13 حقائق عن اتجاه عزم الدوران: مغناطيسي وكهربائي وكيفية العثور عليها


في هذا المقال ، سنناقش الحقائق حول اتجاه عزم الدوران في المجالات المغناطيسية والكهربائية.

نحن نعلم أنه من الممكن تدوير جسم حول محوره ، وعادة ما تسمى القوة المسؤولة عن ذلك بالعزم. يؤدي عزم الدوران إلى الزاوي تسارع. يتوافق العزم بشكل أساسي مع قوة الدوران المسؤولة عن الحركة الدورانية حول محور معروف بأنه محور الدوران.

يتعامل القسم التالي مع بعض الحقائق العامة المرتبطة باتجاه عزم الدوران.

اتجاه عزم الدوران

نظرًا لأن عزم الدوران عبارة عن ناقل ، يُعتقد أن له اتجاه معين. رياضيا ، يمكننا أن نفسر عزم الدوران على أنه ناقل ناتج عندما نأخذ المنتوج الوسيط من متجه المسافة الشعاعية مع متجه القوة. المتجه الذي نحصل عليه ، والذي ليس سوى عزم الدوران ، متعامد بشكل أساسي مع المتجهات المتضمنة في حاصل الضرب الاتجاهي. يمكن رؤية المتجه وهو يشير إلى الصفحة أو خارج الصفحة.

يشرح الجزء التالي اتجاهي عزم الدوران.

ما اتجاهان لعزم الدوران؟

كما نعلم بالفعل ، يمثل عزم الدوران كمية متجهة. تقييم قيمة عزم الدوران هو مزيج من تقييم كلا الاتجاهين وكذلك المقدار. بشكل عام ، يبدو أن الاتجاه المحدد متعامد فيما يتعلق بالتطبيق القوة ونصف قطر من المحور.

يتعامل الجزء التالي مع اتجاه عزم الدوران فيما يتعلق بالقوة.

اتجاه عزم الدوران فيما يتعلق بالقوة

يتضمن حساب عزم الدوران تحديد كلا الاتجاهين وكذلك الحجم. بشكل عام ، يبدو أن الاتجاه المحدد عمودي فيما يتعلق بالقوة المطبقة ونصف القطر من المحور. السرعة الزاوية والتغير في السرعة الزاوية الناتجة عن تأثير عزم الدوران هما أيضًا في نفس اتجاه اتجاه عزم الدوران.

يوضح القسم التالي سبب كون اتجاه عزم الدوران دائمًا متعامدًا مع القوة.

هل عزم الدوران دائمًا متعامد مع القوة

يبدو أن اتجاه عزم الدوران المحدد عموديًا فيما يتعلق بالقوة المطبقة. يتم تحديد اتجاه عزم الدوران بشكل ملائم باستخدام قاعدة اليد اليمنى ، والتي تنص على أن الأصابع الموجودة في اليد اليمنى تلتف على طول الاتجاه الذي يشير إلى نصف القطر بالإضافة إلى القوة المطبقة ، ثم يتم تمثيل اتجاه عزم الدوران بواسطة إبهام اليد اليمنى.

دعونا الآن نناقش آخر حقيقة بخصوص اتجاه عزم الدوران.

لماذا اتجاه عزم الدوران عمودي على القوة؟

يتم تحديد الاتجاه المناسب لعزم الدوران باستخدام قاعدة اليد اليمنى. رياضياً ، يمكننا تفسير عزم الدوران على أنه متجه ينتج عندما نأخذ حاصل الضرب الاتجاهي لمتجه المسافة الشعاعية مع متجه القوة. المتجه الذي نحصل عليه ، والذي ليس سوى عزم الدوران ، متعامد بشكل أساسي مع المتجهات المتضمنة في حاصل الضرب الاتجاهي. يمكن رؤية المتجه وهو يشير إلى الصفحة أو خارج الصفحة.

الجزء التالي يتناول تقييم اتجاه عزم الدوران.

كيف تجد اتجاه عزم الدوران؟

الاتجاه الذي يوجه فيه عزم الدوران أو بكلمات بسيطة ، عادة ما يتم تحديد النقاط من خلال القوة في العمل. يشير إلى نصف القطر وكذلك القوة المؤثرة. اتجاه عزم الدوران الذي يوجهه أو بكلمات بسيطة ، يتم إعطاء النقاط بواسطة الإبهام.

طول ذراع الرافعة هو 'r' و '' هي تلك الزاوية التي يتم تكوينها بواسطة متجه القوة مع ذراع المستوى بعد ذلك ،

                                                                                                                    τ = فرسين

المشكلة: إذا تم تطبيق القوة ، F = 5N وطول ذراع الرافعة r = 4m. أوجد العزم عندما تكون الزاوية بين متجه القوة ومتجه نصف القطر 30 °.

الحل: نحن نعلم ذلك ، τ = فرسين

الآن ، باستبدال القيم المعطاة في المعادلة أعلاه ، نحصل على ،

                                           τ = 5 × 4 × خطيئة 30 درجة

                                        τ = 10 نيوتن متر

يصف القسم التالي طريقة العثور على اتجاه عزم الدوران المرتبط بثنائي القطب في مجال مغناطيسي تعسفي.

اتجاه عزم الدوران في المجال المغناطيسي

عزم الدوران هو متجه ينتج عندما نأخذ حاصل الضرب الاتجاهي لمتجه المسافة الشعاعية مع متجه القوة. عندما يُفترض وجود حلقة حالية أو ثنائي القطب المغناطيسي في مجال مغناطيسي تعسفي ، تطور الحلقة ميلًا من خلال تأثيرها الذي توجهه وفقًا لاتجاه المجال بالقرب من هذا المجال.

ثم يمكن تحديد اتجاه عزم الدوران المرتبط بمساعدة قاعدة اليد اليمنى المألوفة جدًا.

 

كيف تجد اتجاه عزم الدوران في المجال المغناطيسي؟

من أجل حساب اتجاه عزم الدوران في ثنائي القطب موضوع في مجال مغناطيسي ، يتم اتباع النظرية التالية ، يمكن تحديد اتجاه عزم الدوران المرتبط بمساعدة قاعدة اليد اليمنى المألوفة جدًا. هنا ، من المفترض أن نطوي أصابعنا في اتجاه الحلقة الحالية بعد الاتجاه الذي يتم وضعه في المجال المغناطيسي. الصيغة المستخدمة هي ، τ = م × ب = | م || ب | sinθ.

حيث يتم تطبيق العزم المغناطيسي و B- المجال المغناطيسي.

عندما يقال إن حلقة تيار موضوعة في مجال مغناطيسي ، يُعتقد أن الحلقة تميل إلى التوجيه وفقًا لاتجاه المجال بسبب تأثير هذا المجال.

المشكلة:

إذا كانت شدة المجال المغناطيسي التي يتم فيها الاحتفاظ بثنائي القطب بزاوية 30 درجة هي 3 × 10-4 T. أوجد اتجاه عزم الدوران الذي يعمل على ثنائي القطب عندما يكون العزم ثنائي القطب 0.335 × 10-3 أمبير؟

الإجابة: المجال الكهربائي ، B = 3 × 104 T

           الزاوية بين المجال ثنائي القطب والمجال المغناطيسي ، θ = 30 درجة

          العزم المغناطيسي = 0.335 × 10-3سم

    τ = | م || ب | sinθ.

      = (0.335 × 10-3  صباحا) (3 × 104 T) الخطيئة (30 درجة)

      = 5 نيوتن متر

اتجاه عزم الدوران في المجال الكهربائي المنتظم

فيما يلي نظرية تحديد اتجاه عزم الدوران في مجال كهربائي متجانس, يقال إن ثنائي القطب ، عند وضعه في مجال كهربائي موحد ، يكتسب توازنًا انتقاليًا بسبب تأثير الحجم المتساوي للضغط الكهربائي في كلا الاتجاهين على الشحنات الموجبة والسالبة. وبالتالي ، يُعتقد أن الضغط الصافي يساوي صفرًا ، ولكن يُقال إنه يدور مع السرعة الزاوية.

كل من القوة ونصف القطر مسؤولان عن حجم واتجاه عزم الدوران.

كيف تجد اتجاه عزم الدوران في مجال كهربائي؟

من أجل حساب اتجاه عزم الدوران في ثنائي القطب موضوع في مجال كهربائي ، نتبع الطريقة المذكورة أدناه ، يمكن الإشارة إلى المسافة العمودية على أنها ذراع المستوى. عندما نأخذ حاصل ضرب ذراع المستوى مع القوة المطبقة ، نحصل على عزم الدوران. هنا ، يتم إعطاء عزم الدوران بواسطة τ= PEsinθ. "P" هي العزم ثنائي القطب ، و "E" هي المجال الكهربائي المطبق.

المشكلة:

إذا كانت شدة المجال الكهربي الذي يتم فيه الاحتفاظ بثنائي القطب بزاوية 30 درجة هي 3 × 104 نيوتن ⁄ ج. أوجد عزم الدوران الذي يعمل على ثنائي القطب عندما يكون العزم ثنائي القطب 0.335 × 10-3C-m؟

الإجابة: المجال الكهربائي ، E = 3 × 104 N ⁄ C

           الزاوية بين المجال ثنائي القطب والمجال الكهربائي ، θ = 30 درجة

          عزم ثنائي القطب = 0.335 × 10-3سم

    τ = PEsinθ

      = (0.335 × 10-3سم) (3 × 104 N ⁄ C) sin (30 درجة)

      = 5 نيوتن متر

بعد ذلك ، سنرى اتجاه عزم الدوران في ثنائي القطب الكهربائي.

اتجاه عزم الدوران في ثنائي القطب الكهربائي

Torque هو متجه ينتج عندما نأخذ حاصل الضرب الاتجاهي لمتجه المسافة الشعاعية مع متجه القوة. يقال إن ثنائي القطب ، عند وضعه في مجال كهربائي موحد ، يكتسب توازنًا انتقاليًا بسبب تأثير الحجم المتساوي للضغط الكهربائي في كلا الاتجاهين على الشحنات الموجبة والسالبة. هنا ، يتم إعطاء عزم الدوران بواسطة τ= PEsinθ. P هي العزم ثنائي القطب ، و E هي المجال الكهربائي المطبق.

كل من القوة ونصف القطر مسؤولان عن حجم واتجاه عزم الدوران.

اتجاه عزم الدوران في الحلقة الحالية

من أجل حساب عزم الدوران في حلقة تيار موضوعة في مجال مغناطيسي ، يتم اتباع النظرية التالية ، يمكن تحديد عزم الدوران المرتبط بمساعدة قاعدة مألوفة جدًا لليد اليمنى. هنا ، من المفترض أن نطوي أصابعنا في اتجاه الحلقة الحالية بعد الاتجاه الذي يتم وضعه في المجال المغناطيسي. إنه يوضح أن عزم الدوران يعمل في الاتجاه الأيسر ، متبعًا الاتجاه الذي يشير إليه إبهامنا.

عندما يقال إن حلقة تيار موضوعة في مجال مغناطيسي ، يُعتقد أن الحلقة تميل إلى التوجيه وفقًا لاتجاه المجال بسبب تأثير هذا المجال.

كيفية تغيير اتجاه مفتاح عزم الدوران؟

يتم ربط أداة التثبيت مثل الجوز أو البرغي بكمية معينة من عزم الدوران بمساعدة أداة تُعرف باسم مفتاح عزم الدوران. عادةً ما يتم توفير مفتاح الربط بمقبض ، ومن خلال لف المقبض وتدويره ، يمكننا ضبط مفتاح الربط ، متبوعًا بتغيير اتجاه مفتاح عزم الدوران. هذا ممكن لأننا نحقق ضغط الزنبرك من خلال المقبض بحيث يتطلب المزيد من عزم الدوران من أجل تحرير الكرة.

بمرور الوقت يمكننا ملاحظة ضغط أضعف على الزنبرك إذا تم تخزين مفتاح الربط بسبب التحميل.

يتناول الجزء التالي الأسئلة المتداولة بخصوص اتجاه عزم الدوران.

اذكر أنواع العزم.

يوجد نوعان مختلفان من عزم الدوران مذكوران أدناه ،

عزم دوران ثابت: عزم الدوران الذي لا يمكن أن يؤدي إلى التسارع الزاوي يعتبر بشكل عام عزم دوران ثابت. على سبيل المثال: عندما نحتاج إلى دفع باب مغلق ، فإن العزم الذي نطبقه للقيام بذلك هو عزم دوران ثابت.

عزم الدوران الديناميكي: على النقيض من ذلك ، فإن عزم الدوران قادر على توليد يعتبر التسارع الزاوي ليكون عزم الدوران الديناميكي. مثال: في سيارات السباق ، يميل عمود الإدارة الموجود عمومًا إلى إظهار عزم دوران ديناميكي.

كيف يمكنك شرح عزم الدوران بالتفصيل؟

من أجل شرح عزم الدوران بالتفصيل ، دعونا ننظر في مثال قوتين مطبقتين في الاتجاه المعاكس على جسم ما. هنا ، عندما يتساوى مقدار كل من القوتين F1 و F2 ، فإن القوة الكلية المؤثرة على الجسم تساوي صفرًا ، وستكون في حالة توازن (متعدية). على الرغم من أنه يقال إنه في حالة توازن متعدية ، إلا أنه يتم العمل بالقوة ، والتي يُطلق عليها عمومًا اسم لحظة القوة أو عزم الدوران ، مما يجعلها تدور.

كيف تفسر عزم الدوران بأخذ مثال؟

دعونا نفكر في مثال على الباب ونحاول فهم مفهوم عزم الدوران. لتدوير الباب ، قد نحتاج إلى قوة أكبر عندما نطبق القوة عند نقطة أقرب إلى المفصلة. يؤثر الاتجاه الذي يتم تطبيق القوة فيه أيضًا على مقدار القوة المطلوبة

قد نحتاج إلى قوة أصغر عندما ينضم المحور إلى النقطة التي يتم فيها تطبيق القوة ، وتكون المفصلة متعامدة مع اتجاه عزم الدوران.

 كيف تم حساب عزم الدوران؟

تعتمد قيمة عزم الدوران على مقدار القوة المطبقة بالإضافة إلى المسافة العمودية من النقطة التي تطبق عندها القوة. يمكن الإشارة إلى المسافة العمودية على أنها ذراع المستوى. عندما نأخذ حاصل ضرب ذراع المستوى مع القوة المطبقة ، نحصل على عزم الدوران. طول ذراع المستوى هو 'r' و '' هي تلك الزاوية التي يتم تكوينها بواسطة متجه القوة مع ذراع المستوى بعد ذلك ،

                                                                                                                    τ= فرسين

كيف تفسر مفهوم عزم الدوران في السيارة؟

بشكل عام ، يمكن اعتبار تعبير القوة الدورانية أو قوة الالتواء بمثابة عزم دوران. يقال إن عزم الدوران يتم إنشاؤه في مركبة عندما تميل المحركات المكونة لتلك المركبات إلى الدوران حول محور. يعتبر أساسًا قوة السيارة. يتم تشغيل الشاحنات الضخمة ذات الأحمال الثقيلة للخضوع لحركة من خلال عزم الدوران.

ما هي تطبيقات العزم؟

قد تكون بعض تطبيقات عزم الدوران على النحو التالي ،

  • الجيروسكوبات
  • أثناء ركوب الدراجة
  • بندول يتأرجح
  • علم يرفرف عند إرفاقه من جانب واحد
  • المظلة
  • في لعبة التوازن

فرق بين عزم الدوران والعزم.

إن عزم الدوران ليس سوى حالة خاصة في الوقت الراهن. يرتبط عزم الدوران بشكل عام بمحور الدوران المقابل للدوران. في المقابل ، فإن اللحظة مرتبطة فقط بتحقيقها بواسطة قوة خارجية تؤدي إلى الدوران.

هل العزم هو شكل من أشكال الطاقة؟

لا يمكن اعتبار عزم الدوران طاقة لأنه متجه ينتج عندما نأخذ حاصل الضرب التبادلي لمتجه المسافة الشعاعية مع متجه القوة. رياضياً ، يمكننا تفسير عزم الدوران على أنه متجه ينتج عندما نأخذ حاصل الضرب الاتجاهي لمتجه المسافة الشعاعية مع متجه القوة. المتجه الذي نحصل عليه ، والذي ليس سوى عزم الدوران ، متعامد بشكل أساسي مع المتجهات المتضمنة في حاصل الضرب الاتجاهي. يمكن رؤية المتجه وهو يشير إلى الصفحة أو خارج الصفحة.

كيف يمكنك التفريق بين عزم الدوران والقوة؟

تؤثر القوة على قيمة عزم الدوران ، لكن كلاهما ليسا متماثلين. في ميكانيكا الدوران ، يمكننا القول إن المقابل المقابل للقوة ليس سوى عزم الدوران. إن خاصية القوة التي تمكنه من إحداث دوران أو التفاف حول المحور هي ببساطة العزم ؛ قد يكون هذا هو الفرق الأساسي بينهما.

اذكر بعض أمثلة عزم الدوران في حياتنا اليومية.

وهناك عدد قليل أمثلة تصور عزم الدوران يمكن أن تعطى أدناه ،

  • عندما نفتح غطاء زجاجة
  • عجلة القيادة عندما حاولت الاستدارة
  • أثناء ركوب الدراجة
  • بندول يتأرجح
  • علم يرفرف عند إرفاقه من جانب واحد
  • المظلة
  • في لعبة التوازن

كيف يرتبط عزم الدوران بالقوة؟

إن خاصية القوة التي تمكنه من إحداث دوران أو التفاف حول المحور هي ببساطة العزم. إن إنفاق القوة التي تحدث من أجل تدوير جسم حول محور ما هو إلا عزم الدوران. يتسارع الجسم بتأثير القوة ، كما هو الحال في علم الحركة الخطية ، بينما في الحركية الزاوية ، يتم تنفيذ نفس الإجراء بواسطة عزم الدوران.

اذكر بعض خصائص عزم الدوران

الخصائص التي ترتبط بعزم الدوران هي ،

  • عزم الدوران هو في الأساس كمية متجهة
  • تحدد القوة التي تعمل على طول محور الدوران اتجاه ناقل عزم الدوران.

ماذا تقصد بعزم الدوران الموجب والسالب؟

يمكن أن يكون عزم الدوران موجبًا وسالبًا وفقًا لاتجاه القوة. نحصل على عزم موجب عندما تعمل القوة المسؤولة عنه في اتجاه عقارب الساعة. وبالمثل ، فإن أي قوة يُعتقد أنها تعمل في اتجاه عكس اتجاه عقارب الساعة ستقترن بـ a عزم الدوران السلبي. نظرًا لأن عزم الدوران يتأثر بالمسافة والقوة ، فعندما يبدو أنهما أكبر ، يؤديان إلى ارتفاع عزم الدوران.

ماذا يحدث عندما يوضع ثنائي القطب في مجال كهربائي غير منتظم؟

يواجه ثنائي القطب القوة وكذلك عزم الدوران عند تعرضه لمجال كهربائي غير منتظم. ثم يتم محاذاة ثنائي القطب على طول اتجاه المجال ، وتكون القوة التي تتعرض لها الشحنات في ثنائي القطب غير متساوية ؛ ينتج عن هذا صافي قوة تعمل على ثنائي القطب على طول اتجاه المجال.

متى يختبر ثنائي القطب أقصى مجال كهربائي؟

نحن بالفعل أعلم أن عزم الدوران على ثنائي القطب يتم حسابه بواسطة الصيغة τ = PEsinθ. من خلال التعبير أعلاه ، من الواضح أن قيمة عزم الدوران ستكون قصوى عندما تكون sinθ هي الحد الأقصى ، وهذا يحدث عندما تكون قيمة θ 90 درجة. إذن ، sin90 درجة = 1

في كم اتجاه يقيس مفتاح عزم الدوران عزم الدوران؟

من المعروف أن قياس عزم الدوران بواسطة مفتاح عزم الدوران يتم في اتجاه واحد فقط. يمكن لمفتاح عزم الدوران تقييم عزم الدوران في اتجاه واحد فقط حيث توجد إمكانية جانب واحد فقط ينقر فيه مفتاح عزم الدوران. مفتاح عزم الدوران ، بشكل عام ، يتصرف ببساطة كمفتاح عادي في الاتجاه الآخر.

هل مفتاح عزم الدوران يشد الحبل؟

نعم ، يمكن أيضًا استخدام مفتاح عزم الدوران في شد الحبل عن طريق تعديله. أولاً ، من المفترض أن نضبط الوزن ، ويجب تقوية المسمار في اتجاه (اتجاه عقارب الساعة بشكل عام). ثم في نهاية حلقة الحبل ، يتم وضع الوزن ، خاصة في الموضع المحدد. يُقال إنك انتهيت عندما تسمع صوت النقرة.

الملخص

يتم تحديد الاتجاه المناسب لعزم الدوران باستخدام قاعدة اليد اليمنى ، والتي تنص على أن الأصابع الموجودة في اليد اليمنى تلتف على طول الاتجاه الذي يشير إلى نصف القطر بالإضافة إلى القوة المطبقة ، ثم يتم تمثيل اتجاه عزم الدوران بواسطة إبهام اليد اليمنى. عزم الدوران هو متجه ينتج عندما نأخذ حاصل الضرب الاتجاهي لمتجه المسافة الشعاعية مع متجه القوة.

Harshitha HN

مرحبًا ..... أنا Harshitha H N. لقد أكملت درجة الماجستير في الفيزياء من جامعة ميسور بتخصص في الفيزياء النووية. أنا على دراية جيدة بمجال Latex وبرامج GAMESS وبرامج AVAGADRO. أنا أستمتع باستكشاف أشياء جديدة في وقت فراغي. تهدف مقالتي دائمًا إلى تطوير وإضفاء بعض القيمة على الطاولة مع الموضوعات ذات الصلة. دعنا نتواصل عبر LinkedIn- https://www.linkedin.com/in/harshitha-hn-368418249

آخر المقالات

13 Facts on Torque Direction: Magnetic, Electric & How to find


In the present article, we are going to discuss about the facts on direction of torque in the magnetic and electric fields.

We know that it is possible to rotate an object about its axis, the force responsible for this is usually termed as torque. The torque gives rise to angular acceleration. The torque basically corresponds to the rotational force that is responsible for the rotational motion about an axis known to be the axis of rotation.

The following section deals with the few general facts associated with direction of torque.

Direction of torque

As torque is a vector, it is believed to have a particular direction. Mathematically, we can explain torque as a vector that is resulted when we take the cross product of the radial distance vector with the force vector. The vector that we get, which is nothing but torque, is basically orthogonal to the vectors involved in the cross product. The vector can be seen pointing towards the page or outside the page.

The next part explains the two direction of torque.

What are the two direction of torque?

As we already know, torque represents a vector quantity. The evaluation of torque value is a combination of evaluation of both directions as well as magnitude. In general, the direction determined seems to be perpendicular with respect to the applied force and radius from the axis.

The following part deals with the direction of torque with respect to the force.

Direction of torque concerning force

The calculation of torque involves the determination of both directions as well as magnitude. In general, the direction determined seems to be perpendicular with respect to the applied force and radius from the axis. The angular velocity and change in the angular velocity produced due to the action of torque are also in the same direction as the direction of torque.

The next section tells why the direction of torque is always perpendicular to force.

Is torque always perpendicular to force

The direction of torque determined seems to be perpendicular with respect to the applied force. The direction of torque is conveniently assigned by using the right-hand rule, which states that the fingers in the right-hand curl along the direction that points to the radius as well as the applied force, and then the direction of torque is represented by the thumb of the right hand.

Let us now discuss another fact regarding the direction of torque.

Why is the direction of torque perpendicular to force?

The torque is conveniently assigned the direction using the right-hand rule. Mathematically, we can explain torque as a vector that is resulted when we take the cross product of the radial distance vector with the force vector. The vector that we get, which is nothing but torque, is basically orthogonal to the vectors involved in the cross product. The vector can be seen pointing towards the page or outside the page.

The following part deals with the evaluation of direction of torque.

How to find the direction of torque?

The direction in which the torque orients or in simple words, points is usually decided by the force in action The direction of torque is conveniently assigned by using the right-hand rule, which states that the fingers in the right hand curl along the direction that points to the radius as well as the applied force. The direction of torque in which it orients or in simple words, points is given by the thumb.

The length of the lever arm is ‘r’ and ‘θ’ is that angle which is made by the force vector with the level arm then,

                                                                                                                    τ = F.r.sinθ

Problem: If the force is applied, F= 5N and the length of the lever arm is r=4m. Find the torque when the angle between the force vector and radius vector is 30°.

Solution: We know that, τ = F.r.sinθ

Now, substituting the given values in the above equation, we get,

                                           τ = 5 x 4 x sin 30°

                                        τ = 10 N-m

The following section describes the method to find the direction of torque associated with a dipole in an arbitrary magnetic field.

The direction of torque in the magnetic field

Torque is a vector that is resulted when we take the cross product of the radial distance vector with the force vector. When a current loop or a magnetic dipole is assumed to be present in an arbitrary magnetic field, the loop develops a tendency by the impact of which it orients according to the field direction in the proximity of that field.

Then the direction of torque associated can be determined with the help of a very familiar right-hand rule.

 

How to find the direction of torque in the magnetic field?

In order to calculate the direction of torque in a dipole placed in a magnetic field, the following theory is followed, The direction of torque associated can be determined with the help of a very familiar right-hand rule. Here, we are supposed to fold our fingers in the direction of the current loop after the orientation that is placed in the magnetic field. The formula used is,     τ = m × B = |m||B| sinθ.

Where m- magnetic moment and B- magnetic field are applied.

When a current loop is said to be placed in a magnetic field, it is believed that the loop tends to orient according to the field direction due to the influence of that field.

Problem:

If the magnetic field intensity in which a magnetic dipole is kept making an angle of 30° is 3 × 10-4 T. Find the direction of torque acting on the dipole when the dipole moment is given to be 0.335 × 10-3 A-m?

Ans:  Electric field, B = 3 × 104 T

           Angle between dipole and magnetic field, θ = 30°

          Magnetic moment= 0.335 × 10-3C-m

    τ = |m||B| sinθ.

      = (0.335× 10-3  A-m)(3 × 104 T) sin(30°)

      =5 Nm

The direction of torque in the uniform electric field

The theory for determining the direction of torque in a homogeneous electric field is given below, A dipole, when placed in a uniform electric field, is said to acquire a translational equilibrium due to the implication of equal magnitude of electric pressure in both the directions on positive and negative charges. Thus, the net pressure is believed to be zero, but it is said to spin with an angular velocity.

Both the force and radius are responsible for the magnitude and direction of torque.

How to find the direction of torque in an electric field?

In order to calculate the direction of torque in a dipole placed in an electric field, we follow the below-mentioned method, The perpendicular distance may be referred to as the level arm. When we take the product of the level arm with the force applied, we get the torque. Here, the torque is given by τ= P.E.sinθ. ‘P’ is the dipole moment, and ‘E’ is the applied electric field.

Problem:

If the electric field intensity in which an electric dipole is kept making an angle of 30° is 3 × 104 N ⁄ C. Find the torque acting on the dipole when the dipole moment is given to be 0.335 × 10-3C-m?

Ans:  Electric field, E = 3 × 104 N ⁄ C

           Angle between dipole and electric field, θ = 30°

          Dipole moment= 0.335 × 10-3C-m

    τ = P.E.sinθ

      = (0.335× 10-3C-m)(3 × 104 N ⁄ C) sin(30°)

      =5 Nm

Next, we shall see the direction of torque in the electric dipole.

The direction of torque in the electric dipole

Torque is a vector that is resulted when we take the cross product of the radial distance vector with the force vector. A dipole, when placed in a uniform electric field, is said to acquire a translational equilibrium due to the implication of equal magnitude of electric pressure in both the directions on positive and negative charges. Here, the torque is given by τ= P.E.sinθ. P is the dipole moment, and E is the applied electric field.

Both the force and radius are responsible for the magnitude and direction of torque.

The direction of torque on a current loop

In order to calculate the torque in a current loop placed in a magnetic field, the following theory is followed, The torque associated can be determined with the help of a very familiar right-hand rule. Here, we are supposed to fold our fingers in the direction of the current loop after the orientation that is placed in the magnetic field. It shows that the torque is acting in the left direction, following the direction that our thumb points.

When a current loop is said to be placed in a magnetic field, it is believed that the loop tends to orient according to the field direction due to the influence of that field.

How to change the direction of torque wrench?

A fastener such as a nut or a bolt is implicated by a particular quantity of torque with the help of a tool known as the torque wrench. A wrench is usually provided with a handle, and by twisting and rotating the handle, we could be able to adjust the wrench, followed by changing the direction of the torque wrench. This is possible as we achieve the compression of the spring through the handle so that it requires more torque in order to release the ball.

Over time we can observe a weaker pressure on the spring if the wrench is stored due to loading.

The next part deals with the frequently asked questions regarding the direction of torque.

Mention the types of torque.

There are basically two different kinds of torque that are given below,

Static torque: A torque that cannot give rise to an angular acceleration is generally considered static torque. For example: when we need to push a door that is closed, the torque that we apply to do so is a static torque.

Dynamic torque: In contrast, a torque that is capable of generating an angular acceleration is considered to be the dynamic torque. Example: In a racing car, the drive shaft that is present generally tends to exhibit dynamic torque.

How can you explain torque in detail?

In order to explain the torque in detail, let us consider the example of two forces applied in opposite direction on an object. Here, When the magnitude of both the forces F1 and F2 are equal, then the net force on the object is seen to be zero, and it will be in equilibrium ( translational). Even though it is said to be in translational equilibrium, it is acted by force, generally termed as the moment of force or torque, which makes it to rotate.

How can you explain torque by taking an example?

Let us consider an example of a door and try to understand the concept of torque. In order to rotate the door, we may need a larger force when we apply force at a point that is closer to the hinge. The direction in which the force is applied also influences the amount of force required

We may need a smaller force when the axis joins the point where force is applied, and the hinge is perpendicular to the direction of torque.

 How has the torque been calculated?

Torque value depends on the magnitude of applied force as well as the perpendicular distance from the point at which you apply the force. The perpendicular distance may be referred to as the level arm. When we take the product of the level arm with the force applied, we get the torque. The length of the level arm is ‘r’ and ‘θ’ is that angle which is made by the force vector with the level arm then,

                                                                                                                    τ= F.r.sinθ

How do you explain the concept of torque in a car?

In general, an expression for a rotational or a twisting force can be regarded as a torque. Torque is said to be created in a vehicle when engines constituting those vehicles tend to rotate about an axis. It is basically considered to be the strength of the vehicle. Huge trucks with heavy loads are powered to undergo a motion through torque.

What are the applications of torque?

Some of the applications of torque may be as follows,

  • Gyroscopes
  • While riding a bicycle
  • A swinging pendulum
  • A flag flying when attached from one side
  • A parachute
  • In seesaws

Differentiate between the torque and the moment.

Torque is nothing but a special case of the moment. The torque, in general, is associated with the axis of rotation corresponding to the rotation. In contrast, the moment is just related to being achieved by an external force that gives rise to rotation.

Is torque a form of energy?

Torque cannot be taken as energy as it is a vector that is resulted when we take the cross product of the radial distance vector with the force vector. Mathematically, we can explain torque as a vector that is resulted when we take the cross product of the radial distance vector with the force vector. The vector that we get, which is nothing but torque, is basically orthogonal to the vectors involved in the cross product. The vector can be seen pointing towards the page or outside the page.

How can you differentiate torque and force?

The force influences the value of torque, but both are not the same. In rotational mechanics, we can say that the counterpart of the force is nothing but the torque. The property of force that enables it to cause a rotation or a twist about an axis is simply the torque; this might be the basic difference between them.

Name some of the examples of torque in our everyday life.

A few examples depicting torque can be given below,

  • When we open a bottle cap
  • A steering wheel, when tried to turn
  • While riding a bicycle
  • A swinging pendulum
  • A flag flying when attached from one side
  • A parachute
  • In seesaws

How is torque related to force?

The property of force that enables it to cause a rotation or a twist about an axis is simply the torque. The expenditure of force that takes place in order to spin an object about an axis is nothing but torque. An object accelerates by the influence of force, which is the case in linear kinematics, Whereas, whereas, in angular kinematics, the same action is performed by the torque.

Mention some of the characteristics of a torque

The characteristics that are associated with the torque are,

  • Torque is basically a vector quantity
  • The force acting along the axis of rotation determines the orientation of the torque vector.

What do you mean by positive and negative torque?

Torque can be positive and negative depending upon the direction of the force. We get a positive torque when the force responsible for it is acting in a clockwise direction. Similarly, any force that is believed to be acting in an anticlockwise direction will be associated with a negative torque. As the torque is influenced by the distance and force, when they seem to be larger, they give rise to a higher torque.

What happens when a dipole is placed in a non-uniform electric field?

The dipole experiences both force as well as torque when subjected to a non-uniform electric field. The dipole then aligns along the field direction, and the force experienced by the charges in the dipole is unequal; this results in a net force that acts on the dipole along the direction of the field.

When does a dipole experience a maximum electric field?

We already know that the torque on a dipole is calculated by the formula τ = P.E.sinθ. By the above expression, it is evident that the torque value will be maximum when sinθ is maximum, and this occurs when the value of θ will be 90°. So that, sin90° = 1

In how many directions does the torque wrench measure the torque?

It is known that a measurement of torque by the torque wrench is done only in one direction. A torque wrench can evaluate the torque only in a single direction as there is the possibility of only one side in which the torque wrench clicks. A torque wrench, in general, behaves simply as a normal wrench in the other direction.

Does a torque wrench tighten the rope?

Yes, a torque wrench can also be used in rope tightening by adjusting it. Firstly, we are supposed to set the weight, and the screw should be strengthened in a direction (generally clockwise direction). Then at the loop end of the rope, placement of weight is carried out, particularly at the specified position. You are said to be done when you get to hear the sound of the click.

Summary

The torque is conveniently assigned the direction using the right-hand rule, which states that the fingers in the right-hand curl along the direction that points to the radius as well as the applied force, and then the direction of torque is represented by the thumb of the right hand. Torque is a vector that is resulted when we take the cross product of the radial distance vector with the force vector.

Harshitha H N

Hi.....I am Harshitha H N. I have completed my master's in Physics from the University of Mysore with a specialization in Nuclear physics. I am well versed in the field of Latex, GAMESS software, and AVAGADRO software. I enjoy exploring new things in my free time. My article always aims to develop and bring some value to the table with relevant topics. Let’s connect through LinkedIn- https://www.linkedin.com/in/harshitha-h-n-368418249

Recent Posts