هيكل وخصائص CaSO4 لويس: 15 حقائق كاملة


يسمى إلكترون التكافؤ لمركب ممثل في الشكل التخطيطي للخطوط والنقاط هياكل لويس. دعونا نناقش تفاصيل موجزة عن CaSO4 هيكل لويس.

قضية4 يتكون هيكل لويس من ثلاثة عناصر رئيسية ، ذرات الكالسيوم والكبريت والأكسجين. يحتوي جزيء على 1 Ca و 1 S و 4 O ذرات. هذا مركب أيوني لأنه يتكون من شقوق معدنية وغير معدنية. لها رابطة أيونية بين Ca2+ أيون معدني و SO42- أيون غير معدني.

قضية4 هي الصيغة الكيميائية ل كبريتات الكالسيوم. ترتبط ذرات S و O بروابط تساهمية في SO42- من CaSO4 هيكل لويس. دعونا نجري مزيدًا من المناقشة حول الشحنة الرسمية ، وقاعدة الثمانيات ، والزوج الوحيد ، وإلكترونات التكافؤ ، وخصائص CaSO4 هيكل لويس وبعض الحقائق الأخرى عنها.

كيفية رسم CaSO4 هيكل لويس؟

خطوات وقواعد رسم CaSO4 هيكل لويس موصوف في الخطوات أدناه.

إلكترونات التكافؤ وترابط CaSO4:

احسب جميع إلكترونات التكافؤ المتوفرة في CaSO4 هيكل لويس عن طريق جمع كل إلكترونات التكافؤ لكل ذرة Ca و S و O. اصنع الترابط داخل جميع الذرات الموجودة فيه. يحتوي أيون الكبريتات على روابط تساهمية داخل ذرات S و O. يتم إرفاق أيون الكالسيوم برابطة أيونية مع SO4 أيون.

إلكترونات الزوج الوحيد وقاعدة الثمانيات على CaSO4:

كما يتم الترابط بين جميع ذرات CaSO4، يتم وضع إلكترونات التكافؤ المتبقية أولاً على الذرات الخارجية المترابطة ثم على الذرات المركزية. يجب تطبيق قاعدة الثمانيات على كل ذرة من CaSO4 لمعرفة ما إذا كانت تحتوي على ثماني بتات كاملة أو غير كاملة.

الشحنة الرسمية وشكل CaSO4:

المسؤول الرسمي عن مكتب الإحصاء المركزي4 يجب حساب بنية لويس بمساعدة استخدام صيغة معينة. لاحقًا ، حدد شكلها وهندستها من خلال زوايا التهجين والرابطة.

هيكل CaSO4 لويس

قضية4 إلكترونات التكافؤ

تُعرف الإلكترونات الموجودة في المدار الخارجي للذرة باسم إلكترونات التكافؤ. دعونا نجري مناقشة موجزة حول CaSO4 إلكترونات تكافؤ هيكل لويس.

قضية4 يحتوي هيكل لويس على 32 إلكترونًا تكافؤًا. تقع ذرة Ca في المجموعة الثانية في الجدول الدوري ولديها إلكترونان تكافؤان. تنتمي ذرات S و O إلى المجموعة السادسة عشرة في الجدول الدوري ولديها 2 إلكترونات تكافؤ. لديها تبادل للإلكترونات مع Ca و SO4 لذلك قم بإضافة وتقليل الإلكترونات من كليهما.

يوجد أدناه التفسير الحسابي المعطى لـ CaSO4 إلكترونات تكافؤ هيكل لويس.

  • يحتوي معدن الكالسيوم على إلكترونات تكافؤ = 2 × 1 (Ca) = 2
  • 2+ شحنة على ذرة Ca لذلك ناقص 2 إلكترون عليها = 2 - 2 = 0
  • تحتوي ذرة الكبريت على إلكترونات تكافؤ = 6 × 1 (S) = 6
  • تحتوي ذرة الأكسجين على إلكترونات تكافؤ = 6 × 4 (O) = 24
  • -2 تهمة على SO4 أيون لذا أضف 2 إلكترونًا عليه = 2
  • إجمالي إلكترونات التكافؤ على CaSO4 بنية لويس هي = 0 (Ca) + 6 (S) + 24 (O) + 2 = 32
  • مجموع أزواج الإلكترون في CaSO4 يتم تحديده من خلال قسمة إلكترونات التكافؤ على 2 = 32/2 = 16
  • وهكذا ، فإن إلكترونات التكافؤ على CaSO4 هيكل لويس هو 32 ولديها 16 زوجًا من الإلكترونات.

قضية4 أزواج هيكل لويس الوحيد

تسمى الإلكترونات الإضافية غير المشتركة الموجودة على أي ذرة أو جزيء الزوج الوحيد من الإلكترونات. نحن هنا نناقش CaSO4 هيكل لويس وحيد إلكترونات الزوج.

قضية4 يحتوي هيكل لويس على إجمالي 12 إلكترونًا زوجيًا وحيدًا. كاليفورنيا2+ لا يحتوي على إلكترونات صفرية بسبب فقدان الإلكترونات ولا يمتلك أي إلكترونات زوجية وحيدة. SO42- يكتسب أيون إلكترونين من ذرة Ca وله 2 إلكترونًا. 32 إلكترونات هي أزواج روابط لأنها تشكل روابط داخل ذرات S و O.

يحتوي على 4 روابط S - O و 24 إلكترونًا متكافئًا متبقيًا يتم وضعه على 4 ذرات O مترابطة خارجيًا. كل ذرة O تحصل على 6 إلكترونات غير مشتركة. وبالتالي ، فإنه يحتوي على 3 إلكترونات زوجية واحدة في كل ذرة O من SO42-. ومن ثم ، CaSO4 يحتوي على 12 إلكترونًا زوجيًا وحيدًا موجودًا فقط على ذرات O من SO42-.

قضية4 حكم لويس هيكل الثماني

تعتبر الذرات التي تحتوي على 8 إلكترونات في مدارها الخارجي مستقرة بطبيعتها كما هو موضح في قاعدة الثمانيات. دعونا نطبق قاعدة الثمانيات على CaSO4 هيكل لويس.

قضية4 يحتوي هيكل لويس على ثماني بتات كاملة من جميع ذرات S و O في SO42- أيون. كاليفورنيا2+ الأيون له مدار أخير فارغ بسبب فقدان إلكترونيه التكافؤ. ذرة S المركزية لـ SO42- يحتوي الأيون على ثماني بتات كاملة لأنه محاط بـ 8 إلكترونات مرتبطة.

ذرات 4 O الخارجية من SO42- تحتوي الأيونات على ثماني بتات كاملة لأنها محاطة بإلكترونين مترابطين و 2 إلكترونات غير مشتركة. وبالتالي تحتوي جميع ذرات O 6 على إجمالي 4 إلكترونات محيطة ولديها ثماني بتات كاملة.

قضية4 رسوم هيكلية لويس الرسمية

تسمى الجزيئات أو الذرة التي تحتوي على شحنة موجبة أو سالبة شحنة رسمية. يوجد أدناه وصف مفصل لـ CaSO4 رسوم هيكلية لويس الرسمية.

يوفر اتهام رسمي من CaSO4 بنية لويس = (إلكترونات التكافؤ - إلكترونات غير مرتبطة - إلكترونات الرابطة)

و CaSO4 تم شرح حساب الرسوم الرسمي لهيكل لويس أدناه - الجدول المعطى.

ذرات CaSO4
هيكل لويس
تشغيل إلكترونات التكافؤ
ذرة Ca و S و O
الإلكترونات غير الرابطة
على ذرة Ca و S و O
ربط الإلكترونات
ذرة Ca و S و O
الرسمية تهمة على
ذرة Ca و S و O
ذرة الكالسيوم (Ca)020000(2-0-0 / 2) = + 2
ذرة الكبريت060008(6-0-8 / 2) = + 2
ذرة الأكسجين (O)060602(6-6 - 2/2) = - 1
CaSO4 شحنة رسمية لهيكل لويس ، Ca = + 2 ، S = + 2 ، O = - 1

قضية4 شكل هيكل لويس

يُعرف الترتيب الذري في أي جزيء حسب هندسته وروابطه بالشكل الجزيئي. ألقِ نظرة على الشرح التفصيلي لـ CaSO4 الشكل الجزيئي.

و CaSO4 هيكل لويس له شكل رباعي السطوح من SO الخاص به42- أيون. كاليفورنيا2+ الكاتيون هو نوع منفصل مرتبط بـ SO42- أنيون بواسطة رابطة أيونية. شكل رباعي السطوح CaSO4 هو فقط بسبب SO42- أيون. وفقًا لنظرية VSEPR ، فإنه يتبع الصيغة العامة AX4.

ذرة S المركزية لـ SO42- أيون متصل مع 4 ذرات O المستعبدة الموجودة في زوايا رباعي الوجوه العادية وتشكل هندسة رباعية السطوح.

قضية4 تهجين

التهجين هو التهجين المتداخل بين مدارتين ذريتين مختلفتين لنفس العنصر وتشكيل مدار هجين جديد بنفس الطاقة. دعونا نناقش CaSO4 تهجين.

و CaSO4 بنية لويس لديها تهجين 'sp3' لذرة S. تحتوي ذرة الكبريت على رقم ستريريكي 4. يتم تحديد العدد الستريكي لذرة S على أنه = عدد الروابط على ذرة S + أزواج وحيدة على ذرة S. وبالتالي ، فإن ذرة S لها رقم ستيري = 4 + 0 = 4.

وفقًا لنظرية VSEPR ، فإن الذرات ذات الرقم الفراغي 4 لها تهجين sp3 وهندسة رباعي السطوح. في CaSO4 بنية لويس ، لديها تداخل بين مدارات واحدة وثلاثة مدارات 'p' للذرة المركزية S. هذا يشكل مدارًا هجينًا جديدًا 'sp3' مع طاقة مكافئة كما كان من قبل المدارات.

قضية4 زاوية هيكل لويس

زاوية الرابطة هي الزاوية الموجودة بين الرابطين المباشرين في الجزيء. دعونا نجري مناقشة موجزة حول شرح CaSO4 زاوية السندات.

و CaSO4 هيكل لويس لديه زاوية رابطة مقدارها 109.5 درجة. هناك ذرة S مركزية من CaSO4 مركب مرتبط بأربع ذرات أكسجين بطريقة رباعية السطوح. وبالتالي وفقًا لوحدة VSEPR ، فإنه يحتوي على صيغة عامة AX4. وبالتالي ، فإن زاوية رابطة O - S - O تساوي 109.5 درجة من CaSO4.

هل CaSO4 صلب؟

يسمى الترتيب الذري للجزيء في هندسة محددة مع تعبئة مغلقة للذرات بالمركبات الصلبة. أدناه نناقش ما إذا كان CaSO4 صلبة أم لا.

قضية4 مركب صلب. إنه عديم اللون أو أبيض اللون مركب بلوري صلب. له أشكال مختلفة مثل الأنهيدريت CaSO4، ثنائي هيدرات CaSO4، أو الجبس بتركيبات وألوان بلورية مختلفة مثل الأحمر والأسود والأزرق وما إلى ذلك2+ و حينئذ42- معبأة بإحكام في هيكلها البلوري.

لماذا CaSO4 صلبة؟

قضية4 هو مركب صلب وبلوري لأنه يمكن أن يشكل بنية بلورية لتقويم العظام. كلاهما Ca2+ و حينئذ42- يتم ترتيب الأيونات في تغليف مغلق من طبقات بديلة في قفص لتقويم العظام. كل كاليفورنيا2+ الكاتيون لديه 8 تنسيقات ومحاطة بـ 8 رباعي السطوح SO42- الأنيونات.

كل ذرة O من رباعي السطوح SO42- أيون محاط بـ 3 Ca2+ الايونات الموجبة. وبالتالي ، فإن كل ذرة O لديها 3 تنسيقات. ومن ثم فإن كل كاليفورنيا2+ الموجبة و SO42- أنيون يشكل طبقات في خلية وحدة تقويم العظام. لذلك ، هذا يؤكد تركيبته البلورية الصلبة.

هل CaSO4 يذوب في الماء؟

تظهر قدرة المذاب على الانفصال في الماء وتشكيل روابط هيدروجينية في الماء قابليته للذوبان فيه. ألق نظرة على موجز CaSO4 الذوبان في الماء.

قضية4 قابل للذوبان في الماء ولكنه قابل للذوبان في الماء بشكل طفيف أو ضئيل. CaSO4 عند إضافته إلى الماء يتفاعل مع الماء ويتأين فيه كالكالسيوم2+ و حينئذ42- الأيونات. CaSO4 لا يتأين تماما في ال الماء وبالتالي فهو قابل للذوبان في الماء بشكل ضئيل. لذلك ، فإنه يشكل معقدًا بالماء CaSO42O)2.

قضية4 + 2 COXNUMX2O → CaSO42O)2

لماذا CaSO4 قليل الذوبان في الماء؟

قضية4 قابل للذوبان في الماء بشكل ضئيل لأن طاقة الماء من CaSO4 أقل من طاقتها الشبكية. كاليفورنيا2+ ترتبط الكاتيونات بإحكام مع SO42- الأنيونات. وهكذا يذوب في الماء أ كمية أقل بكثير. حوالي 2 جرام CaSO4 يمكن أن يذوب في الماء وبعد هذا الحد يتشبع بالماء.

هل CaSO4 قطبي أم غير قطبي؟

يظهر تطور ثنائيات الأقطاب والشحنات الجزئية على ذرات الجزيء قطبية ذلك الجزيء. دعونا نناقش ما إذا كان CaSO4 قطبي أو غير قطبي.

و CaSO4 المركب من الأنواع القطبية. وهو جزيء أيوني ويحتوي على أنيون متعدد الذرات غير قطبي SO42-. هذه SO42- من CaSO4 هو في الأساس جزء غير قطبي. SO غير القطبية42- مرفق مع Ca2+ الكاتيون الذي يجعل CaSO4 قطبية في الطبيعة.

لماذا CaSO4 هل القطبية؟

و CaSO4 هو مركب قطبي بسبب وجود SO غير القطبية42- الأيونات. SO السلبية42- أنيون مرتبط بإيجابية Ca2+ الكاتيون. لها توزيع غير متكافئ للإلكترونات على كلا الأيونات. لذلك ، تتطور ثنائيات الأقطاب على كل من الأيونات بسبب الشحنة الجزئية الموجبة والسالبة عليها.

هل CaSO4 مركب جزيئي؟

تحتوي المركبات الجزيئية على روابط تساهمية داخل ذراتها وتظهر وجود جزيئات مختلفة في بنيتها. دعونا نرى ما إذا كان CaSO4 جزيئي أم لا.

قضية4 ليس مركبًا جزيئيًا. إنه مركب أيوني. لديها فقط رابطة أيونية داخل Ca2+ و حينئذ42- الأيونات وليس الرابطة التساهمية. الروابط التساهمية موجودة فقط على SO42-. جميع ذرات S و O المرتبطة بالروابط التساهمية لا تزال غير قادرة على إظهار الطبيعة الجزيئية. لديه شحنة عليه ويظهر الطابع الأيوني.

هل CaSO4 حمض أم قاعدة؟

الأنواع المانحة للأيون H + هي الأحماض والأنواع التي تقبل H + أيون هي القاعدة. ألق نظرة سريعة على مناقشة ما إذا كان CaSO4 هو حمض أو قاعدة.

قضية4 هو مركب غير حمضي وغير أساسي. إنه جزيء محايد. المركب المحايد هو تلك التي تنتج من تفاعل الحمض القاعدي. CaSO4 يتكون المركب نتيجة تفاعل حمض قوي وقاعدة قوية. وهكذا فإنه يؤكد أنه مركب محايد.

لماذا CaSO4 محايد؟

قضية4 محايد لأنه يحتوي على Ca2+ و حينئذ42- الأيونات التي لها شحنة +2 و -2. كل من هذه الرسوم تلغي بعضها البعض وهي مركبات محايدة. CaSO4 يتشكل نتيجة التفاعل بين حامض الكبريتيك (H2SO4) وهيدروكسيد الكالسيوم (Ca (OH)2). رد الفعل يرد أدناه.

H2SO4 (عبد القدير) + Ca (أوه)2 (ق) → CaSO4 (ق) + 2 ح2يا (ل)

هل CaSO4 بالكهرباء؟

تسمى المركبات التي تنفصل عند الإضافة إلى الماء ولديها القدرة على توصيل الكهرباء بالكهرباء. دعونا نناقش على CaSO4 طبيعة التحليل الكهربائي.

قضية4 هو المنحل بالكهرباء. وهو منحل بالكهرباء ضعيف بسبب انخفاض تأينه في الماء. لديها طاقة شعرية عالية وطاقة ترطيب منخفضة. وبالتالي لا يمكن أن يتأين تمامًا في الماء بسبب التعبئة الضيقة للجزيء. أيضًا ، يمكنه توصيل الكهرباء والتصرف كإلكتروليت.

لماذا CaSO4 هو المنحل بالكهرباء؟

قضية4 هو إلكتروليت لأنه مركب أيوني ويتكون بسبب مزيج من المعادن والذرات غير المعدنية. على إضافة CaSO4 يمكن أن ينفصل عن الماء في كاليفورنيا2+ و حينئذ42- الأيونات. يمكن لهذه الأيونات أن تتحرك بحرية في الماء وتوصيل الكهرباء في تطبيقات المجال الكهربائي الخارجية.

قضية4 + H2O → Ca2++ SO42-

هل CaSO4 ملح؟

تنتج المركبات الحمضية والقاعدية عند التفاعل مع بعضها البعض أملاحًا تكون مركبات متعادلة. هنا ، نناقش ما إذا كان CaSO4 ملح أم لا.

قضية4 ملح. إنه نتاج تفاعل معادلة لحمض قوي وقاعدة قوية تنتج الأملاح. عندما H2SO4 يتفاعل مع Ca (OH)2 يخضع لتفاعل معادلة وينتج CaSO بلوري4 مركب صلب وهو أبيض اللون أو عديم اللون. وبالتالي ، فهو يعمل كملح.

هل CaSO4 الأيونية أو التساهمية؟

تشكلت المركبات الأيونية بسبب قوة الجاذبية الكهروستاتيكية ، في حين أن المركبات التساهمية بسبب الروابط التساهمية القوية سيجما. دعونا نناقش على CaSO4 أيوني أو تساهمية.

قضية4 هو مركب أيوني. يتكون عن طريق الجمع بين العناصر المعدنية وغير المعدنية. يحتوي أيضًا على اثنين من الأيونات المشحونة بشكل معاكس يعني الكاتيون والأنيون. هناك تبادل للإلكترونات بين Ca و SO4 الجزيئات التي تولد بسببها الشحنة الموجبة والسالبة تجعلها أيونية بطبيعتها.

لماذا CaSO4 هو أيوني؟

قضية4 هو جزيء أيوني لأن الكالسيوم2+ الموجبة و SO42- الأنيون متماسك بقوة بسبب القوة الكهروستاتيكية القوية للجذب وتكوين رابطة أيونية قوية بينهما. كما أنه يتأين في الكالسيوم2+ و حينئذ42الأيونات عند إضافتها إلى الماء مما يؤكد طابعها الأيوني.

الخلاصة:

قضية4 يحتوي هيكل لويس على 32 إلكترونًا تكافؤًا و 12 زوجًا وحيدًا. يحتوي على ثماني بتات كاملة من ذرات S و O من SO42- أيون. لديها شحنة رسمية +2 على Ca و +2 على S و -1 على جميع ذرات O 4. لها شكل رباعي السطوح وهيكل بلوري معيني. لديها تهجين sp3 و 109.50 زاوية السندات. إنه ملح أيوني قطبي ، إلكتروليت ، وقابل للذوبان في الماء.

د. شروتي رامتكي

مرحباً بالجميع ، أنا دكتور شروتي إم رامتيك ، لقد حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه في الكيمياء. لديّ خمس سنوات من الخبرة في التدريس لـ 11-12 معيارًا و B و Sc و MSc في مادة الكيمياء. لقد نشرت ما مجموعه خمس مقالات بحثية خلال الدكتوراه في عملي البحثي ولدي زمالة من UGC للحصول على درجة الدكتوراه. ماجستير في الكيمياء غير العضوية وتخرجي في مواد الكيمياء وعلم الحيوان وعلوم البيئة. شكرا

آخر المقالات

الارتباط بهيكل لويس حمض النيتروز: الرسم والشروحات التفصيلية

بنية حمض النيتروز لويس: الرسم والشروحات التفصيلية

في هذه المقالة سوف نتعرف على هيكل لويس حامض الخليك. يتم رسم تضيق لويس من أجل HNO2 (حمض النيتروز) خطوة بخطوة باستخدام إجمالي إلكترونات التكافؤ لكل عنصر. هناك...

CaSO4 Lewis Structure & Characteristics: 15 Complete Facts


Valence electron of a compound represented in the schematic form of lines and dots are called lewis structures. Let us discuss brief details on the CaSO4 lewis structure.

CaSO4 lewis structure consists of main three elements, calcium, sulfur, and oxygen atoms. It has 1 Ca, 1 S, and 4 O atoms in its molecule. This is an ionic compound as it is composed of metal and non – metal moieties. It has an ionic bond between Ca2+ metallic ion and the SO42- non – metallic ion.

CaSO4 is the chemical formula of calcium sulfate. The S and O atoms are joined with covalent bonds in SO42- of CaSO4 lewis structure. Let us have some more discussion on a formal charge, the octet rule, lone pair, valence electrons, and characteristics of CaSO4 lewis structure and some more facts about it.

How to draw CaSO4 lewis structure?

The steps and rules to draw the CaSO4 lewis structure are described in the below steps.

Valence electrons and bonding of CaSO4:

Calculate all the valence electrons available on the CaSO4 lewis structure by summation of all valence electrons of each Ca, S, and O atom. Make bonding within all the atoms present in it. Sulfate ion has covalent bonds within S and O atoms. The Ca ion is attached with an ionic bond with the SO4 ion.

Lone pair electrons and octet rule on CaSO4:

As the bonding is done between all atoms of CaSO4, the remaining valence electrons get put first on outer bonded atoms and then on central atoms. The octet rule should apply to each atom of CaSO4 to find whether they have complete or incomplete octets.

The formal charge and shape of CaSO4:

The formal charge of the CaSO4 lewis structure should be calculated with the help of using the given formula. Later, identify its shape and geometry with hybridization and bond angles.

CaSO4 lewis structure

CaSO4 valence electrons

The electrons present on the outermost orbital of an atom are known as valence electrons. Let us have a brief discussion on CaSO4 lewis structure valence electrons.

CaSO4 lewis structure has 32 valence electrons. The Ca atom is in the 2nd group in periodic table and has 2 valence electrons. The S and O atoms belongs to 16th group in periodic table and have 6 valence electrons. It has exchange of electrons with Ca and SO4 so add and reduce electrons from both.

Below is the given calculative explanation for CaSO4 lewis structure valence electrons.

  • Calcium metal has valence electrons is = 2 x 1 (Ca) = 2
  • 2+ charge on Ca atom so minus 2 electrons on it = 2 – 2 = 0
  • Sulphur atom has valence electrons is = 6 x 1 (S) = 6
  • Oxygen atom has valence electrons is = 6 x 4 (O) = 24
  • -2 charge on SO4 ion so add 2 electrons on it = 2
  • Total valence electrons on CaSO4 lewis structure is = 0 (Ca) + 6 (S) + 24 (O) + 2 = 32
  • Total electron pairs on CaSO4 is identified by dividing its valence electrons by 2 = 32 / 2 = 16
  • Thus, the valence electrons on the CaSO4 lewis structure are 32 and have 16 electron pairs.

CaSO4 lewis structure lone pairs

Extra unshared electrons present on any atom or molecule are called the lone pair of electrons. Here we are discussing the CaSO4 lewis structure lone pair electrons.

CaSO4 lewis structure has total of 12 lone pair electrons. Ca2+ has zero electrons due to the loss of electrons and does not possess any lone pair electrons. The SO42- ion gains 2 electrons from the Ca atom and has 32 electrons. 8 electrons are being bond pairs as they form bonds within S and O atoms.

It has 4 S – O bonds and 24 remaining valence electrons get placed on outer bonded 4 O atoms. Each O atom gets 6 unshared electrons. Thus, it has 3 lone pair electrons on each O atom of SO42-. Hence, CaSO4 has 12 lone pair electrons only present on O atoms of SO42-.

CaSO4 lewis structure octet rule

The atoms having 8 electrons in their outer orbit is considered stable in nature as described in the octet rule. Let us apply the octet rule to the CaSO4 lewis structure.

CaSO4 lewis structure has complete octets of all S and O atoms in SO42- ion. Ca2+ ion has an empty last orbital due loss of its 2 valence electrons. The central S atom of SO42- ion has a complete octet as it is surrounded by 8 bonding electrons.

The outer 4 O atoms of SO42- ion has complete octets as they are surrounded by 2 bonding electrons and 6 unshared electrons. Thus all 4 O atoms contain total of 8 surrounding electrons and have a complete octet.

CaSO4 lewis structure formal charge

The molecules or atom that contains a positive or negative charge it is called a formal charge. Below is the detailed description of the CaSO4 lewis structure formal charge.

The formal charge of CaSO4 Lewis structure is = (valence electrons – non-bonding electrons – ½ bonding electrons)

The CaSO4 lewis structure formal charge calculation is explained below – given table.

Atoms of CaSO4
lewis structure
Valence electrons on
Ca, S, and O atom
Non – bonding electrons
on Ca, S, and O atom
Bonding electrons on
Ca, S, and O atom
The formal charge on
Ca, S, and O atom
Calcium (Ca) atom020000( 2 – 0 – 0 / 2 ) = + 2
Sulfur (S) atom060008( 6 – 0 – 8 / 2 ) = + 2
Oxygen (O) atom060602( 6 – 6 – 2 / 2 ) = – 1
CaSO4 lewis structure formal charge, Ca = + 2, S = + 2, O = – 1

CaSO4 lewis structure shape

The atomic arrangement in any molecule as per its geometry and bonds is known as its molecular shape. Take look at the detailed explanation of the CaSO4 molecular shape.

The CaSO4 lewis structure has the tetrahedral shape of its SO42- ion. Ca2+ cation is a separate species that is attached to SO42- anion by an ionic bond. The tetrahedral shape of CaSO4 is only due to the SO42- ion. In accordance with VSEPR theory, it follows the AX4 generic formula.

The central S atom of SO42- ion is attached with bonded 4 O atoms which are at the corners of a regular tetrahedron and forms a tetrahedral geometry.

CaSO4 hybridization

The overlapping of 2 different atomic orbitals of the same element and forming a new hybrid orbital with the same energy is hybridization. Let us discuss CaSO4 hybridization.

The CaSO4 lewis structure has ‘sp3’ hybridization of the central S atom. The sulfur atom contains steric number 4. The steric number of S atom is determined as = number of bonds on S atom + lone pairs on S atom. Thus, S atom has steric number = 4 + 0 = 4.

According to VSEPR theory atoms with 4 steric number has sp3 hybridization and tetrahedral geometry. In the CaSO4 lewis structure, it has the overlapping of one ‘s’ and three ‘p’ orbitals of the central S atom. This forms a new hybrid ‘sp3’ hybrid orbital with equivalent energy as before orbitals.

CaSO4 lewis structure angle

The bond angle is the angle present between the two immediate bonds in a molecule. Let us have a brief discussion on the explanation of the CaSO4 bond angle.

The CaSO4 lewis structure has a bond angle of 109.5 degrees. There is a central S atom of the CaSO4 compound linked with four oxygen atoms in a tetrahedral manner. Thus as per the VSEPR module, it has an AX4 generic formula. Thus it has a 109.5 degrees O – S – O bond angle of CaSO4.

Is CaSO4 solid?

The atomic arrangement of a molecule in a definite geometry with closed packing of atoms is called solid compounds. Below we are discussing whether CaSO4 is solid or not.

CaSO4 is a solid compound. It is a colorless or white in color crystalline solid compound. It has various forms like anhydrite CaSO4, dihydrate CaSO4, or gypsum with various crystalline structures and colors like red, black, blue, etc. The Ca2+ and SO42- are tightly packed in their crystal structure.

Why CaSO4 is solid?

CaSO4 is a solid and crystalline compound because it can form an orthorhombic crystal structure. Both Ca2+ and SO42- ions are arranged in a closed packing of alternate layers in an orthorhombic cage. Each Ca2+ cation has 8 co-ordinations and is surrounded by 8 tetrahedral SO42- anions.

Each O atom of tetrahedral SO42- ion is surrounded by 3 Ca2+ cations. Thus, each O atom has 3 co-ordinations. Hence each Ca2+ cation and SO42- anion forms layers in an orthorhombic unit cell. So, this confirms its crystalline solid structure.

Is CaSO4 soluble in water?

The ability of a solute to dissociate in water and form hydrogen bonds in water shows its solubility in it. Take a look at the brief of CaSO4 solubility in water.

CaSO4 is soluble in water but it is slightly or sparingly soluble in water. CaSO4 on added to water reacts with water and get ionizes in it as Ca2+ and SO42- ions. CaSO4 does not completely ionize in the water and thus it is sparingly soluble in water. So, it forms a complex with water CaSO4.(H2O)2.

CaSO4 + 2 H2O → CaSO4.(H2O)2

Why CaSO4 is sparingly soluble in water?

CaSO4 is sparingly soluble in water because the hydration energy of CaSO4 is less than its lattice energy. The Ca2+ cations are tightly held with the SO42- anions. Thus it is dissolved in water a very less amount.  About 2 gm CaSO4 can soluble in water and after this limit, it gets saturated in water.

Is CaSO4 polar or nonpolar?

The development of dipoles and partial charges on the atoms of a molecule shows the polarity of that molecule. Let us discuss whether CaSO4 is polar or non-polar.

The CaSO4 compound is a polar species. It is an ionic molecule and contains a polyatomic non-polar anion SO42-. These SO42- of CaSO4 is basically a non – polar moiety. The non-polar SO42- is attached with Ca2+ cation making the CaSO4 polar in nature.

Why CaSO4 is polar?

The CaSO4 is a polar compound because of the presence of non-polar SO42- ions. The negative SO42- anion is attached with positive Ca2+ cation. It has an unequal distribution of electrons on both ions. So, dipoles get develops on both the ions due to the partial positive and negative charge on it.

Is CaSO4 a molecular compound?

Molecular compounds contain covalent bonding within their atoms and show the presence of various molecules in their structure. Let us see whether CaSO4 is molecular or not.

CaSO4 is not a molecular compound. It is an ionic compound. It has only an ionic bond within Ca2+ and SO42- ions and not a covalent bond. Covalent bonds are only on SO42-. All S and O atoms joined with covalent bonds still can’t show molecular nature. It has a charge on it and shows an ionic character.

Is CaSO4 acid or base?

The species which are H+ ion donors are acids and the species which are H+ ion acceptors are base. Take a brief look at the discussion of whether CaSO4 is acid or base.

CaSO4 is a non-acidic and non-basic compound. It is a neutral molecule.  The neutral compound is those which are the product of the acid-base reaction. CaSO4 compound is formed due to the reaction of a strong acid and strong base. Thus it confirms that it is a neutral compound.

Why CaSO4 is neutral?

CaSO4 is neutral because it has Ca2+ and SO42- ions which have +2 and -2 charges. Both these charges cancel out each other and are neutral compounds. CaSO4 is formed due to the reaction between sulphuric acid (H2SO4) and calcium hydroxide (Ca(OH)2). The reaction is given below.

H2SO4 (aq) + Ca(OH)2 (s) → CaSO4 (s) + 2 H2O (l)

Is CaSO4 electrolyte?

The compounds which get dissociate on adding to water and have the capacity to conduct electricity are called electrolytes. Let us discuss on CaSO4 electrolytic nature.

CaSO4 is an electrolyte. It is a weak electrolyte due to its low ionization in water. It has high lattice energy and low hydration energy. Thus it cannot completely ionize into the water due to the tight packing of the molecule. Also, it can conduct electricity and behave as an electrolyte.

Why CaSO4 is an electrolyte?

CaSO4 is an electrolyte because it is an ionic compound and formed due to a combination of metal and non-metal atoms. On adding CaSO4 to water it can dissociate into Ca2+ and SO42- ions. These ions can move freely into the water and conduct electricity on external electric field applications.

CaSO4 + H2O → Ca2++ SO42-

Is CaSO4 salt?

Acid and base compounds on reaction with each other produce salts which are neutral compounds. Here, we are discussing whether CaSO4 is a salt or not.

CaSO4 is a salt. It is the product of the neutralization reaction of a strong acid and a strong base which produce salts. When H2SO4 is reacted with Ca(OH)2 undergoes a neutralization reaction and produce a crystalline CaSO4 solid compound which is white in color or colorless. Thus, it acts as a salt.

Is CaSO4 ionic or covalent?

The ionic compounds formed due to electrostatic force of attraction, while covalent compounds due to strong sigma covalent bonds. Let us discuss on CaSO4 is ionic or covalent.

CaSO4 is an ionic compound. It is formed by combining metal and non – metal elements. It also contains two oppositely charged ions means cation and anion. There is an exchange of electrons between Ca and SO4 molecules due to which the positive and negative charge generated makes it ionic in nature.

Why CaSO4 is ionic?

CaSO4 is an ionic molecule because the Ca2+ cation and SO42- anion are strongly held together due to the strong electrostatic force of attraction and making a strong ionic bond between them. It also gets ionized into Ca2+ and SO42ions on adding to water which confirms its ionic character.

Conclusion:

CaSO4 lewis structure has 32 valence electrons and 12 lone pairs. It has complete octets of both S and O atoms of SO42 ion. It has a formal charge of +2 on Ca, +2 on S, and -1 on all 4 O atoms. It has a tetrahedral shape and an orthorhombic crystal structure. It has sp3 hybridization and 109.50 bond angle. It is polar ionic salt, electrolyte, and water-soluble.

Dr. Shruti Ramteke

Hello everyone I am Dr. Shruti M Ramteke, i did my Ph.D in chemistry. I have five years of teaching experience for 11-12 standard, B,Sc and MSc in chemistry subject. I have published total five research articles during Ph.D on my research work and i have fellowship from UGC for my Ph.D. My Masters with specilization Inorganic chemistry and my graduation with chemistry, zoology and environmental science subjects. thank You

Recent Posts