خصائص الرسوم البيانية للوظيفة: 5 حقائق مهمة


خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية، ستناقش هذه المقالة مفهوم العرض الرسومي للوظائف بالإضافة إلى قيمة المتغير الموجود في الوظيفة. حتى يتمكن القراء من فهم المنهجية بسهولة.

أي رسم بياني يمثل الدوال f (X) = | x-2 | - 1؟

نظرة واحدة على تعبير الجانب الأيمن تجعلنا نتساءل ، ما هذين العمودين حول -2؟ حسنًا ، هذه الأشرطة هي رمز لدالة خاصة جدًا في الرياضيات ، تُعرف باسم دالة المقياس أو دالة القيمة المطلقة. هذه الوظيفة مهمة جدًا في نظرية الوظيفة أن الأمر يستحق بضع كلمات عن أصله.

دعونا نقول إننا نقرر الوقت المطلوب للانتقال من مدينة إلى أخرى. في هذه الحالة ، ألا نهتم فقط بالمسافة بين المدينتين؟ هل سيكون للاتجاه أي أهمية؟ وبالمثل ، في دراسة التفاضل والتكامل ، غالبًا ما يُطلب منا تحليل التقارب بين رقمين ، وهي القيمة المطلقة لاختلافهما. لا نهتم إذا كان الفرق إيجابيًا أم سلبيًا. عالم الرياضيات الألماني كارل ويرستراس هو الشخص الذي أدرك ضرورة وظيفة تعبر عن القيمة المطلقة لرقم. في عام 1841 ، حدد Weierstrass دالة المعامل واستخدم العمودين كرمز لها. 

f (x) = x لكل x> 0

= -x لكل x <0

= 0 لـ x = 0

يُختصر بالصيغة f (x) = | x |

يتضح من التعريف أن هذه الوظيفة ليس لها أي تأثير على رقم موجب. ومع ذلك ، فإنه يغير رقمًا سالبًا إلى رقم موجب له نفس القيمة المطلقة. لذلك

| 5 | = 5

 7-2 5 =

| -5 | = 5

| 2-7 | = 5

لرسم الرسم البياني لـ | x | ، يجب أن نبدأ بالرسم البياني لـ f (x) = x وهو ببساطة خط مستقيم يمر من نقطة الأصل ، ويميل بزاوية 45 درجة إلى الجانب الإيجابي من المحور X

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية: نظرية الوظيفة: f (x) = x

يمكن القول أنه سيتم الاحتفاظ بالنصف العلوي من هذا الرسم البياني بواسطة f (x) = | x | لأن هذه الوظيفة لا تغير الأرقام الموجبة. ومع ذلك ، يجب تغيير جانب النصف السفلي من الرسم البياني ، لأن | x | يجب أن تكون دائمًا إيجابية. لذلك ، سيتم الآن استبدال جميع النقاط الموجودة في النصف السفلي من f (x) = x في النصف العلوي ، مع الحفاظ على نفس المسافة من المحور X. بمعنى آخر ، الكل النصف الأيسر من f (x) = | x | هو في الواقع انعكاس النصف السفلي من f (x) = x حول المحور X.

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية
خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية: نظرية الوظيفة: | x | و x الرسوم البيانية

في الشكل أعلاه ، يوضح النصف الأيمن الرسوم البيانية لـ | x | و x متراكب ، بينما النصف الأيسر يظهر أحدهما على أنه انعكاس للآخر. من الضروري ملاحظة أن هذه التقنية قد تمتد إلى أي وظيفة. بمعنى آخر ، من السهل تخيل الرسم البياني لـ | f (x) | إذا كنا نعرف بالفعل الرسم البياني لـ f (x). المفتاح هو استبدال النصف السفلي بانعكاسه حول المحور X.

الآن نحن نعرف كيفية رسم | x |. لكن مشكلتنا الأصلية تتطلب حبكة | x-2 |. حسنًا ، هذا ليس سوى ملف تحول الأصل من (0,0،2,0) إلى (2،2) لأنه يقلل ببساطة قراءة X لجميع النقاط بمقدار وحدتين ، وبالتالي يتم تحويل f (x) إلى f (x-XNUMX).

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية:  نظرية الوظيفة: | x | و | x-2 |

الآن -1 هو الشيء الوحيد المتبقي الذي يجب الاهتمام به. هذا يعني طرح 1 من جميع النقاط في | x-2 |. بمعنى آخر ، هذا يعني سحب الرسم البياني رأسيًا لأسفل بمقدار وحدة واحدة. إذن ، سيكون الرأس الجديد (1 ، -2) بدلاً من (1،2,0)

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية: نظرية الوظيفة: | x-2 | - 1

أي رسم بياني يمثل الدوال f (X) = - | x-2 | - 1؟

حسنًا ، يجب أن يكون ذلك سهلاً للغاية بعد التحليل الذي أجريناه للتو. الاختلاف الوحيد هنا هو علامة الطرح قبل | x-2 |. تعكس علامة الطرح ببساطة الرسم البياني لـ | x-2 | فيما يتعلق بالمحور X. لذلك ، يمكننا إعادة تشغيل السابق المشكلة فقط بعد النقطة حيث كان لدينا رسم بياني لـ | x-2 |. لكن هذه المرة قبل التفكير في -1 ، سنعكس الرسم البياني.

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية: رسم بياني لـ | x-2 | و - | x-2 |

بعد ذلك ، سنقوم بسحبه لأسفل بمقدار وحدة واحدة لدمج -1. ويتم ذلك.

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية

يجب أن يكون الرسم البياني للدالة خطيًا إذا كان لها صفة معينة؟

ما هو الخط المستقيم؟ يتم تعريفه عادةً على أنه الحد الأدنى للمسافة بين نقطتين على سطح مستو. ولكن يمكن تعريفه أيضًا من زاوية أخرى. نظرًا لأن المستوى XY عبارة عن مجموعة من النقاط ، فيمكننا اعتبار أي خط على هذا المستوى هو موضع أو تتبع نقطة متحركة ، أو نقطة تتغير إحداثياتها X و Y.

يعني التحرك على طول خط مستقيم أن الحركة تحدث دون تغيير في الاتجاه. بعبارة أخرى ، إذا بدأت نقطة في التحرك من نقطة معينة وتحركت في اتجاه واحد فقط ، فيُقال إنها تتبع خطًا مستقيمًا. لذا ، إذا أردنا التعبير عن الرسم البياني الخطي كدالة ، فيجب علينا إيجاد معادلة لشرط الاتجاه الثابت.

ولكن كيف تعبر عن الاتجاه رياضيا؟ حسنًا ، نظرًا لأن لدينا بالفعل محورين مرجعيين في المستوى XY ، يمكن التعبير عن اتجاه الخط بالزاوية التي يصنعها مع أي من المحورين. فلنفترض أن الخط المستقيم يميل بزاوية α. لكن هذا يعني مجموعة من الخطوط المتوازية وليس مجرد مجموعة واحدة. لذلك ، لا يمكن أن تكون α هي المعلمة الوحيدة للخط.

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية: عائلة الخطوط ذات الانحدار 45 درجة

لاحظ أن الخطوط تختلف فقط في تقاطع Y الخاص بهم. التقاطع Y هو المسافة من أصل النقطة التي يلتقي فيها الخط مع المحور Y. دعونا نسمي هذه المعلمة ، C. إذن ، لدينا معاملين ، α و C. الآن ، دعونا نحاول اشتقاق معادلة الخط المستقيم.

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية: اعتراض شكل الخطوط المستقيمة

من الشكل يجب أن يكون واضحًا من المثلث الأيمن ، أنه لأي نقطة (س ، ص) على الخط يجب أن يكون الشرط الحاكم                      

(yc) / x = tanα.

⟹ ص = زتان α + ج

⟹y = mx + c حيث m = tanα

ومن ثم ، فإن أي معادلة بالصيغة y = ax + b يجب أن تمثل خطاً مستقيماً. بعبارة أخرى ، f (x) = ax + b هو الشكل المطلوب للدالة لكي تكون خطية.

يمكن اشتقاق نفس الشيء أيضًا من التعريف التقليدي للخط المستقيم الذي ينص على أن الخط هو أقصر مسار بين نقطتين على سطح مستو. لذا ، لنفترض أن (x1، y1) و (x2، y2) تكون نقطتين على خط مستقيم.

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية: نقطتان من الخطوط المستقيمة

بالنسبة لأي نقطة أخرى على الخط ، يمكن اشتقاق شرط عن طريق مساواة منحدرات مقطعي الخط المكونين من النقاط الثلاث حيث يجب أن يحافظ الخط على ميله في جميع المقاطع. ومن هنا جاءت المعادلة                                 

                                                                   (س س1) / (xx1) = (ص2-y1) / (x2-x1)

                                                            ⟹y (x2-x1) + س (ص1-y2) + (x1y2-y1x2) = 0

هذه المعادلة بصيغة Ax + By + C = 0 والتي يمكن كتابتها بالصيغة y = ax + b ، والتي نعرفها على أنها شكل دالة خطية.

ما هو الرسم البياني المستخدم لإظهار التغيير في متغير مقدم عند تغيير متغير ثان؟

لرسم رسم بياني مثالي لوظيفة ما ، سنحتاج إما إلى تعبير جبري محدد أو عدد لا حصر له من نقاط البيانات. في الحياة الواقعية ، كلاهما غير متاح في معظم الأوقات. البيانات التي لدينا مبعثرة. بمعنى آخر ، قد يكون لدينا قائمة بالنقاط (س ، ص) التي قد يتم رسمها على الرسم البياني ، ولكن قد لا تكون النقاط في موقع كثيف للغاية. لكن يتعين علينا ربط هذه النقاط على أي حال ، حيث لا توجد طريقة أخرى للنظر إلى نمط أو اتجاه المتغيرات. يُعرف الرسم البياني الذي يتم الحصول عليه بهذه الطريقة بالرسم البياني الخطي.

سميت بهذا الاسم لأن النقاط المجاورة مرتبطة بخطوط مستقيمة. هذا الرسم البياني هو الأنسب لتوضيح العلاقة بين متغيرين حيث يعتمد أحدهما على الآخر ويتغير كلاهما. الرسوم البيانية للسلاسل الزمنية هي أمثلة للرسم البياني الخطي حيث يمثل المحور X الوقت بوحدات الساعات / الأيام / الأشهر / السنوات ويمثل المحور Y المتغير الذي تتغير قيمته بمرور الوقت.

المبيــعات2010201120122013201420152016201720182019
الموديل4000470044504920534051205450568055605900
خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية
خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية: مثال على الرسم البياني الخطي

الوظيفة الدورية

عندما يكرر المتغير التابع قيمته في فترة محددة أو فاصل زمني للمتغير المستقل ، تسمى الوظيفة دورية. تسمى الفترة الزمنية الفترة أو الفترة الأساسية ، أحيانًا تكون الفترة الأساسية أو الفترة الأولية أيضًا. معايير الوظيفة التي يجب أن تكون دورية هي لبعض الثابت الحقيقي T ، f (x + T) = f (x). مما يعني أن f (x) تكرر قيمتها بعد كل T من وحدات x. قد نلاحظ قيمة الدالة في أي نقطة ، وسنجد نفس القيمة عند وحدات T يمينًا ويسارًا لتلك النقطة. هذه هي خاصية الوظيفة الدورية.

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية:    مدة الخطيئة (س) هي 2

الشكل أعلاه يصور السلوك الدوري لـ Sinx. نأخذ قيمتين عشوائيتين لـ x ، مثل x1 و x2 ونرسم خطوطًا موازية للمحور x من sin (x1) و sin (x2). نلاحظ أن كلا الخطين يلتقيان بالرسم البياني مرة أخرى على مسافة 2π بالضبط. ومن ثم فإن فترة Sinx هي 2π. إذن يمكننا كتابة sin (x + 2 π) = sinx لأي x. الدوال المثلثية الأخرى دورية أيضًا. جيب التمام له نفس الفترة مثل Sin وكذلك Cosec و Sec. تان لديه فترة π وكذلك Cot.

ما المصطلح الذي يعطي عدد دورات دالة دورية تحدث في وحدة أفقية واحدة؟

فترة كاملة واحدة تسمى دورة. إذن ، توجد دورة واحدة بالضبط بوحدات T في المتغير x. ومن ثم توجد دورات 1 / T في وحدة واحدة من x. الرقم 1 / T له أهمية خاصة في دراسة الوظائف الدورية لأنه يوضح مدى تكرار الوظيفة لقيمها. ومن ثم يتم تعيين مصطلح "التردد" للرقم 1 / T. يُشار إلى التردد بالحرف "f" ، وهو أمر لا يجب الخلط بينه وبين "f" للوظيفة ، وكلما زاد التردد ، زاد عدد الدورات الموجودة لكل وحدة. يتناسب التردد والفترة عكسياً مع بعضهما البعض ، وهما مرتبطان بـ f = 1 / T أو T = 1 / f. بالنسبة للخطيئة (X) ، تكون الفترة 2π ، لذا فإن التردد سيكون 1 / 2π.

أمثلة:

  1. احسب فترة وتكرار الخطيئة (3x)

نظرًا لأن Sin (x) لها دورة واحدة في 2π ، فإن Sin (3x) سيكون لها 3 دورات في 2π بينما يتقدم x 3 مرات أسرع في Sin (3x). لذا فإن التردد سيكون 3 أضعاف تردد Sin (x) ، أي 3 / 2π. هذا يجعل الفترة 1 / (3 / 2π) = 2π / 3

  1. احسب دورة Sin2x + sin3x

لاحظ أن أي عدد صحيح مضاعف للفترة الأساسية هو أيضًا فترة. في هذه المشكلة ، هناك مكونان للدالة. الأولى لها فترة π والثانية 2π / 3. لكن هذين النوعين مختلفان ، لذلك لا يمكن أن تكون فترة الدالة المركبة أيًا منهما. ولكن مهما كانت فترة التكوين ، يجب أن تكون فترة المكونات أيضًا. لذلك ، يجب أن يكون عددًا صحيحًا مشتركًا لكليهما. ولكن يمكن أن يكون هناك عدد لا نهائي من هؤلاء. ومن ثم ستكون الفترة الأساسية هي المضاعف المشترك الأصغر لفترات المكونات. في هذه المسألة يكون Lcm (π، 2π / 3) = 2π 

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية: فترة دالة مركبة

  1. احسب فترة (Sin2x + Sin5x) / (Sin3x + Sin4x)

من التافه ولكن المثير للاهتمام ملاحظة أن القاعدة التي اخترعناها في المسألة السابقة ، تنطبق بالفعل على أي تكوين للوظائف الدورية. لذلك ، في هذه الحالة أيضًا ، ستكون الفترة الفعالة هي المضاعف المشترك الأصغر لفترات المكونات. هذا هو المضاعف المشترك الأصغر (π، 2π / 5,2،3π / 2، π / 2) = XNUMXπ

  1. احسب دورة Sinx + sin πx

في البداية ، يبدو واضحًا أن الفترة يجب أن تكون المضاعف المشترك الأصغر (2π ، 2) ، لكننا ندرك بعد ذلك أن هذا الرقم غير موجود لأن 2π غير منطقي وكذلك مضاعفاته و 2 منطقيًا وكذلك مضاعفاته. لذلك ، لا يمكن أن يكون هناك عدد صحيح مشترك لهذين الرقمين. ومن ثم ، فإن هذه الوظيفة ليست دورية.

دالة الجزء الكسري {x} دورية.

و (س) = {س}

يُعرف هذا باسم دالة الجزء الكسري. يترك الجزء الأكبر من العدد الحقيقي ويترك الجزء الكسري فقط. لذلك ، تكون قيمته دائمًا بين 0 و 1 ولكنها لا تساوي أبدًا 1. يجب أن يوضح هذا الرسم البياني أن له فترة من 1.

خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية:  دالة الجزء الكسري {x}

                                                                           

الخلاصة

ناقشنا حتى الآن خصائص الرسوم البيانية الوظيفية. يجب أن نكون واضحين الآن بشأن الخصائص والأنواع المختلفة للرسوم البيانية. كان لدينا أيضًا فكرة عن تفسير رسومي للوظائف. ستغطي المقالة التالية الكثير من التفاصيل حول مفاهيم مثل النطاق والمجال والوظائف العكسية والوظائف المختلفة والرسوم البيانية الخاصة بهم والكثير من المشكلات التي تم حلها. للتعمق في الدراسة ، نشجعك على القراءة أدناه

حساب التفاضل والتكامل بواسطة مايكل سبيفاك.

الجبر مايكل أرتين.

لمزيد من مقالات الرياضيات ، من فضلك اضغط هنا.

آخر المقالات

A Complete Guide to Characteristics of Function Graphs

Characteristics of Function Graphs

Characteristics of Function Graphs, this article will discuss the concept of graphical presentation of functions in addition to the value of a variable present in a function. So that the readers can easily understand the methodology.

Which graph represents the functions f(X) = |x-2| – 1 ?

One look at the right hand side expression makes us wonder, what are those two bars around -2 ? Well those bars are the notation for a very special function in mathematics, known as the modulus function or the absolute value function. This function is so important in function theory that it is worth a few words on its origin.

Let us say we are to decide the time required to go from one city to another. In this case, won’t we only be interested in the distance between the two cities? Will the direction be of any importance? Similarly, in the study of calculus, we are often required to analyze the closeness of two numbers, which is the absolute value of their difference. We don’t care if the difference is positive or negative. German mathematician Karl Weierstrass was the one who realized the necessity of a function which would express the absolute value of a number. In the year 1841, Weierstrass defined the Modulus function and used the two bars as its symbol. 

f(x) = x    for all x>0

=-x for all x<0

= 0   for x=0

Abbreviated as f(x) = |x|

From the definition, it is clear that this function does not have any effect on a positive number. It however changes a negative number to a positive number having the same absolute value. Hence

|5| = 5

 7-2 = 5

|-5| = 5

|2-7| = 5

To draw the graph of |x|, we should start with the graph of f(x) = x which simply is a straight line through the origin, inclined at 45 degrees to the positive side of the X axis

Characteristics of Function Graphs:  Function theory: f(x) = x

It can be said that the upper half of this graph will be retained by f(x) = |x| as this function doesn’t change positive numbers. The lower half of the graph, however, has to change side, because |x| must always be positive. So, all the points on the lower half of f(x)=x will now be replaced on the upper half, keeping the same distance from the X axis. In other words, the entire LEFT HALF OF f(x) = |x| IS ACTUALLY THE REFLECTION OF THE LOWER HALF OF f(x) = x about the X axis.

Characteristics of Function Graphs
Characteristics of Function Graphs: Function theory: |x| and x graphs

In the above figure, the right half shows the graphs of |x| and x superimposed, while the left half shows one as the reflection of another. It is essential to note that this technique may be stretched to any function. In other words, it is easy to imagine the graph of |f(x)| if we already know the graph of f(x). Replacing the lower half with its reflection about the X axis is the key.

Now we know how to plot |x|. But our original problem demands the plot of |x-2|. Well, this is nothing but a shift of origin from (0,0) to (2,0) as it simply decreases the X reading of all points by 2 units, thus transforming f(x) into f(x-2).

Characteristics of Function Graphs:  Function Theory: |x| and |x-2|

Now the -1 is the only remaining thing to be taken care of. It means subtracting 1 from all points on |x-2|. In other words, it means pulling the graph vertically down by 1 unit. So, the new vertex would be (2,-1) instead of (2,0)

Characteristics of Function Graphs: Function Theory: |x-2| – 1

Which graph represents the functions f(X)= -|x-2| – 1 ?

Well, that should be quite easy after the analysis we just did. The only  difference here is a minus sign before |x-2|. The minus sign simply inverts the graph of |x-2| with respect to the X axis. So, we can restart the previous problem just after the point where we had graph of |x-2|. But, this time before considering the -1, we shall invert the graph.

Characteristics of Function Graphs: Graph of |x-2| and -|x-2|

After this, we shall drag it down by one unit to incorporate the -1. And it is done.

Characteristics of Function Graphs

The graph of a function must be linear if it has what characteristic?

What is a straight line? Normally it is defined as the minimum distance between two points on a plane surface. But it can also be defined from another angle. Since the X-Y plane is a collection of points, we can consider any line on this plane to be the locus or trace of a moving point, or a point whose X,Y co-ordinates are changing.

Moving along a straight line implies that the movement is happening without a change in direction. In other words, if a point starts moving from a given point and moves only in one given direction, then it is said to be following a straight line. So, if we are to express the linear graph as a function, then we must find an equation for the constant direction condition.

But how to express direction mathematically? Well, as we already have two axes of reference in the X-Y plane, a direction of a line may be expressed by the angle it makes with any of the two axes. So, let us assume that a straight line is inclined at an angle α. But that would mean a family of parallel lines and not just a single one. So, α cannot be the only parameter to a line.

Characteristics of Function Graphs: Family of lines with 45 degree slope

Note that the lines differ only in their Y intercept. The Y intercept is the distance from the origin of the point where the line meets the Y axis. Let us call this parameter, C. So, we have two parameters, α and C. Now, let us try to derive the equation of the line.

Characteristics of Function Graphs: Intercept form of straight lines

From the figure it should be clear from the right triangle, that for any point (x,y) on the line the governing condition has to  be                      

(y-c)/x = tanα.

⟹ y = xtanα + c

⟹y = mx + c  where m=tanα

Hence, any equation of the form y=ax+b must represent a straight line. In other words f(x) = ax + b is the desired form of a function in order to be linear.

The same can be derived also from the conventional definition of a straight line which states that a line is the shortest path between two points on a plane surface. So, let (x1,y1) and (x2,y2) be two points on a straight line.

Characteristics of Function Graphs: Two points form of straight lines

For any other point on the line, a condition can be derived by equating the slopes of the two line segments formed by the three points as the line must maintain it s slope at all segments. Hence the equation                                 

                                                                   (y-y1)/(x-x1)= (y2-y1)/(x2-x1)

                                                            ⟹y(x2-x1) + x(y1-y2) + (x1y2-y1x2) = 0

This equation is of the form Ax + By + C = 0 which may be written in the form, y=ax+b, which we know as the form of a linear function.

Which graph is used to show change in a provided variable when a second variable is changed?

To draw an ideal graph of a function, we would need either a definite algebraic expression or infinite number of data points. In real life, both are not available most of the times. The data we have is scattered. In other words, we may have a list of (x,y) points which may be plotted on the graph, but the points may not be very densely located. But we have to connect those points anyways, as there is no other way to look at the pattern or the trend of the variables. A graph thus obtained is known as a line graph.

It is so named because neighboring points are joined with straight lines. This graph is best suited for illustrating a connection between two variables where one is depending on the other and are both changing. Time-series graphs are examples of line-graph where the X axis represents time in units of hours/days/months/years and the Y axis represents the variable whose value changes over time.

Sales2010201120122013201420152016201720182019
Year4000470044504920534051205450568055605900
Characteristics of Function Graphs
Characteristics of Function Graphs: Example of a line graph

Periodic function

When the dependant variable repeats its value at a definite period or interval of the independent variable, the function is called periodic. The interval is called the period or fundamental period, sometimes as basic period or prime period also. The criteria for a function to be periodic is for some real constant T, f(x+T) = f(x). Which means f(x) is repeating its value after every T units of x. We may note the value of the function at any point, and we will find the same value at T units right and left to that point. That is the characteristic of a periodic function.

Characteristics of Function Graphs :    Sin(x) has a period of 2

The above figure depicts the periodic behavior of Sinx. We take two random values of x, as x1 and x2 and draw lines parallel to the x axis from sin(x1) and sin(x2). We note that both the lines meet the graph again at a distance of exactly 2π. Hence the period of Sinx is 2π. So we can write sin(x+2 π) = sinx for any x. The other trigonometric functions are also periodic. Cosine has the same period as Sin and so do Cosec and Sec. Tan has a period π and so does Cot.

Which term gives the number of cycles of a periodic function that happen in one horizontal unit?

One full period is called a cycle. So, there is exactly one cycle in T units of x. Hence there are 1/T cycles in one unit of x. The number 1/T is of particular significance in the study of periodic functions since it tells how frequently the function is repeating its values. Hence the term ‘frequency’ is assigned to the number 1/T. Frequency is denoted by  ‘f’, which is not to be confused with the ‘f’ of function The higher the frequency the more number of cycles are there per unit. Frequency and period are inversely proportional to each other, related as f = 1/T or T = 1/f. For Sin(X), the period is 2π, so frequency would be 1/2π.

Examples:

  1. Calculate the period and frequency of Sin(3x)

As Sin(x) has one cycle in 2π, Sin(3x) will have 3 cycles in 2π as x progresses 3 times faster in Sin(3x). So frequency would be 3 times that of Sin(x) , that is 3/2π. That makes the period 1/(3/2π) = 2π/3

  1. Calculate the period of Sin2x+sin3x

Note that any integer multiple of the fundamental period is also a period. In this problem, there are two components of the function. First has a period of π and the second one 2π/3. But these two are different, so neither can be the period of the composite function. But whatever is the period of the composition, it has to be a period of the components also. So, it has to be a common integer multiple to both of them. But there could be infinitely many of those. Hence the fundamental period would be the least common multiple of the periods of the components. In this problem that is Lcm(π,2π/3) = 2π 

Characteristics of Function Graphs: Period of a composite function

  1. Calculate the period of (Sin2x + Sin5x)/(Sin3x + Sin4x)

It is trivial but quite interesting to observe that the rule that we invented in the previous problem, does actually apply for any composition of periodic functions. So, in this case also the effective period would be the LCM of the periods of the components. That is LCM(π,2π/5,2π/3, π/2) = 2π

  1. Calculate the period of Sinx + sin πx

At first, it seems obvious that the period should be LCM(2π,2), but then we realize that such a number does not exist as 2π is irrational so are its multiples and 2 is rational and so are its multiples. So, there could be no common integer multiple to these two numbers. Hence, this function is not periodic.

The fractional part function {x} is periodic.

f(x)={x}

This is known as the fractional part function. It leaves the greatest integer portion of a real number and leaves out only the fractional part. So, its value is always between 0 and 1 but never equal to 1. That graph should make it clear that it has a period 1.

Characteristics of Function Graphs :  The fractional part function {x}

                                                                           

CONCLUSION

So far we discussed the Characteristics of Function Graphs. We should be now clear on the Characteristics and different types of graphs. We also had a idea of graphical interpretation of functions. Next article will be covering a lot more detail on concepts such as range and domain, inverse functions, various functions and their graphs,  and a lot of worked out problems. To go deeper into the study, you are encouraged to read below

Calculus by Michael Spivak.

Algebra by Michael Artin.

For more mathematics article, please click here.

About Sourav Bhattacharyya

I am Sourav Bhattacharyya , A Telecom Engineer by profession and mathematics aficionado by hobby. I have completed my Engineering from Jadavpur University.
I spend most of my time solving various kind of mathematical problems and I strongly believe that the same knowledge and experience I shall share through this wonderful platform Lambdageeks. I try to represent in a way that the students shall fall in love with mathematics.
It is an honour to me to be a part of such an organization where I can ignite them who wants to learn Mathematics.