الأدوات التناظرية: 23 حقائق مهمة يجب أن تعرفها


المحتوى: الأدوات التناظرية

ما هي الآلات التناظرية؟

الأدوات الإلكترونية التناظرية

آلة تمثيلية هي تلك التي يكون ناتجها أو عرضها دالة مستمرة للوقت. تقوم هذه الأداة بتحويل كمية الإدخال إلى تناظرية O / Ps ؛ وجود عدد لا حصر له من القيمة. آلة تمثيلية يحتوي عادةً على مؤشر وطالب معاير محجّم لإظهار الإخراج.

أداة تمثيلية
حقوق الصورة:"لقطة تفصيلية لمقياس الضغط" by wuestenigel مرخص تحت CC BY 2.0

اختيار عامل الصك التناظري:

أنواع الأدوات التناظرية

يمكن أن تكون الأداة التناظرية أيضًا من نوعين:

أداة القياس المباشر هي الأداة التي تحول طاقة كمية القياس مباشرة إلى طاقة تطلق الجهاز ، وحجم الكمية المراد قياسها على الفور.

أداة مقارنة التي تقارن الكمية المجهولة بالمعيار ، عند الحاجة إلى دقة عالية.

تصنيف آخر للأداة التناظرية هو

أدوات البيان التناظرية

الصورة الائتمان: "حجم الوجه" by "اللعب بالفرشاة" مرخص تحت CC BY 2.0

إنها تشير إلى الأداة التي تُظهر القيمة الآنية لحجم الكمية المراد حسابها. تتضمن أداة البيان عادةً جميع الأنواع الفارغة للأداة والأكثر سلبية. الأكثر استخدامًا هو قرص ومؤشر بواسطة المؤشر يتحرك فوق قرص معاير.

يمكن تقسيم أداة الإشارة التناظرية إلى مجموعتين من الأدوات الكهروميكانيكية والأداة الإلكترونية.

ومن الأمثلة على ذلك مقياس التيار الكهربائي والفولتميتر.

أدوات التسجيل

تعطي أداة التسجيل سجلاً مستمرًا لتغير الكمية التي يتم قياسها خلال فترة زمنية محددة. على الرغم من استخدامه لتوفير الأداء العام لأي أداة ، إلا أنه يمكن أن يوفر بيانات لتقييم عيار وكفاءة أطقم التشغيل.

أنواع أدوات التسجيل

 يمكن أن تكون أدوات التسجيل التناظرية من ثلاثة أنواع:

ما هي أدوات التسجيل الجرافيكي؟

آلات التسجيل الجرافيكي عرض وتخزين سجلات تاريخ بعض الأحداث المادية باستخدام القلم والحبر. حتى أنها قد تكون متغيرة الجهد ، والتيار ، والضغط ، وما إلى ذلك. وتتكون بشكل أساسي من مخطط لتخزين وعرض البيانات المسجلة. يتحرك هذا القلم على الورق بعلاقة مناسبة واتصال داخلي يربط القلم بمصدر المعلومات.

أدوات التكامل

أداة التكامل هي أداة للعثور على مجموع القياسات على مدى فترة محددة ، والتجميع الذي يوفر فيه هذا كمنتج للوقت والكمية المقاسة.

مبدأ تشغيل الأدوات التناظرية

عزم الدوران في الأدوات التناظرية هي

الصورة الائتمان: "H2: إنه dabom" by جورفتسون مرخص تحت CC BY 2.0

قوة التشغيل أو عزم الدوران:

انحراف القوة أو عزم الدوران: إنها قوة أو عزم دوران يعكسان المؤشر من الصفرth موضع المقياس المعاير وفقًا لحجم الكمية التي تمر عبر الجهاز.

السيطرة على القوة أو عزم الدوران:  التي تتحكم في حركة المؤشر بالمقياس المطلوب. من الضروري إحضار المؤشر إلى 0th أشر في حالة عدم وجود قوة انحراف. لإنتاج قوة مساوية ومعاكسة لقوة الانحراف لجعل المؤشر ثابتًا في حالة عدم وجود تحكم ، قد يتأرجح مؤشر القوة بعيدًا عن موضع الدراسة النهائي لأي حجم. يمكن التحكم في عزم الدوران عن طريق التحكم في الجاذبية بزنبرك.

قوة التخميد أو عزم الدوران: يستخدم هذا لمنع الاهتزاز لتذبذب المؤشر على نطاق معين من المقياس ؛ مطلوب إعادة المؤشر في حالة السكون. يمكن إنشاء قوة التخميد عن طريق التخميد احتكاك الهواء بسائل الاحتكاك بالتيار إيدي.

التأثير المغناطيسي

في مجال مغناطيسي موحد ، يوجد موصل يحمل تيارًا ، مما يؤدي إلى حدوث اضطراب في المجال المغناطيسي ، ويؤثر على القوة (F). سيكون اتجاه القوة هو الاتجاه المعاكس للتيار ويولد موصل الملف مجالًا مغناطيسيًا كمواد مغناطيسية.

قوة الجاذبية أو التنافر 

عندما تكون قطعة من الحديد الناعم غير ممغنطة من قبل ، احتفظ بها بالقرب من نهاية الملف. عندما يتدفق التيار عبر الملف ، يصبح الحديد الناعم ممغنطًا ويسحب داخل الملف. تتناسب قوة الجذب مع قوة المجال داخل الملف وتتناسب مع القوة الحالية ؛ تستخدم في أداة نقل الحديد الجذابة (MI).

إذا تم وضع قطعتين من الحديد الناعمين بالقرب من الملف ، تصبح ممغنطة ، وبعد ذلك ستكون هناك قوة تنافر ؛ تستخدم في أداة تحريك الحديد البغيض (MI).

يتم استخدام القوة بين الملف الحامل للتيار والمغناطيس الدائم في أداة لفائف متحركة بمغناطيس دائم ، ويتم استخدام القوة بين الملفين الحاملين للتيار كمبدأ رئيسي في نوع أداة قياس الدينامو.

التأثير الحراري

يتم تمرير التيار المراد قياسه عبر عنصر تسخين تزداد درجة حرارته مع زيادة التيار وتغير درجة الحرارة يتم تحويله إلى EMF بواسطة زوج حراري. تم تصميم الازدواج الحراري مع موصلين كهربائيين غير متماثلين مرتبطين معًا في نهاية كل منهما لتشكيل حلقة قريبة ، والنقطة التي يلتقي بها المعدن غير المتماثل هي الوصلة. إذا تم الحفاظ على الوصلة عند درجة حرارة مختلفة ، فسوف يتدفق التيار عبر الحلقة.

تأثير الكهرباء الساكنة

التأثير الكهروستاتيكي هو القوة الجاذبة بين 2 أو العديد من العناصر المشحونة كهربائيًا والتي يتم الحفاظ على فرق الجهد بينها. تؤدي هذه القوة إلى زيادة عزم الدوران المنحرف. التأثير الكهروستاتيكي هو المبدأ الأساسي للأداة الكهروستاتيكية المعروفة باسم مقياس الفولتميتر الكهربي ، وهو مثال على أداة كهروستاتيكية.

المزايا للأجهزة الكهروستاتيكية:

عيوب عدد الأجهزة الكهروستاتيكية:

تأثير الحث

تأثير الحث عند وضع قرص أو أسطوانة توصيل غير مغناطيسية في المجال المغناطيسي الذي يتم تحفيزه بواسطة التيارات المتناوبة ، سيتم إحداث EMF في الأسطوانة أو القرص. إذا تم توفير المسار المغلق ، فستتسبب EMF في تدفق تيار إلى الأسطوانة أو القرص. القوة المنتجة في تفاعل التيار المستحث والمجال المغناطيسي ستسبب القرص أو الأسطوانة لتحريك هذا التأثير يستخدم في عداد الطاقة.

المزايا من أدوات الحث:

عيوب من أداة الحث:

أخطاء في أداة الحث بسبب اختلاف التردد أو تغير درجة الحرارة.

تأثير هول

هذا هو تشكيل فرق الجهد عبر مادة موصلة لها تيار كهربائي موجود في مجال مغناطيسي متقاطع.

يعتمد حجم الانخفاض المحتمل على كثافة التدفق الحالي ، وتسمى الخاصية الداخلية للموصل معامل تأثير القاعة. إن emf الناتج في هذه الظاهرة صغير جدًا للقياس ، الأمر الذي قد يتطلب تضخيمًا. تستخدم أدوات تأثير القاعة لاستشعار التيار أو القياس المغناطيسي. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك مقياس التدفق مقياس Poynting متجه واط متر. تأثير القاعة تقوم الأدوات بتحويل المجال المغناطيسي إلى كمية كهربائية ، والتي يمكن قياسها بسهولة.

مزايا تأثيرات القاعة:

مساوئ تأثيرات القاعة:

ما هي مزايا الأدوات الرقمية على الأدوات التناظرية؟

مزايا وعيوب الأدوات التناظرية والرقمية.

مزايا الأدوات الرقمية على التناظرية:

عيوب الأجهزة الرقمية:

مزايا الأجهزة التناظرية:

عيوب الأجهزة التناظرية:

مضخم الأجهزة التناظرية

مضخم أجهزة الأجهزة التناظرية عندما يكون خرج أي أداة منخفضًا أو يحتاج إلى أي تضخيم لمزيد من المعالجة ، يكون الإدخال لمكبر الجهاز هو الإخراج من مركز محول الطاقة المستخدم لتضخيم ، ورفض الضوضاء وتداخل الإشارة. مضخم الأجهزة هو مضخم تفاضلي ، ومضخم الأجهزة التناظرية عبارة عن كتلة دقيقة ذات مدخلات ومخرجات تفاضلية. يقوم هذا الجهاز بتضخيم الاختلافات بين جهدي إشارة الإدخال بينما يرفض الإشارات المشتركة لكلا المدخلين.

مجموعة العدادات التناظرية | مجموعة العدادات التناظرية

الصورة الائتمان:"قمرة القيادة هوكر هانتر" by G. وير مرخص تحت CC BY 2.0

مجموعة الأدوات التناظرية هي مجموعة من الأدوات التناظرية المختلفة ، ويمكن أن تتضمن عدادات ومقاييس تناظرية مختلفة لتوفير القياس المطلوب. تستخدم هذه المجموعات لمتطلبات أوامر السلامة المستخدمة بشكل أساسي في السيارات والطائرات وما إلى ذلك. تستخدم هذه المجموعة أمتار مختلفة لقياس المعلومات المطلوبة ، على سبيل المثال ، في السيارة والسرعة ومستوى الوقود ومستوى الشحن وما إلى ذلك.

ما هو الفرق بين أجهزة القياس الرقمية والتناظرية؟

مقارنة بين الأدوات التناظرية والرقمية

الصك التناظريأداة رقمية
دقة منخفضةدقة عالية
متطلبات الطاقة العاليةمتطلبات الطاقة المنخفضة
حساس للغايةأقل حساسية
رخيصغالية
دقة أقلعالية الدقة
غير متوافق بشكل مباشر مع جهاز كمبيوتر أو معالج دقيق أو متحكم دقيقمتوافق مباشرة مع جهاز كمبيوتر أو معالج دقيق أو متحكم
أكثر مرونةمرونة محدودة
خطأ المنظر أثناء قراءة النتيجة ممكنلا يوجد خطأ في القراءة بسبب العرض الرقمي
يمكن أن تتأثر بسهولة بالضوضاءمحصن ضد الضوضاء العالية
محمولة بسهولةليس سهل الحمل
مستمرة مريحة للقراءاتالراحة في القراءة

أدوات الاختبار الإلكترونية القياسات التناظرية والرقمية

تُستخدم أدوات اختبار أداة الاختبار الإلكترونية لاكتشاف خطأ في التشغيل ، مثل الفولتميتر ، أو مقياس التيار الكهربائي ، أو مقياس الأومتر ، أو المتر المتعدد ، أو عداد التردد ، أو راسم الذبذبات أو مقياس LCR ، إلخ.

أداة الاختبار هي مفتاح أي إنتاج وصيانة إلكترونية للتصميم. يمكن أن تكون أداة تمثيلية أو رقمية تستخدم لتوليد إشارة والتقاط الاستجابة من الجهاز قيد الاختبار.

أدوات الطائرات التناظرية

فيما يلي الأدوات التناظرية المستخدمة في الطائرات:

يوفر الألتميتر هو جهاز يستخدم لقياس ارتفاع كائن ما بالنسبة لمستوى ثابت. لديها نوعان من مقياس الارتفاع بالضغط ومقياس الارتفاع الراديوي وتعرف دراسة الارتفاع باسم قياس الارتفاع. 

A مقياس الارتفاع الضغط حساب الارتفاع حسب الضغط الجوي. مع زيادة الارتفاع ، ينخفض ​​الضغط. مقياس الارتفاع اللاسلكي يحدد ارتفاع أي موضوع عن طريق إرسال إشارة إلى الأرض وقياس الموقف بناءً على الوقت اللازم لانتقال إشارة الموجة اللاسلكية. يحتوي مقياس الارتفاع الذي يحتوي على كبسولة ميكانيكية داخلية لاسائلية على شاشة عرض تمثيلية.

هواء مؤشر السرعة يستخدم لقياس سرعة الطائرة ؛ يستخدم أنبوب pitot على شكل حرف U مع فتحتين. مؤشر السرعة تقليديًا هو أداة ميكانيكية تناظرية.

البوصلة المغناطيسية وأداة لتحديد الاتجاه باستخدام عنصر مغناطيسي يوضح اتجاه المكون الأفقي للمجال المغناطيسي للأرض

يوفر مقياس سرعة الدوران هو جهاز يشير إلى معدل دوران جسم أو عمود محرك ؛ يتضمن القيمة اللحظية للسرعة في RPM. وهي تتألف من بلاطة والقليل للإشارة إلى القراءة الفورية.

Iالائتمان بركه: "مقياس سرعة جاكوار" by بيلجاكوبس 1 مرخص تحت CC BY 2.0

جهاز كشف الكذب التناظري

تُعرف أداة كشف الكذب التناظرية باسم أداة كشف الكذب ، والتي تقيس ما لا يقل عن ثلاثة استجابات فسيولوجية مثل ضغط الدم وتنفس النبض وتوصيل الجلد.

يمكن أن تتكون من أجهزة قياس ضغط الهواء لتسجيل النشاط التنفسي ، ومنحدر ضغط الدم لتسجيل نشاط القلب والأوعية الدموية ، ومستشعر نشاط الجلفانومتر ، ومخطط التحجم ، وما إلى ذلك. ترسم إبر جهاز كشف الكذب التناظرية الخط على ورقة لتسجيل وإظهار الإخراج. تمثل هذه الخطوط مستوى الضغط الذي يمكن أن يؤثر على ما إذا كان الشخص يكذب.

أدوات محطة الطقس التناظرية

أدوات الطقس التناظرية:

الترمومتر يستخدم لقياس درجة حرارة البيئة. هناك أنواع عديدة من موازين الحرارة. أحد أكثر موازين الحرارة استخدامًا هو مقياس حرارة مصمم بأكسيد معدني وله معامل درجة حرارة عالية ، لذلك مع تغير درجة الحرارة ، يحدث تحول المقاومة.

الثرمستور بشكل رئيسي معامل درجة حرارة سلبي. على الرغم من انخفاض مقاومة درجة الحرارة ، إلا أنها حساسة جدًا لتغير درجة الحرارة ، مما يجعل الثرمستورات مفيدة للقياس الدقيق لدرجة الحرارة.

بارومتر هي أداة تستخدم لقياس ضغط الغلاف الجوي لأن الضغط الجوي يختلف باختلاف الارتفاع. المقياس البسيط هو وحدة قياس ضغط الزئبق في الزجاج. الغلاف الجوي أو شريط بارامترات زجاج الزئبق مغلق في الأعلى ويفتح في الأسفل. وهكذا ، هناك بركة عطارد. 

حقوق الصورة:"بارومتر" by الكتريكينكا مرخص تحت CC BY-SA 2.0

يوفر مقياس اللاسائلية هو مقياس غير سائل يستخدم على نطاق واسع. إنه صغير ويستخدم كبسولة مفرغة كعنصر استشعار ، الكبسولة المرنة ذات الجدران المفرغة. الثني مع التغيير في الضغط الجوي يقترن الانحراف ميكانيكيًا بإبرة تشير.

مقياس الرطوبة هو جهاز يقيس الرطوبة بشكل غير مباشر عن طريق استشعار تغير في الخصائص الفيزيائية أو الكهربائية في المواد ، والذي يسبب بسبب محتوى الرطوبة. هناك أنواع مختلفة من أجهزة قياس الرطوبة لقياس الرطوبة. في مقياس الرطوبة الميكانيكي يقيس الرطوبة مع التغير في طول عنصر الشعر عن طريق تقلص عنصر الشعر وتمدده. 

مقياس المطر هو جهاز يستخدم لقياس المطر في فترة معينة. عادة ما يقيس هطول الأمطار بالمليمترات. هناك أنواع مختلفة من مقاييس المطر. الأكثر دقة هو مقياس مستوى الأرض ، حيث يتم وضع فتحة المقياس مع سطح مستوى الأرض ومحاطة بشبكة مقاومة لتناثر السوائل.

مقياس شدة الريح هو جهاز يقيس معدل التدفق ويمكن استخدامه لقياس تدفق الهواء. يستخدم مقياس شدة الريح السلكي على نطاق واسع لقياس متوسط ​​وتذبذب السرعة لتدفقات السوائل. سوف يبرد بخار الهواء جسمًا ساخنًا هو مبدأ مقياس شدة السلك الساخن ، حيث يتم وضع سلك ساخن في تدفق الهواء.

مقياس حرارة هي أداة تستخدم لقياس الإشعاع الشمسي. يتم تشغيله على قياس اختلاف درجة الحرارة بين السطح اللامع والسطح الغامق. هناك أنواع مختلفة من مقاييس الحرارة ، مثل مقاييس الحرارة الحرارية ، ومقاييس الحرارة الكهروضوئية ، وما إلى ذلك.

أمثلة على الأدوات التناظرية

عدم اليقين بالنسبة للأدوات التناظرية

عدم التيقن من عدم اليقين في الدقة التماثلية هو أحد المشاكل في الأدوات التماثلية. يعتبر حدود القياس. دقة دقة القياس محدودة من خلال دقة الأداة للأداة التناظرية ذات القياس التدريجي الذي يتسبب أحيانًا في حدوث خطأ اختلاف في اختلاف المنظر عند أخذ قراءة من موضع عرض مختلف سيعطي قراءة مختلفة تؤدي إلى خطأ يؤدي إلى عدم اليقين في القياس.

أسئلة مكررة.

ما هي الأدوات المطلقة والثانوية؟

الصك المطلق:

توفر هذه الأداة حجم كمية القياس من حيث ثابت الأداة المادي. 

أداة ثانوية:

تقوم هذه الأداة بتحويل التناظرية o / ps للأداة الأولية / المطلقة إلى إشارة كهربائية. يجب معايرة هذه الأدوات بالمقارنة مع أداة مطلقة تمت معايرتها بالفعل.

الآلات التناظرية هي المفضلة ل ?

خطأ في الآلات التناظرية؟

ثلاثة أنواع مختلفة من الأخطاء تحدث في أي وسيلة:

  •  أخطاء مفيدة: تحدث هذه الأخطاء بسبب سوء استخدام الأداة أو تأثير التحميل أو التقادم أو أوجه القصور الكامنة.
  •  أخطاء بيئية: تحدث هذه الأخطاء بسبب الحالة الخارجية للأداة ، وبالتالي قد تتأثر الأخطاء بدرجة الحرارة المحيطة والضغط والرطوبة والغبار وما إلى ذلك.
  •  أخطاء المراقبة: تحدث هذه الأخطاء بسبب عوامل المراقبة البشرية. يمكن أن يكون هناك خطأ في قراءة المنظر في الأدوات التناظرية ، وهو خطأ في الملاحظة. يمكن أن ينتج عن الأجزاء المتحركة المختلفة في أداة تناظرية خطأ عند إنشاء احتكاك بين مكونين ، خطأ آلي. يمكن أن يؤدي تقادم الأداة إلى حدوث خطأ هو أيضًا خطأ أساسي. 

ما هي بعض الأمثلة على الأجهزة التناظرية الشائعة ?

ما هي مزايا وعيوب المقارنة بين أجهزة القياس المتعددة الرقمية والتناظرية ?

ما هو ميكرومتر ?

يُعرف الميكرومتر أيضًا باسم مقياس ميكرومتر أو مقياس لولبي ميكرومتر. إنها أداة لقياس المسافة الخطية (الصغيرة) بدقة ، مثل القطر والطول والسماكة ، إلخ. 

كيف مقياس أوم يقيس المقاومة ?

لا يمكن لمقياس أوم قياس المقاومة بشكل مباشر ولكن يمكنه قياس الطاقة من خلال الدائرة. يرتبط أي جهد معروف بمكون يتم قياس مقاومته ، حيث تكون المقاومة غير معروفة عن طريق قياس التيار من خلال مكون القياس. من خلال قانون أوم ، تُعرف العلاقة بين تيار الجهد والمقاومة. لذلك ، يمكننا حساب قيمة المقاومة غير المعروفة من خلال إيجاد التيار عبر الدائرة كما هو معروف الجهد.

هل Wifi إشارة رقمية أم تناظرية؟

إشارة wifi تناظرية ورقمية على حد سواء ولهذا ،  ADC  و DAC  ويتم تعديل الإشارة حسب المتطلبات.

ما هو الواتميتر وبنائه؟

الواطميتر هو الصك الذي يقيس الطاقة الكهربائية للدائرة. وحدة القياس بالواط. يمكن أن يكون مقياس ديناميكي كهربائي أو تحريض واط متر. يمكن بناؤه باستخدام ملف التيار وملف الجهد ، والملف الحالي مجاور في اتصال متسلسل ، وملف الجهد متصل عن طريق اتصال متوازي. يتم توصيل الإبرة التي تتحرك على المقياس المعاير بملف الجهد. ملف الجهد هو ملف متحرك ، في حين أن الملف الحالي غير متحرك.

كيف تجد عامل الضرب لوطميتر؟

عامل الضرب = (مدى الجهد X النطاق الحالي X عامل القدرة) / (نطاق الواطميتر)

هل هناك أي شيء يفعله جهاز القياس المتعدد التناظري بشكل أفضل من جهاز القياس الرقمي إذا كان الأمر كذلك ، فلماذا ?

تعد المقاييس المتعددة التناظرية مناسبة لقياس القيم المتذبذبة بشكل أفضل من تلك الخاصة بالمتعددة الرقمية ، لأن التقلب المفاجئ لا يمكن تمثيله بدقة بواسطة أجهزة القياس الرقمية المتعددة. بينما يحتوي جهاز القياس المتعدد التناظري على شاشة متغيرة يمكن أن تظهر بدقة التقلبات المفاجئة ، فقد لا يوفر قراءة دقيقة ولكنه سيوفر قياسًا فوريًا وتقريبيًا.

سنيها باندا

لقد تخرجت في الإلكترونيات التطبيقية وهندسة الأجهزة. أنا شخص ذو عقلية فضولية. لدي اهتمام وخبرة في موضوعات مثل محول الطاقة ، والأجهزة الصناعية ، والإلكترونيات ، وما إلى ذلك. أحب التعرف على الأبحاث والاختراعات العلمية ، وأعتقد أن معرفتي في هذا المجال ستساهم في مساعي المستقبلية. معرف LinkedIn- https://www.linkedin.com/in/sneha-panda-aa2403209/

آخر المقالات

Analog Instruments: 23 Important Facts You Should Know

Content: Analog Instruments

What is Analog Instruments ?

Analog Electronic Instruments

An analog instrument is one whose output or display is a continuous-time function. This instrument converts the input quantity into an analog O/Ps; having an infinite number of value. An analog instrument typically contains a pointer and a scaled calibrated dialler to show the output.

analog instrument
Image Credit :“Detail shot of pressure gauge” by wuestenigel is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Selecting factor of Analog Instrument:

Types of Analog Instruments

The analog instrument can also be of two types:

The direct measuring instrument is the instrument that converts the energy of the measuring quantity directly into energy that trigger the instrument, and the magnitude of quantity to be measured instantly.

A comparison instrument that compares the unknown quantity with a standard, when high accuracy is needed, is used.

One more classification of the analog instrument is

Analog Indicating Instruments

Image Credit: “Scale Face” by ‘Playingwithbrushes’ is licensed under CC BY 2.0

It is indicating instrument that show the instantaneous value of the magnitude of the quantity to be calculated. The indicating instrument typically includes all null types of instrument and most passive ones. The most used is a dial and a pointer indication by the pointer moving over a calibrated dial.

The analog indicating instrument can be divided into two groups electromechanical instrument and electronic instrument.

Examples are ammeter and voltmeter.

Recording Instruments

The recording instrument gives a continuous record of the variation of the quantity being measured over a specific period. Although it is used to provide the overall performance of any instrument, it can provide data to evaluate the calibre and efficiency of the operating crews.

Types of Recording Instruments

 Analog Recording Instruments can be of three types:

What is Graphic recording instruments ?

Graphic recording instruments display and store records of the history of some physical event with pen and ink. They even may be varying voltage, current, pressure, etc. It mainly consists of a chart for storing and displaying recorded data. This stylus moves on paper with proper relationship and an internal connection which connects the stylus to the information source.

Integrating Instruments

An integrating instrument is an instrument to find the sum of measurements over a specific period the summation in which this provide as product of time and the measured quantity.

Principle of Operation of Analog Instruments

Operating Torques in Analogue Instruments are

Image Credit: “H2: It’s dabom” by jurvetson is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Operating force or torque:

Deflecting Force or torque: It is a force or torque which reflects the pointer from its 0th position of calibrated scale according to the magnitude of the quantity passing thru the device.

Controlling Force or torque:  which control the movement of the pointer on a required scale. It is needed to bring the pointer to the 0th point at if no deflecting force. To produce an equal and opposite force to the deflecting Force to make the pointer steady in the absence of controlling Force pointer may swing away from the final study position for any magnitude. Controlling torque can be produced by Spring control gravity control.

Damping force or Torque: This used to prevent from the vibration for oscillation of the pointer on a particular range of scale; It is required to bring back the pointer at rest. Damping force can be established by air friction fluid friction Eddy current damping.

Magnetic Effect

In a uniform magnetic field, a current-carrying conductor is situated, which result in a disturbance in the magnetic field, impacts force (F). The direction of Force will be the opposite direction of the current and coil conductor generate magnetic field act as magnetic material.

Force of attraction or repulsion 

When a piece of soft iron that is not magnetized previously, kept near the end of the coil. When current flow through the coil, the soft iron becomes magnetised and gets pulled inside the coil. The Force of attraction is proportional to the field strength inside the coil and proportional to the current strength; utilized in attractive moving iron (M.I) instrument.

If two soft iron pieces are situated near the coil, become magnetized, and then there will be repulsion force; utilized in repulsive moving iron (M.I) instrument.

The Force between a current-carrying coil and a permanent magnet is used in a permanent magnet moving coil instrument, and Force among 2 current-carrying coil is utilized as the key principle in dynamo meter type of instrument.

Thermal Effect

The current to be measured is passed through a heating element whose temperature increases with the increase in current and temp change is converted into an EMF by a Thermo-couple. The thermocouple is designed with two dissimilar electric conductors joined together at the end of each other to form a close loop, the point the dissimilar metal meets is the junction. If both the junction is maintained at a different temperature, a current will flow through the loop.

Electrostatic Effect

The electrostatic effect is the attractive force among 2 or many electrically charged elements between which a potential diff is preserved. That force results in to increase in deflecting torque. The electrostatic effect is the basic principle of an electrostatic instrument known as an electrometer voltmeter, an example of an electrostatic instrument.

Advantages of electrostatic instrument:

Disadvantages of electrostatic instruments:

Induction Effect

Induction effect when a non-magnetic conducting disc or drum is placed in the magnetic field which is excited by alternating currents, EMF will be induced in the drum or disc. If the closed path is provided, then EMF will cause a current flow to the drum or disc. the produced force in the interaction of the induced current and the magnetic field will cause the disc or drum to move this effect is used in energy meter.

Advantages of induction instruments:

Disadvantages of induction instrument:

Errors in the induction instrument are due to frequency variation or temperature variation.

Hall Effect

This is the formation of potential difference across a conducting material having electrical current exist in a cross magnetic field.

The magnitude of the potential drop depends on the current flux density, and the internal property of the conductor is called the hall effect coefficient. The emf produced in this phenomenon is so small for measurement, which may require amplification. Hall effect instruments are used for sensing current or in magnetic measurement. Examples are flux meter ammeter Poynting vector watt-meter. Hall effect instruments convert the magnetic field into electric quantity, which can be easily be measured.

Advantages of hall effects:

Disadvantages of hall effects:

What are the advantages of digital instruments over analog instruments?

Advantages and Disadvantages of Analog and Digital Instruments.

Advantages of Digital Instruments over Analog :

Disadvantages of Digital Instrumentation:

Advantages of Analog Instrumentation:

Disadvantages of Analog Instrumentation:

Analog Devices Instrumentation Amplifier

Analog devices instrumentation amplifier when the output of any instrument is low or needed any amplification for further processing the input to the instrument amplifier is the output from the centre of the transducer used to amplify, reject noise and signal interference. An instrumentation amplifier is a differential amplifier, and an analog device instrumentation amplifier is a precision block with a differential input and output. This device amplifies the differences between the two input signal voltages while rejecting signals common to both inputs.

Analog Instrument Cluster |Instrument Cluster Analog

Image Credit:“Hawker Hunter Cockpit” by G. Weir is licensed under CC BY 2.0

An analog instrument cluster is a group of different analog instruments, and it can include different analog metres and gauges to provide the required measurement. These clusters are used for safety order requirement mainly used in automobiles, aircraft etc. this cluster use different m for measuring required information, for example, in automobile, speed, fuel level, charge level, etc.

What is the difference between Digital and Analog Measuring Instruments ?

Comparison between Analog and Digital instruments

Analog InstrumentDigital Instrument
Low PrecisionHigh Precision
High power RequirementLow Power Requirement
Highly SensitiveLess Sensitive
CheapExpensive
Less ResolutionHigh Resolution
Not compatible directly with a computer, microprocessor or microcontrollercompatible directly with a computer, microprocessor or microcontroller
More FlexibleLimited flexibility
Parallax error during reading result is possibleNo reading error due to digital display
Can get easily affected by noiseHigh noise immune
Easily portableNot easily portable
Continuous convenient for readoutConvenience in readout

Electronic Test Instruments Analog and Digital Measurements

Electronic test instrument testing instruments are used to detect a fault in operation, such as voltmeter, ammeter, ohmmeter, multimeter, frequency counter, oscilloscope or LCR meter, etc.

The testing instrument is the key to any electronic design production and maintenance. It can be an analog or digital instrument used to generate a signal and capture the response from the device Under test.

Analog Aircraft Instruments

Following are the analog instruments which are used in aircraft:

The altimeter is a device used to measure an object’s altitude relative to a fixed level. It has two types of pressure altimeter and radio altimeter and study of altitude is known as altimetry. 

Image Credit:“Aircraft altimeter” by cambridgebayweather is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

A pressure altimeter calculate altitude as per atmospheric pressure. With the increase in altitude, the pressure reduces. Radio altimeter determines the height of any subject by sending a signal to the ground and measure the attitude based on the time required for the radio wave signal to travel. Altimeter having mechanical internal aneroid capsule have an analog display.

Air speed indicator is used to measure the aircraft’s speed; It uses a pitot tube which is U shaped with two openings .airspeed indicator traditionally is a mechanical analog instrument.

Magnetic compass and instrument for determining direction by using a magnetic element which shows the direction of the horizontal component of the magnetic field of the earth

The tachometer is a device that indicates the rate of rotating an object or engine shaft; it includes the instantaneous value of speed in RPM. It is composed of a tile and little to indicate the immediate reading.

Image Credit: “Jaguar Tachometer” by billjacobus1 is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Analog Polygraph Instrument

An analog polygraph instrument is commonly known as the Lie Detector instrument, measuring at least three physiological responses like blood pressure, pulse respiration, and skin connectivity.

It can consist of pneumographs to record respiratory activity, blood pressure cliff to record cardiovascular activity,  and galvanometer activity sensor, plethysmograph, etc. The analog polygraph needles draw the line on a paper to record and show the output. These lines represent the level of stress which can affect if the person is telling a lie.

Analog Weather Station Instruments

Analog weather instruments:

The thermometer is used to measure the temperature of the environment. There are many types of thermometers. One of the most used thermometers is a thermistor designed with metal oxide and has a high-temperature Coefficient, so with the temperature change, the resistance shift occurs.

Thermistor mainly has negative temperature Coefficient. Although the increase in temperature resistance decreases, it is very sensitive to temperature change, making thermistors useful for Precision temperature measurement.

A barometer is an instrument uses to measure the pressure of the atmosphere because atmospheric pressure varies with altitude. A simple barometer is a mercury-in-glass barometer unit of measurement. The atmosphere or bar Mercury glass parameter is closed at the top and open at the bottom. Thus, there is a pool of Mercury. 

Image Credit :“Barometer” by electricinca is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

The aneroid barometer is a non-liquid barometer that is widely in use. It is small and uses an evacuated capsule as a sensing element, the flexible walled evacuated capsule. The flex with the change in atmospheric pressure the deflection is coupled mechanically to an indicating needle.

A hygrometer is a device that indirectly measures humidity by sensing a change in physical or electrical property in materials, which causes due to moisture content. There are different types of hygrometers for humidity measurement. In mechanical hygrometer measures humidity with the change in length of the hair element by the contraction and expansion of the hair element. 

A rain gauge is a device that is used to measure rain in a certain period. It usually measured rainfall in millimetres. There are different types of rain gauges. The most precise one is the ground level gauge, where the orifice of the gauge is placed with the ground level surface and surrounded by an anti-splash grid.

Anemometer is a device that measures the rate of flow, which can be used for measuring airflow. A hot wire anemometer is widely used for measuring the mean and fluctuating velocity of fluid flows. Steam of air will cool down a heated object is the principle of hot wire anemometer a heated wire is placed in the airflow.

Pyranometer is an instrument that is used to measure solar radiation. It is operated on the measurement of the temperature difference between a bright surface and a dark surface. There are different types of pyranometers, such as thermopile pyranometers, photovoltaic pyranometers, etc.

Examples of Analog Instruments

Uncertainty for Analog Instruments

Uncertainty of analogue resolution uncertainty is one of the problems in analogue instruments. It considers the limitation of measurement. The Precision accuracy of a measurement is limited by the resolution of the instrument for an analog instrument with gradual scaling sometimes causes parallax error when taking a reading from different view position will give different reading leads to an error which creates uncertainty in measurement.

Frequently Asked Questions.

What are absolute and secondary instruments?

Absolute Instrument:

These instrument provides the magnitude of the measuring quantity in terms of physical instrumental constant. 

Secondary instrument:

These instrument convert the analog o/ps  of the primary/absolute instrument into an electrical signal. These instruments are required to be calibrated by comparison with an absolute instrument that has already been calibrated.

Analog Instruments are preferred for ?

Error in Analog Instruments ?

three different types of error that happen in any instrument:

  •  Instrumental Errors: These errors are caused by miss-use of the instrument, loading effect, ageing or inherent shortcomings.
  •  Environmental Errors: These errors are caused by external condition of the instrument, hence errors are may affect by surroundings temp, pressure, humidity, dust, etc.
  •  Observational Errors: these errors occur due to human observational factors. There can be reading parallax error in analog instruments, which is an observational error. Different moving parts in an analog instrument can produce an error when friction between two components is created, an instrumental error. Ageing of the instrument can produce an error is also an instrumental error. 

What are some examples of common Analog Devices ?

What are the Comparative Advantages and Disadvantages of Digital and Analogue Multimeters ?

What is a Micrometer ?

Micrometer is also known as micrometer caliper or micrometer screw gauge. It is an instrument for measuring linear(small) distance precisely, such as diameter, length, thickness, etc. 

How does an Ohm Meter Measure Resistance ?

Ohm meter can not measure resistance directly but can measure the power through a circuit. Any known voltage is connected to a component whose resistance is measured, where resistance is unknown by measuring the current through the measuring component. Through Ohm’s Law relationship between voltage current and resistance is known. Therefore, we can calculate the value of the unknown resistance by finding current through the circuit as the voltage is known.

Is Wifi a Digital Signal or an Analog?

The wifi signal is both analog and digital and for that ,  ADC  and DAC and modulation of the signal takes place as requirements.

What is Wattmeter and its construction?

A wattmeter is an instrument that measures the electrical energy of a circuit. The unit of measurement is in watts. It can be an electro-dynamometer or induction watt meter. It can be constructed with a current coil and voltage coil, the current coil is adjoining in series connection, and the voltage coil is connected by parallel connection. The needle which moves on the calibrated scale is connected to the voltage coil. The voltage coil is a moving coil, whereas the current coil is immobile.

How to find Multiplication factor for Wattmeter ?

Multiplication factor = (voltage range X current range X power factor)/(range of wattmeter)

Is there anything that an Analog Multimeter does better than Digital one If so Why ?

Analog multimeters are suitable for measuring fluctuating values better than that of digital multimeters, because sudden fluctuation can not be precisely represented by digital multimeters. While analog multimeter has changing display which can accurately show the sudden fluctuations, it may not provide exact reading but it will provide instantaneous and rough measurement.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top