Adénosine nucléoside et nucléoside phosphoramidite | Aperçu des aspects importants

Adénosine nucléoside et nucléoside phosphoramidite | Aperçu des aspects importants

Contenu

Adénosine nucléoside

L'adénosine nucléoside se trouve dans la nature sous des formes diversifiées. Il se compose d'une base azotée adénine liée à un sucre ribose à cinq carbones par une liaison β-N9-glycosidique. L'adénosine est présente dans les acides nucléiques tels que l'ADN et l'ARN, considérés comme le matériel génétique sous toutes les formes de vie. L'adénosine est également présente dans plusieurs biomolécules essentielles comme l'adénosine monophosphate (AMP), l'adénosine diphosphate (ADP) et l'adénosine triphosphate (ATP). L'AMP, l'ADP et l'ATP agissent comme des vecteurs d'énergie dans la plupart des processus biochimiques. L'ATP est souvent considéré comme la monnaie énergétique de la cellule.

Another derivative of adenosine that is cyclic adenosine monophosphate (cAMP) is actively involved in the signal transduction pathways and other cell signalling events inside the body. 

Adénosine nucléoside
Figure: Adénosine nucléoside https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Caffeine_and_adenosine.svg

Adenosine provides important framework structures in some vitamins like BXNUMX and radical S-Adenosyl-l-Methionine (SAM) enzymes. 

Plusieurs dérivés de l'adénosine sont utilisés dans les anomalies physiologiques comme la tachycardie supraventriculaire (SVT) et chez les sujets atteints de tachycardie supraventriculaire (SVT). L'adénosine maintient le rythme cardiaque en modulant le taux de réponse ventriculaire.

L'adénosine interagit également avec d'autres molécules dérivées de la purine comme les méthylxanthines. La méthylxanthine agit comme l'antagoniste de l'adénosine. La méthylxanthine est utilisée pour annuler les effets pharmacologiques de l'adénosine. Les méthylxanthines se trouvent en abondance dans le chocolat, le thé, le café, etc., les personnes consommant des quantités importantes de café ou de thé reçoivent une quantité plus élevée d'adénosine pour une réponse pharmacologique appropriée.

Figure: Tea and coffee contains caffiene, it has structural similarity with adenosine https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Caffeine_and_adenosine.svg

Métabolisme de l'adénosine

L'adénosine est décomposée par l'enzyme appelée adénosine désaminase dès qu'elle entre dans la circulation sanguine. L'enzyme adénosine désaminase est présente dans les globules rouges et les parois des vaisseaux sanguins. Pour plus de détails sur le métabolisme de l'adénosine (purine) cliquer ici

Le dipyridamole provoque une augmentation de la vasodilatation coronarienne en inhibant le transporteur de nucléosides de l'adénosine, ce qui entraîne une accumulation d'adénosine dans la circulation sanguine et provoque une vasodilatation.

La carence en enzyme adénosine désaminase entraîne une immunodéficience sévère. 

Autres rôles importants de l'adénosine nucléoside

– Various Adenosine nucleoside derivatives act as reverse transcriptase inhibitors and stalls the retroviral replication process.

- L'adénosine agit comme un agent anti-inflammatoire. 

- Le méthotrexate déclenche la libération d'adénosine; par conséquent, il agit comme un agent anti-inflammatoire.

- L'adénosine est connue pour ses effets inhibiteurs et suppressifs sur le système nerveux central (SNC).

- L'adénosine supprime les effets de l'alopécie androgénétique. 

L'augmentation des niveaux d'adénosine provoque de la somnolence.

Nucléoside phosphoramidite

Les nucléosides phosphoramidites sont synthétisés à partir de nucléosides d'origine naturelle et synthétique. Ils sont utilisés pour synthétiser des oligomères nucléotidiques ou des oligonucléotides. Les oligomères nucléotidiques sont les courts fragments d'ADN / ARN. Le groupe amino réactif (exocyclique) et l'hydroxyle présents dans les nucléosides synthétiques et naturels sont protégés de manière appropriée pour éviter des réactions secondaires inutiles. La protection appropriée du groupe hydroxyle réactif de l'analogue nucléosidique doit le convertir en phosphoramidite respectif. Le phosphoramidite est ensuite incorporé dans l'ADN / ARN synthétique.

Figure: Nucléoside phosphoramidite, l'extrémité 5 'est protégée par DMT (XNUMX′-dimethoxytrityl) group and XNUMX′ end is protected by cyanoethyl group https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:PhosphoramiditeXNUMX.png

La stratégie phosphoramidite permet l'incorporation d'analogues nucléosidiques ou nucléosidiques au milieu de la chaîne oligonucléotidique. Le nucléoside doit avoir deux groupes hydroxyle libres ou un groupe nucléophile (mercapto ou amino) et un groupe hydroxyle libre pour l'incorporation souhaitée. 

Préparations de nucléoside phosphoramidite

Le processus de synthèse du nucléoside phosphoramidite se déroule en trois étapes majeures:

Etape 1: le groupement hydroxyle libre du nucléoside protégé en présence d'acide faible subit un traitement au phosphorodiamidite. Le 2-cyanoéthyl N, N, N ', N'-tétraisopropylphosphorodiamidite est un amidite généralement utilisé pour la synthèse commerciale de nucléoside phosphoramidites stables. 

Étape 2: introduction de la base organique N-éthyl-N, N-diisopropylamine (Base de Hunig) dans le milieu pour produire le nucléoside diamidite.

Step XNUMX: the solution is later treated with an alcohol corresponding to the phosphate protecting group, like using XNUMX-cyanoethanol with a weak acid.

Les nucléosides phosphoramidites formés sont ensuite purifiés en utilisant une Chromatographie sur colonne de gel de silice. 

Purine nucléoside phosphorylase | Fonction purine nucléoside phosphorylase

The purine nucleotide phosphorylase (PNPase) catalyzes the reversible conversion of purine nucleoside and purine, as mentioned in the following reaction:

Purine nucléoside + phosphate -> Purine + α-D ribose-1-phosphate

PNPase est également connue sous le nom d'inosine phosphorylase, et le nom systématique est phosphate de purine-nucléoside ribosyltransférase

The PNPase relates to the family of glycosyltransferases. PNPase acts on five-carbon sugar-containing nucleosides, and hence it is called pentosyltransferase.

Figure: Structure cristalline de la purine nucléoside phosphorylase https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:1rct.png

The PNPase is actively involved in the essential pathways such as nicotinate, nicotinamide, pyrimidine and purine metabolic pathways.

Les enzymes essentielles de la classe des glycosyltransférases sont la thymidine kinase, l'uridine kinase, la cytidine kinase et la désoxycytidine kinase, qui catalysent respectivement la phosphorylation de la thymidine, de l'uridine, de la cytidine et de la désoxycytidine.

Importance clinique: Avec l'adénosine désaminase, la PNPase régule le métabolisme des purines. La mutation de l'une de ces enzymes entraîne l'accumulation de désoxyadénosine triphosphates [(d) ATP] qui induisent l'apoptose (mort cellulaire programmée) dans les lymphocytes. De tels événements dans les lymphocytes entraînent un SCID (déficit immunitaire combiné sévère). 

Thérapie nucléosidique pour la déplétion mitochondriale

Les mitochondries sont l'organite cellulaire qui contient leur copie d'ADN circulaire (il est connu sous le nom d'ADN mitochondrial ou ADNmt). Il ressemble à l'ADN bactérien ou à un chromosome circulaire unique, donc appelé cellule dans une cellule.  

L'ADN mitochondrial contient des gènes qui codent pour l'enzyme nécessaire au processus de respiration pour générer l'énergie nécessaire au fonctionnement de divers processus cellulaires. Par conséquent, les mitochondries sont connues comme la centrale électrique. Par conséquent, l'ADN mitochondrial doit être maintenu pour le bon fonctionnement de la cellule et d'autres activités cellulaires. Les modifications de l'ADN mitochondrial entraînent des altérations de la production d'énergie et des processus cellulaires, aboutissant finalement au syndrome d'appauvrissement de l'ADN mitochondrial. 

Les dNTP nécessaires à la synthèse de l'ADN mitochondrial sont les mêmes que l'ADN cellulaire mais doivent être présents dans une proportion équilibrée à l'intérieur des mitochondries. Un déséquilibre dans la proportion des dNTP à l'intérieur des mitochondries entraîne des changements et des mésappariements dans l'ADN mitochondrial, qui conduisent au syndrome d'épuisement de l'ADN mitochondrial.

L'introduction de dNTP ou d'autres éléments constitutifs tels que les désoxynucléosides peut aider à traiter le syndrome d'épuisement de l'ADN mitochondrial en rétablissant l'équilibre des dNTP et en réparant l'ADN mitochondrial. C'est ce qu'on appelle la thérapie nucléosidique.

Cibler les nucléosides sur la zone touchée du corps est assez difficile, ce qui rend difficile l'équilibre des niveaux de nucléosides sur le site cible. Les chercheurs modifient ces jours-ci les nucléosides pour les rendre plus efficaces pour atteindre leur site cible. Cibler le nucléoside modifié de cette manière se révélera être un moyen plus efficace de traiter le syndrome d'épuisement de l'ADN mitochondrial avec moins d'effets secondaires.

The researchers are trying to develop a novel, effective and efficient approach for producing mitochondrial DNA through modified nucleosides to combat mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome. 

Researchers expect this study to pave the way for dealing with mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome by the optimized choice of using nucleosides in combinations for effective results. 

Conclusions

Dans cet article, nous avons discuté en détail des aspects physiologiques importants de l'adénosine nucléoside et du nucléoside phorphoramidite. nous avons également discuté brièvement de l'épuisement de l'ADN mitochondrial dans cet article.

Entretien Q & R

Q1 L'adénine est-elle un nucléotide?

Répondre: Adenine is a purine (double-ringed) nitrogenous base that is present as a structural component in nucleosides as well as in nucleotides.

Q2. Liste des dérivés de l'adénosine nucléoside?

Répondre: Les dérivés ou analogues de l'adénosine nucléoside ont d'immenses implications physiologiques et sont souvent utilisés à plusieurs fins. Par exemple, le técadénoson, le solédénoson, le N6-tétrahydrofuranyl-5'-chloro-5'-désoxyadénosine, la N- (1S, 2S) - 2-hydroxy-cyclopentyl adénosine, le régadénoson, etc.

Q3. Rôles importants de l'adénosine nucléoside?

Répondre: Les chercheurs ont signalé l'adénosine nucléoside sous diverses formes de la nature. Il est omniprésent dans le génome des organismes vivants, des biomolécules essentielles (ATP, ADP, AMP, etc.) et agit comme un messager secondaire dans les voies de signalisation cellulaire.

Q4. Une fonction essentielle du nucléoside phosphoramidite

Répondre: The nucleoside phosphoramidites are used to produce oligonucleotides or oligomeric nucleotides. The oligomeric nucleotides are the short fragments of DNA or RNA.

Q5. Où trouve-t-on la purine nucléoside phosphorylase?

Répondre: La purine nucléoside phosphorylase est une enzyme essentielle de la voie de sauvetage pour la biosynthèse des nucléotides; ainsi, on le trouve dans de nombreux tissus. Une quantité beaucoup plus élevée de purine nucléoside phosphorylase est exprimée dans les cellules endothéliales sinusoïdales, les cellules de Kupffer et les hépatocytes. La purine nucléoside phosphorylase sert également de marqueur de fuite pour les lésions hépatocellulaires puisque son expression est plus dans les cellules hépatiques et beaucoup moins dans les muscles.

Q6. Importance clinique de la purine nucléoside phosphorylase?

Répondre: La purine nucléoside phosphorylase et l'adénosine désaminase jouent un rôle important dans la régulation du cycle métabolique des purines. La mutation de la purine nucléoside phosphorylase entraîne l'accumulation de dNTP (désoxynucléoside triphosphates) qui déclenche le mécanisme de l'apoptose. De tels événements dans les lymphocytes entraînent un SCID (déficit immunitaire combiné sévère).

Q7. Qu'est-ce que l'appauvrissement de l'ADN mitochondrial?

Répondre: Le déséquilibre de la proportion de dNTP dans la matrice mitochondriale entraîne une altération de la production d'ADN mitochondrial. Cela affecte le bon fonctionnement des mitochondries car il existe plusieurs gènes sur l'ADN mitochondrial qui s'expriment pour remplir des fonctions essentielles. L'ADN mitochondrial altéré est incapable de remplir les fonctions essentielles. Ce phénomène est connu sous le nom d'épuisement de l'ADN mitochondrial.

Q8. Quelle est la meilleure façon de faire face à l'épuisement de l'ADN mitochondrial?

Répondre: Cibler les nucléosides sur la zone touchée du corps est assez difficile, ce qui rend difficile l'équilibre des niveaux de nucléosides sur le site cible. Les chercheurs modifient ces jours-ci les nucléosides pour faciliter leur délivrance ciblée. Cibler le nucléoside modifié de cette manière se révélera être un moyen plus efficace de traiter le syndrome d'épuisement de l'ADN mitochondrial avec moins d'effets secondaires.

Les chercheurs tentent de développer une nouvelle thérapie efficace et efficiente pour la production d'ADN mitochondrial par le biais de nucléosides modifiés pour lutter contre le syndrome d'épuisement de l'ADN mitochondrial. Les chercheurs s'attendent à ce que cette étude ouvre la voie au traitement du syndrome d'épuisement de l'ADN mitochondrial par le choix optimisé de l'utilisation de nucléosides en combinaison pour des résultats efficaces. 

Q9. Quelle est l'importance clinique de la purine nucléoside phosphorylase?

Répondre: Avec l'adénosine désaminase, la PNPase régule le métabolisme des purines. La mutation de l'une de ces enzymes entraîne l'accumulation de désoxyadénosine triphosphates [(d) ATP] qui induisent l'apoptose dans les lymphocytes. De tels événements dans les lymphocytes entraînent un SCID (déficit immunitaire combiné sévère).  

Q10. Quels sont les groupes supplémentaires présents dans le nucléoside phosphoramidite?

Répondre: Le nucléoside phosphoramidite a en outre une extrémité 5 'est protégé par DMT Le groupe (4,4′-diméthoxytrityl) et l'extrémité 3 ′ sont protégés par un groupe cyanoéthyle

À propos du Dr Abdullah Arsalan

Je suis Abdullah Arsalan, j'ai terminé mon doctorat en biotechnologie. J'ai 7 ans d'expérience en recherche. J'ai publié jusqu'à présent 6 articles dans des revues de renommée internationale avec un facteur d'impact moyen de 4.5 et peu d'autres sont pris en compte. J'ai présenté des articles de recherche dans diverses conférences nationales et internationales. Mon domaine d'intérêt est la biotechnologie et la biochimie avec un accent particulier sur la chimie des protéines, l'enzymologie, l'immunologie, les techniques biophysiques et la biologie moléculaire.

Connectons-nous via LinkedIn (https://www.linkedin.com/in/abdullah-arsalan-a97a0a88/) ou Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.co.in/citations?user=AeZVWO4AAAAJ&hl=en).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaîtra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Geeks Lambda

Adenosine nucleoside and nucleoside phosphoramidite | Overview of important aspects

Adenosine nucleoside and nucleoside phosphoramidite | Overview of important aspects

Contents

Adenosine nucleoside

Adenosine nucleoside is found in nature in diversified forms. It consists of a nitrogenous base adenine linked to a five-carbon ribose sugar through a β-N9-glycosidic bond. Adenosine is present in nucleic acids such as DNA and RNA, considered the genetic material in every life form. Adenosine is also present in several essential biomolecules like adenosine monophosphate (AMP), adenosine diphosphate (ADP) and adenosine triphosphate (ATP). The AMP, ADP and ATP act as energy carriers in most biochemical processes. ATP is often regarded as the energy currency of the cell.

Another derivative of adenosine that is cyclic adenosine monophosphate (cAMP) is actively involved in the signal transduction pathways and other cell signalling events inside the body. 

Adenosine nucleoside
Figure: Adenosine nucleoside https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Caffeine_and_adenosine.svg

Adenosine provides important framework structures in some vitamins like B12 and radical S-Adenosyl-l-Methionine (SAM) enzymes. 

Several adenosine derivatives are used in physiological abnormalities like supraventricular tachycardia (SVT) and in subjects with supraventricular tachycardia (SVT). Adenosine maintains the cardiac rhythm by modulating the ventricular response rate.

Adenosine also interacts with other purine derived molecules like methylxanthines. Methylxanthine acts as the antagonist of adenosine. Methylxanthine is used to nullify the pharmacological effects of adenosine. Methylxanthines are abundantly found in chocolate, tea, coffee etc., people consuming significant amounts of coffee or tea are given higher amount of adenosine for a proper pharmacological response.

Figure: Tea and coffee contains caffiene, it has structural similarity with adenosine https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Caffeine_and_adenosine.svg

Adenosine metabolism

Adenosine is broken down by the enzyme called adenosine deaminase as soon as it enters into the blood circulation. The enzyme adenosine deaminase is present in the RBCs and the walls of blood vessels. For more details on adenosine (purine) metabolism click here

Dipyridamole causes an increase in coronary vasodilation by inhibiting adenosine nucleoside transporter, which results in the accumulation of adenosine in the bloodstream and causes vasodilation.

The deficiency of the adenosine deaminase enzyme causes severe immunodeficiency. 

Other important roles of adenosine nucleoside

– Various Adenosine nucleoside derivatives act as reverse transcriptase inhibitors and stalls the retroviral replication process.

– Adenosine acts as an anti-inflammatory agent. 

– Methotrexate triggers the release of adenosine; hence, it acts as an anti-inflammatory agent.

– Adenosine is known to exhibit inhibitory and suppressive effects on the central nervous system (CNS).

– Adenosine supress the effects of androgenetic alopecia. 

Increased adenosine levels cause drowsiness.

Nucleoside phosphoramidite

The nucleoside phosphoramidites are synthesized from nucleosides of natural and synthetic origin. They are used to synthesize nucleotide oligomers or oligonucleotides. The nucleotide oligomers are the short fragments of DNA/RNA. The reactive amino group (exocyclic) and hydroxyl present in the synthetic and naturally occurring nucleosides are appropriately protected to avoid unnecessary side reactions. The proper protection of the reactive hydroxyl group of the nucleoside analogue must convert it into respective phosphoramidite. The phosphoramidite is then incorporated into the synthetic DNA/RNA.

Figure: Nucleoside phosphoramidite, 5′ end is protected by DMT (4,4′-dimethoxytrityl) group and 3′ end is protected by cyanoethyl group https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Phosphoramidite1.png

The phosphoramidite strategy allows the incorporation of nucleoside or nucleoside analogues in the middle of the oligonucleotide chain. The nucleoside must have two free hydroxyl groups or a nucleophilic group (mercapto or amino) and a free hydroxyl group for the desired incorporation. 

Preparations of nucleoside phosphoramidite

The process of synthesis of nucleoside phosphoramidite is completed in three major steps:

Step 1: the free hydroxyl group of the protected nucleoside in the presence of weak acid undergoes phosphorodiamidite treatment. The 2-cyanoethyl N,N,N’,N’-tetraisopropylphosphorodiamidite is an amidite that is generally used for the commercial synthesis of stable nucleoside phosphoramidites. 

Step 2: introduction of organic base N-ethyl-N,N-diisopropylamine (Hunig’s base) in the medium to produce nucleoside diamidite.

Step 3: the solution is later treated with an alcohol corresponding to the phosphate protecting group, like using 2-cyanoethanol with a weak acid.

The formed nucleoside phosphoramidites are later purified using silica gel column chromatography. 

Purine nucleoside phosphorylase | Purine nucleoside phosphorylase function

The purine nucleotide phosphorylase (PNPase) catalyzes the reversible conversion of purine nucleoside and purine, as mentioned in the following reaction:

Purine nucleoside + phosphate –> Purine + α-D ribose-1-phosphate

PNPase is also known as inosine phosphorylase, and the systematic name is purine-nucleoside phosphate ribosyltransferase

The PNPase relates to the family of glycosyltransferases. PNPase acts on five-carbon sugar-containing nucleosides, and hence it is called pentosyltransferase.

Figure: Crystal structure of purine nucleoside phosphorylase https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:1rct.png

The PNPase is actively involved in the essential pathways such as nicotinate, nicotinamide, pyrimidine and purine metabolic pathways.

The essential enzymes of class glycosyltransferases are thymidine kinase, uridine kinase, cytidine kinase and deoxycytidine kinase, which catalyze the phosphorylation thymidine, uridine, cytidine and deoxycytidine, respectively.

Clinical importance: Along with adenosine deaminase, PNPase regulates the purine metabolism. Mutation in any of these enzymes results in the accumulation of deoxyadenosine triphosphates [(d)ATPs] which induce apoptosis (programmed cell death) in the lymphocytes. Such events in the lymphocytes result in SCID (severe combined immunodeficiency). 

Nucleoside therapy for mitochondrial depletion

Mitochondria are the cell organelle that contains their copy of circular DNA (it is known as mitochondrial DNA or mtDNA). It resembles the bacterial DNA or single circular chromosome hence called cell within a cell.  

Mitochondrial DNA contains genes that code for the enzyme required in the process of respiration to generate the energy needed to operate various cellular processes. Hence, mitochondria are known as the powerhouse. Therefore, mitochondrial DNA must be maintained for the proper functioning of the cell and other cellular activities. Changes in the mitochondrial DNA cause impairments in energy production and cellular processes, ultimately resulting in mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome. 

The dNTPs required for the synthesis of mitochondrial DNA is the same as the cellular DNA but needs to be present in a balanced proportion inside the mitochondria. An imbalance in the proportion of the dNTPs inside mitochondria results in changes and mismatches in the mitochondrial DNA, which lead to mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome.

Introducing dNTPs or other building blocks such as deoxynucleosides may help treat the mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome by restoring the balance of dNTPs and repairing the mitochondrial DNA. This is known as nucleoside therapy.

Targeting nucleosides to the affected area of the body is quite challenging, making it challenging to balance the nucleoside levels at the target site. Researchers these days are modifying the nucleosides to make them more efficient to reach their target site. Targeting modified nucleoside in such way will prove to be a more efficient way to deal with mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome with lesser after effects.

The researchers are trying to develop a novel, effective and efficient approach for producing mitochondrial DNA through modified nucleosides to combat mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome. 

Researchers expect this study to pave the way for dealing with mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome by the optimized choice of using nucleosides in combinations for effective results. 

Conclusions

In this article we have discussed about the important physiological aspects of adenosine nucleoside and nucleoside phorphoramidite in detail. we have also discussed about mitochondrial DNA depletion briefly in this article.

Interview Q & A

Q1 Is adenine a nucleotide?

Answer: Adenine is a purine (double-ringed) nitrogenous base that is present as a structural component in nucleosides as well as in nucleotides.

Q2. List some derivatives of adenosine nucleoside?

Answer: Adenosine nucleoside derivatives or analogues have immense physiological implications and are often used to serve several purposes. For example, tecadenoson, soledenoson, N6 -tetrahydrofuranyl-5’-chloro-5’-deoxyadenosine, N-(1S,2S)- 2-hydroxy-cyclopentyl adenosine, regadenoson etc.

Q3. Important roles of adenosine nucleoside?

Answer: Researchers have reported adenosine nucleoside in diverse forms of nature. It is ubiquitously found in the genome of living organisms, essential biomolecules (ATP, ADP, AMP etc.,) and act as a secondary messenger in the cell signalling pathways.

Q4. An essential function of nucleoside phosphoramidite

Answer: The nucleoside phosphoramidites are used to produce oligonucleotides or oligomeric nucleotides. The oligomeric nucleotides are the short fragments of DNA or RNA.

Q5. Where is purine nucleoside phosphorylase found?

Answer: The purine nucleoside phosphorylase is an essential enzyme of the salvage pathway for nucleotide biosynthesis; thus, it is found in many tissues. A much higher amount of purine nucleoside phosphorylase is expressed in sinusoidal endothelial cells, kupffer cells and hepatocytes. The purine nucleoside phosphorylase also serves as a leakage marker for hepatocellular injury since its expression is more in hepatic cells and much lesser in muscles.

Q6. Clinical importance of purine nucleoside phosphorylase?

Answer: The purine nucleoside phosphorylase and adenosine deaminase play an important role in regulating the purine metabolic cycle. Purine nucleoside phosphorylase mutation results in the accumulation of dNTPs (deoxynucleoside triphosphates) which triggers the mechanism of apoptosis. Such events in the lymphocytes result in SCID (severe combined immunodeficiency).

Q7. What is mitochondrial DNA depletion?

Answer: The imbalance in the proportion of dNTPs in the mitochondrial matrix results in the impaired production of mitochondrial DNA. This affects the mitochondria’s proper functioning since there are several genes on the mitochondrial DNA that express to perform essential functions. Impaired mitochondrial DNA is unable to perform essential functions. This phenomenon is known as mitochondrial DNA depletion.

Q8. What is the best possible way to deal with mitochondrial DNA depletion?

Answer: Targeting nucleosides to the affected area of the body is quite challenging, making it challenging to balance the nucleoside levels at the target site. Researchers these days are modifying the nucleosides to make their targeted delivery easier. Targeting modified nucleoside in such way will prove to be a more efficient way to deal with mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome with lesser after effects.

The researchers are trying to develop a novel, effective and efficient therapy for producing mitochondrial DNA through modified nucleosides to combat mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome. Researchers expect this study to pave the way for dealing with mitochondrial DNA depletion syndrome by the optimized choice of using nucleosides in combinations for effective results. 

Q9. What is the clinical importance of purine nucleoside phosphorylase?

Answer: Along with adenosine deaminase, PNPase regulates the purine metabolism. Mutation in any of these enzymes results in the accumulation of deoxyadenosine triphosphates [(d)ATPs] which induce apoptosis in the lymphocytes. Such events in the lymphocytes result in SCID (severe combined immunodeficiency).  

Q10. What are the additional groups present in nucleoside phosphoramidite?

Answer: Nucleoside phosphoramidite additionally have a 5′ end is protected by DMT (4,4′-dimethoxytrityl) group and 3′ end is protected by cyanoethyl group

About Dr. Abdullah Arsalan

I am Abdullah Arsalan , Completed my PhD in Biotechnology. I have 7 years of research experience. I have published 6 papers so far in the journals of international repute with an average impact factor of 4.5 and few more are in consideration. I have presented research papers in various national and international conferences. My subject area of interest is biotechnology and biochemistry with special emphasis on Protein chemistry, enzymology, immunology, biophysical techniques and molecular biology.

Let's connect through LinkedIn(https://www.linkedin.com/in/abdullah-arsalan-a97a0a88/) or Google scholar(https://scholar.google.co.in/citations?user=AeZVWO4AAAAJ&hl=en).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *