Différents types de PCR | QCM conceptuels importants

Différents types de PCR (réaction en chaîne par polymérase) | 7 QCM conceptuels importants (résolus)

Contenu

Différents types de PCR

Réaction en chaîne par polymérase (PCR) est largement classée sur la base de légères modifications dans le processus PCR standard. Les différents types de PCR sont les suivants:

PCR imbriquée

Cette technique est proposée pour diminuer les contaminants dans l'ADN amplifié en raison de l'amplification aléatoire de liaison d'amorce. La PCR imbriquée est réalisée avec deux ensembles différents d'amorces dans deux cycles de PCR consécutifs. On s'attend à ce que l'ensemble suivant amplifie la cible secondaire à l'intérieur du produit de l'analyse principale. Cette technique est exceptionnellement réussie, même si elle nécessite beaucoup plus de connaissances sur les séquences impliquées. 

PCR inverse

Elle est effectuée lorsqu'une seule séquence interne d'ADN matrice est connue. Cette technique est appropriée pour l'identification des séquences flanquantes aux différents inserts de gène. Le processus comprend une séquence de digestion et d'auto-ligature de l'ADN matrice, qui se traduit par des morceaux d'ADN avec des séquences connues aux extrémités d'une séquence inconnue.

Différents types de PCR
(Différents types de PCR): Représentation de la structure moléculaire de la Taq polymérase https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:PDB_1ktq_EBI.jpg

PCR de transcription inverse (RT-PCR)

Il est utilisé pour amplifier et identifier des séquences connues à partir de bibliothèques d'ARN. L'ARN obtenu à partir de l'échantillon est ensuite converti en ADN complémentaire (ADNc) par l'action de l'enzyme transcriptase enzymatique inverse. Une PCR typique a été réalisée par la suite. La RT-PCR est largement utilisée dans l'identification et la détermination de l'expression génique.

Différents types de PCR
(Différents types de PCR): La RT-PCR utilise des fluorophores pour détecter les niveaux d'expression génique https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Molecular_Beacons.jpg

PCR asymétrique

Il amplifie sélectivement un brin de l'ADN matrice plus que l'autre. Il est utilisé dans le sondage d'hybridation dans lequel un seul brin est considéré comme idéal. Une amplification supplémentaire est obtenue en réalisant une PCR standard en présence d'amorces en excès pour le brin choisi. 

PCR quantitative (Q-PCR)

Il s'agit de la procédure indirecte de mesure des quantités initiales d'ARN, d'ADNc ou d'ADN matrice. La Q-PCR est généralement utilisée pour déterminer rapidement la quantité de produit PCR. La Q-PCR est également utilisée pour la détection de séquences spécifiques à l'intérieur de l'échantillon d'ADN.

PCR quantitative en temps réel (QRT-PCR ou RTQ-PCR)

Ce processus utilise des colorants fluorescents pour surveiller et mesurer en temps réel les quantités de produits amplifiés. Cette PCR quantitative en temps réel est utilisée en conjugaison avec QPCR.

PCR Touchdown

Cette technique réduit la liaison d'amorce non spécifique en diminuant la température d'hybridation entre deux cycles consécutifs de PCR.

PCR de colonie

Les clones (Ex. E. coli) sont analysés pour les produits de ligature corrects. Une colonie spécifique est prélevée à l'aide d'un cure-dent stérile et introduite dans le mélange maître. La PCR fonctionne avec un temps prolongé à 95oC.

PCR spécifique à l'allèle

Cette technique est basée sur le polymorphisme nucléotidique unique (SNP), la PCR spécifique à un allèle est souvent utilisée à des fins de clonage et de diagnostic. Des connaissances préalables sur la séquence d'ADN des allèles et leur différence sont nécessaires. La PCR spécifique à un allèle implique l'utilisation d'amorces SNP contenant l'extrémité 3 '. Une amplification par PCR spécifique de l'allèle réussie et des amorces spécifiques du SNP indiquent la présence d'un SNP particulier dans la séquence.

Assemblage de cyclage de polymérase (PCA) ou PCR d'assemblage

Implique la production artificielle des longues séquences d'ADN en présence de longs oligonucléotides et de courts segments chevauchants suivant la procédure standard de PCR. Les oligonucléotides longs basculent dans les deux sens (sens et anti-sens), le segment chevauchante décide de l'ordre des fragments de PCR, facilitant la production sélective du long ADN final.

PCR linéaire après exponentielle (LATE-PCR)

Dans cette technique, l'amorce limitante (amorce présente en quantité inférieure) a un point de fusion plus élevé que l'amorce en excès (amorce présente en quantité suffisante) pour maintenir l'efficacité de la réaction puisque la concentration de l'amorce limitante diminue au milieu de la réaction . 

PCR Dial-Out

C'est une méthode de récupération de molécules d'ADN pour la synthèse génique. Une bibliothèque d'ADN est modifiée avec des balises flanquantes spécifiques avant le séquençage. Plus tard, les amorces dirigées par étiquette permettent la récupération de l'ADN des séquences désirées par PCR.

Amplification dépendante de l'hélicase

Il est lié à la PCR traditionnelle, mais il utilise une température constante au lieu du cycle. L'ADN hélicase est utilisée à la place de l'étape de dénaturation thermique. 

PCR à démarrage à chaud

Cette technique supprime la possibilité d'une amplification non spécifique pendant les cycles initiaux de PCR. Les ingrédients de la réaction sont chauffés à la température de dénaturation qui est de 95oC avant l'ajout de polymérase. Des inhibiteurs et des anticorps sont introduits dans le mélange réactionnel pour inhiber l'activité de l'ADN polymérase, qui est dissociée à des températures élevées. 

Différents types de PCR
(Différents types de PCR): l'ADN polymérase thermostable (Taq) catalyse la synthèse d'ADN à des températures extrêmement élevées.

PCR spécifique inter-séquence

Cette modification de la technique de PCR est souvent utilisée pour la prise d'empreintes ADN, ce qui nécessite l'amplification de régions placées entre les séquences répétées simples pour générer une empreinte digitale / modèle unique et spécifique de fragments d'ADN amplifiés. 

PCR médiée par ligature

Il utilise spécifiquement de petites molécules de liaison d'ADN (à insérer) et diverses amorces capables de s'hybrider avec l'ADN de liaison. Cette technique est largement utilisée pour le séquençage d'ADN et l'empreinte.

PCR spécifique à la méthylation

Cette technique est utilisée pour la détection des îlots CpG dans le génome. Dans la PCR spécifique de la méthylation, l'ADN est traité avec du bisulfate de sodium, qui convertit la base de cytosine non méthylée en uracile, qui est identifié / reconnu par les bases de thymine d'amorce de PCR. Deux ensembles de PCR différents sont réalisés sur l'ADN modifié en utilisant des ensembles d'amorces identiques à l'exception des îlots CpG des amorces. Les ensembles d'amorces reconnaissent les bases de cytosine et d'autres ensembles d'amorces reconnaissent l'uracile pour amplifier l'ADN non méthylé. La Q-PCR peut également être réalisée pour connaître les informations quantitatives concernant la méthylation. 

QCM conceptuels sur différents types de PCR (résolus)

Question 1: Un chercheur tente de modifier cinq paires de bases successives au milieu d'un fragment d'ADN amplifié par PCR. Quelle technique est la plus recommandée pour réaliser une telle expérience?

A- Ligation d'ADN

B- Test de déplacement de mobilité électrophorétique (EMSA)

C- mutagenèse par PCR

D- Digestion enzymatique de restriction

Bonne réponse: Option C mutagenèse par PCR 

Explication:

La technique la plus recommandée pour ce type de modifications est la mutagenèse par PCR. Il peut synthétiser des amorces qui se lient imparfaitement au site souhaité de mutagenèse. Ces amorces contiendront désormais la nouvelle séquence de 5 paires de bases à introduire dans le nouveau brin d'ADN. Premièrement, la PCR amplifiera le fragment d'ADN contenant la séquence mutante et les séquences en amont. Le deuxième cycle de PCR amplifiera le nouveau brin d'ADN contenant la séquence mutante ainsi que les séquences en aval. Et le cycle final de PCR amplifiera un fragment d'ADN à partir des deux modèles, en utilisant les amorces d'origine pour amplifier le brin d'ADN de pleine longueur.

Question 2: La réaction en chaîne par polymérase (PCR) utilise une polymérase thermostable (Taq polymérase) pour amplifier le brin d'ADN. Lequel des énoncés décrit le mieux pourquoi les polymérases thermostables sont nécessaires pour la PCR?

La PCR a besoin d'un cyclage thermique et les polymérases Taq peuvent être inactivées puisqu'elles ne sont pas nécessaires pendant les étapes à basse température. 

B- La polymérase thermostable (Taq) ne rompt pas l'ADNdb sauf si la température est très élevée. Par conséquent, une polymérase thermostable (Taq) est nécessaire.

La C-PCR nécessite un cycle thermique et les polymérases thermostables (Taq) ne se dénatureront pas pour perdre leur efficacité dans la polymérisation de l'ADN à haute température (95oC) étape. 

D- L'interaction entre les cations divalents et l'ADN polymérase est très efficace lors des étapes à haute température. Ainsi, la PCR nécessite une ADN polymérase thermostable.

E- Les polymérases thermostables (Taq) sont moins chères que les polymérases standard; ainsi, ils sont plus appropriés pour amplifier l'ADN. 

Bonne réponse: Option C

La PCR nécessite un cyclage thermique, et les polymérases thermostables (Taq) ne se dénatureront pas pour perdre leur efficacité dans la polymérisation de l'ADN à haute température (95oC) étape. Cela le rend unique parmi les différents types de PCR.

Explication:

Les polymérases se dénaturent souvent à des températures plus élevées. Si une polymérase standard était utilisée, elle se dénaturerait pendant l'étape à haute température (dénaturation), qui est nécessaire pour briser l'ADN double brin en matrices d'ADN simple brin. En utilisant cette polymérase thermostable (Taq), l'enzyme ne se dénature pas. Les brins d'ADN continueront à s'amplifier par la Taq polymérase ajoutée au début de la PCR.

Question 3: Quel est l'ordre correct des trois étapes de la PCR?

A- Extension, dénaturation, recuit

B- Dénaturation, recuit, extension 

C- Recuit, extension, dénaturation

D- Dénaturation, extension, recuit

Bonne réponse: Option B

Dénaturation, recuit, extension 

Explication:

Les étapes de la PCR impliquent la dénaturation, l'hybridation et l'extension.

La dénaturation est effectuée à une température d'environ 94 à 98 ° C pour rompre les liaisons hydrogène de l'ADN double brin. 

Le recuit est la deuxième étape de la PCR réalisée à 50-65 ° C. L'étape d'hybridation doit être réalisée à basse température pour la fixation des amorces au simple brin, mais suffisamment élevée pour éviter une hybridation non spécifique. 

L'étape d'extension ou d'élongation de la PCR permet à l'ADN polymérase de synthétiser la dernière copie du brin d'ADN matrice. La température optimale dépend de l'ADN polymérase utilisée mais se situe généralement entre 75 et 80 ° C.

Question 4: Lequel des éléments suivants est / n'est pas un composant d'un mélange de réaction en chaîne par polymérase?

A- Solution tampon

B- ADN polymérase

C-Formamide

D- Brin matrice d'ADN

Bonne réponse: Option C

Formamide

Explication:

Les ingrédients de la PCR sont l'ADN (Taq) polymérase, le tampon, les amorces, le chlorure de magnésium, les dNTP (adénine, guanine, cytosine, thymine), les désoxynucléotides triphosphates et le brin matrice d'ADN.

Conclusions

Dans cet article, nous avons discuté de différents types de PCR. Pour plus d'informations sur ce sujet, visitez différents types de PCR.

Pour plus de sujets sur biosynthèse ET biotechnologie vous pouvez visiter nos pages.

À propos du Dr Abdullah Arsalan

Je suis Abdullah Arsalan, j'ai terminé mon doctorat en biotechnologie. J'ai 7 ans d'expérience en recherche. J'ai publié jusqu'à présent 6 articles dans des revues de renommée internationale avec un facteur d'impact moyen de 4.5 et peu d'autres sont pris en compte. J'ai présenté des articles de recherche dans diverses conférences nationales et internationales. Mon domaine d'intérêt est la biotechnologie et la biochimie avec un accent particulier sur la chimie des protéines, l'enzymologie, l'immunologie, les techniques biophysiques et la biologie moléculaire.

Connectons-nous via LinkedIn (https://www.linkedin.com/in/abdullah-arsalan-a97a0a88/) ou Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.co.in/citations?user=AeZVWO4AAAAJ&hl=en).

Geeks Lambda

Different types of PCR | Important conceptual MCQs

Different types of PCR (polymerase chain reaction) | 7 important conceptual MCQs (solved)

Contents

Different types of PCR

Polymerase chain reaction (PCR) is broadly classified on the basis of slight modifications in the standard PCR process. Different types of PCR are as follows:

Nested PCR

This technique is proposed to decrease the contaminants in amplified DNA because of random primer binding amplification. Nested PCR is performed with two different sets of primers in two consecutive PCR cycles. The subsequent set is expected to amplify the secondary target inside the product of the primary run. This technique is exceptionally successful, although it requires much more knowledge of the involved sequences. 

Inverse PCR

It is performed when only single internal sequence of template DNA is known. This technique is proper in the identification of the flanking sequences to the various gene inserts. The process includes a sequence of digestion and self-ligation of the template DNA, which results in chunks of DNA with known sequences at the ends of an unknown sequence.

Different types of PCR
(Different types of PCR): Representation of molecular structure of Taq polymerase https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:PDB_1ktq_EBI.jpg

Reverse Transcription PCR (RT-PCR)

It is used to amplify and identify known sequences from RNA libraries. The RNA obtained from the sample is then converted into complementary DNA (cDNA) by the action of enzyme reverse enzyme transcriptase. Typical PCR has performed afterwards. RT-PCR is extensively used in identification and the determination of gene expression.

Different types of PCR
(Different types of PCR): RT-PCR uses Fluorophores to detect the levels of gene expression https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Molecular_Beacons.jpg

Asymmetric PCR

It selectively amplifies one strand of the template DNA more than the other. It is used in the hybridization probing in which only one strand is considered ideal. Further amplification is achieved by carrying out standard PCR in the presence of excess primers for the chosen strand. 

Quantitative PCR (Q-PCR)

This is the indirect procedure of measuring initial amounts of RNA, cDNA or template DNA. Q-PCR is generally used to determine the quantity of PCR product quickly. Q-PCR is also used for the detection of specific sequences inside the DNA sample.

Quantitative Real-Time PCR (QRT-PCR or RTQ-PCR)

This process uses fluorescent dyes to monitor and measure real-time amounts of amplified products. This quantitative real time PCR is used in conjugation with QPCR.

Touchdown PCR

This technique reduces the non-specific primer binding by decreasing the annealing temperature between two consecutive cycles of PCR.

Colony PCR

Clones (Ex. E. coli) are analyzed for the correct ligation products. Specific colony is picked through a sterile toothpick and introduced into the master mix. The PCR is operated with extended time at 95oC.

Allele-Specific PCR

This technique is based on the single nucleotide polymorphism (SNPs), allele-specific PCR is often used for cloning and diagnostic purposes. Some prior knowledge about DNA sequence of alleles and their difference is required. Allele-specific PCR involves the use of primers SNP containing 3′ end. Successful allele-specific PCR amplification and SNP-specific primers indicate the presence of particular SNP in the sequence.

Polymerase Cycling Assembly (PCA) or Assembly PCR

Involves the artificial production of the long DNA sequences in the presence of long oligonucleotides and short overlapping segments following the standard PCR procedure. The long oligonucleotides flip in both directions (sense and anti-sense), the overlapping segment decides the order of PCR fragments, facilitating the selective production of the final long DNA.

Linear-After-The-Exponential PCR (LATE-PCR)

In this technique, the limiting primer (primer present in the lower amount) has a higher melting point than the excess primer (primer present in sufficient amount) for maintaining the reaction efficiency since the concentration of the limiting primer decreases in the middle of the reaction. 

Dial-Out PCR

It is a method for recovering DNA molecules for the gene synthesis. A library of DNA is modified with specific flanking tags before the sequencing. Later, the tag directed primers allow the recovery of DNA of desired sequences by PCR.

Helicase-dependent amplification

It is related to the traditional PCR, but it uses a constant temperature instead of cycling. DNA helicase is used instead of the thermal denaturation step. 

Hot Start PCR

This technique lay off the possibility of non-specific amplification during the initial cycles of PCR. The reaction ingredients are heated at the denaturing temperature that is 95oC before the addition of polymerase. Inhibitors and antibodies are introduced in the reaction mixture to inhibit DNA polymerase activity, which is dissociated at high temperatures. 

Different types of PCR
(Different types of PCR): Thermo-stable DNA (Taq) polymerase catalyze DNA synthesis at extremely high temperatures.

Inter-sequence Specific PCR

This modification of PCR technique is often used for DNA fingerprinting, which requires the amplification of regions placed between the simple sequences repeats to generate a unique and specific fingerprint/pattern of amplified DNA fragments. 

Ligation mediated PCR

It specifically utilizes small linker molecules of DNA (to be inserted) and various primers capable of annealing with the linker DNA. This technique is extensively used for DNA sequencing and foot-printing.

Methylation-specific PCR

This technique is used for the detection of CpG islands in the genome. In Methylation-specific PCR, DNA is treated with sodium bisulfate, which converts the unmethylated cytosine base into uracil, which is identified/recognized by the PCR primer thymine bases. Two different PCR sets are carried out on the altered DNA using identical primer sets except for the primers’ CpG islands. The primer sets recognize the cytosine bases and other sets of primers recognize the uracil to amplify the unmethylated DNA. Q-PCR can also be performed to know the quantitative information regarding methylation. 

Conceptual MCQs on Different types of PCR (solved)

Question 1: A researcher is trying to alter five successive base pairs in the middle of a PCR amplified DNA fragments. Which technique is the most recommended for performing such experiment?

A- DNA ligation

B- Electrophoretic mobility shift assay (EMSA)

C- PCR mutagenesis

D- Restriction enzyme digestion

Correct Answer: Option C PCR mutagenesis 

Explanation:

The most recommended technique for such type of modifications is PCR mutagenesis. It can synthesize primers that bind imperfectly at the desired site of mutagenesis. These primers will now contain the new 5-base pair sequence to be introduced in the new DNA strand. Firstly, the PCR will amplify the DNA fragment containing the mutant sequence and the upstream sequences. The second cycle of PCR will amplify the new DNA strand containing the mutant sequence and also the downstream sequences. And the final cycle of PCR will amplify one DNA fragment from the two templates, using the original primers to amplify the full-length DNA strand.

Question 2: Polymerase chain reaction (PCR) utilizes a heat-stable polymerase (Taq polymerase) to amplify DNA strand. Which of the statement best describes why thermo-stable polymerases are required for PCR?

A- PCR needs thermal cycling, and the Taq polymerases can be inactivated since they are not needed during the low-temperature steps. 

B- Heat stable (Taq) polymerase do not break the dsDNA unless the temperature is very high. Therefore a heat-stable (Taq) polymerase is required.

C- PCR needs thermal cycling, and the heat-stable (Taq) polymerases will not denature to lose efficacy in DNA polymerization during the high temperature (95oC) step. 

D- The interaction between divalent cations and DNA polymerase is much efficient during high-temperature steps. Thus PCR requires heat-stable DNA polymerase.

E- Heat stable (Taq) polymerases are cheaper than standard polymerases; thus, they are more suitable for amplifying DNA. 

Correct Answer: Option C

PCR needs thermal cycling, and the heat-stable (Taq) polymerases will not denature to lose efficacy in DNA polymerization during the high temperature (95oC) step.  This makes it unique among Different types of PCR.

Explanation:

Polymerases often denature at higher temperatures. If a standard polymerase were used, it would denature during high temperature (denaturation) step, which is needed for breaking the double-stranded DNA into single-stranded DNA templates. By using this heat-stable (Taq) polymerase, the enzyme will not denature. The DNA strands will continue to amplify by the Taq polymerase added at the start of PCR.

Question 3: What is the correct order of the three steps of PCR?

A- Extension ,  denaturation, annealing

B- Denaturation, annealing, extension 

C- Annealing, extension, denaturation

D- Denaturation, extension, annealing

Correct Answer: Option B

Denaturation, annealing, extension 

Explanation:

The steps of PCR involve denaturation, annealing and extension.

Denaturation is done at a temperature around 94-98°C to break hydrogen bonds of double-stranded DNA. 

Annealing is the second step of PCR completed at 50-65°C. The annealing step must be performed at a low temperature for the attachment of primers to the single strand, but high enough to avoid unspecific hybridization. 

The extension or elongation step of PCR allows the DNA polymerase to synthesize the template DNA strand’s latest copy. The optimum temperature depends on the DNA polymerase being used but usually ranges from 75-80°C.

Question 4: Which of the following is/are not a component of a polymerase chain reaction mixture?

A- Buffer solution

B- DNA polymerase

C- Formamide

D- DNA template strand

Correct Answer: Option C

Formamide

Explanation:

The ingredients of PCR are DNA (Taq) polymerase, buffer, primers, magnesium chloride, dNTPs (adenine, guanine, cytosine, thymine), deoxynucleotide triphosphates and the DNA template strand.

Conclusions

In this article we have discussed different types of PCR. For more information on this topic visit different types of PCR.

For more topics on biosynthesis and biotechnology you can visit our pages.

About Dr. Abdullah Arsalan

I am Abdullah Arsalan , Completed my PhD in Biotechnology. I have 7 years of research experience. I have published 6 papers so far in the journals of international repute with an average impact factor of 4.5 and few more are in consideration. I have presented research papers in various national and international conferences. My subject area of interest is biotechnology and biochemistry with special emphasis on Protein chemistry, enzymology, immunology, biophysical techniques and molecular biology.

Let's connect through LinkedIn(https://www.linkedin.com/in/abdullah-arsalan-a97a0a88/) or Google scholar(https://scholar.google.co.in/citations?user=AeZVWO4AAAAJ&hl=en).