هيكل وخصائص ClI3 Lewis (17 حقائق مهمة)


يتم تمثيل إلكترونات التكافؤ لذرات الجزيء في الخط ويطلق على نمط النقاط اسم هيكل لويس. دعونا نجري بعض المناقشات التفصيلية حول CLI3 هيكل لويس.

CLI3 يحتوي هيكل لويس على ذرتين أي ذرات الكلور واليود. لديها 2 Cl ذرة و 1 ذرات أنا. كل من I و Cl من غير المعادن ويعرفان باسم الهالوجينات. وهكذا ، CLI3 هو مركب بين الهالوجين. في ClI3 (ثلاثي يوديد الكلور) Cl أقل كهربيًا من I لذا فهي تحتل موقعًا مركزيًا.

تتصل جميع ذرات Cl و 3 I بثلاث روابط تساهمية مفردة يرمز إليها بخطوط. يتم وضع الإلكترونات المتبقية أولاً على 3 I ثم على ذرة Cl المركزية. دعونا نناقش المزيد حول إلكترونات التكافؤ والشحنة الرسمية والأزواج المنفردة والعديد من خصائص ClI3 هيكل لويس مع بعض الحقائق عنه.

كيفية رسم ClI3 هيكل لويس؟

فيما يلي الخطوات الموضحة والشرح لرسم CLI3 هيكل لويس.

إلكترونات التكافؤ في ClI3 وارتباطه:

قم بحساب إجمالي إلكترونات التكافؤ الموجودة على ClI3 بنية لويس عن طريق جمع كل ذرات Cl و I الموجودة عليها. اصنع الروابط التساهمية الموضحة بخطوط مفردة بين جميع ذرات Cl و I.

عد أزواجًا منفردة من ClI3 وطبِّق قاعدة الثمانيات عليها:

وضعت إلكترونات التكافؤ الإضافي بعد الترابط أولاً على جميع ذرات I الثلاث ثم على ذرة Cl المركزية وعدها. قم بتطبيق قاعدة الثمانيات على بنية ClI3 lewis لمعرفة ما إذا كانت ذرات Cl و I تحتوي على ثماني بتات كاملة أو غير كاملة أو ممتدة.

احسب الرسم الرسمي لـ ClI3 وتوقع شكله:

الرسوم الرسمية الموجودة على ClI3 يجب حساب بنية لويس باستخدام صيغة محددة للرسوم الرسمية. أخيرًا ، توقع شكل ClI3 مع تهجينها وزاوية الرابطة.

هيكل ClI3 لويس

CLI3 إلكترونات التكافؤ

يُعرف الإلكترون المتاح في المدار الخارجي للذرة أو الجزيء باسم إلكترون التكافؤ. ألق نظرة على الشرح التفصيلي لـ ClI3 إلكترونات التكافؤ.

CLI3 يحتوي هيكل لويس على 28 إلكترونًا تكافؤًا. ذرات الكلور واليود في ClI3 هي ذرات هالوجين وكلاهما ينتمي إلى المجموعة 17 في الجدول الدوري. لذلك ، تحتوي كل من ذرات الكلور واليود على سبعة إلكترونات تكافؤ في مداري غلاف التكافؤ الخارجي.

CLI3 يتم حساب إلكترونات تكافؤ بنية لويس وشرحها في الخطوات التالية الواردة أدناه.

  • ذرة الكلور في ClI3 يحتوي على إلكترونات التكافؤ = 07 × 1 (Cl) = 07
  • ذرة اليود من ClI3 يحتوي على إلكترونات التكافؤ = 07 × 03 (I) = 21
  • إلكترونات التكافؤ موجودة على ClI3 بنية لويس هي = 07 (Cl) + 21 (I) = 28
  • مجموع أزواج الإلكترون المتاحة على ClI3 تُحسب بنية لويس بقسمة إلكترونات التكافؤ على 2 = 28/2 = 14
  • ومن ثم ، فإن إجمالي إلكترونات التكافؤ في بنية ClI3 lewis هي 28 وإجمالي أزواج الإلكترون 14.

CLI3 أزواج هيكل لويس الوحيد

تسمى إلكترونات التكافؤ الإضافية التي تبقى بعد عدم مشاركة الرابطة بين الذرات بإلكترونات الزوج الوحيد. دعونا نناقش CLI3 هيكل لويس زوج واحد من الإلكترونات.

CLI3 يحتوي هيكل لويس على 11 زوجًا منفردًا من الإلكترونات. لديها إجمالي 28 إلكترون التكافؤ. تنخرط ستة إلكترونات لتكوين 3 روابط داخل ذرات Cl و I وتكون 3 أزواج روابط. لا يتم مشاركة 22 إلكترونًا تكافؤًا إضافيًا ويتم وضعها على 3 ذرات I ثم على ذرات Cl المركزية.

إلكترونات الزوج الوحيد على ClI3 يتم حساب بنية لويس في الخطوات التالية المحددة.

  • إلكترونات زوج وحيد على ClI3 هي = إلكترونات التكافؤ لـ ClI3(V.E) - عدد السندات / 2
  • ذرة Cl المركزية في ClI3 يحتوي على زوج وحيد من الإلكترون = 7 (V.E) - 3 (روابط) / 2 = 4/2 = 2
  • ثلاث ذرات أنا من ClI3 يحتوي على إلكترونات زوج وحيد = 7 (V.E) - 1 (رابطة) / 2 = 6/2 = 3
  • إلكترونات الزوج الوحيد على ClI3 هيكل لويس هو = 2 (Cl) + 3 × 3 (I) = 2 + 9 = 11
  • ومن هنا جاء CLI3 يحتوي هيكل لويس على 11 زوجًا وحيدًا من الإلكترونات الموجودة عليه.

CLI3 حكم لويس هيكل الثماني

الذرات التي تحتوي على 8 إلكترونات في غلافها الخارجي هي ذرات مستقرة كما هو موضح في قاعدة الثمانيات. فيما يلي شرح موجز لـ CLI3 حكم لويس هيكل الثماني.

CLI3 تحتوي بنية لويس على ثماني بتات كاملة من جميع ذرات I الخارجية الثلاثة وثماني بتات ممتدة من ذرة Cl المركزية. تُحاط الذرات الخارجية 3 I بمجموع ثمانية إلكترونات ، أي زوجان من الروابط و 2 إلكترونات زوجية غير مشتركة. يحتوي ClI6 على 3 إلكترونات في جميع ذرات I الثلاثة وله ثماني بتات كاملة.

يحيط بذرة Cl المركزية ما مجموعه عشرة إلكترونات ، أي ستة إلكترونات زوجية وأربعة إلكترونات غير مرتبطة. لذلك ، نظرًا لوجود أكثر من ثمانية إلكترونات على ذرة Cl المركزية ، فإن لديها ثماني بتات ممتدة.

CLI3 رسوم هيكلية لويس الرسمية

يسمى الحد الأدنى من الشحنة الموجبة أو السالبة التي تتطور على الذرات بسبب فقدان الإلكترون وكسبه بالشحنة الرسمية. دعونا نناقش بإيجاز CLI3 اتهام رسمي.

المسؤول الرسمي من ClI3 بنية لويس هي = (إلكترونات التكافؤ - إلكترونات غير مرتبطة - ½ إلكترونات الرابطة)

الشرح الحسابي التفصيلي ل ClI3 الرسم الرسمي مبين في الجدول التالي.

ذرات ClI3
هيكل لويس
التكافؤ
على الإلكترونات
Cl وأنا
عدم الترابط
على الإلكترونات
Cl وأنا
الرابطة
على الإلكترونات
Cl وأنا
التهمة الرسمية
على Cl وأنا
الكلور (الكلور)
ذرات
070406(7-4-6 / 2) = 0
اليود (I)
ذرات
070602(7-6-2 / 2) = 0
ClI3 lewis شحنة رسمية ، Cl = 0 ، I = 0

CLI3 شكل هيكل لويس

يسمى تثبيت أو ترتيب ذرات الجزيئات بطريقة محددة أو محددة بالشكل الجزيئي. دعونا نناقش بشيء من التفصيل CLI3 شكل هيكل لويس.

CLI3 هيكل لويس له هيكل جزيئي على شكل حرف T وهندسة الإلكترون المثلثية ثنائية الهرمون. ذرة Cl المركزية في ClI3 يتم ربط بنية لويس بثلاث ذرات يود مع ثلاث روابط تساهمية تساهمية واحدة تشكل ثلاث روابط Cl-I. كما أنه يحتوي على زوجين منفردان من الإلكترونات.

وبالتالي ، نظرًا لوجود زوجين منفردان ، يوجد تنافر بين إلكترونات زوج وحيد وزوج سندات من ClI3 الجزيئات. أيضا ، فإنه يتبع AX3E2 الصيغة العامة لنظرية VSEPR وبالتالي وفقًا لها CLI3 أشكال T - الشكل والهندسة المثلثية ثنائية الهرمية.

CLI3 تهجين

يسمى خلط المدارات الذرية لجزيء مكون مداري هجين جديد له نفس الطاقة التهجين. ألق نظرة على تفاصيل موجزة عن ClI3 تهجين.

CLI3 هيكل لويس له س3د تهجين ذرة الكلور المركزية. تحتوي ذرة Cl على رقم steric 5. العدد المجسم لذرة Cl المركزية لـ ClI3 يتم تحديده على أنه = عدد الروابط على Cl atom of ClI3 + أزواج وحيدة على Cl atom. وبالتالي ، تحتوي ذرة Cl المركزية على رقم ستيري = 3 + 2 = 5.

وفقًا لنظرية VSEPR ، تحتوي الأنواع أو المركبات ذات الرقم الثابت 5 على تهجين sp3d. لذلك ، بالنسبة لبنية ClI3 lewis ، هناك خلط وتداخل لمدارات 's' ، وثلاثة 'p' ، وواحد 'd' من ذرات Cl المركزية مما يؤدي إلى تكوين sp جديد.3د مداري هجين بطاقة مماثلة.

CLI3 زاوية هيكل لويس

المسافة الزاوية بين رابطتين متبادلتين في جزيء أو مركب تسمى زاوية الرابطة. فيما يلي مناقشة تفصيلية عميقة حول CLI3 زاوية رابطة هيكل لويس.

CLI3 يحتوي هيكل لويس على 900 و 1200 زوايا الرابطة. تحتوي ذرات الكلور المركزية على ثلاث روابط تساهمية مرتبطة بثلاث ذرات يود. تشكل جميع روابط Cl - I الثلاثة زاويتين من I - Cl - I بزاوية 90 درجة. أيضًا ، تحتوي ذرة Cl المركزية على إلكترونين منفصلين بسبب تنافرها.

وهكذا ، فإن سندات Cl - I وزوج واحد من الإلكترونات ، يشكل كلا الزوجين المنفردين أيضًا زاوية رابطة مقدارها 120 درجة داخلهما. أيضا ، ClI3 يأتي تحت AX3E2 الصيغة العامة لوحدة VSEPR التي تؤكد 900 و 1200 زاوية السندات. هنا ، A هي ذرة Cl المركزية ، X3 مستعبدين ل 3 ذرات و E.2 هو زوجان وحيدان على ذرة الكلور.

هل CLI3 صلب؟

تسمى المركبات التي لها شكل محدد وذرات هذا المركب المكدسة بإحكام بالمركبات الصلبة. دعونا نناقش المزيد من التفاصيل حول ما إذا كان ClI3 صلبة أم لا.

CLI3 ليس مركبًا صلبًا. لا يوجد بأي شكل من الأشكال بسبب تشكيل ClI3 صعب جدا. يحتوي Cl على حجم ذري كبير وهو أكثر كهرسلبية من ذرات I. وبالتالي ، يمكن لـ Cl فقط اكتساب الإلكترونات ولا يمكنه التبرع للذرة I. Cl هل تهجين لتشكيل ICl3 وليس ClI3.

هل CLI3 يذوب في الماء؟

تسمى قدرة المذاب لأي مركب كيميائي على الذوبان في الماء قابليته للذوبان. ألق نظرة سريعة على ما إذا كان ClI3 قابل للذوبان في الماء أم لا.

لا يمكن تحديد قابلية ذوبان مركب ClI3. نظرًا لأن مركب ClI3 غير متوفر بالفعل أو موجود بأي شكل من الأشكال. وبالتالي لا يمكن أن تتفاعل مع الماء أو أي مادة كيميائية أخرى. وبالتالي ، لا يُظهر ClI3 قابليته للذوبان في الماء. أيضًا ، إنه مركب قطبي ولا يمكن أن يذوب في الماء.

هل CLI3 قطبي أم غير قطبي؟

يتم تحديد قطبية المركب من خلال فرق الكهربية بين الذرات وشكلها وتوزيع الإلكترون. دعونا نرى ما إذا كان ClI3 قطبي أو غير قطبي.

CLI3 المركب قطبي في الطبيعة. ذرة Cl المركزية أكثر كهرسلبية من ذرة I. فرق الكهربية بين ذرات Cl و I هو 0.5. لها طبيعة قطبية قليلاً بسبب قيم فرق الكهربية للروابط القطبية 0.5 إلى 0.9 التي أوضحها بولينج.

لماذا ClI3 هل القطبية؟

CLI3 هو قطبي لأنه يحتوي على ترتيب غير متماثل لذراته وتوزيع غير متكافئ للإلكترونات داخل ذرة Cl المركزية وذرات 3 أنا الخارجية. وله زوجان وحيدان على ذرة Cl المركزية وله هندسة مثلثية ثنائية الهرمية وشكل T. إنه صافي ثنائي القطب يخلق عليه.

تسحب ذرة Cl المركزية كثافة الإلكترون تجاه نفسها. ومن ثم ، تتطور شحنة سالبة جزئية على ذرة Cl المركزية وتتطور شحنة موجبة جزئية على ذرات اليود الخارجية.

هل CLI3 مركب جزيئي؟

المركبات الجزيئية هي تلك المركبات التي لها ذرات مرتبطة تساهميًا وتوضح صيغتها وجود جزيئات صغيرة. دعونا نرى ما إذا كان ClI3 جزيئي أم لا.

CLI3 مركب جزيئي. كل ذرات Cl و I الثلاثة مرتبطة تساهميًا مع بعضها البعض. لا يمكن أن تشكل أيونات. أيضًا ، الصيغة الجزيئية لـ ClI3 مركب يدل على وجود ثلاث ذرات اليود فيه. وبالتالي ، فإنه يظهر خصائص كونه مركبًا جزيئيًا.

هل CLI3 حمض أم قاعدة؟

المركبات المانحة للإلكترون هي الأحماض والمركبات المستقبلة للإلكترون هي القواعد. فيما يلي مناقشة موجزة حول ما إذا كان CLI3 هو حمض أو قاعدة.

CLI3 هو مركب غير حمضي وغير أساسي. يمكن أن يعمل كعامل مؤكسد ومركب بين الهالوجين. لكن CLI3 لا يمكن أن يوجد بسبب المزيد من ذرات الكلور المركزية الكهربية. وبالتالي ، نظرًا لوجود جميع عناصر الهالوجين ، فإن لها تقاربًا أكبر مع الإلكترون وتعمل كعامل مؤكسد.

لماذا ClI3 هو عامل مؤكسد؟

CLI3 يمكن أن يعمل كعامل مؤكسد بسبب الكمية الزائدة من الإلكترونات الموجودة فيه. لديها المزيد من الاختلاف في الكهربية بين كل من ذرات الهالوجين Cl و I ولها روابط تساهمية قطبية. وبالتالي فإنه يظهر طاقة تفكك أقل مع قطبية أقل وتداخل فعال في ClI3.

هل CLI3 بالكهرباء؟

تسمى المركبات التي تذوب في الماء وتتأين لتوصيل الكهرباء بالكهرباء. دعونا نناقش بعض التفاصيل الموجزة حول ما إذا كان ClI3 هو المنحل بالكهرباء أم لا.

CLI3 المركب لا يعمل كإلكتروليت. إنه مركب بين الهالوجين يتكون من مزيج من ذرتين هالوجين ، أي الكلور واليود. لا يمكن أن تكون مركبات الهالوجين غير المعدنية قابلة للذوبان والتأين في الماء. وبالتالي لا يمكنها توصيل الكهرباء وليست منحل بالكهرباء.

هل CLI3 ملح؟

الأملاح هي مركبات الشكل البلورية الصلبة التي تتكون نتيجة التفاعل بين الحمض والقاعدة. ألق نظرة على مزيد من المناقشات حول ما إذا كان ClI3 ملح أم لا.

CLI3 ليس مركب ملح. في الأساس ، ClI3 لا يمكن أن يوجد. كما أنه ليس المركب الناتج عن تفاعل الحمض القاعدي. يمكن أن يكون عامل مؤكسد قوي بسبب مركب الهالوجين الخاص به والمزيد من الإلكترونات الموجودة عليه. لا يوجد في شكل بلوري صلب وليس ملح.

هل CLI3 الأيونية أو التساهمية؟

تحدد قوة الجذب الكهروستاتيكية الطابع الأيوني للمركب وتحدد روابط سيجما الطابع التساهمي. دعونا نرى ما إذا كان ClI3 أيوني أو تساهمية.

CLI3 هو مركب تساهمي بسبب وجود ثلاث روابط تساهمية Cl - I سيجما بين ذرات الكلور واليود. هذه روابط قوية ولا يمكن كسرها بسهولة. وهكذا CLI3 لا يمكن أن تشكل أيونات ولا تظهر الطبيعة الأيونية. ومن ثم CLI3 هو مركب تساهمي.

الخلاصة:

CLI3 تحتوي بنية لويس على 28 إلكترونًا تكافؤًا و 11 إلكترونًا منفردًا. يحتوي على ثماني بتات كاملة من جميع ذرات I الثلاثة وثماني بتات ممتدة من ذرة Cl المركزية. ليس لديها أي رسوم رسمية على ذرات Cl و I. CLI3 له شكل T وهندسة ثنائية الهرمية ثلاثية الزوايا مع sp3d2 التهجين وزوايا الرابطة 90 درجة و 120 درجة. إنه عامل مؤكسد ، تساهمي قطبي ، وغير قابل للذوبان في الماء.

د. شروتي رامتكي

مرحباً بالجميع ، أنا دكتور شروتي إم رامتيك ، لقد حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه في الكيمياء. لديّ خمس سنوات من الخبرة في التدريس لـ 11-12 معيارًا و B و Sc و MSc في مادة الكيمياء. لقد نشرت ما مجموعه خمس مقالات بحثية خلال الدكتوراه في عملي البحثي ولدي زمالة من UGC للحصول على درجة الدكتوراه. ماجستير في الكيمياء غير العضوية وتخرجي في مواد الكيمياء وعلم الحيوان وعلوم البيئة. شكرا

آخر المقالات

الارتباط بهيكل حمض البروبانويك لويس: الرسم والتفسيرات التفصيلية

هيكل حمض البروبانويك لويس: الرسم والشروحات التفصيلية

في هذه المقالة سوف نتعرف على هيكل لويس حمض البروبانويك وخصائصه الكيميائية وإنتاجه وتطبيقاته. حمض البروبانويك مركب عضوي عديم اللون وشبه متطاير ...

ClI3 Lewis Structure & Characteristics (17 Important Facts)


Valence electrons of atoms of a molecule get represented in the line and dots pattern are called lewis structure. Let us have some detailed discussion on the ClI3 lewis structure.

The ClI3 lewis structure contains 2 atoms i.e. chlorine and iodine atoms. It has 1 Cl atom and 3 I atoms. Both I and Cl are non-metals and are known as halogens. Thus, ClI3 is an inter-halogen compound. In ClI3 (chlorine tri-iodide) Cl is less electronegative than I so it occupies a central position.

All the Cl and 3 I atoms get connected with 3 single covalent bonds denoted by lines. The remaining electrons get placed first on 3 I and then on the central Cl atom. Let us discuss more on about valence electrons, formal charge, lone pairs, and many more characteristics of the ClI3 lewis structure with some facts about it.

How to draw ClI3 lewis structure?

Below are the given steps and explanation for drawing the ClI3 lewis structure.

Valence electrons in ClI3 and its bonding:

Count the total valence electrons present on the ClI3 lewis structure by doing a summation of all the Cl and I atoms present on it. Make the covalent bonds shown by single lines between all Cl and I atoms.

Count lone pairs of ClI3 and apply the octet rule to it:

Extra valence electrons after bonding first put on all 3 I atoms and then on the central Cl atom and count them. Apply the octet rule on the ClI3 lewis structure to know whether the Cl and I atoms have complete, incomplete, or extended octets.

Calculate the formal charge of ClI3 and predict its shape:

The formal charge present on the ClI3 lewis structure should get calculated by using a specific formula of a formal charge. Finally, predict the shape of ClI3 with its hybridization and bond angle.

ClI3 lewis structure

ClI3 valence electrons

The electron available on the outermost orbital of an atom or molecule is known as the valence electron. Take a look at the detailed explanation of ClI3 valence electrons.

The ClI3 lewis structure has overall 28 valence electrons. The chlorine and iodine atoms of ClI3 are halogen atoms and both belong to the 17th group in the periodic table. Therefore, both the chlorine and iodine atoms contain seven valence electrons in their outermost valence shell orbital.

The ClI3 lewis structure valence electrons get calculated and explained in the following steps given below.

  • The chlorine atom of ClI3 contains valence electrons is = 07 x 1 (Cl) = 07
  • The iodine atom of ClI3 contains valence electrons is = 07 x 03 (I) = 21
  • Valence electrons present on ClI3 lewis structure is = 07 (Cl) + 21 (I) = 28
  • Total electron pairs available on ClI3 lewis structure is calculated by dividing its valence electrons by 2 = 28 / 2 = 14
  • Hence, the total valence electrons on the ClI3 lewis structure are 28 and the total electron pairs are 14.

ClI3 lewis structure lone pairs

The extra valence electrons that remain after bonding between atoms gets unshared are called lone pair electrons. Let us discuss the ClI3 lewis structure lone pair electrons.

The ClI3 lewis structure has a total of 11 lone pairs of electrons. It has a total of 28 valence electrons. Six electrons get engaged to form 3 bonds within Cl and I atoms and are 3 bond pairs. Extra 22 valence electrons are unshared and get placed on 3 I atoms and then on central Cl atoms.

The lone pair electrons on the ClI3 lewis structure are calculated in the given following steps.

  • Lone pair electrons on ClI3 is = Valence electrons of ClI3( V. E ) – Number of bonds / 2
  • The central Cl atom of ClI3 contains lone pair electron is = 7 ( V. E ) – 3 (bonds) / 2 = 4 / 2 = 2
  • The three I atoms of ClI3 contains lone pair electrons is = 7 ( V. E ) – 1 (bond)  / 2 = 6 / 2 = 3
  • The lone pair electrons on the ClI3 lewis structure is = 2 (Cl) +  3 x 3 (I) = 2 + 9 = 11
  • Hence the ClI3 lewis structure has a total of 11 lone pairs of electron present on it.

ClI3 lewis structure octet rule

The atoms containing 8 electrons in their outer shell are stable atoms as explained in the octet rule. Below is a brief explanation of the ClI3 lewis structure octet rule.

The ClI3 lewis structure contains complete octets of all three outer I atoms and an extended octet of a central Cl atom. The outer 3 I atoms get surrounded by a total of eight electrons i.e. 2 bond pairs and 6 unshared pair electrons. The ClI3 has 8 electrons on all 3 I atoms and has complete octets.

The central Cl atom is surrounded by total of ten electrons i.e. six bond pair electrons and four non-bonding electrons. So, due to the presence of more than eight electrons on the central Cl atom, it has an extended octet.

ClI3 lewis structure formal charge

The minimum positive or negative charge that develops on atoms due to the loss and gain of an electron is called a formal charge. Let us discuss in brief the ClI3 formal charge.

Formal charge of ClI3 lewis structure is = (valence electrons – non-bonding electrons – ½ bonding electrons)

The detailed calculative explanation of ClI3 formal charge is given in the following table.

Atoms of ClI3
lewis structure
Valence
electrons on
Cl, and I
Non – bonding
electrons on
Cl, and I
Bonding
electrons on
Cl, and I
The formal charge
on Cl, and I
Chlorine (Cl)
atoms
070406( 7 – 4 – 6 / 2 ) = 0
Iodine (I)
atoms
070602( 7 – 6 – 2 / 2 ) = 0
ClI3 lewis structure formal charge, Cl = 0, I = 0

ClI3 lewis structure shape

The fixation or arrangement of atoms of molecules in a definite or specific manner is called molecular shape. Let us discuss in some detail the ClI3 lewis structure shape.

The ClI3 lewis structure has T – shaped molecular structure and trigonal bipyramidal electron geometry. The central Cl atom of the ClI3 lewis structure gets attached to three iodine atoms with three single covalent sigma bonds forming three Cl – I bonds. It also contains two lone pairs of electrons.

Thus due to the presence of two lone pairs, there is the repulsion created between lone pair and bond pair electrons of ClI3 molecules. Also, it follows the AX3E2 generic formula of VSEPR theory thus with accord to it ClI3 forms T – shape and trigonal bipyramidal geometry.

ClI3 hybridization

The mixing of atomic orbitals of a molecule forming a new hybrid orbital having the same energy is called hybridization. Take a look at brief details of ClI3 hybridization.

The ClI3 lewis structure has sp3d hybridization of its central chlorine atom. The Cl atom contains steric number 5. The steric number of central Cl atom of ClI3 is determined as = number of bonds on Cl atom of ClI3 + lone pairs on Cl atom. Hence, central Cl atom contains steric number = 3 + 2 = 5.

In accordance with VSEPR theory, the species or compounds with steric number 5 contain sp3d hybridization. Therefore, for the ClI3 lewis structure, there is a mixing and overlapping of one ‘s’, three ‘p’, and one ‘d’ orbitals of central Cl atoms causing the formation of a new sp3d hybrid orbital with similar energy.

ClI3 lewis structure angle

The angular distance between two alternate bonds in a molecule or compound is called bond angle. Below is the deep detailed discussion on the ClI3 lewis structure bond angle.

The ClI3 lewis structure contains 900 and 1200 bond angles. The central Cl atoms have three covalent bonds joined to three iodine atoms. All three Cl – I bonds form two I – Cl – I bond angles of 90 degrees. Also, the central Cl atom contains two lone pair electrons due to its repulsion created.

Thus, two Cl – I bonds and one lone pair of electrons, also both lone pairs form a bond angle of 120 degrees within them. Also, ClI3 comes under the AX3E2 generic formula of the VSEPR module which confirms its 900 and 1200 bond angle. Here, A is the central Cl atom, X3 is bonded to 3 I atoms, and E2 is two lone pairs on the Cl atom.

Is ClI3 solid?

The compounds having a definite shape and tightly packed atoms of that compound are called solid compounds. Let us discuss some more details on whether ClI3 is solid or not.

ClI3 is not a solid compound. It does not exist in any form because the formation of ClI3 is quite difficult. Cl has a big atomic size and is more electronegative than I atoms. Thus, Cl can only gain electrons and cannot donate to the I atom. Cl does hybridization to form the ICl3 and not ClI3.

Is ClI3 soluble in water?

The capacity of a solute of any chemical compound to dissolve in water is called its solubility. Take a brief look at whether ClI3 is soluble in water or not.

The solubility of the ClI3 compound cannot determine. As the ClI3 compound is actually not available or exists in any form. Thus it cannot react with water or any other chemical substance. Thus, ClI3 does not show its solubility towards the water. Also, it is a polar compound and cannot dissolve in water.

Is ClI3 polar or nonpolar?

The polarity of a compound is determined by the electronegativity difference between atoms and their shape and electron distribution. Let us see whether ClI3 is polar or non-polar.

The ClI3 compound is polar in nature. The central Cl atom is more electronegative than the I atom. The electronegativity difference between Cl and I atoms is 0.5. It has a slightly polar nature due to the electronegativity difference values for polar bonds 0.5 to 0.9 explained by Pauling’s rule.

Why ClI3 is polar?

ClI3 is polar because it has an asymmetric arrangement of its atom and unequal distribution of electrons within the central Cl atom and outer 3 I atoms. It has two lone pairs on the central Cl atom and has trigonal bipyramidal geometry and the T –shape. It net dipole creates on it.

The central Cl atom pulls electron density towards itself. Hence, a partial negative charge develops on the central Cl atom and a partial positive charge develops on outer iodine atoms.

Is ClI3 molecular compound?

Molecular compounds are those compounds that have covalently bonded atoms and their formula shows the presence of small molecules. Let us see whether ClI3 is molecular or not.

ClI3 is a molecular compound. All the one Cl and three I atoms are covalently bonded to each other. It cannot form ions. Also, the molecular formula of the ClI3 compound denotes the presence of three iodine atoms in it. Thus, it shows the characteristics of being a molecular compound.

Is ClI3 acid or base?

The electron donor compounds are acids and electron acceptor compounds are bases. Below is a brief discussion on whether the ClI3 is an acid or a base.

ClI3 is a non–acidic and non–basic compound. It can act as an oxidizing agent and an inter–halogen compound. But ClI3 cannot exists due to more electronegative central chlorine atoms. Thus, due to the presence of all halogen elements, it has more electron affinity and acts as an oxidizing agent.

Why ClI3 is an oxidizing agent?

ClI3 can act as an oxidizing agent because of the surplus amount of electrons present in it. It has more electronegativity difference between both Cl and I halogen atoms and has polar covalent bonds. Thus it shows less dissociation energy with less polarity and effective overlapping in ClI3.

Is ClI3 electrolyte?

The compounds which get soluble in water and get ionized to conduct electricity are called electrolytes. Let us discuss some brief details on whether ClI3 is an electrolyte or not.

ClI3 compound does not act as an electrolyte. It is an inter-halogen compound formed due to a combination of two halogen atoms i.e. chlorine and iodine. These non-metallic halogen compounds cannot be soluble and ionize in water. Thus it cannot conduct electricity and are not an electrolyte.

Is ClI3 salt?

Salts are the solid crystalline form compounds formed due to the reaction between acid and base. Take a look at some more discussion on whether ClI3 is a salt or not.

ClI3 is not a salt compound. Basically, ClI3 cannot exists. Also, it is not the compound formed by the acid – base reaction. It can be a strong oxidizing agent due to its inter-halogen compound and more electrons present on it. It is not present in crystalline solid form and is not a salt.

Is ClI3 ionic or covalent?

The electrostatic force of attraction determines the ionic character of the compound and sigma bonds determine the covalent character. Let us see whether ClI3 is ionic or covalent.

ClI3 is a covalent compound due to the presence of three Cl – I sigma covalent bonds between chlorine and iodine atoms. These are strong bonds and cannot break easily. Thus ClI3 cannot form ions and does not show ionic nature. Hence ClI3 is a covalent compound.

Conclusion:

ClI3 lewis structure contains 28 valence electrons and 11 lone pair electrons. It has complete octets of all 3 I atoms and an extended octet of the central Cl atom. It has zero formal charges on Cl and I atoms. ClI3 has T – shape and trigonal bipyramidal geometry with sp3d2 hybridization and 90-degree and 120-degree bond angles. It is an oxidizing agent, polar covalent, and insoluble in water.

Dr. Shruti Ramteke

Hello everyone I am Dr. Shruti M Ramteke, i did my Ph.D in chemistry. I have five years of teaching experience for 11-12 standard, B,Sc and MSc in chemistry subject. I have published total five research articles during Ph.D on my research work and i have fellowship from UGC for my Ph.D. My Masters with specilization Inorganic chemistry and my graduation with chemistry, zoology and environmental science subjects. thank You

Recent Posts