work. I have worked on various projects, including nuclear fission, fusion to solar photovoltaics, heater design, and other projects. I have a keen interest in the science domain, energy, electronics and instrumentation, and industrial automation, primarily because of the wide range of stimulating problems inherited to this field, and every day it’s changing with industrial demand. Our aim here is to exemplify these unconventional, complex science subjects in an easy and understandable to the point manner.
I am passionate about learning new techniques and guide young minds to perform like a professional, have a vision, and improve their performance by enriching knowledge and experience.
Apart from the professional front, I like photography, painting, and exploring the beauty of nature.Lets connect over linked-in - https://www.linkedin.com/in/subrata-jana-399336140/