21 أسئلة وأجوبة حول مخطط لحظة الانحناء


تعريف

مخطط قوة القص هو التمثيل الرسومي لتغير قوة القص على المقطع العرضي بطول الحزمة. بمساعدة مخطط قوة القص ، يمكننا تحديد الأقسام الحرجة الخاضعة للقص وتعديلات التصميم التي يتعين إجراؤها لتجنب الفشل.

وبالمثل،

مخطط لحظة الانحناء هو التمثيل الرسومي لتغير لحظة الانحناء على المقطع العرضي بطول الحزمة. بمساعدة مخطط لحظة الانحناء ، يمكننا تحديد الأقسام الحرجة المعرضة للانحناء وتعديلات التصميم التي يتعين إجراؤها لتجنب الفشل. أثناء إنشاء مخطط قوة القص [SFD] ، هناك ارتفاع مفاجئ أو انخفاض مفاجئ بسبب حمل النقطة الذي يعمل على العارضة أثناء إنشاء مخطط عزم الانحناء [BMD] ؛ هناك ارتفاع مفاجئ أو انخفاض مفاجئ بسبب عمل الأزواج على الشعاع.

س 1) ما هي صيغة لحظة الانحناء؟

يُطلق على المجموع الجبري للحظات على مقطع عرضي معين من الحزمة بسبب لحظات الساعة أو عكس اتجاه عقارب الساعة ، لحظة الانحناء في تلك النقطة.

 لنفترض أن W متجه قوة يعمل عند النقطة أ في الجسم. يتم تعريف لحظة هذه القوة حول نقطة مرجعية (O) على أنها

م = ث إكس بي

حيث M = متجه اللحظة ، p = متجه الموقع من النقطة المرجعية (O) إلى نقطة تطبيق القوة A.  يشير الرمز إلى المنتج المتجهي المتقاطع. من السهل حساب لحظة القوة حول المحور الذي يمر عبر النقطة المرجعية O. إذا كان متجه الوحدة على طول المحور هو "i" ، فإن لحظة القوة حول المحور تعرف بأنها

م = أنا. (W xp)

حيث تمثل [.] حاصل الضرب النقطي للمتجه.

س 2) ما هي لحظة الانحناء وقوة القص؟

الجواب:

قوة القص هو مجموع القوى الجبري بالتوازي مع المقطع العرضي على مقطع عرضي معين من الحزمة بسبب قوى الفعل ورد الفعل. تحاول Shear Force قص المقطع العرضي للحزمة بشكل عمودي على محور الحزمة ، ونتيجة لذلك ، يكون توزيع إجهاد القص المتطور مكافئًا من المحور المحايد للحزمة.

A لحظة الانحناء عبارة عن مجموع اللحظات على مقطع عرضي معين من الشعاع بسبب لحظات اتجاه عقارب الساعة وعكس اتجاه عقارب الساعة. تحاول لحظة الانحناء ثني الحزمة في مستوى العضو ، وبسبب انتقال لحظة الانحناء عبر مقطع عرضي للحزمة ، يكون توزيع إجهاد الانحناء المطور خطيًا من المحور المحايد للحزمة.

س 3) ما هو مخطط قوة القص SFD ومخطط لحظة الانحناء BMD؟

الإجابة: مخطط قوة القص [SFD] يمكن وصف مخطط قوة القص على أنه التمثيل التصويري لتغير قوة القص المتولدة في الحزمة ، على المقطع العرضي وعلى طول الحزمة. بمساعدة مخطط قوة القص ، يمكننا تحديد الأقسام الحرجة الخاضعة للقص وتعديلات التصميم التي يتعين إجراؤها لتجنب الفشل.

وبالمثل، مخطط لحظة الانحناء [BMD] هو التمثيل الرسومي لتغير لحظة الانحناء على المقطع العرضي على طول طول الحزمة. بمساعدة مخطط لحظة الانحناء ، يمكننا تحديد الأقسام الحرجة المعرضة للانحناء وتعديلات التصميم التي يتعين إجراؤها لتجنب الفشل. أثناء إنشاء مخطط قوة القص [SFD] هناك ارتفاع مفاجئ أو انخفاض مفاجئ بسبب الحمل النقطي الذي يعمل على العارضة أثناء إنشاء مخطط عزم الانحناء [BMD] ؛ هناك ارتفاع مفاجئ أو انخفاض مفاجئ بسبب عمل الأزواج على الشعاع.

س 4) ما هي وحدة لحظة الانحناء؟

الجواب: الانحناء لحظة لها وحدة مماثلة للزوجين مثل نانومتر.

س 5) لماذا اللحظة عند المفصلة صفر؟

الجواب: في دعم المفصلة ، يتم تقييد الحركة في الاتجاه الرأسي والأفقي. لا يقدم أي مقاومة للحركة الدورانية حول الدعم. وبالتالي ، يوفر الدعم اتجاهًا نحو الحركة الأفقية والعمودية ولا يوجد رد فعل تجاه اللحظة. وبالتالي ، فإن اللحظة هي صفر عند المفصلة.

س 6) ما هو انحناء الشعاع؟

الجواب:  إذا حاولت اللحظة المطبقة على الحزمة ثني الحزمة في مستوى العضو ، فيُطلق عليها لحظة الانحناء ، وتسمى هذه الظاهرة بانحناء الحزمة.

س 7) ما هي حالة الانحراف ولحظة الانحناء في شعاع مدعوم ببساطة؟

الإجابة: شروط الانحراف ولحظة الانحناء في حزمة مدعومة ببساطة هي:

  • يجب أن تكون أقصى لحظة الانحناء التي ينتج عنها إجهاد الانحناء مساوية أو أقل من قدرة تحمل القوة المسموح بها لمواد الحزمة.
  • يجب أن يكون الحد الأقصى للانحراف المستحث أقل من المستوى المقبول بناءً على المتانة للطول المحدد والفترة والمادة الخاصة بالحزمة.

س 8) ما الفرق بين عزم الانحناء وضغوط الانحناء؟

الإجابة: لحظة الانحناء هو المجموع الجبري للحظات على مقطع عرضي معين من الحزمة بسبب لحظات اتجاه عقارب الساعة وعكس اتجاه عقارب الساعة. تحاول لحظة الانحناء ثني الحزمة في مستوى العضو ، وبسبب انتقال لحظة الانحناء عبر مقطع عرضي للحزمة ، يكون توزيع إجهاد الانحناء المطور خطيًا من المحور المحايد للحزمة. تقويس يمكن تعريف الإجهاد على أنه مقاومة ناتجة عن لحظة الانحناء أو عن طريق اثنين من الأزواج المتساوية والمتقابلة في مستوى العضو.

س 9) كيف ترتبط شدة قوة قص الحمل ولحظات الانحناء رياضيًا؟

الجواب: العلاقات: دع f = كثافة الحمل

    س = قوة القص

    م = لحظة الانحناء

معدل تغير قوة القص سيعطي شدة الحمل الموزع.

معدل التغيير في لحظة الانحناء سيعطي قوة القص عند هذه النقطة فقط.

س 10) ما هي العلاقة بين قوة قص التحميل ولحظات الانحناء؟

الجواب: معدل التغيير في لحظة الانحناء سيعطي قوة القص عند تلك النقطة المعينة فقط.

س 11) ما الفرق بين العزم البلاستيكي ولحظة الانحناء؟

الجواب: يتم تعريف اللحظة البلاستيكية على أنها القيمة القصوى للحظة عندما يصل المقطع العرضي الكامل إلى حد العائد أو قيمة الإجهاد المسموح بها. من الناحية النظرية ، هذه هي أقصى لحظة الانحناء التي يمكن أن يتحملها القسم بأكمله قبل أن يؤدي أي حمل يتجاوز هذه النقطة إلى حدوث تشوه كبير في البلاستيك. بينما لحظة الانحناء هي المجموع الجبري للحظات على مقطع عرضي معين من الحزمة بسبب لحظات اتجاه عقارب الساعة وعكس اتجاه عقارب الساعة. تحاول لحظة الانحناء ثني الحزمة في مستوى العضو ، وبسبب انتقال لحظة الانحناء عبر مقطع عرضي للحزمة ، يكون توزيع إجهاد الانحناء المطور خطيًا من المحور المحايد للحزمة.

س 12) ما الفرق بين لحظة القوة ، والزوجين ، وعزم الدوران ، ولحظة الالتواء ، ولحظة الانحناء؟ إذا كان أي منهما متماثل ، فما فائدة تخصيص أسماء مختلفة؟

الجواب: تعتبر اللحظة ، والعزم ، والزوجان مفاهيم متشابهة تستند إلى مبدأ أساسي لمنتج القوة (أو القوى) والمسافة. يمكن صياغة لحظة القوة على أنها ناتج القوة وطول الخط الذي يعبر نقطة الدعم ويكون عموديًا على القوة المؤثرة. تحاول لحظة الانحناء ثني الحزمة في مستوى العضو وبسبب انتقال لحظة الانحناء عبر المقطع العرضي للحزمة.

الزوجان هو لحظة تتولد من قوتين لهما نفس المقدار ، تعملان في الاتجاه المعاكس على مسافة متساوية من نقطة التفاعل. لذلك ، فإن الزوجين يكافئان بشكل ثابت الانحناء البسيط. عزم الدوران هو لحظة يميل فيها العامل الوظيفي إلى لف جسم حول محور دورانه. مثال نموذجي لعزم الدوران هو لحظة الالتواء المطبقة على عمود الدوران.

س 13) لماذا تكون لحظات الانحناء القصوى أصغر عندما تكون القيمة العددية هي نفسها في الاتجاهين الموجب والسالب؟

الجواب: تعتمد أقصى لحظة الانحناء وأقل لحظة الانحناء على حالة واتجاه تطبيق الضغط بدلاً من حجم الضغط. تشير العلامة الإيجابية إلى إجهاد الشد ، وتشير العلامة السلبية إلى الضغط. يتم أخذ الحجم الأقصى لعزم الانحناء للتصميم ، بينما تشير العلامة إلى ما إذا كانت الحزمة مصممة للتحميل المضغوط أو ظروف التحميل الشد. عادة ، يتم تصميم الحزم لضغط الشد حيث من المرجح أن تسفر المادة عن التوتر وتؤدي في النهاية إلى التمزق.

س 14) ما هي معادلة عزم الانحناء كدالة للمسافة x المحسوبة من الجانب الأيسر لشعاع مدعوم ببساطة من الامتداد L يحمل UDL w لكل وحدة طول؟

الجواب:

شعاع مدعوم ببساطة مع حالة تحميل UDL

يمكن إعطاء الحمل الناتج الذي يعمل على الشعاع بسبب UDL بواسطة

W = مساحة المستطيل

W = L * w

W = wL

تحميل نقطة مكافئة wL سوف تعمل في مركز الشعاع. على سبيل المثال ، في L / 2

رسم تخطيطي مجاني للجسم للضوء المدعوم ببساطة تحت حالة UDL

يمكن حساب قيمة التفاعل عند A و B من خلال تطبيق شرط التوازن

[اللاتكس] \ sum F_y = 0 ، \ sum M_A = 0 [/ اللاتكس]

للتوازن العمودي ،

[اللاتكس] R_A + R_B = wL [/ اللاتكس]

أخذ اللحظة حول A ، ولحظة اتجاه عقارب الساعة موجبة ، ولحظة عكس اتجاه عقارب الساعة تؤخذ على أنها سالبة

[اللاتكس] \ frac {wL ^ 2} {2} -R_B * L = 0 [/ اللاتكس]

[اللاتكس] R_B = \ frac {wL} {2} [/ اللاتكس]

وضع قيمة R.B في معادلة التوازن العمودي نحصل عليها ،

[لاتكس] R_A = wL-R_B [/ لاتكس]

[اللاتكس] R_A = wL- \ frac {wL} {2} = \ frac {wL} {2} [/ اللاتكس]

دع XX هو القسم الذي يهمك على مسافة x من النهاية A

وفقًا لاتفاقية Sign التي تمت مناقشتها سابقًا ، إذا بدأنا في حساب Shear Force من الجانب الأيسر أو الطرف الأيسر للحزمة ، فإن القوة المؤثرة الصاعدة تعتبر إيجابية ، والقوة المؤثرة للأسفل تعتبر سالبة. بالنسبة لمخطط لحظة الانحناء ، إذا بدأنا في حساب لحظة الانحناء من الجانب الأيسر أو الطرف الأيسر للشعاع ، فسيتم اعتبار لحظة عقارب الساعة موجبة. تعتبر لحظة عكس اتجاه عقارب الساعة سالبة.

قوة القص في أ

[اللاتكس] S.F_A = R_A = \ frac {wL} {2} [/ اللاتكس]

قوة القص في المنطقة XX هي

[لاتكس] S.F_x = R_A-wx [/ لاتكس]

[اللاتكس] S.F_x = \ frac {wL} {2} -wx [/ اللاتكس]

[اللاتكس] S.F_x = w \ frac {L-2x} {2} [/ اللاتكس]

قوة القص في ب

[اللاتكس] S.F_B = R_B = \ frac {-wL} {2} [/ اللاتكس]

لحظة الانحناء عند A = 0

لحظة الانحناء عند X

[لاتكس] B.M_x = M_A- \ frac {wx ^ 2} {2} [/ لاتكس]

[اللاتكس] B.M_x = 0- \ frac {wx ^ 2} {2} [/ اللاتكس]

[اللاتكس] B.M_x = - \ frac {wx ^ 2} {2} [/ اللاتكس]

لحظة الانحناء عند B = 0

انحناء مخطط لحظة من شعاع مدعوم ببساطة تحت UDL
انحناء مخطط لحظة من شعاع مدعوم ببساطة تحت UDL

س 15) لماذا يكون لشعاع الكابول أقصى عزم انحناء على دعمه؟ لماذا لا تحتوي على لحظة انحناء في نهايتها الحرة؟

الجواب: ل شعاع ناتئ مع التحميل النقطي ، يكون للشعاع دعم ثابت في أحد الأطراف ، والطرف الآخر مجاني. عندما يتم تطبيق حمل على العارضة ، فإن الدعم فقط هو الذي يقاوم الحركة. في النهاية الحرة ، لا توجد قيود على الحركة. لذلك ، ستكون اللحظة القصوى عند الدعم والحد الأدنى أو الصفر في النهاية الحرة.

س 16) ما هي لحظة الانحناء في الشعاع؟

الجواب: تحاول لحظة الانحناء ثني الحزمة في مستوى العضو وبسبب انتقال لحظة الانحناء فوق المقطع العرضي للشعاع.

س 17) أين يعمل التوتر والضغط في الانحناء للدعامات المدعمة ببساطة وكذلك في الكابول؟

الجواب: بالنسبة للحزمة المدعومة ببساطة مع التحميل المنتظم الذي يعمل باتجاه الأسفل ، فإن موقع أقصى إجهاد شد الانحناء المستحث يتم إجراؤه على الألياف السفلية للمقطع العرضي عند نقطة منتصف الحزمة ، بينما يتم عمل أقصى ضغط للثني على الألياف العلوية للشعاع المقطع العرضي في منتصف المدى. بالنسبة لحزمة ناتئ من مدى معين ، سيكون الحد الأقصى لضغط الانحناء عند الطرف الثابت للحزمة. بالنسبة للحمل الصافي الهابط ، يتم عمل أقصى إجهاد الانحناء الشد أعلى المقطع العرضي ، وأقصى حد الضغط الضغط يعمل على الألياف السفلية للشعاع.

س 18) لماذا نأخذ لحظة الانحناء من الجانب الأيسر من الحزمة إلى النقطة التي تكون فيها قوة القص صفرًا؟

الجواب: يمكن أخذ لحظة الانحناء على أي جانب من العارضة. يُفضل عمومًا أنه إذا بدأنا في حساب لحظة الانحناء من الجانب الأيسر أو الطرف الأيسر للشعاع ، فإن لحظة اتجاه عقارب الساعة يتم أخذها على أنها موجبة ولحظة عكس اتجاه عقارب الساعة يتم اعتبارها سلبية. إذا بدأنا في حساب قوة القص من الجانب الأيسر أو الطرف الأيسر من الحزمة ، فإن القوة المؤثرة الصاعدة تؤخذ على أنها قوة موجبة وهابطة سالبة وفقًا لاتفاقية الإشارة.

س 19) كيف نستخدم علامة الاصطلاح في لحظات الانحناء وقوى القص؟

الجواب: إذا بدأنا في حساب لحظة الانحناء من الجانب الأيمن أو نهاية حق شعاع, لحظة في اتجاه عقارب الساعة تؤخذ على أنها سلبيو لحظة معاكسة تؤخذ على أنها إيجابي. إذا بدأنا في حساب لحظة الانحناء من الجهه اليسرى أو نهاية الشعاع الأيسر ، لحظة في اتجاه عقارب الساعة تؤخذ على أنها إيجابي، و لحظة عكس عقارب الساعة تؤخذ على أنها نفي.

س 20) كيف يمكنني تقوية الفولاذ المدعوم ببساطة الذي أشعله ضد القص والانحناء؟

الجواب: يمكن زيادة قوة I-Beam ، التي يتم دعمها ببساطة ، ضد ظروف القص والانحناء عن طريق زيادة منطقة القصور الذاتي للحزمة ، وإضافة أدوات التقوية إلى شبكة I-Beam ، وتغيير مادة الحزمة إلى مواد ذات قوة أعلى لها قوة خضوع أكبر. يؤثر تغيير نوع التحميل أيضًا على قوة الحزمة.

س 21) ما هي نقطة التباين؟

الجواب: يمكن تعريف نقطة Contraflexure على أنها النقطة في مخطط لحظة الانحناء حيث تصبح لحظة الانحناء "0". يُطلق على هذا أحيانًا اسم نقطة الانقلاب. عند نقطة انعكاس الضوء ، يتغير منحنى عزم الانحناء للشعاع. يُرى بشكل عام في حزمة مدعومة ببساطة تتعرض للحظة في منتصف امتداد الحزمة وظروف التحميل المجمعة لأحمال UDL وأحمال النقطة.

للتعرف على قوة المادة (اضغط هنا)ومخطط لحظة الانحناء انقر هنا.

حكيم الدين بوانجاونوالا

أنا حكيم الدين بوانجاونوالا ، مهندس تصميم ميكانيكي ذو خبرة في التصميم الميكانيكي والتطوير. لقد أكملت M. Tech في هندسة التصميم ولدي 2.5 سنوات من الخبرة البحثية. حتى الآن تم نشر ورقتين بحثيتين حول الانعطاف الصلب وتحليل العناصر المحدودة لتركيبات المعالجة الحرارية. مجال اهتمامي هو تصميم الماكينة ، وقوة المواد ، ونقل الحرارة ، والهندسة الحرارية وما إلى ذلك. بارع في برامج CATIA و ANSYS لـ CAD و CAE. بصرف النظر عن البحث. تواصل في LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/hakimuddin-bawangaonwala

آخر المقالات

21 Important Bending Moment Diagram related Questions with Answers

Definition

Shear Force Diagram is the Graphical representation of the variation of Shear Force Over the cross-section along the length of the beam. With the Shear Force Diagram’s help, we can identify Critical sections Subjected to Shear and design amendments to be made to avoid failure.

Similarly,

Bending Moment Diagram is the Graphical representation of the Bending moment’s variation over the cross-section along the length of the beam. With the Bending moment Diagram’s help, we can identify Critical sections Subjected to bending and design amendments to be made to avoid failure. While constructing the Shear Force Diagram [S.F.D.], There is a sudden rise or sudden drop due to point load acting on the beam while constructing Bending moment Diagram [BMD]; there is a sudden rise or sudden drop due to couples acting on the beam.

Q.1) What is the Formula for Bending Moment?

The Algebraic sum of the moments over a particular cross-section of the beam due to clock or anticlockwise moments is called bending moment at that point.

 Let W be a force vector acting at a point A in a body. The moment of this force about a reference point (O) is defined as

M = W x p

Where M = Moment vector, p = the position vector from the reference point (O) to the point of application of the force A. The 21 Important Bending Moment Diagram related Questions with Answers symbol indicates the vector cross product. it is easy to compute the moment of the force about an axis that passes through the reference point O. If the unit vector along the axis is ”i”, the moment of the force about the axis is defined as

M = i . (W x p)

Where [.] represent Dot product of the vector.

Q.2) What is Bending moment and Shear force?

Ans:

Shear Force is the Algebraic sum of forces Parallel to cross-section over a particular cross-section of the beam due to action and reaction forces. Shear Force tries to shear off the beam’s Cross section perpendicular to the beam’s axis, and due to this, the developed shear stress distribution is Parabolic from the neutral axis of the beam.

A Bending moment is a summation of the moments over a particular cross-section of the beam due to Clockwise and Counter Clockwise Moments. Bending moment tries to bend the beam in the plane of the member, and due to transmission of Bending moment over a Cross-section of the beam, the Developed Bending stress distribution is Linear from the neutral axis of the beam.

Q.3) What is Shear Force Diagram S.F.D. and Bending Moment Diagram B.M.D?

Ans: Shear Force Diagram [S.F.D.] Shear Force Diagram can be described as the Pictorial representation of the variation of Shear Force that is generated in the beam, Over the cross-section and along the length of the beam. With the Shear Force Diagram help, we can identify Critical sections Subjected to Shear and design amendments to be made to avoid failure.

Similarly, Bending Moment Diagram [BMD] is the Graphical representation of the Bending moment’s variation over the cross-section along the beam’s length. With the Bending moment Diagram’s help, we can identify Critical sections Subjected to bending and design amendments to be made to avoid failure. While constructing the Shear Force Diagram [S.F.D.] There is a sudden rise or sudden drop due to point load acting on the beam while constructing Bending moment Diagram [BMD]; there is a sudden rise or sudden drop due to couples acting on the beam.

Q.4) What is the unit of Bending moment?

Ans: Bending Moment has a unit similar to a couple as Nm.

Q.5) Why is moment at hinge zero?

Ans: In hinge Support, the movement is restricted in Vertical and Horizontal Direction. It offers no resistance for the rotational motion about the support. Thus, support offers a rection towards horizontal and vertical motion and no reaction to the moment. Thus, the Moment is Zero at the hinge.

Q.6) What is the bending of beam?

Ans:  If the moment applied to the beam tries to bend the beam in the plane of the member, then it is called a bending moment, and the phenomenon is called bending of beam.

Q.7) What is the condition of deflection and bending moment in a simply supported beam?

Ans: The conditions of deflection and bending moment in a simply supported beam are:

  • The maximum Bending Moment that yields bending stress must be equal to or less than the Permissible strength bearing capacity of the material of the beam.
  • The maximum induced deflection should be less than acceptable level based on Durability for the given length, the period, and material of the beam.

Q.8) What is the difference between bending moment and bending stress?

Ans: Bending Moment is the Algebraic sum of the moments over a particular cross-section of the beam due to Clockwise and Counter Clockwise Moments. Bending moment tries to bend the beam in the plane of the member, and due to transmission of Bending moment over a Cross-section of the beam, the Developed Bending stress distribution is Linear from the neutral axis of the beam. Bending stress can be defined as resistance induced due to Bending Moment or by two equal and opposite couples in the plane of the member.

Q.9) How are the intensity of load shear force and bending moments related to mathematically?

Ans: Relations: Let f = load intensity

    Q = Shear Force

    M = Bending Moment

21 Important Bending Moment Diagram related Questions with Answers

The rate of change of shear force will give the intensity of the distributed load.

21 Important Bending Moment Diagram related Questions with Answers

The rate of change of bending moment will give shear force at that point only.

21 Important Bending Moment Diagram related Questions with Answers

Q.10) What is the relation between loading shear force and bending moments?

Ans: The rate of change of Bending moment will give Shear force at that particular point only.

Q.11) What is the difference between a plastic moment and a bending moment?

Ans: The plastic moment is defined as the maximum value of the moment when the complete cross-section has reached its yielding limit or permissible stress value. Theoretically, It is the maximum bending moment that the entire section can bear before yielding any load beyond this point will result in large plastic deformation. While Bending Moment is the Algebraic sum of the moments over a particular cross-section of the beam due to Clockwise and Counter Clockwise Moments. Bending moment tries to bend the beam in the plane of the member, and due to transmission of Bending moment over a Cross-section of the beam, the Developed Bending stress distribution is Linear from the neutral axis of the beam.

Q.12) What is the difference between the moment of force, couple, torque, twisting moment, and bending moment? If any two are the same, what is the use of assigning different names?

Ans: A moment, a torque, and a couple are all similar concepts which rests on a basic principle of the product of a force (or forces) and a distance. A Moment of force can be formulated as the product of force and the length of the line crossing over the point of support and is vertical to the acting force. Bending moment tries to bend the beam in the plane of the member and due to transmission of Bending moment over a Cross-section of the beam.

A couple is a moment that is generated of two forces having the same magnitude, acting in the opposite direction equidistant from the reaction point. Therefore, a couple is statically equivalent to a simple Bending. Torque is a moment when functional have a tendency to to twist a body around its axis of rotation. A Typical example of torque is a torsional moment applied on a shaft.

Q.13) Why maximum bending moments is smallest when the numerical value is the same in positive and negative directions?

Ans: The maximum bending moment and minimum bending moment are dependent on the condition and direction of application of stress rather than the magnitude of stress. A positive sign denotes tensile stress, and the negative sign denotes compression. The maximum magnitude of the bending moment is taken for designing, while the sign denotes whether the beam is designed for compressive loading or tensile loading conditions. Usually, beams are designed for tensile stress as a material is likely to yield under tension and ultimately rupture.

Q.14) What is bending moment equation as a function of distance x calculated from the leftside for a simply supported beam of span L carrying U.D.L. w per unit length?

Ans:

21 Important Bending Moment Diagram related Questions with Answers
Simply Supported Beam with U.D.L Loading Condition

The resultant load acting on the Beam Due to U.D.L. can be given by

W = Area of a rectangle

W = L * w

W=wL

Equivalent Point Load wL will act at the center of the beam. i.e., at L/2

21 Important Bending Moment Diagram related Questions with Answers
Free Body Diagram for Simply supported Beam under U.D.L Condition

The value of the reaction at A and B can be calculated by applying Equilibrium condition

\sum F_y=0,\sum M_A=0

For vertical Equilibrium,21 Important Bending Moment Diagram related Questions with Answers

R_A+R_B=wL

Taking Moment about A, Clockwise moment positive, and Counter Clockwise moment is taken as negative

\frac{wL^2}{2}-R_B*L=0

R_B=\frac{wL}{2}

Putting the value of RB in Vertical equilibrium equation we get,

R_A=wL-R_B

R_A=wL-\frac{wL}{2}=\frac{wL}{2}

Let X-X be the section of interest at a distance of x from end A

According to the Sign convention discussed earlier, if we start calculating Shear Force from the Left side or Left end of the beam, Upward acting force is taken as Positive, and Downward acting Force is taken as Negative. For Bending Moment Diagram, if we start calculating Bending Moment from the Left side or Left end of the beam, Clockwise Moment is taken as positive. Counter Clockwise Moment is taken as Negative.

Shear Force at A

S.F_A=R_A=\frac{wL}{2}

Shear force at region X-X is

 S.F_x=R_A-wx

 S.F_x=\frac{wL}{2}-wx

S.F_x=w\frac{L-2x}{2}

Shear Force at B

S.F_B=R_B=\frac{-wL}{2}

Bending Moment at A = 0

Bending Moment at X

B.M_x=M_A-\frac{wx^2}{2}

B.M_x=0-\frac{wx^2}{2}

B.M_x=-\frac{wx^2}{2}

Bending Moment at B = 0

Bending Moment Diagram From Simply Supported Beam under U.D.L
Bending Moment Diagram From Simply Supported Beam under U.D.L

Q.15) Why does the cantilever beam have a maximum bending moment on its support? Why doesn’t it have a bending moment on its free end?

Ans: For a cantilever beam with point loading, the beam has fixed support at one end, and another end is free. Whenever a load is applied on the beam, only the support resists the motion. At the free end, there is no restriction of motion. So, the moment will be maximum at support and minimum or zero at the free end.

Q.16) What is the bending moment in a beam?

Ans: Bending Moment tries to bend the beam in the plane of the member and due to transmission of Bending moment over a Cross-section of the beam.

Q.17) Where do tension and compression act in bending of simply supported as well as in cantilever beams?

Ans: For a simply supported beam with uniform Loading acting downward, the location of induced maximum bending tensile stress is acted on the bottom fiber of cross-section at the midpoint of the beam, while the maximum compression bending stress is acted on the top fiber of the cross-section at the midpoint of span.  For a cantilever beam of a given span, the maximum bending stress will be at the beam’s Fixed end. For downward net load, maximum tensile bending stress is acted on top of cross-section, and max compressive stress is acted on the bottom fiber of the beam.

Q.18) Why are we taking the bending moment left side of beam to the point that the shear force is zero?

Ans: The bending moment can be taken on any side of the beam. It is generally preferred that If we start calculating Bending Moment from the Left side or Left end of the beam, Clockwise Moment is taken as Positive and Counter Clockwise Moment is taken as Negative. If we start calculating Shear Force from the Left side or Left end of the beam, Upward acting Force is taken as Positive and Downward acting Force is taken as Negative according to Sign Convention.

Q.19) How do we use the sign convention in bending moments and shearing forces?

Ans: If we start calculating Bending Moment from the right side or right end of the beam, Clockwise Moment is taken as negative, and Counter-wise Moment is taken as Positive. If we start calculating Bending Moment from the Left side or Left end of the beam, Clockwise Moment is taken as Positive, and Counter Clockwise Moment is taken as Negative.

Q.20) How do I strengthen a simply supported steel I beam against Shear and bending?

Ans: The strength of the I-Beam, which is simply supported, can be increased against Shear and bending conditions by increasing the Area Moment of Inertia of the beam, adding stiffeners to the web of I-Beam, changing the material of the beam to a higher strength material having greater yield strength. Changing the type of loading also affects the strength of the beam.

Q.21) What is Point of Contraflexure?

Ans: The point of Contraflexure can be defined as the point in the Bending Moment diagram where the bending moment is becomes ‘0 ’. This occasionally termed a Point of inflexion. At the point of contraflexure, the Bending moment curve of the beam will change sign. It is generally seen in a Simply supported beam subjected to moment at the mid-span of the beam and combined loading conditions of U.D.L. and point loads.

To know about Strength of material(click here)and Bending Moment Diagram Click here.

About Hakimuddin Bawangaonwala

21 Important Bending Moment Diagram related Questions with AnswersI am Hakimuddin Bawangaonwala , A Mechanical Design Engineer with Expertise in Mechanical Design and Development. I have Completed M. Tech in Design Engineering and has 2.5 years of Research Experience. Till now Published Two research papers on Hard Turning and Finite Element Analysis of Heat Treatment Fixtures. My Area of Interest is Machine Design, Strength of Material, Heat Transfer, Thermal Engineering etc. Proficient in CATIA and ANSYS Software for CAD and CAE. Apart from Research.
Connect in LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/hakimuddin-bawangaonwala

x
About Lambdageeks

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en English
X