الحيود مقابل التشتت: تحليل مقارن

في علم البصريات ، تساعدنا دراسة الانعراج والتشتت على فهم سلوك الضوء ، مثل ثني الضوء وانتشاره عندما يمر عبر وسيط.

الموجة الضوئية لديها القدرة على الانحناء ثم انتشار نفسها ؛ يمكن تمييز هذا السلوك للضوء على أنه الحيود والتشتت. يبدو كلا المصطلحين متشابهين ، لكن هناك طبائع معينة تختلف بينهما عن الأخرى. في هذا المنشور ، نقدم مقارنة موجزة لـ الحيود vs تشتت من الضوء وسلوكهم.

مقارنة الحيود والتشتت

يساعدك الجدول أدناه على فهم الاختلافات وأيضًا أوجه التشابه بين الانعراج والتشتت.

الحيودتشتت
تعريفعندما يضرب الضوء حافة الحاجز ، فإنه ينحني عند الزاوية ، مكونًا هامشًا هندسيًا.ينقسم انتشار الموجات الضوئية من وسيط إلى وسط آخر بمؤشرات انكسار مختلفة إلى أطوال موجية مختلفة.
الاعتماد على الطول الموجييعتمد الانعراج على الطول الموجي للضوء الساقط ، كما لو أن موجة الضوء ذات الطول الموجي الأطول وقعت على الشق ، فإنها تنحرف أكثر.يعتمد انتشار موجات الضوء على طولها الموجي. يتشتت الضوء ذو الطول الموجي الأقصر أولاً ، ثم ينتشر خارج الوسط بترتيب متزايد.
سرعة الضوءتظل سرعة الضوء قبل وبعد حيود الضوء ثابتة ، أي لا يؤثر الانعراج على السرعة.سيكون هناك تغيير في سرعة الضوء الساقط حيث ينتقل الضوء بين وسيطين لمؤشرات انكسار مختلفة.
أحادية اللونيمكن الحصول على الحيود باستخدام ضوء أحادي اللون ومتعدد الألوان. نحصل على هامش حيود من سبعة ألوان في متعدد الألوان ، أي باستخدام الضوء الأبيض والأطراف الداكنة والمشرقة باستخدام الضوء أحادي اللون.يمكن تحقيق التشتت فقط باستخدام الضوء الأبيض أو الضوء متعدد الألوان. لا نرى تشتت الموجات في ضوء أحادي اللون.
الاعتماد على زاوية الانحرافالحيود مستقل عن زاوية انحراف الضوء إذا تم استخدام الضوء أحادي اللون في عملية الانعراج. إذا كنا نستخدم الضوء الأبيض لعملية الانعراج ، فهذا يعتمد على زاوية الانحراف.يعتمد التشتت كليًا على زاوية الانحراف الأدنى.
مؤشرات الانكسار للوسطمنذ يعتمد الانعراج على الطول الموجي والتردد من الضوء الساقط ، والذي يعتمد على معامل الانكسار للوسط ، وبالتالي يعتمد الانعراج أيضًا على مؤشرات الانكسار لوسط الانتشار.Tإن معامل الانكسار لوسط الانتشار هو السبب الرئيسي للتشتت. يحدث تشتت الضوء عندما ينتقل الضوء من وسط أكثر كثافة إلى وسط نادر أو العكس بالعكس من مؤشرات انكسار مختلفة.
أمثلةمحزوز الحيود هو أفضل مثال على حيود الضوء الأبيض. الصور المجسمة والأقراص المدمجة التي تعكس ألوان قوس قزح ناتجة عن الحيودعندما ينتقل الضوء الأبيض عبر المنشور ، يتشتت الضوء الأبيض إلى سبعة ألوان مختلفة الطول الموجي. يعتبر تشكيل قوس قزح أيضًا مثالًا على التشتت.
مقارنة الحيود والتشتت
الحيود مقابل التشتت
صورة توضح المقارنة بين الانعراج والتشتت

بعض النقاط الشيقة لنتذكرها

  • ليس فقط الضوء يمكن أيضًا أن تتعرض الموجات الصوتية للانحراف والتشتت. تمت مناقشة حيود الصوت بالفعل في المقالة السابقة. تشتت موجات الصوت يسمى التشتت الصوتي ، حيث يتم فصل الأصوات ذات الترددات المختلفة عند مرور موجة صوتية عبر وسط معين.
  • في بعض الحالات ، يمكن تشتت الضوء المنعرج، أي متى يحيد شق ضيق الضوء الأبيض على محزوز ، ثم يتشتت الضوء المنكسر إلى ألوانه البارزة. على سبيل المثال ، على القرص المضغوط ، نرى نمط الحيود الذي يتشتت في جميع ألوان قوس قزح البارزة.
  • سبب التشتت المرجعrعمل. عندما ينكسر الضوء الأبيض بمنشور زجاجي ، نحصل على تشتت ألوان بأطوال موجية مختلفة. على سبيل المثال ، عندما يتم تشكيل قوس قزح ، نرى الألوان السبعة ، والتي يتم فصلها وفقًا لطولها الموجي ؛ الضوء الأبيض ينكسر أولاً ، ثم تشتت في ألوان قوس قزح.

من دراسة الانعراج مقابل التشتت ، نعلم أن التشتت مرتبط بكل من الانكسار والانكسار ، اعتمادًا على وسيط الانتشار وطبيعة الضوء الساقط.

الأسئلة المتكررة                                                         

ما المقصود بزاوية الانحراف؟

عندما تمر الموجة من وسيط إلى آخر ، قد تنحني الموجة ، وتصنع زاوية معينة θ. تسمى الموجة المنحنية التي تخرج من الوسط الموجة المنكسرة أو المنحرفة.

انحرفت الموجة الساقطة عن اتجاهها عندما انتشرت بين وسيطين أو شقين. تسمى الزاوية بين الموجة الساقطة والموجة المنحرفة بزاوية الانحراف. زاوية الانحراف على الطول الموجي للموجة الناشئة. يمكن أيضًا تحديد زاوية الانحراف بأخذ الفرق بين زاوية الموجة الساقطة وزاوية الموجة الناشئة.

إذا كنا نتحدث عن الضوء الأبيض ، فإن الانحراف والتشتت مرتبطان.

عندما يمر الضوء الأبيض عبر شق ضيق ، ويتحول إلى حادث على المحزوز ، عندئذٍ يمكننا ملاحظة نمط الانعراج على الشبكة. نمط الحيود الناتج عن المحزوز هو الألوان المشتتة لأطوال موجية مختلفة من الضوء. وبالتالي يرتبط الانعراج بالتشتت الذي يقسم الضوء الأبيض إلى أطوال موجية فردية.

هل يتغير تردد الموجة أثناء التشتت؟

التشتت هو خاصية للموجة التي تعتمد على السرعة وكذلك الطول الموجي. نظرًا لأن الطول الموجي يرتبط عكسياً بالتردد ، فإن التشتت يعتمد أيضًا على التردد.

يتغير شكل نبضة الموجة لأنها تنتقل من وسيط إلى وسيط آخر من مؤشرات الانكسار المتباينة ، ويؤدي هذا التغيير في الشكل إلى تغيير سرعة طور الموجة ، والذي يعتمد على التردد. وبالتالي ، فإن أي وسيط يعمل كوسيط مشتت ؛ سيكون هناك تغيير منتظم في التردد.

يمكن رؤية تشتت الضوء في منشور وليس على لوح زجاجي ؛ لماذا ا؟

على الرغم من أن اللوح الزجاجي لديه القدرة على كسر الضوء الساقط ، إلا أنه لا يمتلك القدرة على تشتيت الضوء الساقط بسبب هيكله الهندسي.

تم تصميم لوح زجاجي بواجهتين متوازيتين ، مما ينكسر الضوء الساقط ثم يخرج من اللوح الموازي للضوء الساقط ؛ أيضًا ، فهي متقاربة جدًا لدرجة أن تقسيم الضوء سيكون أمرًا صعبًا. ومع ذلك ، في حالة المنشور ، فإن واجهات الانكسار ليست متوازية ، وهناك فجوة كافية لفصل الألوان في الطول الموجي المطلوب.

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Diffraction vs Dispersion:Comparative Analysis


In optics, the study of diffraction and dispersion helps us understand the behavior of light, such as the bending and spreading of light when it passes through a medium.

The light wave has the ability to bend and then spread out itself; this behavior of light can be distinguished as diffraction and dispersion. Both terms sound similar, but there are certain natures that differ them from one another. In this post, we give a brief comparison of diffraction vs dispersion of light and their behavior.

Comparison of Diffraction vs Dispersion

The table given below helps you to understand the differences and also similarities between diffraction vs dispersion.

DiffractionDispersion
DefinitionWhen the light strikes the edge of the hurdle, it bends at the corner, creating the geometrical fringes.The propagation of light waves from one medium to another medium of different refractive indices splits into different wavelengths.
Dependency on wavelengthDiffraction depends on the wavelength of the incident light, as if the light wave of longer wavelength is incident on the slit, it diffracts more.The spreading up of light waves depends on their wavelength. The light with a shorter wavelength disperse first, and then, in increasing order, they spread out of the medium.
The velocity of the lightThe velocity of the light before and after diffraction of light remains constant, i.e., diffraction does not affect the velocity.There will be a change in the velocity of the incident light as the light is travelling between the two mediums of different refractive indices.
MonochromaticityThe diffraction can be obtained using both monochromatic and polychromatic light. We get diffraction fringes of seven colors in the polychromatic, i.e., using white light and fringes of dark and bright by using the monochromatic light.Dispersion can be achieved only by using white light or polychromatic light. We do not see the dispersion of waves in monochromatic light.
Dependency on the angle of deviationDiffraction is independent of the angle of deviation of the light if the monochromatic light is used for the diffraction process. If we are using white light for the diffraction process, it depends on the angle of deviation.Dispersion entirely depends on the angle of minimum deviation.
Refractive indices of the mediumSince diffraction depends on the wavelength and frequency of the incident light, which depends on the refractive index of the medium, thus diffraction also depends on the refractive indices of the medium of propagation.The Refractive index of the propagating medium is the leading cause of the dispersion. The dispersion of the light takes place when the light travels from a denser medium to a rarer medium or vice versa of different refractive indices.
ExamplesA diffraction grating is the best example of the diffraction of white light. Holograms and CD which reflects the rainbow colors are due to diffractionWhen white light travels through the prism, the white light disperses into seven colors of a different wavelength. The formation of a rainbow is also an example of dispersion.
Comparison of diffraction vs dispersion
diffraction vs dispersion
Image to illustrate comparison of diffraction vs dispersion

Some interesting points to remember

  • Not only light the sound waves can also undergo diffraction as well as dispersion. The diffraction of sound is already discussed in the previous article. The dispersion of sound waves is called acoustic dispersion, in which sounds of different frequencies are separated when a sound wave is passed through a certain medium.
  • In some cases, a diffracted light can be dispersed, i.e., when a narrow slit diffracts white light on a grating, the diffracted light is then dispersed into its prominent colors. For example, on the CD, we see the diffraction pattern that disperses into all the prominent colors of the rainbow.
  • The reason for dispersion is refraction. When the white light is refracted by a glass prism, we obtain the dispersion of colors of various wavelengths. For example, when the rainbow is formed, we see the seven colors, which are separated accordingly by their wavelength; the white light is first refracted, then dispersed into the colors of the rainbow.

From the study of diffraction vs dispersion, we know that dispersion is related to both diffraction and refraction, depending on the medium of propagation and the nature of the incident light.

Frequently asked questions                                                         

What is meant by angle of deviation?

When a wave passes from one medium to another, the wave may bend, making a certain angle θ. The bent wave that emerges out of the medium is called refracted or diffracted wave.

The incident wave deviated its direction when it propagated between two mediums or slits. The angle between the incident wave and the deviated wave is called the angle of deviation. The angle of deviation on the wavelength of the emerging wave. The angle of deviation can also be given by taking the difference between the angle of the incident wave and the angle of the emerging wave.

If we are talking about white light, then diffraction and dispersion are related.

When white light is passed through a narrow slit, and it is made to an incident on the grating, then we can observe the diffraction pattern on the grating. The diffraction pattern obtained by the grating is the dispersed colours of different wavelengths of light. Thus diffraction is related to dispersion splitting the white light into individual wavelengths.

Does the frequency of wave change during dispersion?

The dispersion is a property of the wave which depends on the speed as well as wavelength. Since wavelength is inversely related to frequency, the dispersion also depends on the frequency.

The shape of the wave pulse changes as it travels from one medium to another medium of dissimilar refractive indices, this change in the shape leads to the change in the velocity of the wave phase, which depends on the frequency. Thus any medium acts as a dispersive medium; there will be a regular change in the frequency.

The dispersion of light can be seen in a prism, not on a glass slab; why?

Even though the glass slab has the ability to refract the incident light, it does not have the ability to disperse the incident light is due to its geometrical structure.

A glass slab is designed with two parallel interfaces, which refracts the incident light and then emerges out of the slab parallel to the incident light; also, they are so closely spaced that splitting up of light would be difficult. However, in the case of a prism, the refractive interfaces are not parallel, and there is a sufficient gap to separate the colors into the desired wavelength.

Keerthi Murthi

I am Keerthi K Murthy, I have completed post graduation in Physics, with the specialization in the field of solid state physics. I have always consider physics as a fundamental subject which is connected to our daily life. Being a science student I enjoy exploring new things in physics. As a writer my goal is to reach the readers with the simplified manner through my articles. Reach me – keerthikmurthy24@gmail.com

Recent Posts