مستشعر صور CMOS: 5 حقائق سريعة كاملة

المحتويات

  • ما هو مستشعر صور CMOS؟
  • أنواع مختلفة
  • مبدأ العمل
  • تصميم
  • معمار

صورة الغلاف بواسطة - زاك Dischnerزخرفة مكتب الطالب الذي يذاكر كثيرا (9698639550)CC BY 2.0

ما هو مستشعر صور CMOS؟

مستشعر صورة ولون CMOS:

تتكون مستشعرات الصور التكميلية من أشباه الموصلات المعدنية (CMOS) من صمامات ثنائية ضوئية مع دوائر إشارة مختلطة ، مما يتيح القدرة على تضخيم التيارات الضوئية الصغيرة في إشارات رقمية. يعد مستشعر الصور CMOS واحدًا من أفضل أجهزة الاستشعار للعديد من التطبيقات ذات الصلة بالتصوير ، مثل كاميرات الفيديو الرقمية وماسحات الصور وآلة Xerox والطباعة وغيرها من التطبيقات المتنوعة. يتم استخدام CMOS في الوقت الحاضر بسبب استخدامه المتعدد وتقنية التصنيع البسيطة حتى مع وجود حساسية مقارنة مع CCD.

تمت مناقشة ثلاثة أنواع من طوبولوجيا مستشعرات ألوان CMOS ، وهي مضخم المقاومة (TIA) ، ومحول الضوء إلى التردد ، وتكامل الضوء.

مستشعر صور CMOS
حقوق الصورة: Filya1ماتريكسوCC BY-SA 3.0

مبدأ عمل مستشعر صورة CMOS:

بشكل عام ، تتوفر أربعة أنواع من الإجراءات

  • معيار CMOS ،
  • CMOS إشارة مختلطة تناظرية ،
  • CMOS الرقمي و
  • عمليات استشعار الصورة CMOS.

يتمثل الاختلاف الأكثر وضوحًا بين هذه العملية والعمليات الأخرى في توفر أجهزة الصور ، مثل الثنائي الضوئي المثبت. تتمثل مزايا تقنية الأبعاد الأصغر في وجود بكسل أصغر ودقة مكانية عالية واستهلاك أقل للطاقة. تتطلب التكنولوجيا الأقل من 100 نانومتر تعديل عملية التصنيع (لا تتبع خارطة الطريق الرقمية) وبنية البكسل.

تعتبر المعلمات الأساسية مثل تيار التسرب (سيؤثر على الحساسية للضوء) وجهد التشغيل (سيؤثر على النطاق الديناميكي ، أي التشبع ، على الأرجح لن يعمل الثنائي الضوئي المثبت عند الجهد المنخفض ، مهمة جدًا عندما تكون العملية تم اختياره لتطوير CIS. وبسبب هذه القيود ، تم تقديم تقنية دائرة جديدة:

1. لا يمكن استخدام دائرة قديمة ، مثل دائرة البكسل القياسية عند استخدام 0.1 ميكرون وأقل. هذا بسبب الطوبولوجيا التي تتطلب جهدًا عاليًا ؛ لأن الحد الأقصى لجهد الإمداد أقل الآن.

2. دائرة المعايرة ودائرة الإلغاء تستخدم عادة لتقليل الضوضاء.

من أجل زيادة الدقة إلى متعدد الميجابكسل ومئات من معدل الإطارات ، يتم عادةً اختيار تقنية ذات أبعاد أقل. من الواضح أنه تم الإبلاغ عن أن 0.13 ميكرون و 0.18 ميكرون جيدان بما يكفي لتحقيق أداء تصوير جيد.

بدأت هذه التعديلات على عملية CMOS عند 0.25 ميكرون وأقل لتحسين خصائص التصوير. نظرًا لأن تحجيم العملية سيكون أقل بكثير من 0.25 ميكرون وأقل ، فإن العديد من المعلمات الأساسية تتدهور ، وهي استجابة الصور والتيار المظلم. لذلك ، تركز التعديلات على التخفيف من تدهور هذه المعلمات. تعد متطلبات النظام (مثل جهد الإمداد ودرجة الحرارة) أيضًا أحد المعايير في اختيار عملية مناسبة.

سيحدد سعر الأداة وتكاليف التطوير أيضًا اختيار العملية.

أجهزة كشف الصور

نموذجي أجهزة الكشف عن الصور هي الثنائي الضوئي والترانزستور الضوئي. أجهزة الثنائي الضوئي النموذجية هي N + / Psub و P + / N_well و N_well / Psub و P + / N_well / Psub (الصمام الثنائي الخلفي) [9]. أجهزة الترانزستور الضوئي هي P + / n_well / Psub (ترانزستور عمودي) ، P + / N_well / P + (ترانزستور جانبي) ، و N_well / بوابة (ترانزستور ضوئي مرتبط).

لا تزال أجهزة الصور القياسية هذه تتطلب عدسة صغيرة ومجموعة مرشح ألوان. عادة ما تكون الكفاءة الكمية للديودات الضوئية في CMOS القياسي أقل من 0.3.

الأجهزة التي يتم تطويرها عادة لعملية CMOS المعدلة هي فوتوجيت ، ديود ضوئي مثبت ، وديود سيليكون غير متبلور. ستعمل هذه الأجهزة على تحسين حساسية رابطة الدول المستقلة. يوفر الثنائي الضوئي المثبت ، الذي يحتوي على تيار مظلم منخفض ، خصائص تصوير جيدة لرابطة الدول المستقلة.

تعرض الأجهزة الضوئية السعة الطفيلية ، والتي يجب أخذها في الاعتبار أثناء عملية التصميم. مثال على السعة الطفيلية لـ N_well / Psub هو:

                       Cصور = (السعة لكل منطقة) × مساحة الجهاز الضوئي.

منهجية تصميم مجسات الصور CMOS:

يتم عرض تدفق التصميم النموذجي لحساس الصور CMOS أدناه.

تدفق التصميم النموذجي لحساس الصور CMOS
تدفق التصميم النموذجي لحساس الصور CMOS

يمكن إجراء محاكاة انتشار الموجة لمحاكاة البصريات. يمكن استخدام أدوات التصميم بمساعدة الكمبيوتر التكنولوجيا المتاحة تجاريًا ، مثل من Synopsys و Silvaco ، لمحاكاة عملية أو تقنية الأجهزة الضوئية. هناك عمل (محاكاة الوضع المختلط) يجمع بين تقنية التصميم بمساعدة الكمبيوتر والمحاكاة على مستوى البكسل.

هناك العديد من أدوات أتمتة التصميم الإلكتروني المتاحة لمحاكاة البكسل الكهربائية ، وتشبه أدوات أتمتة التصميم الإلكتروني هذه أي دائرة متكاملة (IC) أداة التصميم ، مثل Spice و Verilog-A و Verilog. قد تستغرق هذه الأدوات وقتًا طويلاً في بعض الأحيان إذا كان عدد وحدات البكسل كبيرًا.

في الواقع ، إذا كانت هناك حاجة لوحدات البكسل الكبيرة إلى جانب عملية subicron العميقة ، فيجب توفير المزيد من رأس المال (تكلفة الأدوات تكون أكثر تكلفة بالنسبة للميكرونات العميقة جدًا ، خاصة أقل من 90 نانومتر). على الرغم من أن مسبك CMOS يوفر نماذج لأدوات التصميم المدعومة ، لا يزال يتعين على المصممين أحيانًا تصميم الكتلة الفرعية بأنفسهم لتلائم مواصفات رابطة الدول المستقلة. يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى تسريع وقت المحاكاة الكهربائية بالبكسل ، ومع ذلك ، سيؤدي ذلك إلى تقليل الدقة. لمحاكاة النظام ، يمكن استخدام VHDL-AMS أو System-C أو MATLAB للتنبؤ بالوظيفة والأداء بشكل عام.

هندسة مستشعر صور CMOS:

مستوى البكسل ADC - رقمي يوفر مستشعر البكسل (DPS) نطاقًا ديناميكيًا واسعًا. يحول DPS القيم التناظرية إلى إشارة رقمية ضمن نطاق البكسل. يمكن أيضًا إجراء المعالجة على مستوى البكسل.

جهاز حساس رقمي إيجابي ، صورة ائتمان - جورج ويورا (دكتور شورش), جهاز رقمي حساس للموضعCC BY-SA 3.0

مستوى رقاقة ADC - تم توضيح ADC على مستوى الرقاقة أو أحيانًا ADC على مستوى المصفوفة في الشكل أدناه.

ADC على مستوى المصفوفة

يجب أن يكون ADC لهذا الهيكل سريعًا جدًا ، وستستهلك هذه الهيكلية أيضًا تيارًا عاليًا جدًا. نوع ADC المناسب لطوبولوجيا رابطة الدول المستقلة هو ADC عبر الأنابيب. ومع ذلك ، فقد تم أيضًا الإبلاغ عن سجل التقريب المتتالي (SAR) ونوع الفلاش ADC في تصميم رابطة الدول المستقلة. لذلك فإن التوازن بين مدخول الطاقة الإجمالي اللازم وسرعة التشغيل ضروريان.

مستشعر البكسل الرقمي - يشبه مفهوم DPS الحل المستخدم في شريحة تحفيز الخلايا العصبية CMOS. تم العثور على DPS في الرقم مفيد للضغط على رقاقة. يستخدم الثنائي الضوئي لتفريغ سعة الإدخال للمقارن والثنائي الضوئي نفسه. سيتم تفريغها بشكل متناسب مع شدة الضوء. عندما يصل هذا إلى العتبة ، سيتم تشغيل O / P للمقارنة.

تقنية الطاقة المنخفضة في مستشعر صورة CMOS:

طريقة التحيز: منطقة العتبة الفرعية أو التحيز الانعكاسي الضعيف هو أحد الأساليب لتحقيق الاستهلاك الحالي المنخفض. يمكن تطبيق هذه التقنية على ناقلية تشغيلي المضخم (OTA) أو مكبر للصوت ADC. يمكن أيضًا استخدام انحياز منطقة الصمام الثلاثي لتقليل استهلاك الطاقة بشكل أكبر.

تقنية الدائرة: يمكن استخدام المزلاج التجديدي لتقليل استهلاك الطاقة الرقمية. التقليل / التحجيم المكثفات في مراحل خط الأنابيب (لـ ADC) يمكن أيضًا تقليل استهلاك الطاقة.

تقنية إدارة الطاقة المتقدمة: يمكن أيضًا استخدام نوع آخر من تقنيات التحيز أو الدائرة ، وهو النهج "الذكي" ، مثل حصاد الطاقة الشمسية لتقليل استهلاك الطاقة. يمكننا أيضًا بشكل انتقائي تشغيل دائرة القراءة المطلوبة فقط. يمكن أيضًا تنشيط البكسل بشكل دوري لتقليل استهلاك الطاقة بشكل أكبر.

تقنيات منخفضة الضوضاء في مستشعر صورة CMOS:

على مستوى البكسل: يمكن تقليل الضوضاء الحرارية عن طريق أخذ العينات المزدوج المترابط والأخذ المفرط. يتم تقليل ضوضاء الوميض باستخدام جهاز كبير ، مما يؤدي إلى تحيز الترانزستور بشكل دوري ، والتحيز المناسب لجهد ركيزة PMOS.

مستوى العمود: يمكن استخدام المعايرة خارج الشريحة لتقليل ضوضاء النمط الثابت. يتم إجراء المعايرة لتحديد مناسب مكثف الأوزان في ADC ريال سعودي.

مستوى ADC: يتم تقليل ضوضاء kT / C عن طريق اختيار قيمة مناسبة لـ C.f و جs من الدائرة S / H والمخزن المؤقت.

مستوى الثنائي الضوئي: يساعد الكسب العالي للتحويل على تقليل ضوضاء الإدخال المشار إليها.

لمزيد من المقالات المتعلقة بالإلكترونيات انقر هنا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المشار إليها إلزامية *

انتقل إلى الأعلى

CMOS Image Sensor | It’s important types and Working Principle

CONTENTS

  • What is CMOS image sensor ?
  • Different types
  • Working principle
  • Designing
  • Architecture

CMOS image sensor

Cover Image By – Zach DischnerNerd-Tographer Desk Ornament (9698639550)CC BY 2.0

What is CMOS image sensor ?

CMOS Image and Colour Sensor:

Complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensors is comprised of photodiodes with and mixed-signal circuits  ahving capability to amplify small photocurrents into digital signals. The CMOS image sensor is one of the best cricuitry for multiple photography related  applications, i.e digital video cameras, photo scanners, Xerox machine, printing and various others. CMOS are nowadays utilized because of its multiple usage and it’s simple fabrications technique even with constain of sensivity in comparison with CCD.

Three types of the topology of CMOS colour sensors are discussed, namely the transimpedance amplifier (TIA), light to frequency converter, and light integrating.

CMOS image sensor
Image Credit : Filya1MatrixwCC BY-SA 3.0

Working Principle of CMOS Image Sensor:

In general, four types of procedures are available

  • Standard CMOS,
  • Analog-mixed-signal CMOS,
  • Digital CMOS, and
  • CMOS image sensor processes.

The most obvious difference between this process and the other processes is the availability of photo devices, such as a pinned photodiode. The advantages of smaller dimension technology are smaller pixel, high spatial resolution, and lower power consumption. A technology lower than 100 nm requires modification to the fabrication process (not following the digital road map) and pixel architecture.

Fundamental parameters such as leakage current (will affect the sensitivity to the light) and operation voltage (will affect dynamic range, i.e., the saturation, a pinned photodiode is most likely not going to work at a low voltage are very important when a process is selected for CIS development. Because of these limitations, a new circuit technique is introduced:

1.  An old circuit, such as a standard pixel circuit cannot be used when using 0.1 micron and lower. This is due to the topology which requires high voltage; because the maximum supply voltage is now lower.

2. Calibration circuit and cancellation circuit are normally employed to reduce noises.

In order to increase the resolution into multi-megapixel and hundreds of frame rate, lower dimension technology is normally chosen. Evidently, it has been reported that 0.13 micron and 0.18 micron are good enough to achieve good imaging performance.

These modifications of the CMOS process have started at 0.25 micron and below to improve their imaging characteristics. As process scaling is going to be much lower than 0.25 micron and below, several fundamental parameters are degraded, namely, photo responsivity and dark current. Therefore, the modifications are focused on mitigating these parameter degradations. System requirements (such as supply voltage and temperature) are also one of the criteria in selecting a suitable process.

The price of tool and development costs will also determine the process selection.

Photo Detetor Devices

The typical photo detector devices are photodiode and phototransistor. Typical photodiode devices are N+/Psub, P+/N_well, N_well/Psub, and P+/N_well/Psub (back-to-back diode) [9]. Phototransistor devices are P+/n_well/Psub (vertical transistor), P+/N_well/P+ (lateral transistor), and N_well/gate (tied phototransistor).

These standard photo devices still require a micro lens and colour filter array. The quantum efficiency of photodiodes in a standard CMOS is usually below 0.3.

The devices which are normally developed for the modified CMOS process are a photogate, pinned photodiode, and amorphous silicon diode. These devices will improve the sensitivity of the CIS. A pinned photodiode, which has a low dark current, offers good imaging characteristics for the CIS.

The photodevices exhibit the parasitic capacitance, which should be considered during the design process. An example of the parasitic capacitance of N_well/Psub is:

                       Cphoto = (capacitance per area) × photodevice area.

Design Methodology of CMOS Image Sensors:

The typical design flow of the CMOS image sensor is shown below.

Typical design flow of the CMOS image sensor
Typical design flow of the CMOS image sensor

A wave propagation simulation can be done for optics simulation. Commercially available technology computer-aided design tools, such as from Synopsys and Silvaco, can be used to simulate the process or technology of the photodevices. There is a work, (mixed-mode simulation) that combines the technology computer-aided design and pixel-level simulation.

There are many electronic design automation tools available for pixel electrical simulation, these electronic design automation tools are similar to any integrated circuit (IC) design tool, such as spectre, SPICE, Verilog-A, and Verilog. These tools may be time consuming  sometimes if the number of pixels is large.

Indeed, if large pixels together with the deep submicron process are required, more capital has to be provided (cost of tools are more expensive for very deep submicron, especially below 90 nm). Even though the CMOS foundry provides the models for supported design tools, sometimes designers still have to model the sub-block on their own to suit the CIS specification. This can speed up the pixel electrical simulation time, however, this will degrade the accuracy. For system simulation, VHDL-AMS, System-C, or MATLAB can be used to predict the overall function and performance.

CMOS Image Sensor Architecture:

Pixel Level ADC – A digital pixel sensor (DPS) offers a wide dynamic range. The DPS converts the analog values to a digital signa within the pixel range. The processing can also be done at the pixel level.

Digital positive Sensitive device, Image Credit – Georg Wiora (Dr. Schorsch), Digital Position Sensitive DeviceCC BY-SA 3.0

Chip Level ADC – Chip-level ADC or sometimes matrix-level ADC is depicted in Figure below.

Matrix-level ADC

The ADC for this topology has to be very fast, this topology would also consume a very high current. The ADC type suitable for the CIS topology is pipelined ADC. However, successive approximation register (SAR) and flash type ADC have also been reported in the CIS design. The balance of  necessary overall power intake and speed of operation is therefore essential.

Digital Pixel Sensor – The DPS concept is similar to the solution used in the CMOS neuron-stimulus chip. The DPS in number is found useful for on-chip compression. The photodiode is used to discharge the input capacitance of the comparator and photodiode itself. It will be discharged proportionally to the light intensity. When this reaches the threshold, the   comparator’s O/P will be triggered.

Low Power Technique in CMOS Image Sensor:

Biasing method: The subthreshold region or weak inversion biasing is one of the approaches to achieve low current consumption. This technique can be applied to an operational transconductance amplifier (OTA) or an amplifier for an ADC. Triode region biasing can also be used to further reduce power consumption.

Circuit technique: The regenerative latch can be used to reduce the digital power consumption. Reducing/scaling the capacitors in the pipeline stages (for ADC) can also reduce the power consumption.

Advanced power management technique: Another type of biasing or circuit technique, a “smart” approach, such as harvesting solar energy can also be employed to reduce the power consumption. We can also selectively ON only the required readout circuit. Pixels can also be periodically activated to reduce the power consumption further.

Low Noise Techniques in CMOS Image Sensor:

At pixel level: The thermal noise can be reduced by correlated double sampling and oversampling. The flicker noise is reduced by using a large device, periodically biasing the transistor, and proper PMOS substrate voltage biasing.

Column level: The off-chip calibration can be used to reduce fixed pattern noise. The calibration is done to select suitable capacitor weights in the SAR ADC.

ADC level: The kT/C noise is reduced by selecting a suitable value for Cf and Cs of the S/H circuit and buffer.

Photodiode level: The high conversion gain helps to reduce referred-to input noise.

For more electronics related article click here

About Soumali Bhattacharya

I am currently invested in the field of Electronics and communication.
My articles are focused towards the major areas of core electronics in a very simple yet informative approach.
I am a vivid learner and try to keep myself updated with all latest technologies in the field of Electronics domains.

Let's connect through LinkedIn -
https://www.linkedin.com/in/soumali-bhattacharya-34833a18b/

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *